Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Audi San Diego

Phone: (858) 549-6000 Fax: (858) 348-4136 9010 Miramar Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.audisandiego.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned Audi vehicles, auto service, and repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Audi San Diego meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Audi San Diego include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

This business went through an ownership change on 10/01/2011.  Complaints filed before 10/01/2011 were filed while this company was under the previous ownership.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Audi San Diego
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1993 Business started: 12/29/1993 in CA Business under new ownership as of: 10/01/2011 Business incorporated 03/30/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 80811.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 267629.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Margas, President/General Manager Mr. Rob Smith, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Margas, President/General Manager
Principal: Mr. Rob Smith, General Manager
Number of Employees

95

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Kuni Enterprises Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • 9010 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 549-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/29/14 I gave my son the signature so he can buy his first car. We found the car my son like at Audi dealer in San Diego. When we purchase this 2005 G35 Infiniti. The sales man never told us about the condition of this vehicle. We though we bought a good working car coming from an Audi dealership. We drove home and took us 3 hours to get home. An hour before we got home the car started having problems all the lights warning came up like the service engine soon, ABS sensors and traction control was not functioning and then clutch was not working and responding. The next day on 8/30/14 in the morning we called audi the service manager and he told us to take it to the closest Nissan or inifiniti dealership so I took it to Nissan that morning. they kept it for 4 days and then they found out that the car had a lot of modifications on the suspension and brakes so they advice us to take it back to audi. audi took it back to fix the problems and the kept the vehicle for 3 weeks. they send the car to infinifi to fix the issues that they couldn't fix so infiniti fixed some issues but they found more issues and audi decline to fix those problems on the suspension because infiniti gave them a $1,600 estimation to fix it and they said no. when we found out, we talked to audi about the problems and they said they didn't have to fix it if it was not a safety hazard but they were not going to tell us about the problem if infiniti didn't tell us when we made an appointment to make a extra key with them. when we picked up the car they were really rude and mean to us especially the sales car manager named "***** ****" he threw my key to the ground when we told him we wanted to talk someone higher than him later and he accused us for harassing the employees but it was not true. we talked to the GM "**** ******" and he said they wont fix the problems a 100% he wants us to pay half which is not fair because "******* ******" told us they knew there were problems in this car and they should take care of this

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to take care of all the repair cost but if they don't want to pay to fix it I want a full refund. They want us to pay half of the repair cost and I don't think is fair.

Business Response:

This is in response to the BBB complaint from ***** *********.  Mr. ********* purchased the used vehicle, a 2005 Inifiniti G35 on August 29, 2014.  You will see on the attachment, the vehicle was sold with warranty coverage for the drive train (engine/transmission and all internal lubricated parts) but no other warranty was purchased by Mr. ********* nor was any implied.  However, when he explained he had issues with his clutch upon returning home, we agreed to pay the entire repair as a one-time goodwill gesture.  Over a month later, Mr. ********* returned to the dealership saying there was further repairs needed for the suspension.  Again, in the interests of trying to help, I agreed to split the cost of the repair with them but in exchange I will require that they sign a release stating that it's understood there would be no further goodwill assistance in the future.  We feel we went above and beyond in an effort to satisfy Mr. ********* in this case.

