Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Superior Abatement Services Inc

Phone: (844) 583-3278 Fax: (619) 303-5093 8665 Argent St #D, Santee, CA 92071 http://www.superiorabatementservicesinc.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers asbestos and lead clean up services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Abatement Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Abatement Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Abatement Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2009 in CA Business incorporated 05/19/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 939505.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Tilley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Tilley, President
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Asbestos Removal Service Rubbish & Garbage Removal Contractors Equipment Lead Abatement Lead Removal

Service Area
Serving Southern California
Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Superior Abatement Services, Inc was referred to us by Flood Busters after we suffered a water loss... we did not call them directly. These people just showed up because someone else called them. Mr. ****** and his employee came to do the abatement work. However, while here the worker decided to "demolish" my 3 year old granite countertops and steal/take them from my property without our (the homeowners) permission. This resulted in a direct refusal of coverage from my insurance. They not only demolished/stole my property, they also damaged my property by neglectfully throwing my 3 year old sink, faucet, busted up cabinets and other items out into my driveway (open to the public to take). When these issues were brought to the president/owner of Superior Abatement Services, Inc attention he had a quick inadequate completely insincere response. Proving he takes absolutely no responsibility for the way his company does business, or how it treats it's customers (many who are going through an already hard time with a property loss of some type). His website is a complete opposite of what they are... "This recipe has created a reputation that Superior is known to be honest, to have integrity and care all parties involved in all projects . They set the standard by which all of their employees follow and project." Please see my E-mail below: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Dear Mr. *** ******, President of Superior Abatement Services, Inc I'm writing this letter to inform you that I'm officially requesting that Superior Abatement Services, Inc take full responsibility/liability for causing damage to my property located at MY ADDRESS! My home recently sustained water damage, in which we used your service to do the abatement process. While your person "workers name" was at my home doing the work that needed to be done, they apparently decided to "demo" my granite counter tops. There was no warning, they were given no authorization to do so by us (the homeowners), nor was it necessary considering that when talking with Mr. **** ****** I was told that he was told by "workers name, the granite was removed with no damage"... however THERE IS NO GRANITE counter top with sink cut out (not even a demo'd one anywhere on my property), it's just gone, poof??? Obviously my insurance is not going to cover this as Superior (employees) decided to take matters into their own hands and "just demo" my counter tops which were only 4 years old. This is just poor business practices. Not only did this happen... but there was a alcoholic beverage left on our counters the same day this "work" was being done (we do not drink Mikes hard lemonade) and your workers were the only ones in our home on that day. (we have the pictures of everything). In addition to the granite counter tops, there are scratches all over my 4 yr old wood vinyl flooring because the employees representing Superior Abatement Services, Inc did not think my home was important enough to take the proper precautions, and obviously lacked common sense or just had blatant disregard for other peoples property. Is this normal business practices of Superior Abatement Services, Inc? Then there is the issue with my 4 yr old beautiful single handle faucet that was thrown, just tossed onto my cement driveway along with my stainless steel sink. They are now all scratched up and completely ruined and per my insurance not covered as it was just sheer negligence and laziness on behalf of the workers of Superior Abatement Services, Inc. These items were in perfectly good condition and should have been treated as such. i.e. wrapped up and placed gently in an area where they can not be stolen or ruined). Lastly, but definitely not least. My cabinets were ripped out and thrown onto the side of my home along with my sink and faucet and the small piece of granite (what's left of it), these items are all just left in my driveway, no fence, just open to the public to walk up and take if they wanted to. Who does this kind of work? I've never seen or dealt with such a horrible, completely irresponsible, with no regard to other peoples property type of company in my entire life. Oh, and let's not forget the 2-3 inch nails sticking STRAIGHT up, right next to the door that my 5 yr old daughter goes out of every day. I will be following up with receipts and documentation for the damages that Superior Abatement Services are responsible for repairing/replacing. I am requesting full reimbursement for these damages to my property. If we are unable to come to an agreement I will have no choice but to involve our attorney, in addition to report this incident to the BBB, CSLB, Angie's list, Yelp, Social Media, as well as contact the local news media (TURKO) to ensure you are treated the same way myself and my family have been treated by Superior Abatement Services, Inc. This is a complete nightmare! I hope this e-mail finds the correct person who is capable of handling a successful and trustworthy business and treating their customers with dignity and respect when they are suddenly faced with a huge disaster. Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you soon, ******************************************************************************************************************************************************** Superior Abatement Services, Inc... Response e-mail: Dear Mrs. Homeowner, I am sorry you feel that we have mistreated you or your home in some way. That is never our intent when conducting work in customer homes. Our crew completed the work on time and saved your granite top and sink as part of work. We used a HEPA negative pressure containment during our work. We were inspected by an independent state certified asbestos consultant. The inspector found our work area free of dust and debris. The inspector ran an air sample that scientifically supported their visual assessment of our work space. Once we were complete, other trades, specifically your plumber, stated he could not repair the plumbing since jack hammering would be needed and the countertop would be in the way. Our crew, in attempt to be cooperative and keep the project on track, demolished the countertop at his direction. Regardless of insurance coverage, the plumbing access needed to be done according to the licensed plumber, who we regard as the expert in that field. With respect to the kitchen sink, your home did not have any space for storage so it was set outside. Sinks are made to withstand water, pots, pans and other metal items being dropped into them. Scratches come from use, not being set outside. With respect to cement dust and alcohol beverage containers, we have no knowledge of either. Therefore we do not accept responsibility for the complaints as outlined in your e-mail. Please feel free to have the BBB, CSLB, Turko and your attorney contact me for this same explanation of events. Regards, *** ****** Superior Abatement ************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Mr. *** ****** response as you can see, did not address most of my concerns and the ones he did address were also inaccurate. Notice he even addressed some concerns I never even mentioned in my e-mail (dust etc.) Obviously he knew there was an issue and he states so in his response e-mail.. "Our crew, in attempt to be cooperative and keep the project on track, demolished the countertop". (Please note that their contract only stated the following work to be done... (Remove and properly dispose of the following materials from listed areas - Asbestos containing wall material affected by the loss) Nothing about any countertops etc... However, they won't tell me where my countertops are now, or why exactly they felt they had authority to demolish/remove from my property without my permission... I'm still confused as to why if per Mr. **** ****** their guy "workers name" was able to remove the countertops with no damage, did they have to be demolished in the first place? They also just thew all my items out onto our driveway, scratching them up and allowing them to be further damaged by the cement and sun. I have multiple pictures to show these damages. I strongly recommend not using this company, and if you do... do so at your own risk.

Desired Settlement: My request is simple and straight forward. I just want what was destroyed/taken from my home put back/repaired/replaced. I'm asking for the following: Total amount Superior Abatement Services, Inc is responsible for in damages/theft of property: $1,450.00 - Labor (see attachment) $840.00 - Materials (see attachment) $67.20 - 8% taxes on Material $240.00 - New faucet and install (see link above, and photos of damaged faucet attached) Grand Total : $2,597.20 (Minus Payment of -$1,170.74 from insurance, being withheld - amount of their invoice, (not to be paid, based on *** ******* from Mission Restoration conversation with the guys at Superior Abatement Services, Inc) ***Total still due $1,426.46, payable to homeowner for damages/theft of property located at (MY ADDRESS)

Business Response: Dear Mrs. *****,

 
I spoke with *** ******* of Mission Restoration this morning. As a means of settlement to your concerns, we have agreed between all the contractors on the project, to repair or replace the damaged, missing items as part of the remediation / restoration work.  
 
Please forward any payment you receive from State Farm for our services, to Mission Restoration. Mission will coordinate all the repairs.
 
Thank you for your patience working through this issue.
 
******* ******
Superior Abatement Services
###-###-####

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Superior Abatement did not provide an estimate at time of work authorization as promised. I only received a bill from my insurance company after the work was done which in combination with other contractors exceeded my insurance limit. They did not schedule the work in conjunction with other contractors in a timely manner causing delays in work to be done. Did not handle material properly dropping debris on the sidewalk and left ceilings damaged beyond repair.

Desired Settlement: Pay for damages completed by another contractor and accept the difference in payment from the original billed amount of $5613 minus the cost of damages $4195 a total of $1481.

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
We have tried may times to work with Mrs. ********* regarding her issue.  She had an insurance loss involving water and asbestos abatement. She signed our contract and we supplied very detailed cost estimates to both her and her insurance adjuster.  She gave us access to her home to do the work over four days.  She did not complain about our work product until it was time to pay for our services.  Mrs. ********* was paid by her insurance carrier for our work, but, she said that another contractor took most of the money. Then she complained that the ceiling was damaged during our work.  Again, the insurance company paid her for the needed restoration to her home.  Mrs. ********* refused to return our phone calls regarding payment, so we were forced to file a mechanics lien.
 
Mrs. ********* used a contractor outside the insurance carrier's approved list of vendors. This contractor demolished all ceilings, when all they needed was an extra coat of texture, which was a $150 repair. In order to move toward a resolution,  I offered to settle for $4250, a good faith settlement credit of $1363.18.  Mrs. ********* not only did not respond to my offer, but she filed a complaint with BBB and the CSLB.  I responded to the CSLB and offered to go to mediation in order to avoid a legal action against her and her property.
 
I believe that Mrs. ********* is just very confused about the insurance claim and restoration process.  She also may be getting poor advice from other parties. I sincerely hope a resolution can be found
 
Regards,
 
******* ** ******
SD Manager