Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Speedi/Rescue Rooter Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 488-9944 Fax: (818) 833-6688 View Additional Phone Numbers 2842 Sherwin Ave., Unit B, Ventura, CA 93003 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rescuerooter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing construction, service and repair.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Speedi/Rescue Rooter Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Speedi/Rescue Rooter Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
Fax Number: (805) 983-3921
The number is 765155.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tina Currie, Lead Bookkeeper Anthony Escandon, Manager Ms. Lisa Eutsler, Assistant Bookkeeper Mr. William LeBaron, COO Customer Support
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rudy Rios, G.M.
Business Category

PLUMBERS

Alternate Business Names
Rescue Rooter Service Master Speedi Rooter

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12507 San Fernando Rd.

    Sylmar, CA 91342

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2842 Sherwin Ave., Unit B

    Ventura, CA 93003 (805) 648-9965

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a camer video (DVD) of my main sewer line and a 3 page report filled out by plumbing company (plumber). This is now a law required when selling house in Ventrua county. All plumbers that serve Ventura were advised of this law in February 2014. The plumber thought all I needed was the invoice. He charged me $275.00. I also had a leak under the kitchen sink. He replaced the basket stainer with a new one. Still leaks. That cost me $200.00, I 've called and e-mailed company. Called corporate office ###-###-#### only get a machine, no call back.

Desired Settlement: A full refund or a DVD of sewer line (main) (required by city of Ventua) and 3 page report filled out.

Business Response:

March 19, 2015

BBB of the Tri-Counties

 

RE:       Better Business Bureau ID# 10530183

            ****** *******

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Rescue Rooter (“ARS”) has received your email dated March 12, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint.  Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.   

We have been in communication with Mr. ******* and have reached an amicable resolution.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute.  If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at ###-###-####.

Respectfully,

****** ********

Corporate Customer Relations Supervisor

8/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, July 3rd, we contacted Rescue Rooter to come and provide services to unclog our main line. They arrived exactly when they said they would. The tech came and snaked our main line. Then another guy came by, who claimed he was the Field Operations Manager,and he told us he would need to send the camera down the lines to see the problem. He ran the camera down the main line from the clean out port and then he told us that we had a cracked ("V shaped") pipe near the street and that they would start work right now and fix it....for $6,000 or hydro-jet it for $1700! They then recommended that we finance with them or apply for "1 year same as cash" and that they can start work if we were "pre-approved". In the end, there was no broken pipe; but there was a U joint which was filled with roots. The "bait and switch" method that they used as well as the obsurdly over-inflated price for the job is the reason why we are filing this complaint. It is extremely bad business practices to prey on the unknowing and also to increase profit margins by over-inflating prices.The website says "Fast affordable Licensed Plumbers", but obviously the affordable portion is part of their bait and switch tactic too.

Desired Settlement: The market rate for this particular job is $1k to $2k; therefore, we should be billed accordingly.

Business Response: We are in receipt of your email dated July 9, 2013 regarding the above captioned complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.
 
On July 3, 2013 American Residential Services LLC DBA Rescue Rooter (ARS) responded to a plumbing service request located at *********** Winnetka, CA 91306. The service professional found a cracked pipe in the main sewer line and recommended several options including replacement of the sewer line. Accordingly,  Mrs. ********* was provided with a written estimate totaling $6,000 to repair the line or $1,500 for a temporary solution to hydrojet the line. Mrs. ******** signed the authorization to proceed with the work to replace the line and the work was performed with her approval.
 
Pricing is based on the quality and care with which the work is performed. This approach allows our service professionals to complete the job without time constraints and empowers them to do the job right the first time. We realize our customers have choices in a competitive marketplace and feel that our quality service guarantee sets us apart from our competition.
 
ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service. We are currently in communication with the customer to hopefully achieve an amicable resolution. We appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please contact me directly at (###) ###-####.
 
Respectfully,
 
***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 9613878

I am rejecting this response because:

ARS (DBA Rescue Rooter) has not provided the following below to confirm that the work has been done and completed.

As we stated in our response on 7/25/2013, we would like ARS to supply us with the following below to *************@gmail.com or **** ********* *** Winnetka, Ca 91306:

1.     Copies of the signed cancellation waiver

2.     Copy of the signed work order.

3.     Evidence of a cracked pipe and disposal of pipe

4.     Invoice or receipt of the piping purchased to be installed

5.     Proof that the job was completed

6.     List of all the workers who worked on the job and cost of labor

7.     Signed copy of invoice # 8104-266356

Regards,

***** *******





























Business Response: We are in receipt of your email dated August 21, 2013 regarding the above captioned complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.
 
American Residential Services of California, Inc. DBA ARS/Rescue Rooter (ARS) prides itself on providing premier customer service and is eager to ensure the current dispute is resolved. Therefore, we are willing to schedule a meeting between a manager and Mr. ********** to review the DVD of the video recording from the sewer line prior to the work being performed and to provide a copy of the signed agreements. Additionally, as the permit was obtained and the completed work passed inspection we will provide a copy of the permit.
 
ARS is willing to reduce the invoice total from $5,753 to $1,800 to resolve the matter amicably. We appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please contact me directly at (###) ###-####.
 
Respectfully,
 
***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues