Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Commonwealth Volkswagen Corp

Phone: (714) 973-7766 View Additional Phone Numbers 1450 Auto Mall Dr, Santa Ana, CA 92705 http://www.commonwealthaudi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commonwealth Volkswagen Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Commonwealth Volkswagen Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 11/18/2009 in CA Business incorporated 11/18/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 45981.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 260408.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Louis Goff, General Sales Manager Mr. Jamie Trujillo, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Louis Goff, General Sales Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Commonwealth Audi Commonwealth V W Commonwealth Volkswagen-Audi PAG Santa Ana AVW
Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1450 Auto Mall Dr

    Santa Ana, CA 92705 (714) 565-7500 (714) 973-7766 (888) 490-3599 (888) 646-2479 (888) 443-4016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good day I leased a car from VW and paid the total amount of the three year lease in cash. They supplied me with a price, gave me a lease contract and both parties signed the contract. One week later they phone me to inform me they made a mistake and I need to pay another $2,100 or return the vehicle. This amounts to almost 25% more than the original quoted price. I've signed a contract and fulfilled my part of it. I don't have another $2,100 to give them. Apparently the contract states that they can cancel the contract at any time and this is what they are doing. They want me to return the vehicle tomorrow, 5/21/15, 4:00 pm. Is this acceptable? I already sold my previous vehicle in order to purchase this vehicle and would not have done so if they supplied me with the correct price from the start. I only went through with the sale of my vehicle and leasing of the VW because of the price they gave me. Can you help me please?

Desired Settlement: I expect VW to fulfill their obligations as per the lease contract and I don't want to be held responsible for their mistake. I want to continue with the lease as per the contract.

Business Response:

Commonwealth VW is well within rights in cancelling the contract as the error was a mathmatical calculation error.  Accordingly, it was a non-cashable contract and thus we offered the option for *** ***** to either pay the full intrest due (it was a one pay lease and only 1 month's interest was calculated vs. the 36 months that should have been calculated) or return the vehicle.  Given his comment that he only moved forward with the lease due to the price, returning the vehicle should have been a satisfactory option.  Unfortunately errors are made at times and we ask that clients deal fairly with the business just as we deal fairly with them.  *** ***** was very uncooperative when the error was discovered.  That said, we worked behind the scenes to negotiate a special dispensation with Volkswagen Credit to abate the interest costs allowing *** ***** to keep the vehicle.  Had we not been able to achieve this, he would have in fact had to return the vehicle per terms of the contract he signed.  If a customer accidentally paid us too much money, we would certainly refund the amount of their error.  We would ask that all parties follow the terms of the contract that provide for errors such as this case.  Fortunately, we were able to come up with a solution for *** ***** that avoided return of the vehicle or additional payment in working with Volkswagen Credit.

 

**** ****
***** *******
Commonwealth Volkswagen

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Good day

Please note that the business in question has resolved the issue and I’m satisfied with the outcome. I hereby withdraw my complaint.

The complaint ID #: ********

Thank you

***** *****

Email: **********************
Mobile: ** *** *** ****

 

11/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish I could select more than one complaint. My problem has to do with the misrepresentation of a vehicle sold, a dispute regarding the warranty, lack of disclosure/clarity,and customer service issues. We purchased a certified pre-owned 2011 VW Tiguan from this dealership 3 months ago (mileage at 33k). The battery went out this week, and I thought it was odd since the purchase was so recent. I took it in and found out that the battery was not included in the warranty. My concern has to do with the misrepresentation of the word "certified". The sales manager, who by the way was extremely rude (***** ****), said to me: "if this had happened the next day, sure we would cover". My other concern has to do with the lack of the disclosure when it comes to the parts that the dealership knows will be needing to be replaced soon and will not be covered under the warranty. My last concern has to do with the sales manager. It is very interesting how nice they are when they are trying to sell you the vehicle, but when it comes to taking responsibility for an issue later on, they can be so rude. Once again, the sales manager's name was ***** ****. The service department (very efficient, helpful and nice), felt I did not have to pay for that since the purchase was so recent and nothing was disclosed, so they did pay for it. I want to make sure the dealership changes its practices, and no other consumer has to go through that. I would also love to see that manager be replaced. If you want to work in customer service, you need to at least be polite.

Desired Settlement: I want to make sure the dealership changes its practices, and no other consumer has to go through that. I would also love to see that manager be replaced. If you want to work in customer service, you need to at least be polite.

Business Response:

Dear ******* *****

 I have reviewed this complaint and Commonwealth VW did pay for the battery as a goodwill replacement, meaning that Commonwealth VW paid for the battery. To clarify,  Commonwealth VW administers the CPO (certified pre owned)  warranties for Volkswagen of America and as such maintenance items are not covered under these warranties, the battery falls under maintenance items

 I have discussed the process and policies with the General Manager and he will address this and the issue of the  Sales Manager  through appropriate channels.

 Thank you

***** ********

Service Manager

Commonwealth VW

1450 Auto Mall Dr.

Santa Ana, CA 92705

Dir. ************

Main 714-565-7500

Email: j********@penskeautomotive.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Commonwealth Volkswagen Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)