Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Service Champions Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (714) 777-7777 Fax: (714) 637-1356 View Additional Phone Numbers 22911 Savi Ranch Pkwy, Yorba Linda, CA 92887 http://www.servicechampions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning contracting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Service Champions Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Service Champions Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Service Champions Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2013 Business started: 02/09/2000 in CA Business started locally: 02/09/2000 Business incorporated 02/09/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 799170.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leland Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leland Smith, President
Number of Employees

118

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Repair Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Service Area
This business service area covers Southern California; Orange County; LA County; Riverside County; and San Bernardino County.
Alternate Business Names
Service Champions Service Champions Inc
Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 22911 Savi Ranch Pkwy

    Yorba Linda, CA 92887 (714) 777-7777 (949) 777-7777 (562) 777-7777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VERY IMPORTANT PLEASE READ BEFORE CONSIDERING THIS COMPANY. Completely Repulsed!!!!!! I want to start with stating I am a plumbing service contractor, and have never seen anything like the disrespectful way that Service Champions treated my Father. My Dad who is a senior citizen (and has the early onset of Alzheimer's) called after he received a flyer in his mail to set up an appointment with Service Champions. The next day Jim came out and sold my Dad a system for over 27k financed under the "HERO" program for 15 YEARS WITH A TOTAL PAY OUT OF OVER 54,000. The "HERO" program allows you to take the interest payed and deduct it from your property taxes, sounds great except my Dad's house is prop 13 with his property taxes and they amount to less than 1,00 a year making the program worthless for him. Maybe Jim should have checked to see if my Dad was a good fit for the program. Jim was supposed to send over all the paper work that my Dad E-signed including the California law mandated 3 day right to quit. In CA you have three days to consider any estimate before work can begin unless you sign waiving your right. My Father never received any of his paper work like he was promised. Service Champions completed the work in under two days. My Dad called me a few days later after a neighbor told him he had been taken advantage of. I came over to look over his paperwork and was shocked when the only thing my Dad was given was an invoice for the 27k, and on the invoice all it said was " install system", no details as to what was installed or any other specifics. After looking over their work I asked my Dad where the city permits were. He said he hadn't seen them. When I went to inspect the work they had done I noticed several blatant code violations, like the use of DRYWALL MUD to patch the stucco, poor securing of the galvanized channel and illegal outlet for the condensate over flow. I then contacted the city of Santa Ana building division and asked if any permits had been pulled on my Dad's address. SURPRISE!!!! None had been pulled. Meanwhile the system has been installed with a whole new circuit on the main panel and has been placed into service with out an inspection!!!! Big time illegal. I contacted Service Champions and asked them what their labor rate was, they responded they don't have one!!!!!!!!!How can you estimate the cost of a job if you don't know what your labor rate is????? I then informed them that i wanted to have a face to face with them at my Dad's house. Jim and **** came out and you should have seen the look on their faces when i lit them up on all of the laws and ethical misconduct they had committed. **** asked what he could do to make everything better. I told him we would be in touch. The next day I had a friend of mine who is a reputable A/C contractor and has been in business for over 40 years come take a look. He said he could have done all the work for 9K!!!!!!!!! I contacted **** the next day and they agreed to drop the price from 27k to 9k!!!!!!!! WHAT THE HECK IS THEIR PROFIT MARGIN IF THEY CAN AFFORD TO TAKE OFF 18,000?????? You would think it would end here but it doesn't. Service Champions came back to fix the code violations and they collected a cashiers check from my Dad for 9k, and said they would set up an inspection time for the city to come and buy off on the permit. 3 days later they called and let us know they LOST the cashiers check. WHAT THE HECK!!!!!!! How can you mess up so much on one job. My Dad had to go spend 4 hours in the bank trying to cancel the Cashiers check he had issued from his home equity line and have them reissue another. I have spent countless hours on the phone with Service Champions different managers trying to still get the city permits taken care of and it is over 2 months later. I have asked repeatedly to speak with ****** the owner and have been told he is too busy to talk to me. I have left my number for him to call me back over 4 times and still have not heard from ****** and assume he is either heartless or a coward. We have been more than patient with Service Champions and are now forced to contact the CSLB and file elder abuse charges against Service Champions. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY, THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED.....

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to turn your experience into a positive one, and apologize for the frustrations and inconvenience we have caused you and your father. Service Champions has a long track record of our strong commitment towards providing the best experience for our customers and ensuring their complete satisfaction. While we were disappointed to hear of your experience, we are grateful to have been able to speak with you directly and make the situation right. We are very happy to have reached a satisfactory agreement. Your experience has allowed us to identify an opportunity to further improve our internal processes. Service Champions sincerely regrets any inconvenience this issue may have caused.

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service Champions uses direct mailings to offer low priced air conditioning/heating systems tune-ups. Even though my father's AC system was working fine, I responded to their mailing and asked them to send a technician out for a tune-up before the hot summer months. During the tune-up, the technician found a leak in one of the refrigerant lines. He said that it would be difficult to repair and he gave me a quote for $3200 to repair the leak and replace a pressure switch. He advised me that the ac unit was old and inefficient and that it would probably be better to replace the system and he provided a quote for new systems from $7000 to $13,000. Shortly after the Service Champions technician left, my father's AC was not cooling at all. Wanting to be cautious, I looked for a second opinion and called a local AC service company. They came out and quickly found the problem and quoted $290 for the repair. I asked them if this was an especially difficult problem to fix and they said that it was a standard repair of a crack in a copper tube. Within a couple of hours, they had the ac system working as good as new. When I asked the technician about the overall condition of the ac system, he said that it was 9 years old and though it was not as efficient as the newest models, it was still a very good system in good condition and did not need to be replaced. After complaining to a Service Champions customer service rep about my experience, the company refunded the cost of the tune-up and offered to pay the $290 for the repairs.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Service Champions uses their tune-up specials to get into homes and take advantage of unsuspecting customers by either charging them over-inflated prices for repairs or pressuring them into spending money for new systems that aren't needed. After my experience, I did a quick check of Service Champions reviews on **** and I found many stories very similar to mine. While I can't speak to Service Champions quality of work, I think their business practices are predatory and deserve to be reported.

Business Response:

Mr. *****,

Our clients expect and deserve the highest level of service, which is why we are committed to providing you and all of our customers the highest standards of service in the industry. Due to your concern and the inconvenience we have caused, we have refunded the cost of the repair you paid to the other company, and have offered to replace your father's condenser, coil, and line set at no charge. However, at this time, you have declined. We walk into over 30,000 homes a year, and we understand mistakes happen. It is how we handle those mistakes that make us stand out in the industry, and for that we are very proud. If at any time in the next 12 months you change your mind, please give us a call at 714-777-7777, and ask to speak with our Customer Service Manager. 

1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been using Service Champions for the past 2 years. We are members of their service agreement. They come out twice a year to check on and maintain the heating and air conditioning system. Each time they come they have some recommendation of a part that needs to be replaced or added, and it's usually fairly expensive. My mother is a member with them also, and she has complained to me of the same problem. Last winter our heater worked fine. Last summer they maintainced our air conditioning. This winter the heater wouldn't turn on. The repair guy they sent said there was a problem with a part, and that because the unit was so old it could cost more than $1000 to replace it. He said that I should probably just replace the unit, as more parts would continue to fail due to age and condition. He passed me off to his supervisor, who recommended going through the HERO program. We were assured that, using this program, a new $6000 unit (approximate) with installation and permits would be added to our property tax over a period of years, which we could then write off. We consulted with our tax guy, and apparently because of how our taxes are done, and because of how property taxes work, we would actually end up paying several thousand $ out of pocket. This is not the unethical part, this was just a matter of being unsure of the insane details of how property tax deductions work. The interesting part is that when we hired another contractor to look at the unit, he discovered that the switch on the gas valve had been turned to "off", and sometime between the last time we ran our air conditioner and Service Champions' last visit, several wires had been disconnected which allow the system to turn on the fan. I suppose these things could have been accidental, but I do think they should, at the very least, have been noticed by the repair man. The 20-year-old kid from the independent contractor noticed in the first 5 minutes. He fixed the problem in less than 10.

Desired Settlement: I would, of course, like to see their practices change; either they need to be more ethical, or their training needs to be more thorough. I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt as to which of those is the case, but considering the issues I've heard about from at least two other people that I know personally, as well as the two complaints I read which were lodged with the BBB, I find that difficult. I would, therefore, like to see their BBB rating lowered. I hope that anyone else with similar problems will consider reporting them here. This company, through either unethical practices or poor training policies, nearly cost us several thousand dollars which we can't afford to spend on unnecessary expenses, whether it be over time or immediately. Again, though I sincerely hope this was through mere oversight, incompetence is still unacceptable. Their representatives are always very prompt and friendly, and I am deeply disappointed by this turn of events.

Business Response:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to our visit to your home on December 16th 2014. Service Champions has a long track record of our strong commitment towards providing the best experience for our customers and ensuring their complete satisfaction. In order to deliver the level of service our valued customers have come to expect over the years, we continue to provide our technicians and office staff with consistent training. We hold weekly training sessions with all of our technicians and are always looking for new ways to improve the overall customer experience. While we are disappointed to hear your experience with Service Champions was not to your satisfaction, we appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to obtain your feedback. We strive to provide the best service possible, with the highest regards to quality and customer satisfaction. All of the feedback obtained from our phone conversation will be incorporated into our upcoming training that we have planned. We thank you for allowing us the time to speak with you and address your concerns in private. Service Champions sincerely regrets any inconvenience this issue may have caused. Please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-#### if you have any additional questions or concerns in the matter.

12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/21/12 we entered into an agreement to become a Gold Membership Prime Service Customer with Service Champions. For a $20 monthly fee this entitled us to twice a year maintenance at no charge and discount on equipment if/when needed. The complaint is that during each of these maintenance visits by different techs various items were discovered that were strongly suggested we replace. These always varied. I complained that these were appearing to be fishing expeditions as what was found was inconsistent. We asked for one tech to be assigned. The items decreased until last spring it was suggested we replace the entire system for $13,000. That was the last straw. We stayed on through the summer in case of emergent repair. I ended our contract in October. We just had an inspection by a recommended company, ******* ** ** ******** *******. They completed the inspection and stated no repairs needed. We did not tell them we had been a Service Champ customer. Our complaint is that Service Champions is recommending unnecessary work at inflated estimates.

Desired Settlement: I wish that Service Champions stop taking advantage of the customers by using routine maintenance inspections to recommend unneeded repairs at highly inflated prices. They are a very large company who use creative marketing to build trust and then take advantage of thousands of customers.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****,

This letter is in response to complaint ID #******** by Mr. ******* ******. Service Champions Heating & Air-Conditioning has maintained an outstanding reputation and rating with the Better Business Bureau and continuously strives to improve upon our business practices through the feedback of our clients. 

On November 15th, 2012, Mr. ****** contacted our Customer Advocate requesting that during future visits from our technicians, they refrain from providing recommendations for repairs or system upgrades unless absolutely necessary. Moreover, he asked that only one technician be assigned to his home for future service calls to limit the variability of said recommendations. His requests were promptly honored and a notation was added to his account for notification purposes. 

During a subsequent visit on May 19, 2014, one of our technicians returned to the client’s home to complete the annual furnace maintenance. Upon completion of his work, the technician proceeded to offer a breakdown of the recommended repairs found during his evaluation. Despite our efforts to prevent this type of information from being relayed to the client, a detailed invoice was provided and a follow-up call was scheduled for the purpose of evaluating the cost of new equipment. We have identified that during system upgrades in the early months of 2014, notations supporting his requests were not migrated in manner that would readily alert the user or call attention to their significance. The necessary improvements to our process have since been made; however, this breakdown of communication ultimately led to the client’s decision to file his complaint with the Better Business Bureau. 

Mr. ****** indicated that a separate company had been contracted to evaluate the condition of his system following the visit from our technicians. Their findings were that no repairs were needed.

Service Champions has a long track record of our strong commitment towards providing the best experience for our customers and ensuring their complete satisfaction. Given the circumstances discussed by Mr. ******, our company would like to extend a sincere apology to him for failing to honor his requests as a valued client. We are a service company first, with an understanding that our customers are the foundation of our success. We would appreciate the opportunity to have a senior service manager visit Mr. ******’s home and re-evaluate the findings from our visit in May 2014. If any repairs or replacement are deemed necessary, we will gladly perform the service at no expense to him. We have attempted to share our apology with Mr. ****** via telephone; however, we understand and respect his decision to await our formal response. Regardless, an open invitation to contact us is always available should he decide to do so.  

Should you wish to further discuss this issue or have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly at ************ ext: ***. 

Sincerely,

****** *******

Customer Advocate

***** ******** ext:***

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of weeks ago I called Service Champions to diagnose a leak in our air conditioning unit. They gave me a written estimate for replacing an AC for $10,000. As soon as I stated that I wanted to get a second estimate from Costco they started with pressure sales and discouraging me from getting another estimate. The technician, *****, then called the manager, ********, to try to close the deal. Since I became very suspicious, I decided to call a second company. It turned out that it was only a $200 repair, which was performed by someone else. They had misdiagnosed or completely misrepresented the service needed. They were trying to sell me a $10K AC for a $200 repair. In fact they told me there was a leak in the condensation tray. I wrote a review in Yelp, but it was removed after 3 days. They are dishonest and I would not recommend them. If I were the owner and I found out how my staff treated a customer like they treated me, someone would have lost their job. The owner does not seem to care how their staff upsells their service, and in my case totally misdiagnosed the problem almost causing an unnecessary $10,000 expenditure. The Technician, *****, or the manager, ********, never bothered to call to apologize. I even emailed them, but no response. Their Yelp reviews show that the "Owner" responds to every review, but I don't understand why in this case the "Bad" review keeps getting removed and the "Owner" does not just pick up the phone and call the customer to explain why their staff was using dishonest sales tactics. They even charged me for the service call.

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund for the misdiagnosis and the pressure sales that followed. But more important, I expect an apology letter or a phone call from the "Owner" who seems to be very concerned about his companies reviews.

Business Response: Ms. ***** - We are committed to customer service for all of our clients and always strive to work with them to ensure their satisfaction. Mr. ***** spoke with Mr. ********** on September 29th and personally addressed the concerns and apologized for his experience. We have sent Mr. ********** a refund of the $59.00 he paid for the air conditioning tune-up, and a gift card to his wife for the inconvenience we caused. All feedback from our clients is invaluable as we strive to continually improve our processes. Should you need to further discuss this issue or have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. Sincerely, *** ****** Customer Service Advocate Service Champions Heating & Air Conditioning