This Business is not BBB accredited

Teletron TV & Appliance

Phone: (714) 892-6999 Fax: (714) 892-2699 View Additional Phone Numbers 12820 Beach Blvd, Stanton, CA 90680

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Teletron TV & Appliance include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Teletron TV & Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Teletron TV & Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 05/22/2008 in CA Business incorporated: 05/22/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Lim, Vice President Marketing Ms. Cindy Lim
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Lim, Vice President Marketing
Principal: Ms. Cindy Lim
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Electronic Instruments

Alternate Business Names
Teletron Inc Teletron TV Audio Appliances
Industry Tips
Tech Support Scam

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12820 Beach Blvd

    Stanton, CA 90680 (714) 892-6999 (877) 892-6999 (213) 386-8999

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (213) 386-8999(Phone)
  • (877) 892-6999(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To my understanding, California law states that a merchant does not have to accept returns, but they need to inform consumers by presenting their return policy inconspicuously in a language that they can understand. The merchant failed to place a conspicuous notice of their no return policy. When I called about a return, the merchant stated that a return policy is written on the back of the invoice. This is redundant as that the purchase has been completed and by being able to read the notice means that a return cannot be made. When I explained the California refund policies to *** *****, sales manager of Teletron, he stated that "please file a claim with the small claims court because I am very busy today." My parents, who made the purchase, did not see any signs that allowed them to know that this place has a no return policy. As customary with other retailers such as *****, ********, and ******, there was nothing contrary that allowed them to believe that a return was not possible. The single item's total cost is $9,178.93, my parents have been trying to return the item for the past week, but the merchant has not allowed them to do so. Thank you Below is the source of my information. http://oag.ca.gov/consumers/general/refund_policies

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $9,178.93 of a product bought on 10/12/2014. Product was opened and out of box when delivered to our home on 10/13/14. Full receipt and documentation are available.

Business Response:

On October 12, 2014, the customer purchased a new Inada massage chair at Teletron's
Stanton's store. As part of the purchase price, the chair would be delivered and Teletron would
provide ''Basic Setup and Installation" as described in the lnvoice (Exhibit "A" attached
consisting of two pages). A delivery date was set for October 13,2014.

Tcletron clearly states its store policy regarding returns or defective units on the Invoice
(See Exhibit ''A'' attached) and is also posted above the cash register where payment is made
(See Exhibits "B" and "C" attached). This is in complete compliance with California law.

On October l3, 2014, the massage chair was delivered to the residence in La Puente.
This chair was new and was brought into the residence inside the box. The chair was unpacked
and set up by Teletron~s delivery team. Teletron, as part of its service, then tests the chair and
shows the customer how to operate it. The customer is afforded the opportunity to ask any
questions regarding its operation. This is exactly what was done by the delivery team. At that
time there was absolutely nothing wrong with the massage chair. The customer also
acknowledges, in writing, that they have received the chair in good working order, had the
opportunity to discuss the product with the team members, and that the delivery team did not
cause damage to the customer's property during delivery and/or installation. This written
acknowledgment was signed by the customer and is attached as Exhibit "D".

The store policy, contained on the Invoice as well as posted in the store, states .. Except
tbr defective products or as otherwise provided below, all sales are final and no returns or
exchanges are allowed .... Any product may be returned for a full refund if returned within 7 days
of purchase and unopened and unused, except for ... massage chair ... ". The store policy is clear
and in compliance with California law. Therefore, there can be no return of the chair.

There is a new allegation contained in the complaint made to your department, namely
that the heating element that did not work. This was never brought to the attention ofTeletron.
Additionally, it is unclear as to when this "defect" was allegedly discovered.

Teletron does have a written policy regarding defective merchandise. It states, "Except
for defective products or as otherwise provided below, all sales arc final and no returns or
exchanges are allowed. All products are covered by manufacturer's warranty only .... Defective
products may be exchanged for identical products only if returned to the store within 14 days of
purchase date. Manufacturer's warranty applies after this 14 day period".

Here, the customer is not requesting to exchange a defective product for an identical one,
but rather requesting to return the entire chair and receive a refund merely because the heating
function apparently was not working. This is against Teletron's policy. Often when customers
have problems it is not due to a defect, but rather their incorrect use of the electronic functions of
the chair. lf a true defect exists, it would be covered by the manufacturer's warranty and the
customer needs to contact lnada (the manufacturer). Teletron, however, would be happy to assist
the customer in having someone from lnada come out and inspect the chair to see if there really
is a defect. If there is one, then lnada will be able to remedy the problem

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There was no presentation given, the product is defective. The chair was delivered and a signature was requested. The contract is in English, Teletron's main demographic of consumers are Vietnamese and Koreans. The contract is not written in a language in which the recipient  can understand, the recipient that signed for the chair does not speak or read English. It was believed that the signature was for the delivery of the item. 

The chair has still not been used besides evaluations to see if the chair is malfunctioning or if it was user error. The heating unit is still not functioning. 

Regards,

**** ****



7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a TV from Teletron a few months ago. The store is in Orange County but I decided to go because of the sale. But the TV broke down after just a month. I drove the long distance to ask for refund but they told me that it is 15 days for the warrantly. I complained that most companies in the U.S give refund as they told me to get the TV fixed in another place. As I raised my voice, the store manager even called the police. I took the TV to another place but they said they don't have the right material to fix it. Realizing that this is going to take a long time, I called the company's headquarter in eastern coast and sent the TV and the receipt via UPS. Their response was shocking. They reported me that the TV contains used-materials that causes error. After 2 months, I succeeded in getting the refund for the TV. However, the company still refuses to pay me back the tax. During the whole proess, I found the company's attitude and behavior toward a customer shockingly unpleasant and rude. I believe that the company should willingly give refunds to customers if there is a problem with its products. I just spent too much time, trying to get the refund for the TV, and I think the company should pay me back $37.70 for the total tax I paid. I have recently talked with Patricia earlier today and she told me to send me an email through here. I hope to hear back asap. Thankyou.

Desired Settlement: $37.70

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 23rd 2014, I went to Teletron to try out the Inada massage chair but I didn't plan to buy it yet. A sale lady (***** ***) keep telling me to fill out the form that saying to check credit but it's NOT. That application is for applying Teletron credit card. I have double check with her that I'm not going to buy it yet. She said:"Don't worry, once I decide I can give her a call". Before I leave the store, another lady from reception desk hand me the receipt to sign. I asked that lady:"why do I have to sign it if I don't plan to buy it yet?" She said:"No no, just sign. We wait for your call". Once I get home, around 6 o'clock I make a call, ask to speak to ***** *** that I don't want to buy that chair, I'm still looking around first. She said:"Okay, don't worry". Then, Monday April 3rd 2014, Teletron delivery man call me saying that they're going to delivery the massage chair to me. I said:"No, no. I have called ***** *** that I don't want the chair anymore" then he said:"Well, if that a case I have to go to store and speak to them". On April 8th 2014, I have received a bill from Well Fargo regarding to the Massage Chair. I called Teletron right away that day. Still, they told me to come down to get cancel it. This is FRAUD, SCAM, and totally LIAR to customer. I don't satisfy with this service. At the beginning I don't authorize to buy this chair. But they keep forcing me and bypass to explaining just to get the product out. I don't know how this store grow until these day? Look up on Yelp, there are a lot of complaints about them regarding to products and services.

Desired Settlement: I want them to clear my bill which mean clear with Well Fargo Bank and making sure my credit is not screw up by them.

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service