Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Moore Legal Center PC

Find a Location

Phone: (616) 940-5611 Fax: (619) 940-5634 1120 Sycamore Ave #2F, Vista, CA 92081 http://moorelegalcenter.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mediation, debt consolidation, and legal services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moore Legal Center PC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moore Legal Center PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moore Legal Center PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 2011 Business started: 10/05/2010 in CA Business incorporated 10/05/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of California
845 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles CA 90017
http://www.calbar.ca.gov
Phone Number: (213) 765-1000
The number is 148698.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom A Moore, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom A Moore, President
Related Businesses
Brownstone Law Group PC Consumer Affairs Law Center Inc
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Litigation Attorneys & Lawyers - Mediation & Arbitration Attorneys & Lawyers - Civil Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Attorneys & Lawyers

Service Area
Serving All of San Diego County
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

State Bar of California 845 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles CA 90017 Phone Number: (213) 765-1000 http://www.calbar.ca.gov

California Attorney General PO Box 944255, Sacramento CA 94244-2550 Phone Number: (800) 952-5225 http://www.ag.ca.gov

Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvanis Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20580 http://www.ftc.gov

Industry Tips
Credit Repair/ Credit Counseling Debt Collection Rights Debt Negotiators/ Debt Settlements Fair Credit Reporting Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 1120 Sycamore Ave #2F

    Vista, CA 92081 (616) 940-5611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in an incredible amount of debt and received a notice in the mail that I could have this company get me settlements on my credit card debt. I was told by ***** ***** - The person I originally spoke with about debt settlement that I could cancel the program at any time and get all of my money back excluding of course the money already distributed to collectors. I signed up with ****** and Moore in June of 2012. My initial legal deposit was 6/22/12 in the amount of $500.00. I went onto make several more payments on the following dates: 7/23/12 - $554.08, I missed August's payment, so I made a payment and a half in September and October: 9/28/12 - $831.12 and 10/29/12 - 831.12, 11/23/12 - 554.08, 12/24/12 - 554.08, 2/12/13 - 641.08, 3/1/13 - 641.08, 4/5/13 - 641.08, 5/3/13 - 641.08. The program I entered was a 30 month program with monthly payments of 554.08. You will notice the increase of $87.00 monthly starting in February. ****** and Moore said they had entered into another settlement with a collector (*****) but the only way to pay two collectors at a time was to have more money monthly. The first settlement they got me was with ***** ***** for my line of credit. ****** and Moore was paying ***** ***** 360.00 a month for 12 months. Since their legal fee came out of my monthly payment each month, there was not enough money to pay to collectors at one time which is why my payment increased. As you can see with my payments, I paid them $6388.80. Of that $6388.80, they only paid 3 payments to ***** ***** in the amount of 360.00 for a total of $1080.00. Therefore, they still had 5308.80 of my money that was not used on my debt. I finally cancelled my program on May 9th, 2013 through an email to customerservice@******andmoore.com as they stated was the proper way to cancel. The extra $87 I was paying a month to settle my ***** account never went to ***** as they said they lost the settlement but never told me and continued to take the extra money. When signing up with this company, I was told they work with you so the process is as painless as possible. ***** told me that if I needed to change the date of withdrawal of the monthly payment that I could without issue, which I needed to because it was a large payment and very difficult to keep up with. But as the program went on, they never worked with me and actually told me I couldn't be in the program if I needed to change the date again and suggested I claim bankruptcy. So I ended my program. I looked at their BBB rating before I signed up with them and it was an A-, now they are not on BBB. Their phone is disconnected too. I am not able to get in contact with them as two letters have been sent without response. For a long time I have been ashamed of myself for believing that this process would work. However they (****** and Moore) tell you everything you want to hear to get you to sign up but then don't follow through with their promise. I am worse off now that I used this company. My credit score has dropped 200 points. The company they used to automatically withdraw payments from my checking was called Global client solutions.

Desired Settlement: I paid them 6388.80 over 11 months of which they only used 1080.00. The difference is $5308.80. Their total legal fee if the program was complete was $5540.79, which is only 231.99 short of what I paid them; however, they and I never finished the program and they never kept their agreement. I am looking for all $5308.80 to be refunded.

