Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

DMV.org

Phone: (866) 487-8999 Fax: (858) 536-7031 View Additional Phone Numbers 364 2nd St, Encinitas, CA 92024 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dmv.org View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers third party processing services regarding the Department of Motor Vehicles and other government agency services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DMV.org meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DMV.org include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on DMV.org
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 16
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2008 Business started: 03/02/1999 in CA Business incorporated 06/18/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raj Lahoti, CEO Mr. Bob Kurilko, President & COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raj Lahoti, CEO
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Advertising - Internet Web Design Advertising Specialties

Alternate Business Names
Online Guru Inc
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvanis Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20580 http://www.ftc.gov

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping Savvy Consumer Tips on Auto Insurance - Spanish

Additional Locations

  • 364 2nd St

    Encinitas, CA 92024 (858) 764-4590 (866) 487-8999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does business under a .ORG domain name because I believe that they are trying to make people think that they are an information service and do not sell products. They are hoping that people will get miss-directed to their web site when in fact they are trying to go to their state's DMV. GOV site. They are further hoping that when they get to their site the do not focus on the disclaimer that they are a public company. But even if the person notices the disclaimer there is a tab that says "Why is this disclaimer important". When you click on that it gives a very dishonest statement about what they do. If it were a real disclaimer it would say "if you are trying to get to your states DMV site use the domain name .GOV and that will get you to your states DMV page where you can more easily renew your registration and it will cost you nothing to do it there." Instead I believe this company hopes people will click on "Registration and Title" and be taken to the page where there is a big orange button that says "RENEW NOW". Once there the person is led through a process that is very similar to the one on the PA DMV.ORG site except for the $13.25 fee. It was not until I got to this place and saw the fee that I realized that this was not the PA.DMV.ORG site. I know they will say I should have read the disclaimers but I really believe this whole site is set up to look like DMV.ORG is being open and honest about who and what they are but I think it is really meant to fool unsuspecting people into believing that they are registering through their own DMV. This in my view is just a very shady way to do business and is a business that when you go back and read all the fine print they give you the information but are in fact just hoping some people won't do that and are thereby preying on people can least afford to be tricked out of their hard earned money. No way this kind of "business" deserves an A+ rating. Half of the BBB complaints are about is deception.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see DMV.ORG change their name and domain to *******. I fell they have purposely choose a .ORG domain in order to make people think they are an information service and further that they are DVM.GOV. and make it clearer that they are in fact not the DMV.GOV. As they do business now it is much too easy for a non -sophisticated internet user to get to their site in error and end up paying a $13.25 fee for no added value what so ever. It is so clear that they are preying on folks who can least afford to be paying too much for what is in fact a harder process of renewing your registration. This is certainly true in Pennsylvania. So I think st least in PA they need a much clearer disclaimer as to who they are and that they are not the DVM of PA.

Consumer Response: I would like to see DMV.ORG change their name and domain to *******. I fell they have purposely choose a .ORG domain in order to make people think they are an information service and further that they are DVM.GOV. and make it clearer that they are in fact not the DMV.GOV. As they do business now it is much too easy for a non -sophisticated internet user to get to their site in error and end up paying a $13.25 fee for no added value what so ever. It is so clear that they are preying on folks who can least afford to be paying too much for what is in fact a harder process of renewing your registration. This is certainly true in Pennsylvania. So I think st least in PA they need a much clearer disclaimer as to who they are and that they are not the DVM of PA.

Business Response:

Dear *****,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our business. While we are sorry to hear that you had some frustrations with our site, we wanted to reach out directly to provide a little more context about who we are and what services we offer.
As I am sure you know, the DMV can be a complicated and time-consuming experience for many people. When we started our site in 1999, it was with the intention of making many DMV-related tasks easier to complete online. In the instances where the tasks can not be completed online, we wanted to equip our users with as much information (and forms) as possible, so their actual visits to the DMV were as fast and easy as possible. As a publishing company that is constantly working to bring together DMV information from all 50 states, we rely on our advertisers and partners to make this experience possible. 
We make it clear, both within the disclaimer at the top of the page and within the content of the pages themselves, that there may be other options than the partners we showcase on the site. In fact, we offer direct links from our site to the state-run DMVs, so users have all the information possible to make an informed decision. We hand-pick the partners on our site because they add value (including faster service, next-day approvals, added services, etc) which is why there may be a premium fee associated with the service. For a majority of our users, these added benefits are highly valuable and can save a trip to the DMV altogether. 
We apologize if you felt "tricked" in your experience with us. Our top priority is providing the best possible user experience and making the DMV process faster and easier for everyone. 

