BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers information regarding the Department of Motor Vehicles and other government agencies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DMV.org meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DMV.org include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on DMV.org
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 10, 2008 Business started: 03/02/1999 in CA Business incorporated: 06/18/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raj Lahoti, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raj Lahoti, CEO
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Advertising - Internet Web Design Advertising Specialties

Alternate Business Names
Online Guru Inc
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvanis Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20580 http://www.ftc.gov

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping Savvy Consumer Tips on Auto Insurance - Spanish

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The site, DMV.org, represents themselves as a central location for DMV information for the state of Georgia and others. I followed the instructions for changing the address on my GA vehicle registration that they have on the site. In my state this needs to be done in a timely manner (first quarter) to qualify my family for a Homestead Tax exemption (>$1000 per year for my house). After some time I got a rejection for my address change from the GA DMV/DOR. I called the GA DMV/DOR and found out that DMV.org has no right to represent the state. If the information they present was correct I would not have missed the window of time to qualify for the Homestead Exemption tax for 2014. The site DMV.org should not pretend to represent the states if they have incorrect information and the BBB should not accredit an organization that, according to the GA DMV/DOR, has no right to represent the state of Georgia. Here is the page with the incorrect instructions: http://www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/change-address.php#GA-Vehicle-Registration-or-Title-Address-Change

Desired Settlement: The BBB reconsider accreditation for a site that to the average person appears to have information representing the states' DMV.

Business Response:

While we regret any inconvenience from information we post on our site, we’re not sure exactly that the complaint is. 

Upon researching this matter we have found that the information on our website is in line with both the GA DOR and DDS. In summary, to change the address on your vehicle registration, Georgia’s DOR/DDS websites and our site, state that you must take multiple steps that include: 

·       Changing the address on your GA driver’s license or GA identification card.

o   This step must be done first.

·       Second you must change the address on your title and registration with a GA Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office.

o   Some counties require that you do this in-person. It is best to contact your local Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office for more information on requirements.

·       You will need to submit:

o   A completed and signed Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application.

o   A valid GA driver’s license or ID card with your current name and address.

o   If a bank or other financial institution is holding your title, you must apply for your address change through them.

·       If you are applying for a new title you must pay an $18 fee. 

The site pages where you can find this information are:

GA Address Change:  

·       http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/dldata.aspx?con=1748208403&ty=dl  

·       http://www.dds.ga.gov/faqs/index.aspx?faqcategoryid=43

 

GA Vehicle change:

·        http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/registrationsection/rs_NameAddressChg.aspx

 

DMV.org:

·        http://www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/change-address.php#GA-Vehicle-Registration-or-Title-Address-Change

 

The reason for why the GA DOR/DDS rejected the change of address/vehicle change is beyond our scope but if he followed our guidelines, he should have been in compliance.

 

Again, we regret any inconvenience and if the complainant can provide more information as to why the GA DOR/DDS rejected his change of address, we’ll be glad to look further into this matter and see if we have indeed posted any erroneous information.

It is also not our intention to deceive anyone. We do not claim to represent the state of Georgia or any state agency. We have a Cavet boldly displayed on the top of our website which I have included as an Attachment. 

****** ******* *** Visitor Support :)
858.764.4590 • Dallas@dmv.org
www.dmv.org

12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dmv.org opens automatically when you are searching for a government website. It is misleading and no where on the site does it state that you will be charged a fee for their services, no confirmation is given either. Your bank account is automatically charged without your knowledge.

Desired Settlement: That this company would practice honorable business by actually telling the consumer they are a service and not a government entity and not practice fraudulently taking money directly out of customers accounts without their knowledge or acknowledgement of some kind that is legal.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


We received your message in regards to a charge on your account. This is a common error and we will do our best to assist.

So that you're aware, the DMV.org is a privately owned and operated website dedicated to providing users with DMV-related information. 
We are not affiliated with any state government agency. Also, we do not sell any products or services, we have no merchant account And our website is a FREE informational site. However we do have partnerships with companies that offer valuable services to our users. As such, when we have an issue like yours we take it very seriously and do all we can to help.
Whether the purchase was made through one of our approved vendors or not, we will do our best to guide you to a solution.

In order to help, we need the following information.


  • Tell us what purchase you made if you have not yet provided that.
  • Provide us with the company name as it appears on the email receipt you were sent.
  • We need the subject line of the email and the company name from the signature section or bottom of the email that you received from the vendor. The best way will be to just cut & paste those items.

  • Also contact your bank or credit card company and verify the exact company name as it appears on the account. (Unfortunately this is not always the most helpful option because the name may be abbreviated.)

    the more information the better.

Once we have this we can either direct you to the appropriate site, or help you get the issue resolved.

Ps. Often requests like yours come from people who were on another companies website, drivers-licenses.org or Car-registration.org (both are the same company). People often end up on our site in error attempting to get back to these other companies.

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company misleads people into thinking they are a DMV. Now they have a big banner at the top of the web page. They did not a year ago. They trick you into giving out your personal information then sell it to advertisers. Especially colleges. I get tons of phone calls and spam because of it.

Desired Settlement: Take me out of their database and apologizing for their shoddy business practices.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


We received your message in regards to your personal information. We will do our best to assist.

So that you're aware, the DMV.org is a privately owned and operated website dedicated to providing users with DMV-related information. We do not sell any products or services, however we do allow vendors to advertise on our site. We are not affiliated with any state government agency.

Here is our webpage regarding getting your license in Colorado: http://www.dmv.org/co-colorado/apply-license.php

We have over 5000 pages on our website and over 60 vendors so without more clarity I cannot direct you better.

All I can tell you is we personally do not have a data-base where were able to store peoples information. Usually when people contact us they have made a purchase and we can help them get back to the right site because they received an email from the other company or it shows on their bank statement.

Here are the other sites that many people end up on when looking to get their licenses or registration updated:

There is also DMV.US.ORG and many more.

As I mentioned in the call with you:

1. We do not have the ability to store your information anywhere on our website.
2. We have vendors we work with, yet none of them "Sell" your information. In fact we have been
in business for 10 years and have an A+ BBB rating because we only deal with 
quality companies. We would not partner with a company that sold clients information.
3. You made it clear you do not recall what action you were attempting to perform,
which would have even required you enter your information. This information would help
us direct you better.

Also, all of this happened after moving to an new state, so are you sure you only
entered your information into just 1 website in the last year? 

Our banner has been the same for 4 years but the companies above have smaller banners, which makes me
think you were on one of their websites.

We would appreciate it if you would please review the information above. 
And please either remove your complaint from the BBB and apply it to the correct 
company OR let them know your complaint was resolved to your satisfaction.  

If I don't hear back from you I will call you Monday. 

Hope this helps. Best of luck.

Respectfully,
******

****** ******* ***
Visitor Support :)

************ • **************
www.dmv.org


The information contained in this e-mail is confidential. DMV.org does not guarantee the integrity of any e-mails or attached files. The views or opinions expressed are the author's own and may not reflect the views or opinions of DMV.org. DMV.org does not warrant that any attachments, if any, are free from viruses or other defects. You assume all liability for any loss, damage or other consequences which may arise from opening or using the attachments.  If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, use, or any action you take or fail to take in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. Please immediately notify us by telephone or return e-mail, destroy the original message, and retain no copy - on your system or otherwise.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I consider my complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******

9/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service