Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Claims West Adjusters

Phone: (562) 303-4975 View Additional Phone Numbers 438 E Katella Ave #207, Orange, CA 92867

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Claims West Adjusters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/09/2002 in CA Business incorporated 01/09/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 S Spring St, Los Angeles CA 90013
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is 2D53132.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Allen Connette, Owner Ms. Kim Wiggins, Customer Care
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allen Connette, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Adjusters Insurance Services

Additional Locations


    438 E Katella Ave #207

    Orange, CA 92867 (714) 993-1945 (966) 822-5549 (951) 735-6615 (714) 921-1122 (562) 303-4975


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I hired Claims West to represent me against my homeowners insurance, ******** ***** explained that their fee was 10% of what the contractor got and that the contractor paid Claims West directly. He specifically told me that they did not take any percentage of the property loss money that I would get to replace property damaged. However, once my homeowners insurance sent Claims West a check for my personal property loss, Claims West kept 10% for themselves.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the 10% that they kept.

Business Response:

To whom it May Concern,
I have already talked with Ms. ******* regarding her complaint and she obviously is not satisfied with my response.
She contacted me to tell me she was unhappy with our fee for the total loss portion of her claim and that her grievance was that the rep for Claims West, ******** ***** did not inform her of the fee for said total loss.
When I asked Mr. *****, he informed me that he did in fact inform Ms. ******* of the fee for both dwelling settlement and contents.
Claims West did in fact negotiate a fair settlement for Ms. ******* for both the dwelling and Contents. We hired the assistance of a personal property expert, ****** ******** of Fire Help Services (562-2540541) who specializes in assisting homeowners with completing a total loss inventory for the purpose of providing documentation to the Insurance carrier so that the claim can be paid.
Please find attached a copy of our contract with Ms. ******* and it does in fact state the fee amount for monies when paid by the insurance company. If there was a stipulation for an omission of personal property fees then the contract would have been spelled out to note no charge on personal property.....which is not the case.
I hope this helps with the dispute and if you have any additional questions do not hesitate to call me or email
Thank you
***** ********
Claims West

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Most of the points that Mr. ******** mentions in his response do not pertain to my complaint.  I never mentioned in my complaint that the 10% fee was unreasonable or that Claims West did not earn it.  My only issue is with Mr. ******** ***** and his devious business practice.  He specifically told me that the fee did not affect the personal property loss, which it did. Had he been honest and forthcoming about that, I still would have agreed to hire Claims West to represent me.  I do not appreciate being lied to and I think it is important for other consumers to know exactly what the terms are without Mr. ********'s "spin" on it. 

By the way, the contract attached to the response is the one that Mr. ******** signed with my husband, ****** *******, who is not on the title, loan, or the insurance policy for the house.


******** *******

Business Response: Wnen Mr. ***** originally spoke with Ms. *******'s husband in person about hiring Claims West, her husband had Ms. ******* on the phone. Mr. ***** explained about the fees for both dwelling and contents as are set forth in the contract. They both agreed to hire Claims West and Ms. ******* instructed her husband to sign where as Mr. ***** accepted the signature of Ms. *******s spouse. Mr. ***** did not have a copy of the policy or title. Once Mr. ***** was aware that Ms. ******* was only on title he felt comfortable with her husbands signature for  two reasons,  one that California is a common law state making his signature acceptable, and two he had Ms. *******'s mutual acceptance on the phone. Also State Farm accepted the signature and included Claims West on all checks, there by acknowledging the contract. One additional degree of the acceptance of the contract was the acceptance of payments by Ms. ******* that included Claims West Adjuster as a loss payee.

In closing again, I believe that Mr. ***** explained the fees fully as in other claims where there was a fee reduction because of the size of a claim, he would make sure the contracted reflected the different fee amounts for dwelling and contents.

Thank you again
***** ********
Claims West Adjusters

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Claims West Adjusters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)