Sincerely,

**** ******

General Manager

Audi San Diego

****.******@audisandiego.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *********

The reason I am not satisfied with this resolution is because they are saying that I return in a month saying that I had suspension problems when they had the car for a month. Audi dealer had my son's car five days after we bought it
we bought it on 08-29-2014 and they took it in 09-04-2014 and return it to us 09-27-2014.The reason I found the car suspension problems it was because I stop at Kearny mesa Infiniti on 09-27-2014 to make an appointment for Them  could cut a key so we could have an extra key. At the infiniti dealer there is where we found out that the car had suspension problems because they told us that Audi of San Diego decline repairs.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 Toyota Prius from Audi San Diego on Sept. 20, 2013. I tried to push a button in the seat to see what it does and the seat immediately deflated and would not respond to the inflate/deflate buttons. This was the very first time I pushed the button and it was within ~60 miles and five days of purchasing the vehicle. I contacted Audi San Diego and was told by **** ***** (my sales person) that because (1) it wasn't a safety issue they wouldn't fix it (he assured me if it was, they would fix it), (2) the profit margin was too small for them to help me out and that if I hadn't negotiated there would be room to help me out (this wasn't ever stated in negotiations or written anywhere in the paperwork), and (3) I could speak with ***** ******* and try to convince him myself. I fully understand that I didn't test every single button in the prius prior to purchasing it and I elected to not have the warranty from Audi San Diego when I purchased the vehicle. My concerns lie with the the unethical excuses given by **** ***** and the fact that the owner never even responded to my email (I would be happy to show proof). I contacted the owner, ****** ***** III, on October 5, 2013 (over one month ago) to have him contact me regarding how unfairly I felt I was treated regarding the seat that was broken in the car I just purchased from him. He never took the time to responded to my email. Hopefully you will convince him to take that time. - HERE IS MY EMAIL TO GEORGE ATHAN III ON OCT. 5, 2013 - Dear ****** *****, I purchased a 2010 Toyota Prius from **** at Audi San Diego on the evening of 9/19/2013. On Tuesday, 9/24/2013, I tried the lumbar support button for the first time and it just deflated the support in the seat immediately and now it will no longer inflate/deflate when the button is pushed. I called over to Audi San Diego and asked to speak with someone in the service department about the issue. I spoke with **** on and explained the issue I was having. **** said he needed to speak with his manager about how to handle this situation. **** didn't call me back by the following morning, so I emailed **** the following email: --------------------------------------------------- Hi ****, I purchased the 2010 Toyota Prius from you last Thursday evening. I spoke with two people at Audi San Diego and didn't get calls back from anyone today. I wanted to confirm the check sent from SchoolsFirst FCU through FedEx for the full balance of $16,300 was received by the finance department this morning. I called the front desk and spoke with ***** and I was transferred to the wrong voicemail the first time, but I left a voicemail anyways. I called back later this afternoon (when I had time to call back) and spoke with ***** again. She said that the lady working in the finance department, who could answer my question, was busy. ***** offered to take a message and said that the lady in the finance department would get back to me after the people she was with left, but that never happened. Secondly, I spoke with **** in the used car service department this evening and I didn't hear back from him yet, so I wanted to touch base with you. He was checking to see when you guys would be able to fit me in for a service appointment. I tried to use the driver's side lumbar support button this afternoon and it immediately deflated when I pushed the button. Now, it doesn't inflate or deflate when the buttons are pushed. It sounds like the button is clicking in the seat and it's telling the lumbar support to start inflating or deflating, but nothing happens. Could you please speak with the lady in the finance department to confirm my check was received and please speak with **** to make sure I'll be covered to come in for an appointment to have the seat fixed? Please feel free to call me at *******-****. Thank you! *** *****l ------------------------------------------------ The next morning (9/25/13), I received an email back from **** letting me know that he would get in touch with **** and then get back to me about an appointment. **** called me to inform me that Audi San Diego would not fix the lumbar support because it is "not a safety issue" and "we sold it to you so low, to move inventory." I told him that I really felt it was unfair to not fix something like this in this situation. I felt like I should be able to speak with a manager about this, because it was already broken the first time I tried to use it, I noticed it just a few days after the purchase and after the car had gone through a supposedly thorough inspection, and I had driven well under 100 miles since leaving the lot. **** told me that I would have to convince ***** that this is something that should be covered. I called ***** and explained the situation to him and that I just purchased the car. ***** explained that it wasn't something he could authorize and that he would need to answer to his manager, so he said felt that talking with his manager before authorizing that repair would be necessary. I understood and thanked him. ***** said he was sure that **** has my number, so he didn't need it. No one at Audi San Diego got back to me since. I sent ***** the following email last Friday (9/27/13): ------------------------------------------------ Hi *****, I hope you're having a good morning. I wanted to let you know how much I really appreciate you talking with your manager about this situation. I was hoping to touch base with you today about that. Please feel free to email me or call me at 619-6**-****. Thank you, *** ****** ------------------------------------------------ Neither **** or ***** ever got back to me. **** called me back last Saturday (9/28/13) to say that you decided that there was no profit margin left and you were only making $125 after all was said and done and if I had paid the full asking price, then it would've been taken care of. Really? **** said he had friends at Toyota and would call them and see what it would cost to fix and bring that cost to you and see if you would consider that and then he would get back to me. That was one week ago today and I have heard nothing back from anyone at Audi San Diego. I was confident based on my pre-purchase and purchase experience at Audi San Diego that I was going to be reasonably taken care of based on the my experience talking with **** and that assurances that Audi San Diego provided excellent customer service. I understand that repairing/replacing any part would cut into your profit margin on a sale and you're in the business of making money. However, it also seems like taking care of a customer and not giving the customer a ridiculous runaround in a situation where they just purchased a vehicle from you is far more profitable in the long run based on gaining that life-long customer and the numerous face-to-face/online reviews and recommendations that strongly impact other potential buyers. Please contact me at 619-60*-**** or email me at ****************, so we can remediate this situation. Thank you, *** ******

Desired Settlement: Fix the buttons/lumbar support issue in the seat.

Business Response:

Hi *******,

Thank you for your email and I'm sorry to learn that you are having an issue with your vehicle.

Contrary to what **** may have told you, we don't make a determination on what to fix or not fix on a customers vehicle based on their negotiating skills when they purchased the vehicle.  In fact, we always try to do the right thing and make sure that the cars we represent and sell are quality preowned vehicles.  To that end, we provide a 2 year/100,000 mile warranty (at our expense) on all preowned vehicles we sell.  This warranty covers the major components (Engine, Transmission and Drive Train) and gives most of our customers the piece of mind that in the event of a major repair on their vehicle, this warranty will cover them.  For those customers that want full coverage, we offer many different service plans that cover additional components for various terms and miles.  This extended coverage is at the discretion of the customer, and if they elect to choose this coverage, they would purchase this coverage at their expense.

As the seat is not a covered component of the included warranty, and you declined to purchase any additional coverage, normally the repair to the seat would be at your discretion.  However, as an act of goodwill, I am willing to contribute up to $250 on any repair to the seat you elect to do.  Your best bet is to take it to a Toyota dealership for inspection, as they have Toyota certified technicians and the tools necessary to work on their vehicles.  Based on the expense to repair the seat, it will be at your discretion again to move forward with the repair.

Please contact me directly with any questions.

****** *****
General Manager
858.578.8600
*****************************

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Lexus IS250 for $18,000.00 on June 7th, 2013 At the time of the transaction I asked if the front tinted windows were legal ' "yes, they are" was the response. My son, a SD Sheriff, informed me that they are not legal. On August 18, 2013 we received a "fix-it" ticket and a fine for the tinted windows. During the transaction it was noted that the radio system is working intermittently, the problem still exists and has not been fixed. On August 21, 2013the battery was dead and a new 0ne was installed for $170.00 by the owner of the vehicle. On September 7, 2013 the touchscreen on the computer has frozen which means we can no longer use the AC temperature, the radio changing features or the maps/GPS system. The cost to replace this is $2500.00. On September 10, 2013 I placed a call to Geoff Rawe, the General Manager and asked that he call me back by Close of Business on September 10, 2014 or I would be filing a complaint with the BBB. The sales man, *****, had to know the windows were illegal and I knew they were ( I thought ok, maybe the laws changed and he should know this). ***** told me he would be taking the car to SD Lexus for the recalibration of the tires, I said great, I know the head service manager over there and I will let him know the car was coming in so he could check it over. When I let ***** know, SD Lexus would be expecting the vehicle, he suddenly said, SD Lexus did not have any appts .available and he would be taking it to the Toyota Dealer across the street. The mechanic went over and checked it out and he was the one that verified the issue with the radio amplifier and other minor issues that were not of major concern. The headlights in the vehicle also went out with in the month and had to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: I would the amplifier to the radio replaced and the computer system replaced. At the time of service I want a "free" rental car, including the insurance covered.

Business Response:

I'm sorry to learn of the issues you have had with your Lexus since purchase.

If in fact we sold you the car with tint on the front driver and passenger windows, we will have those removed at our expense so you can resolve your fix it ticket.  Please contact us to schedule an appointment.

I am aware that your fog lights went out after the purchase of your vehicle, and we replaced them for you free of charge as an act of goodwill.

As for the radio screen, I'm sorry to hear that it went out.  We do provide a 2 year/Up to 100,000 mile warranty for Engine, Transmission and Powertrain components to all of our customers free of charge.  Unfortunately, the radio/navigation is not a covered component.  You were offered the chance to purchase a comprehensive warranty to cover more components than what we covered at the time of purchase, but you declined.

Unfortunately we are not able to offer any assistance on the radio/navigation screen.

Please contact me directly with any questions.

****** *****

General Manager

858.578.8600

*****************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Audi San Diego
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart