This business is not BBB accredited.

AutoNation Toyota Irvine

Phone: (949) 287-8766 View Additional Phone Numbers 9101 Research Dr, Irvine, CA 92618 http://www.autonationtoyotairvine.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new automotive dealer services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AutoNation Toyota Irvine include:

  • Failure to respond to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Toyota Irvine
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/26/1989 in CA Business incorporated 04/26/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 28287.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 150000.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter Fice Ms. Summer Cornelio, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Omar Gulam, General Manager Mrs. Sheila Pontikos, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Bernie Unrien, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Summer Cornelio, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Peter Fice
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Irvine Imports Inc Lew Webb's Irvine Toyota
Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9101 Research Dr

    Irvine, CA 92618 (949) 768-0688 (949) 585-6888 (949) 287-8766

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early February I purchased a vehicle from Auto Nation Irvine. During my negotiation I requested that I want to purchase the Toyota Extra Care platinum which covers the vehicle for 100,000 miles or 7 years with $0 deductible. I repeated the same request in the finance office to which both the sales person and the finance manager agreed. My contract was created and the finance manager has me sign the contract. Before I took the delivery of my vehicle while I was reviewing my contract I noticed that warranty had a $200 deductible. I inquired from the finance manager why there is a deducible, to which he replied that Auto Nation no longer sells Toyota ExtraCare, they only sell the Auto Nation extended warranty. At which point I informed the finance manager that I want this warranty refunded and I want to purchase my warranty from a different dealer because I only want the Toyota ExtraCare. At that time the finance manager asked me since it was almost 10 pm that I should return next day and he will take care of it. I returned a couple of days later to get a refund on the policy to which they replied they will no refund my policy until they get a lean-set for my trade. I informed them that my trade was paid off and there are no leans but they insisted I need to get a letter from Toyota Financial first and then they will refund my policy. A week after I provided them with the letter they stated that they will not be able to refund m the amount of the policy they will only refund it to the finance company in this case Toyota financial. I informed that I need that money to purchase my other warranty from a different dealer and they said no. I asked them to return me my trade and will pay them cash for the amount my trade was worth minus the cost of the warranty. At that point they informed me that the CFO will make an exception and will refund me the amount I need for the new policy I will be purchasing and refund the remaining to my finance account. I agreed and they said come over the following day and we will have a check for you. When I showed up at the dealership next day I was informed that the CFO has changed his mind and now he wants to issue the check the dealership where I want to purchase the warranty not to me. I agreed and they said to get a quote from the dealer and they will issue a check. I provided auto nation with a price for the warranty and contact information of the person at Carson Toyota where I was purchasing the warranty. At this point they told me to come next week and they will have a check for me to give to Carson Toyota. When I showed up at the dealer ship the following week I was informed that the CFO has changed his mind again and now he will sell me the Toyota ExtraCare and will refund the reaming to my finance account. I agreed and they asked me to come the following day. I stop by the following day on March 2 2016 and we completed the refund of the Auto Nation policy and got a new contract for Toyota ExtraCare from Auto Nation Irvine. I was informed that the remaining balance of $605 will be refunded to my finance account with Toyota Financial in no more than 8 weeks. I called Toyota Financial on May 9th about 9 weeks after this transaction was completed, and TFS informed me that there is not credit on my account and there is not warranty purchase for my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: At this point I want my warranty amount refunded to me so I can get a warranty from a reputable dealership for my vehicle.

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership in August 2015 with a cashier's check made out for the full amount of the car being purchased. I never received the title for this car and have spent the last 7 months chasing down someone to help me resolve this problem. Back in March I finally spoke to someone who figured o0ut that someone at the dealership sent my title to the bank on the cashier's check even though there was no lean or loan on this car. I've been hearing for 2 months that they are having trouble getting the title back from the bank. They claim that the bank had been sold to another bank and they can't get the title back until they find the right person at the new bank. After 38 phone calls I finally asked for some sort of compensation, as I have spent many hours of my time (and taking off work!) talking on the phone and trying to get in touch with someone to help. I spoke with the general manager, ***** and explained my issue and told him I expected compensation for all my time, trouble and frustration and he said, "That's laughable!" Absolutely no apology, no remorse and no respect! He also told me I got a good deal on my car and said I should be thankful for the price I got. I may have gotten a good price, but that is because I do my homework and drove almost 2 hours to a dealership that had the right car for the right price. If I had any idea that I would have a problem like this I would have gladly gone to another dealership. It's now been almost 8 months with no resolution. I still don't have the title for the car I paid cash for.

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive the title for the vehicle purchased and paid for in full. I also expect compensation for my time, frustration and lost wages trying to resolve the issue

5/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started leasing a 2016 Toyota Rav4 Limited in November 2014. I brought it in for the 10,000 mileage oil change on 8/22/15 and I had 10,613 miles. My customer number is *******. They said that the brakes needed to be replaced. The left brake was at 3 mm and the right was at 5 mm. They noted that the rotors were blue and warped (over heated) and the front wheel was full of brake dust. They said they would replace the brakes since they were so new. I told them that it isn’t normal for brakes to last only 10k miles and that there must be something else wrong. They said they couldn’t find anything and that replacing the brakes should resolve the issue. When I went to pick the car up it appeared to be freshly washed with what appeared to be soap build-up on the front windshield. When I got home and looked more closely I found that it was a large scratch. I called the dealership immediately and talked to the manager ***. He told me to bring it in the next day. I did and he looked it over. He said that there may have been something on the windshield that caused the scratch when they turned on the wipers. I didn’t notice anything so if there was they removed it prior to me picking up the car. I decided to just live with the scratch since they covered the brakes. I brought the car back on Saturday 4/23/16 to get my 20,000 oil change. I am currently at 20,395 miles. I was told again that my brakes need to be changed. They were again at 3 mm each. They noted that the rotors were glazed and the front wheel was full of brake dust again. I told them that it isn’t possible for the brakes to be going out so fast and something has to be wrong with the brakes system. They again said they couldn’t see anything and had me pay $265.72 to repair the brakes. I again talked to *** and my advisor **** who told me to call Toyota Corporate if I am not happy and hung up. Now a couple of days after getting the oil changed there is a slight shaking while I’m driving.

Desired Settlement: At this point I feel that they should replace the windshield, replace the entire brake system, figure out why the car is shaking and refund me for the repair or give me a new car to replace this one with the defective brake system.

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/8/2016 9AM I went to AutoNation Toyota Scion Irvine (dealership) located at 9101 Research Dr Irvine CA to do a lease end purchase on my 2013 Toyota Prius. When I walked into the dealership, I immediately saw the front desk was smoking e-cigarette in the show room. He put it away when I approached and began to talk, I asked to speak with the finance dept. ***** from the finance dept asked me into her office and began the paper work. I asked her for the auto loan rate, she told me in order to get low interest rate/APR, she will require me to purchase 3 add-on services, and they are the GAP insurance, prepaid maintenance, and extended warranty. If I do it she will be able to cheat the lenders to get me low interest rate, then I will have to wait 6 months to cancel it so the lenders won’t notice. She also promised all three add-on contracts were “cancel anytime with full refund”. Also she promised I do not have to come back to the dealer, just send her a text or email she will cancel for me right away. I signed the contracts and left the dealership. Later the week I sent an email to the customer inbox to confirm if those add-on were indeed “cancel anytime with full refund”, responded by ***** *******, and ** ***** “Yes, cancel anytime but with proration if not cancel within 30 days”. I was on a family trip in Japan, wrote a cancellation email to *****’s office email on 3/1/2016 to ***********************. She replied do not send this to her office, sent to her personal email at ****************** . Also I texted to her cellphone at ************. She confirmed will help me to cancel and will receive full refund on 3/4/2016, which is within 30 days from 2/8/2016. Upon return from Japan, I’ve tried many attemps to contact ***** to finish up the paperwork, however she never responds to my call, email, or text. Went ahead to reach out to ***** *******, and ** ***** on 3/18, no response from either of the parties either. I tried to call the dealership, and was informed

Desired Settlement: I hereby file this complaint regarding the unethical business practice from Autonation Toyota Irvine, I hope they will stop using tricks to lure/enforce consumers to buy unnecessary add-on services, hold accountability of their employee’s wrongdoing, and fully refund my GAP insurance without penalty.

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a vehicle from this dealership on Oct 23rd 2015 and paid in full for vehicle price, transferring fees and title of the vehicle. As of today 04/19/2016 despite of several calls they never register vehicle nor they transfer the title to my name. I could not rent this vehicle sinse 6 months and paid interest fees, parking fees and loss of rental.

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a truck at this business and leased Prius. It has now been three months and I am still receiving toll violation notices for the truck I traded in. I have called multiple times and they have assured me they will take care of it, and submit the necessary paperwork to the DMV to take the truck out of my name. They have not. I have emailed, called, and left reviews on yelp for them in which they were assured me they would remedy this problem. I received another Toll Road violation today showing the truck is still in my name. I called AutoNation and they said someone would call me back immediately about this issue. They did not call.

Desired Settlement: Provide proof that you have in fact transfered this vehicle out of my name. An apology for the inordinate amount of time I have spent on this would be great.

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our vehicle for our family back in July of 2015. Not very long after our purchase I reached out to our sales person via phone and email on 7/23/15 about the issues our vehicle was already having. I never heard back from any one in regards to our concerns. We were then driving our vehicle (2010 Chevy Malibu) and the engine started acting like it was going to die on us but it did not over heat. At this point we are very frustrated cause this vehicle has been one thing after another (Breaks were giving off a bad noise since 1 week after purchase, Knocking noise when you turned the steering wheel to make any turns 1 week after purchase, Shocks sounds like you’re driving with crickets the whole time you’re driving since 1 week after purchase, The engine started giving us issues and a noise is coming from the engine compartment / transmission area which we finally took it back to AutoNation Toyota) All these issues were documented via email and phone/voicemails. This is when we were advised that the exhaust manifold was cracked and needed to be replaced. We were then contacted to pick up our vehicle and upon driving it the noise in the engine compartment was still there. My husband immediately took it back to the service department and they advised us to bring it back on Monday because there was nothing further they could do over the weekend. We then brought it back that Monday and it had to be taken elsewhere for an oil consumption test. I can provide the specific dates of emails, phone calls and voicemail's. I then followed up about the oil consumption test. After the oil consumption test we were advised that our car needed a new engine this being 4 months after we purchased it. About a month after receiving our car back the RPM’s were acting up. We then took the car back in and now need a new transmission and the warranty company does not want to cover this.

Desired Settlement: Have our vehicle repaired to what the dealership advertised this as per the inspection report and CarFax

10/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a car on August 2, gave them a check they were supposed to deposit on August 31, and they cashed the check on August 7!! Talked to ***** who claims he doesnt know who cashed the check and would make sure it got reimbursed until August 31. Have been calling and leaving messages and never got any calls back. They don't answer the phone. We got multiple NFS fees from our bank due to them cashing the check, which ***** claimed we would get reimbursed on and he never sent the check!! Have been calling every day multiple times and no one contacts us back. We finally heard from **** (Sales Manager) on August 20 (13 days after the check was deposited) who at first seemed nice and eager to resolve our issue, then things quickly changed. We sent documentation of the total of $370 in fees from our bank as well as proof that the check cleared. He gets back to me saying that they supposedly don't have the money and they will still collect our deposit on August 31. He cut a check for the fees but did nothing else that I've asked him for. He was very rude and was quick to cut me off. I still have no idea who is financing my truck, since they ran our credit FOUR different times, and made us sign a new contract before running our credit once again. I asked for proof that they don't have the money and got ignored. Horrible business practices.

Desired Settlement: FULL Refund of our deposit until August 31, as well as cover any fees that are still processing to our account and an apology for giving us the run around for a whole month! Also reimbursement of the gas we spent going down to the dealership (45min away) since NO ONE would answer the phone or contact us.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came in with an approved deal from another lender. Was talked into being financed by dealer. **** in finance department calls 2 weeks later asking me to return the car if I don't accept his new deal of higher interest and monthly payments because none of his banks would approve me. I ask for proof of this matter no response. Car was sold to me missing items and bad electronics (sold as is) which is ok but was not advertised or mentioned to myself or Co signer about missing items in car or the bad Radio. I mention to this supposed Finance manger (horrible one of u ask me) that I walked in with a done deal from Santander USA /roadloans and continues to argue with me over phone that it's not true and he's never heard of Santander roaloans. And if I don't take his new deal I must return car. I positive his new deal is either his own private small time finance bank or a friend of his please investigate this Scum bag

Desired Settlement: Someone needs to do an internal investigation on **** in finance department please.

7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive practice/method used. I purchased a 2014Toyota corolla. The sales manager added roadside assistance for 4 years and charged $188.00. I specifically told him I did not want any extras and that I am a AAA member and am already covered for roadside assistance. He then told me okay, and that he would remove that coverage. I believed what he said. When I got home I looked over my documents and saw that he did not remove the extra coverage that I did not need and charged me $188.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the $188.00 charged for Roadside assistance that I do not need or want.

Business Response: Mr. ***** has been advised several times to please come in to the dealership and we would be happy to cancel the products.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in my car for a routine service. When the consultant came back he said that I have a "nail in my front tire and they they can replace the tires but they don't carry these so I would have to get a rent a car". I asked him if there was leaking cause the TPMS has not gone off, he informed me that it was probably safe to drive but he wouldn't do it for a long period of time. He also said "Your battery isn't charging and in the red and it has corrosion and is leaking" again recommending a replacement. I then told him that both the tires and battery were under warranty. I took the tires to Costco and they couldn't find any evidence of the tire leaking or has a nail in it. I also called AAA where we bought the battery and said that the battery was charging fine and it was "just a little dirty" no evidence of leaking or corrosion. I have documentation to support this. I was shocked to see that a they would flat our lie like this on inspections or anything else for that matter. I understand that up selling goes on in these places but make it for legitimate reasons not for false findings.

Desired Settlement: for me. I would like them investigated. if they have done this to me, I wonder what other customers they have done this to. Not only the consultants but I would like their technicians investigated.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2002 black Camry to irvine auto nation Toyota for an oil change and tire rotation yesterday May 13, 2014I received a list of recommended services along with the bill for oil change service. I had presented a coupon that was sent to me to save for this service.Today May 14th I took my car to an independent mechanic in Huntington Beach to get a quote on those suggested services by Irvine Toyota .He( ***** from AE automotive ) asked me when was the last time I changed my engine oil which I responded yesterday .He said and showed me that the engine oil is extremely dark and dirty . I could not believe what I saw. I take this as a negligence in mechanics part that may be forgot to do the oil change but anyhow I would like to report this incident as an exception to the rule but I would like to know if such reports have been sent to BBBAlso I would like Toyota of Irvine to refund my money for the service they never performedThank you

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation from Irvine Toyota about this incident

Business Response: Customer Relations Manager left a message for the customer and sent an email to the address provided.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Toyota Irvine
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)