Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

PowerStar Home Energy Solutions

Phone: (714) 200-1034 Fax: (714) 632-8552 View Additional Phone Numbers 3156 E La Palma Ave #C, Anaheim, CA 92806 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.powerstargogreen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers energy efficient home improvement products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PowerStar Home Energy Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PowerStar Home Energy Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on PowerStar Home Energy Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2013 Business started: 07/05/2012 in CA Business incorporated 07/05/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 979346.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ethan Sundilson, Client Services/Customer Service Mr. Gregory Friend, RMO Mr. Dave Smith, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ethan Sundilson, Client Services/Customer Service
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Roofing Contractors Windows - Installation & Service

Alternate Business Names
Smithlum & Friend Inc
Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 3156 E La Palma Ave #C

    Anaheim, CA 92806 (800) 406-9364 (714) 200-1034

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company representative contacted me about a local (city), state, and federal programs for home improvement. They had incentives for people with disabilities and state workers. The sales representative would go over the special programs and explain the products. The representative explained about the different products but did not give additional details about the product wall insulation (ex. flyer, demonstration movie, additional resources). Sales person filled out contract with different addresses 1). roofing contract:********, 2) Additional scope of work: *******. There is no primer Scope of Work form as promised detailing Plans and contract documents about insulation. The measurements by sales person and foreman do not match. Third-party performed a lead test but we are not allowed access to it and must sign off after work. There is no clear start date and completion date on roofing contract(original date crossed out ASAP written), no waiver and release form, no notes about assessments, permits and approvals disclosure. If the company is requiring us to be part of HERO program the home will be reassessed with possible fees that was not disclosed. The company does not have strong communication skills focus with client.

Desired Settlement: cancellation of contracts

Business Response: **** *****,

As a courtesy, we have cancelled this contract even though it is outside of the right to rescission. We hope this will remedy any inconvenience you have incurred.
Thank you,
*****

2/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continue to receive telemarketing calls from this business using spoofed phone numbers. I have asked them to stop calling us, but they don't. I mention the Do Not Call registry and receive a rude response. "Good luck with that! " or "Why didn't you tell me that earlier?! You expect me to put you on our no call list now?!" Completely unprofessional and unacceptable behavior. Please help!

Desired Settlement: Reduce their rating and make them stop calling us!

Business Response: Dear ****,

I looked up your phone number and name in our call logs and i didn't see any record that we called you. After a certain amount of time some logs get deleted so there still is a chance we at Powerstar called you but i cannot say for certain. So what i have done is ensured that your number is erased from our call list permanently. Also for good measure,  I am having a marketing manager have a meeting with the marketers about being respectful on the phone just in case what you said happened, happened. Anyways, I appologize if a company did this to you.  Powerstar prides itself on only contacting people who have not opted out of our call lists and we do this to the best of our ability.  Occasionally a phone number slips through that shouldn't have. Also at Powerstar we do only the best quality of work which is second to none.

Thank you,

***** *********
Client Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I resent the implication of error on my part in this response..."...in case what you said happened, happened."  Why would I make up such a claim and take the time to file a complaint if it did not indeed happen?  This is insulting!  In addition, given the frequent calls that I received from this company, even after I asked them to stop calling me, any trust that I have in their internal review is nil.  Lastly, the empty apology ("Anyways, I apologize if a company did this to you") is hollow and seems insincere.  Perhaps this communications staff member should be retrained on proper customer service response.

Regards,

**** ********



Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

We appologize if you were unhappy with our response but we feel that we have addressed your concern.  To this end, i have re-checked and your number still is on our do not call list which I think was, your main concern.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not completely resolve my complaint.  While I appreciate that I am apparently no longer on their call list, given my experience with this business, their unprofessional and insulting first response, and this latest "brush off" response, I feel that having them retain their "A" ranking with the BBB is questionable.  I consider this issue only partially resolved until their ranking is reduced.

Regards,

**** ********



12/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on the do not call list and this company repeatedly calls me even though I tell them to stop. I don't want their services and want them to stop harassing me. I have been on the do not call list for years so whatever reason they give as to why they are calling me, the only accurate reason is they don't care about the do not call list. I'm not sure why they call someone who asks them to stop, angering someone is not going to get them any business. I will never do business with someone who solicits me on the phone, especially businesses who repeated harass me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop calling me and honor the do not call list.

Business Response: Hi, We do appologize if we have called you and you were on the do not call list.  At powerstar, every 30 days we scrub our lists against the National Do Not Call list as required by law. Occasionally a phone number slips into the system that is on the do not call list and we appologize for that. We are constantly trying to improve our procedures to minimize this as much as possible.  At powerstar we pride ourselves on great work and great customer service and you will be hard pressed to find negative reviews on the work we perform.

Thank you

8/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ignored the Do Not Call list and cold-called me.

Desired Settlement: Just start using the Do Not Call list as you're supposed to.

Business Response:

 Powerstar Home Energy Solutions, we scrub our calling lists against the national do not call list every 30 days as required by law. Occasionally any of the following occurs: There is an error in the National Do Not Call Database, a customer submits his/her number to the National Do Not Call Directory between the 30 days provided by law that companies have to update their internal Do Not Call Lists, or a number accidentally slips through our system.  Powerstar never has complaints on the work provided, and we pride ourselves on this. There are however, a lot of moving parts with our marketing lists as mentioned above, and we do our best to ensure that we do not call people on the Do Not Call Lists.

 

Thank You,

 

***** *********

 

***** *********

Client Services – Web Administrator

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I just checked with the National Do Not Call Registry. Two of my phone numbers were registered in 2002 and the third was registered in 2012.
Regards,

***** ********