We would love to work with you to have our partner's agency fee waived on your order. We will personally be in touch to ensure this is handed to your satisfaction. On another note, we do want to let you know that there actually is a ******* out there, therefore we cannot change our name to that. We appreciate this suggestion, however. We look forward to communicating with you and resolving this issue with you. 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

etter Business Bureau:
I cannot navigate to read this whole message but my request was only that the DMV.ORG clean up it's act with regard to the deceptive business practices. They reference there is already a ******* domain name. Which indeed there is but they make it a lot clearer that they are not the PA DMV. I'm not clear on why it is that DMV.ORG would need to go to there "business partner" to refund my money. They never mention on their web site that there is yet another company involved in the transaction. Who are they. It seems this other company makes it even harder for folks to resolve issues with this company. I never did click through to complete the transaction so no need to try to plead my case with this third party. 
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have

 

 

determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *****



Business Response:

*****,

 

Thank you kindly for your reply. Our partnerships are listed on our website as our partner ads display side by side: we compare the process via the state DMV agency and then to our partner. This can be seen on our PA Registration Renewal Content Page:

*******************************************************

On the page, you can also scroll down to see the step-by-step instructions for renewal directly through the state agency. 

That said, our partner is *********************. I'm more than happy to help you work on resolving the issues with your order and will have ********************* reach out to you separately. You should hear from them within 24 hours, if not sooner.

I would really love to hear other ways we can improve, aside from changing our company name, as this is not possible. 

I look forward to your reply!

 

 

4/11/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was suckered into using dmv.org thinking it was the California dmv (deceptive web site). I paid my auto registration dmv fees through them, and received a temporary registration from CA-dmv. I later sent the required smog certificate, but have never received the completed registration. This happened on 2/10/2016--Two months ago! So, I have no current sticker on my car, and am subject to being stopped by the police.

Desired Settlement: I want the California auto registration that I have paid for. I want BBB to take whatever sanctions they can against this dishonest, predatory company. I cannot believe that the CA-dmv has allowed this company to remain in business and prey on innocent people who are deceived by a web site that looks all the world like a genuine CA state website!

Business Response: Dear Mr. *********,


I am truly sorry for your experience with our partner company, *********. Clearly, you should not have to wait this long to receive your registration and be at risk for violations. 

I want you to know that I have reached out to ***** directly and alerted them to this situation to resolve immediately. After discussing this with their customer service team, it appears that you called them yesterday, April 5th, 2016, because you had not received your registration in the mail. This sadly tends to happen when using USPS. They not always the most efficient and ***** is working on a better alternative. But, there is a policy in place that if a customer does not receive their registration back in the mail within 3 weeks of completion and the address is correct, ***** will issue a replacement and overnight it at no additional costs. You should not have to pay for the USPS mishaps. This is what had happened yesterday. The package should be delivered today. If you do not receive it, I will hope that you let me know via email to "*********************".

Our ultimate goal at DMV.org is to simplify the DMV processes for folks around the country. The DMV can often be frustrating and we know people are busy. Our documentation acts as guides to help people get what they need quicker and we partner with companies that do the busy work for you. We work with partner companies that help expedite the processes and in this situation, we and our partner, *****, failed you. We take full responsibility of this and apologize sincerely.

I want you to know that I will be looking into this further to make sure that we find a way to fine tune this situation and ensure that no one has this experience again in the future. 

Should you have any further issues, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,

***** *******
******* ******* *******
DMV.org
*********************
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** **********

1/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I been showing charges form DMV.ORG to my bank card I have no idea why there is been a$ 2.99 dlls and later a $19.99 charge...I register my vehicle thru the Texas Department of transportation the same way I been doing it for the past 18 years...I dont' know why this company has not answer my phone calls to clarified the Issue since I contacted my bank institution on 01/11/16 who advice me to call the DMV.org. have not received any answers form their phone **** ******** I didn't hire or requested services from this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like for DMV.ORG to refund the charges and to delete my information from their records .