Business Response: The complainant signed a contract with our company in May of 2012 for debt resolution services. We do not offer a 100% money back guarantee because we need to be paid for our services so the statement "The person I originally spoke with about debt settlement that I could cancel the program at any time and get all of my money back excluding of course the money already distributed to collectors" is completely inaccurate and nowhere in the contract does it state that. The complainant's draft breakdowns are correct except the last payment made into the program was on 4/4/13 in the amount of $641.08. The May payment was returned to us due to insufficient funds. The complainant paid a total of $5,247.72 along with a $500.00 legal deposit. The first settlement that we obtained was with ***** for 40% of the balance (saving the complainant $1,832.53.) The second settlement that we obtained for the complainant was with ***** ***** for 45% of the balance (saving the complainant $5,544.80.) Unfortunately, we could not complete either settlement because the client changed her draft from the 23rd of the month (as originally agreed to) out to the 28th of the month. She refused to keep it on the date as originally agreed to even though she would risk losing both settlements. We were able to renegotiate the ***** ***** account to work with the new draft date but we could not complete that either because the client canceled the program prematurely. We also made four payments to ***** ***** ($962.00 on 1/10/2013, $352.00 on 2/10/2013, $352.00 on 3/10/2013 and $352.00 on 4/10/2013) before the complainant canceled in May 2013. We always try to work with our clients as much as possible but if a settlement arrangement is in place and changing or skipping a draft will affect that settlement arrangement we advise strongly against doing so. We never suggest filing for Bankruptcy to one of our clients. Our program is an alternative to Bankruptcy and we want consumers to be as successful in our program as possible to avoid filing for Bankruptcy. As you know, we have an A+ rating with the BBB and our customer service phone number and physical address has been the same for the last five years. We also advise in several different locations on the contract along with advising you in person during your presentation and over the phone during your welcome call that your credit will be adversely affected while you are in the program. The client made the decision to cancel the contract prematurely and was not entitled to a refund when she canceled. We automatically refund the client's account balance to them upon cancellation but the complainant did not have an account balance because of the two different settlements that were obtained and the fees that go along with them. Please let me know if you need anything additional.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

1- If it is "completely inaccurate" to say that my money would be refunded in the event that I cancel my program, it should NEVER be presented as such as it was to me. ***** absolutely stated this was fact which is one of the biggest reasons I moved forward with this company.

2- I was told the FIRST settlement was with ***** ***** as the company tries to settle the largest accounts first to prevent legal actions. I was not told about the ***** settlement until January of 2013 when the company asked me to increase my monthy withdrawal to cover the ***** account. Not one ***** payment was ever sent but I continued to pay the extra $87/month. Where did my $87/month go?

3-Regarding the draft date change from 23rd to 28th of each month- NEVER once was it told to me that it would affect my settlements. I had been dealing with "*******" when it came to my draft change. When it was later brought to my attention after making the change that it affected my ***** settlement and settlement was lost, I asked, "Why didn't ******* disclose this to me before I changed my draft date?" They said, "All I can tell you is ******* no longer works with us." If I would have been porperly informed that my actions affected my settlement, I would not have made the decision to change my draft date. I didn't even know I lost the ***** settlement until I canceled in May. Where did my extra $87 go all those months with no settlement in place.

4- The woman that gave me the email information to cancel the program absolutely encouraged bankruptcy. Listen to the phone recordings.

5-The phone number I called several times no longer works. Unfortunately I do not have the number available to me right now but can provide it at a later date if needed.

6- I see no rating for ****** and Moore with BBB.

7- Is ****** and Moore licensed to work in Minnesota?

Regards,

******* ******



Business Response: The consumer's account balance is refunded upon cancellation but that does not equate to a full refund. Please refer to your signed contract on page, section 8 for clarification on fees, costs and refunds. 