Business Response: Hello ******,


Thank you for reaching out to us about your experience. I'm sorry that you encountered the confusion with your purchase.

I want to confirm with you that we do not sell a PDF document guide for driver's licenses, registration or any other DMV related task. This means your purchase was made with a different company, not with DMV.ORG.

I understand this is very frustrating and confusing. With similar subjects, it's easy to mistake our website with another DMV related website. However, I want to assure you that we here at DMV.org did not take your money.

We are finding that the charges placed by the other company are broken down in two different fees:

$19.99 and $2.99

This company makes it's money pretending it is the DMV but, as you have found, it sends you a "Guide" instead.

Despite everything here, I want to work with you to see if I can help resolve this as this is a challenging situation for everyone involved.

On your bank statement, please look to find the name of the company that charged you. This is typically located next to the charge. You can also call your bank should you need assistance in locating the charge on your statement.

Then, please reply to this email with that business name. I will then search online for this company's contact information to guide you to them and demand a refund.

I greatly appreciate your cooperation and look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

***** *******
*********************
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Similar to the other reviews posted here, I was also tricked by the design of this website thinking that this is a government site. This website is misleading. I thought that I was going to my state's DMV site to pay for my vehicle registration renewal and due to how incredibly misleading the site and web address are. I paid 30% more for my renewal than I would have if I gone through my state. Also they do not give you an option to cancel your purchase after you have realized that you have made a mistake by choosing the wrong site. Very deceptive. I want to get refund.

Desired Settlement: Give me the refund.

Business Response: Hello *****,


I am truly sorry that you encountered the confusion with our website. While we clearly state on every page of our website, on the very top in large letters with a white background, that we are a privately owned website not affiliated with any government agency, we understand that when you're in a rush, it may be overlooked.  I'm sorry that you feel you were mislead with our value added service partner. We strive to help make the DMV processes easier for everyone out there and partner with companies that provide services to help save you time. I will reach out to you separately to discuss the refund and work with you to make sure it happens successfully. In the meantime, just know that we're real folks behind the scenes here working to make the DMV a better system. We have no intention to scam you. If you know of a way we can do this better, I'd love to hear it. I look forward to working with you on this situation!

Sincerely,

***** *******
******* ******* *******
***** ******** • *********************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** **

12/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered dmv.ca.gov onto the internet and this site that looks like a DMV site appeared at the top of the screen. I proceeded to try to pay for my driver license renewal online. Ater I entered my ATM card info I realized that this site very closely mimmics the DMV site with even the same WWW adress. I did not want their product and immediately called the, and told them the purchase was in error. They only have a voicemail and it says they will get back to me. It has been 48 hours and 2 calls. No response. I feel this web site is a scam met to entrap senior citizens like me, into giving them money by accident, for a product they do not want.

Desired Settlement: I want this scam business to refund my ATM card for the amoiunt charged to it. I also want them to change their internet address so the DMV search I did does not cause their site to pop up instead of the actual DMV. I feel what they do is designed to entrap the elderly!!!

Business Response: Hi *****,


Thank you for taking the time to voice your complaint. I'm truly sorry that you had this experience with our website. I hope you'll give us an opportunity to explain who we are and help resolve this for you. 

DMV.ORG is an internet publishing company for DMV related content. Our ultimate goal is to simplify the DMV process. We partner with companies that offer value added services to help save you time at the DMV. We do have a disclaimer on the top of our website stating that we are not affiliated with any government agency. We're real folks and our intentions are not to scam anyone in any shape or form. We take complaints very seriously and look forward to understanding how we can improve our website for the future. 

That said, I will personally follow up with you to work on resolving the situation with your purchase.

Sincerely,

***** *******
******* ******* *******
*********************
***** ********

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In trying to pay my car registration looking for DMV. CA, DMV trumped the search and with it's similar appearance has a license plat w/DMV.ORG and trying to look like DMV. I tried my search again as I didn't have my renewal slip I was going to use my license plate as I have done before. I looked at the website and thought DMV had just updated their look again. When registering it did disclaim along the way that I was using a private party until I tried to go back and email w/a cancel less than 20 minutes after I submitted. Then when I emailed I had to acknowledge that it was a "private party" I couldn't figure out why dmv was charging me 4.50 for mailing my tags, they never had before. It is fraudulent in appearance and needs to have a change in website and practice. It also significantly over charged me my actual renewal was $212.00 when I found my renewal slip later and I thought I was paying 252.50 from the websites "calculated fees" then when I looked at my bank account I was charged $260.47. They sent an email refusing to refund my purchase. When I tried the phone number yesterday before emailing them it went to DMV. How can you use a DMV phone number for you contact number when they can't help w/the private party transaction.

Desired Settlement: Change in website appearance. Up front disclosure when processing regarding fees in the process of utilizing their website, and also knowledge that they are over charging on your actual renewal fee, not just charging you a device fee. But primarily a change in website appearance. I am pretty savvy but got screwed by the appearance. They should also have a phone access to their company because as a private party DMV cannot answer any questions the consumer may have about their purchases w/this company. I am also going to talk to DMV as to why they would allow this company to charge more money than is due besides a service fee!

Business Response: We replied to both of ****'s e-mails (6:17 on Monday and 8:51 on Tuesday) in a prompt manner explaining that we do not sell any services, nor do we accept or process applications for DMV-related materials. We merely facilitate how-to information, directly linking to the actual state's website. 

We do, however, have vendors who sell on some of our pages. 
In ****'s case she used our CA Registration Renewal page. On that page is the vendor *******. Based on her e-mail we assumed she registered through ******* so we provided her with the company's contact information. 
If she contacted them we do not know.
In her second e-mail she demanded a refund. The response was supposed to provide *******'s contact info again, but in checking now we see we inadvertently provided a link back to ur CA renewal page. 
But in no way did we refuse to refund her money. Especially since we never took her money in the first place. 
We're often mistaken for other website companies. In such cases we often request that the customer provide us with the company name listed on their credit card statement associated with the purchase. We then track down the company's contact info.
We'd be happy to help **** track down the contact info for the company that charged her. But, otherwise, as stated, we can't check her order since we don't accept orders. It's just a matter of finding out who charged her. 

5/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I accidently went to their website the first time I was lookiing for the California State DMV website. Once I did that , I cannot get to the State website as the DMV.org website redirects my input back to theirs. This is misleading and deceptive advertising. They need to correct this. I cannot see how the BBB can give them an A rating when they are redirecting Internet searches from state sites..

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem and notify me if possible for notifications sake.

Business Response: ****:

We received your message in regards to your charge of deceptive practices. 
First, at the top of each and every page on our site is a large banner that reads: "DMV.ORG is a privately owned website that is not owned or operated by any state government agency."
Second, DMV.ORG does NOT accept, nor does it process any DMV-related applications (licenses, titles, registrations...). It instead provides each state's DMV information in an organized, easy-to-follow manner with direct external links (online registrations, application forms, appointments...) to each state's respective DMV. And it does offer partnerships on some pages (driver records, car history reports, name changes...) with companies that provide service options. 
And third, DMV.ORG does not block users, or, as you say, redirect input back to its site, preventing access to the CA DMV.  Search CA DMV and the CA DMV tops all search engines, providing unfettered access to the state site. Yes, you will find DMV.ORG farther down the search page. But DMV.ORG doesn't hide the fact it's not the state site. Every site link is clearly tagged with "The Unofficial Guide to the DMV."
  1. *** ************ ** ********** * *******

    **************************************** *** ********** ***** ** *** ***
    California car registration information, forms, and procedures. Registration renewal information, new to a state, registering a new vehicle, and non operational.

    Hope this clears the air, as it were. 

    Respectfully,
    ****
    Visitor Support :)
    ************ 
    ***********************
    www.dmv.org

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a copy of my driving record and after I put in my billing information the website 404'd and then they sent me an email with a password that led to nowhere. I have no driving record. I am 50 dollars poorer. This company is a scam.

Desired Settlement: Either get me my driving record or give me my money. This company is a scam and I'll make sure none of my friends ever use it.

Business Response: ******,

We have emailed you twice (see the most recent below) and called and left a voicemail. 
We apologize that you have not been satisfied with your service or purchase yet
at DMV.ORG we Do Not sell any products or services directly. Your purchase was
most likely made through a vendor that advertises on our website, yet we do not
have access to our vendor partners systems. In order to get you to the proper 
place we need more information. See below..............
******,

This is our second attempt to contact you. If we don't get an email today we will call you as well.

You BBB complaint is referenced below. 

Without a reply we cannot direct you to the proper place to get your refund or record.

Please email us the one of following information:

* Company name as listed EXACTLY on your bank or card statement.
* Type of Product / Service.
* E-mail Subject Line as shown on your e-mail receipt. 

**DO NOT** forward us any personal information (e.g., bank account, social security 
number, etc.)

Once we have this information, we’ll direct you to the appropriate provider and/or help 
you resolve the issue.

**DMV.ORG does NOT sell any products or services directly**, but we will do our best to assist you.At DMV.ORG we either link you directly to your State operated website or offer partnerships with companies that provide valuable services to our users.  

Visitor Support :)
****** ***
************ • **************
www.dmv.org

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this site to purchase a duplicate registration for my vehicle. They charged me $19.99 and $2.99. I never received my registration or any product. They just took my money. I've requested a refund twice and have not received any contact back from this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 19.99 and the 2.99 back.

Business Response: ****,


We apologize for the confusion. We replied to BOTH your emails. Same response each time. We DO NOT
sell any products or services directly. We only offer partners who advertise on our website or direct links
to your State operated DMV. In the State of AZ the only option we offer is instruction and links to your
State website, no outside vendors or third parties.

Here was our reply on both February 21st and February 26th:


"****:

We received your message in regards to a transaction or purchase you made.

So that you're aware, the DMV.org is a privately owned and operated website dedicated to providing users with DMV-related information. We are not affiliated with any state government agency. Also, we **DO NOT sell any products or services directly**, however we do have partnerships with companies that offer valuable services to our users. As such, when we have an issue like yours we take it very seriously and do all we can to help.

Whether the purchase was made through one of our approved vendors or not, we will do our best to guide you to a solution.

In order to help, we need the following information:

* Tell us what purchase you made if you have not yet provided that. 
* Provide us with the company name as it appears on the email receipt you were sent. 
* We need the subject line of the email and the company name from the signature section or bottom of the email that you received from the vendor. The best is to cut & paste those items into your reply email. 
* Also contact your bank or credit card company and verify the company name EXACTLY as it appears on the account, 
the more information the better.

**DO NOT** send us any personal information like account numbers or social security numbers!

Once we have this we can either direct you to the appropriate site, or help you get the issue resolved.

Respectfully, 
**** 
Visitor Support :) 
858.764.4590 
website-Support@dmv.org 
www.dmv.org"

********************************************************************************************************

In order for us to assist you further we need to know the EXACT COMPANY NAME as it appears on your bank or credit card statement. You will see it does not say DMV.ORG, yet that enable us to get you to the correct place for assistance and refund. 

To confirm, here is our duplicate registration page in AZ: http://www.dmv.org/az-arizona/replacing-lost-registration.php

As you will see it only links you to your MVD website. IF... you were on our website, your transaction was processed by the State MVD and you must contact them directly, we have no access to your information. Once you click the link your taken off our website to theirs. I have attached a screen shot of the explanation that pops up when you click the link. 

Contact me directly if you have further questions or once you have the name as it appears on your statement.

Thank you, ****** *** 

Visitor Support P# 858.764.4590 • ******@dmv.org

2/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went on DMV.org to obtain my driving record around January 7,2015. I needed it for an internship i was applying for. I paid the $50 for my driving record to be emailed to me. Once I submitted my information into the website, I got directed to a page called backroundcheck.com that said that my driving record could take up to 72 hours to get. So i waited three days and didnt receive anything but i got charged the full amount. I went on dmv.org to the contact form to say that I didnt receive my driving record and that I needed it by the 15th. I did not receive any response back. After the 15th, I still did not receive any response or my driving record, so I emailed them again saying I wanted a refund. I am not sure if the website is a scam or just has bad costumer service. Either way I am uncomfortable that it has my personal information including my card information since I paid online. I am not happy.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and for something to change so that this doesnt happen to other people.

Business Response:

******* ********* 

We apologize for the inconvenience. We have contacted ********************
on your behalf and they are issuing a full refund. Please allow for 3 business days
for the refund to show on your account.

Regarding your concern about your personal information, we do not collect your
data. All information is captured by our partners purely for means of processing
your purchase. ******************** is a secured website and reputable company.

******************** is one of our advertising partners. We have no control 
over their system or products or access to their records. 

We have been partnered with Background Checks for years and in our experience 
they are extremely responsive and offer a quality service. Instances like these
are rare and we do our best to resolve them immediately once notified. 

DMV.ORG has been in operation for over 10 years. We are the #1 auto related 
website in America and maintain an A+ rating with the BBB. 
Also we have searched our records which show that our agent Jeff replied to your 
original request on January 15th, explaining we needed more information and that 
we do not sell any products or services directly. 

Currently we do our best to reply to everyone in 48 hours or less, yet DMV.ORG 
gets over 120million people to the site a year and so the number of questions we 
receive is high, we're sure you understand. 

We are working constantly to improve response time and get it to within
24 hours. 

Thank You,
****** ***
Vistior Support - ******@dmv.org

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The site, DMV.org, represents themselves as a central location for DMV information for the state of Georgia and others. I followed the instructions for changing the address on my GA vehicle registration that they have on the site. In my state this needs to be done in a timely manner (first quarter) to qualify my family for a Homestead Tax exemption (>$1000 per year for my house). After some time I got a rejection for my address change from the GA DMV/DOR. I called the GA DMV/DOR and found out that DMV.org has no right to represent the state. If the information they present was correct I would not have missed the window of time to qualify for the Homestead Exemption tax for 2014. The site DMV.org should not pretend to represent the states if they have incorrect information and the BBB should not accredit an organization that, according to the GA DMV/DOR, has no right to represent the state of Georgia. Here is the page with the incorrect instructions: http://www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/change-address.php#GA-Vehicle-Registration-or-Title-Address-Change

Desired Settlement: The BBB reconsider accreditation for a site that to the average person appears to have information representing the states' DMV.

Business Response:

While we regret any inconvenience from information we post on our site, we’re not sure exactly that the complaint is. 

Upon researching this matter we have found that the information on our website is in line with both the GA DOR and DDS. In summary, to change the address on your vehicle registration, Georgia’s DOR/DDS websites and our site, state that you must take multiple steps that include: 

·       Changing the address on your GA driver’s license or GA identification card.

o   This step must be done first.

·       Second you must change the address on your title and registration with a GA Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office.

o   Some counties require that you do this in-person. It is best to contact your local Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office for more information on requirements.

·       You will need to submit:

o   A completed and signed Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application.

o   A valid GA driver’s license or ID card with your current name and address.

o   If a bank or other financial institution is holding your title, you must apply for your address change through them.

·       If you are applying for a new title you must pay an $18 fee. 

The site pages where you can find this information are:

GA Address Change:  

·       http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/dldata.aspx?con=1748208403&ty=dl  

·       http://www.dds.ga.gov/faqs/index.aspx?faqcategoryid=43

 

GA Vehicle change:

·        http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/registrationsection/rs_NameAddressChg.aspx

 

DMV.org:

·        http://www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/change-address.php#GA-Vehicle-Registration-or-Title-Address-Change

 

The reason for why the GA DOR/DDS rejected the change of address/vehicle change is beyond our scope but if he followed our guidelines, he should have been in compliance.

 

Again, we regret any inconvenience and if the complainant can provide more information as to why the GA DOR/DDS rejected his change of address, we’ll be glad to look further into this matter and see if we have indeed posted any erroneous information.

It is also not our intention to deceive anyone. We do not claim to represent the state of Georgia or any state agency. We have a Cavet boldly displayed on the top of our website which I have included as an Attachment. 