The settlements were made within two weeks from each other (they were both provided in the original correspondence.) Actually, a payment was sent to ***** but we ended up having to reverse it because they could not honor the new payment dates once your draft was changed. I have attached the full transaction history for the complainant to show where everything has been accounted for. 
We do not, and have never had, an employee by the name of *******. You spoke to a Customer Service Manager on 12/27/12 at 12:35pm after we had left several voicemails explaining that we could not change your draft date without putting both settlements in jeopardy. The note from the Customer Service manager stated: "finally got a hold of the client, she does not wish to keep her drafts on the 23rd to keep her settlements. I let her know they will both be voided."  
You have not been a client of ours for over 2 years and call recordings are not stored for that long. 
We are not aware of what phone number you were attempting.
You stated "now they are not on BBB" and we are (http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/credit-and-debt-counseling/******-and-moore-pc-in-grand-rapids-mi-********) but we do not have a rating because we changed our name several years ago and no longer do business as ****** and Moore, P.C. 
We are licensed to work in Minnesota along with 42 other states. 
Thank you.

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered an agreement with Moore Legal Center in June 2013 for them to assist me with debt settlement. I paid them a total amount of $5,100 between June 2013 and June 2014. Prior to June 2014, I informed them that my income situation had changed significantly and I would not be able to keep the initial agreement with the amount of monthly drafts. They informed me that they were cancelling me from their program and that they were not willing to refund any of the $5,100 that I had paid. They provided virtually no service to me, other than sending out a power of attorney letter to three ******or accounts. I asked on multiple occasions if we could reach an agreement on a refund amount, but they flatly refused. Product_Or_Service: debt settlement ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am looking for a partial refund of the fees that I paid. They are entitled to keeping a reasonable fee for the minimum service they provided, but to keep all of the $5,100 is not reasonable.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.   First point - I have provided Moore Legal Center with copies of all correspondence from my *********.  I have not received any new correspondence since the last recorded document., so I have complied fiully with their requirements in that regard.  They have refused to accept that fact. Second point  - I am not arguing the payment facts.  However, after the initial agreement in June 2013 and followng my divorce settlement in July 2013, I was required to pay alimony to my ex-spouse of $600 per month.  Also, in the fall of 2013, my income level changed dramatically.  I was very clear with Moore Legal Center about this and told them I could no longer meet the $840 monthly amount.  At that point, they decided to remove me from the program.  The ******** they provided to date are minimal at most.  I do not have a problem for them to receive a reasonable amount for their ********, but the $5,100 I have paid them is execessive for the amount of ******** they have provided.  I am therefore requesting a partail refund. Regards, ****** * *******

Business Response: Hello,   This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ****** *******.    We did not remove the complainant from the program until this month (July 2014) and we worked with him as much as we possibly could before terminating the agreement. Unfortunately, we are not able to successfully complete a debt settlement program for a client if they cannot consistently set aside funds and abide by the Schedule B in the agreement. We were not able to finalize any settlements because of the complainants lack of consistent drafts into his debt settlement program. Again, the agreement clearly states on page 9, section 8 that the service fee is earned upon payment and not subject to refund. It also goes on to state that upon each payment of the legal fee, that fee is earned and is not refundable unless Moore Legal Center, P.C. has committed an error or omission in the provision of the ********. We did not make any errors or omissions in providing our ******** so the complainant is not entitled to a refund.  Please let me know if you need to see a copy of the signed agreement or if you need anything further.    Sincerely, Moore Legal Center, PC

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Moore legal service to help with my financial issue. I sent them 1,630.00 and then decided to go a different route due to there record with the bbb, I asked to close my account and they did but they have refused to refund me the money.

Desired Settlement: I would love to receive the money that I have given them for service not rendered. For the full amount of 1630.00

Business Response: Hello,


Mr. ***** enrolled with our company on 5/6/2013 for debt resolution services. He made 3 payments into the program before cancelling on 7/25/2013. When Mr. ***** sent in his cancellation letter we immediately processed a refund of his account balance to go directly back into his bank account. I have attached the full account statement. I have also attached a copy of the signed contract including the retainer agreement and the Schedule B (payment schedule.) Please advise if you need anything additional. 

Moore Legal Center, PC

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep getting notices in the mail at my condo that state someone by the name of ******* ****** is in financial trouble and Moore Legal Center is offering to settle the debt. The person they are addressing the letter to does not exist. There is an estimated creditor balance of 41,200.00 that does not exist. I want them to stop sending this mail to my address. It looks like a creditor letter from the outside and it is embarrassing to me if anyone would see this. Especially because there is not a problem and the person they keep sending mail to doesn't exist. On another note, if they have information of this nature I would like to know where they got it from. Is someone stealing my identity? Is the a social security number attached to this claim that might actually be mine. Can you help me?Thank you, ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know how they got their information and if there is a social security number attached to their claim. (last 4 digits will be fine. I want to make sure it isn't mine) I would also like an apology if they find themselves in the wrong. And they will find themselves in the wrong. I would like to know if they got my address and the false name off a mailing list. If so, what mailing list.I would like them to take me off their mailing list.

Business Response: Dear ****,


The letter that was received by ******* ******* is just an advertisement for debt resolution services. If the person that the letter is addressed to does not live at that address the letter should be returned to the postal service with a notice stating that the addressee does not live at that address. We will add the name of ******* ****** and the address of * ****** ***** **** **** ******* ** ***** to our removal list so that the consumer will not be mailed to again. We use a modeled database company for our information. If ******* ******* is suspecting someone of stealing his identity he should contact the credit bureaus. We do not use, or have access to, credit bureau information so we cannot help him investigate. Please let me know if you need anything additional.

Thanks!

Moore Legal Center, PC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The resolution that any mail that is addressed to ******* ****** (who does not exist) be returned to the post office marked "this person does not live here" is ludicrous. My last name is ******* and returning the letter marked above would put my actual mail in jeapordy of being delivered. If my name was **** *** then this resolution would work.

Being taken off the mailing list should solve some problems but I would like to know the name of the company that supplied this false name with my address so I can contact them and get this false name with my address off their permanent mailing list.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Hello,


We only advise consumers to mark mail that way because of the laws regarding obstruction of correspondence. 

The information comes from a modeled database company which uses demographic, behavioral and attitudinal consumer data. They do not have a mailing list. They are a database company. I have removed your address from our mailing list already. You will not receive anymore mail from us.

Thank you,

Moore Legal Center, PC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like the database company to be informed that the person ******* ****** at the address you mailed me your correspondence does not exist. It appears to me that if you have it within your power to inform them about this, then you should inform them of this. I don't understand why you wouldn't. If you don't want to inform them, then I will do the work. Just give me the name of the company. By evading the issue I am finding it hard to believe this database company you speak of actually exists.

Regards,

******* *******

4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw this scary notice in pink, that has a $2,000 fine or 5 years imprisonment warning for failure to deliver, and a Settlement offer of $13,800 on my credit cards that I am NOT about to endanger. When I called, they after I refused to answer personal information, they hang up on me!

Desired Settlement: Never call or threaten me again. Older people will be dumb enough to answer questions and ruin their credit.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


The advertisement that ****** ****** received is for debt resolution services. The US Code listed on the advertisement is regarding obstruction of correspondence that applies to all mail and the code states: 
Whoever takes any letter, postal card, or package out of any post
office or any authorized depository for mail matter, or from any
letter or mail carrier, or which has been in any post office or
authorized depository, or in the custody of any letter or mail
carrier, before it has been delivered to the person to whom it was
directed, with design to obstruct the correspondence, or to pry
into the business or secrets of another, or opens, secretes,
embezzles, or destroys the same, shall be fined under this title or
imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

When a prospective client calls in from a mail advertisement we ask for a reference number, not personal information. I located the phone call from ****** ****** into our office on 3/30/2013. I can provide it upon request. We did not contact ****** ******, he contacted our office, and we would not contact him in the future as he was not interested. The only question that was asked of ****** ****** was if he owed more than $10,000 in unsecured debt because we cannot help anyone with less than that amount, it is not beneficial to the prospective client. He said he had no idea and did not know who we were. If the advertisement is not applicable to ****** ******, please have him disregard it.

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent threating mail on debt claiming to be BBB acredited demanding money 1st letter stating final notice not saying where this debt came from I owe no debt to any one

Desired Settlement: stop the fraud scaming people with false threating letters

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


The advertisement that **** ******* *********** received is an offer for debt resolution services. The mail piece states that it is an advertisement on the outside of the envelope once and on the body of the mail piece twice. If the advertisement is not applicable to Mr. *********** he should just disregard it. We do not demand money by any means, we offer debt resolution. We do not know who owns the debt because we do not use credit bureau data. Please advise if there is anything further that I can assist with.

Sincerely,

Moore Legal Center