****** ******* *** Visitor Support :)
858.764.4590 • Dallas@dmv.org
www.dmv.org

12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dmv.org opens automatically when you are searching for a government website. It is misleading and no where on the site does it state that you will be charged a fee for their services, no confirmation is given either. Your bank account is automatically charged without your knowledge.

Desired Settlement: That this company would practice honorable business by actually telling the consumer they are a service and not a government entity and not practice fraudulently taking money directly out of customers accounts without their knowledge or acknowledgement of some kind that is legal.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


We received your message in regards to a charge on your account. This is a common error and we will do our best to assist.

So that you're aware, the DMV.org is a privately owned and operated website dedicated to providing users with DMV-related information. 
We are not affiliated with any state government agency. Also, we do not sell any products or services, we have no merchant account And our website is a FREE informational site. However we do have partnerships with companies that offer valuable services to our users. As such, when we have an issue like yours we take it very seriously and do all we can to help.
Whether the purchase was made through one of our approved vendors or not, we will do our best to guide you to a solution.

In order to help, we need the following information.


  • Tell us what purchase you made if you have not yet provided that.
  • Provide us with the company name as it appears on the email receipt you were sent.
  • We need the subject line of the email and the company name from the signature section or bottom of the email that you received from the vendor. The best way will be to just cut & paste those items.

  • Also contact your bank or credit card company and verify the exact company name as it appears on the account. (Unfortunately this is not always the most helpful option because the name may be abbreviated.)

    the more information the better.

Once we have this we can either direct you to the appropriate site, or help you get the issue resolved.

Ps. Often requests like yours come from people who were on another companies website, drivers-licenses.org or Car-registration.org (both are the same company). People often end up on our site in error attempting to get back to these other companies.

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company misleads people into thinking they are a DMV. Now they have a big banner at the top of the web page. They did not a year ago. They trick you into giving out your personal information then sell it to advertisers. Especially colleges. I get tons of phone calls and spam because of it.

Desired Settlement: Take me out of their database and apologizing for their shoddy business practices.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


We received your message in regards to your personal information. We will do our best to assist.

So that you're aware, the DMV.org is a privately owned and operated website dedicated to providing users with DMV-related information. We do not sell any products or services, however we do allow vendors to advertise on our site. We are not affiliated with any state government agency.

Here is our webpage regarding getting your license in Colorado: http://www.dmv.org/co-colorado/apply-license.php

We have over 5000 pages on our website and over 60 vendors so without more clarity I cannot direct you better.

All I can tell you is we personally do not have a data-base where were able to store peoples information. Usually when people contact us they have made a purchase and we can help them get back to the right site because they received an email from the other company or it shows on their bank statement.

Here are the other sites that many people end up on when looking to get their licenses or registration updated:

There is also DMV.US.ORG and many more.

As I mentioned in the call with you:

1. We do not have the ability to store your information anywhere on our website.
2. We have vendors we work with, yet none of them "Sell" your information. In fact we have been
in business for 10 years and have an A+ BBB rating because we only deal with 
quality companies. We would not partner with a company that sold clients information.
3. You made it clear you do not recall what action you were attempting to perform,
which would have even required you enter your information. This information would help
us direct you better.

Also, all of this happened after moving to an new state, so are you sure you only
entered your information into just 1 website in the last year? 

Our banner has been the same for 4 years but the companies above have smaller banners, which makes me
think you were on one of their websites.

We would appreciate it if you would please review the information above. 
And please either remove your complaint from the BBB and apply it to the correct 
company OR let them know your complaint was resolved to your satisfaction.  

If I don't hear back from you I will call you Monday. 

Hope this helps. Best of luck.

Respectfully,
******

****** ******* ***
Visitor Support :)

************ • **************
www.dmv.org


The information contained in this e-mail is confidential. DMV.org does not guarantee the integrity of any e-mails or attached files. The views or opinions expressed are the author's own and may not reflect the views or opinions of DMV.org. DMV.org does not warrant that any attachments, if any, are free from viruses or other defects. You assume all liability for any loss, damage or other consequences which may arise from opening or using the attachments.  If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, use, or any action you take or fail to take in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. Please immediately notify us by telephone or return e-mail, destroy the original message, and retain no copy - on your system or otherwise.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I consider my complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

17 Customer Reviews on DMV.org
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart