BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Good Sam Enterprises, LLC

Find a Location

View Additional Phone Numbers 64 Inverness Drive East, Englewood, CO 80112 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.goodsam.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Good Sam Enterprises (GSE) and its wholly owned subsidiaries, serve the safety, security, comfort, and convenience needs of the North American outdoor and recreational vehicle market. The goal is simple: GSE makes RV ownership and the RV lifestyle more enjoyable. With various companies, brands, products and services, GSE targets almost every aspect of this diverse and dynamic niche market.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Good Sam Enterprises, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Good Sam Enterprises, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 46 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 19
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 46

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Good Sam Enterprises, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 30, 1998 Business started: 01/02/1966 in CA Business started locally: 01/11/1979 Business incorporated: 11/03/1986 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jyl Shute, Director, Client Service Mr. Steve Adams, Owner Ms. Robyn Barnes, Client Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jyl Shute, Director, Client Service
Business Category

ROAD SERVICE - AUTOMOTIVE RETAIL STORES CAMPERS - DEALERS CLUBS MAIL ORDER & CATALOG SHOPPING CAMPERS - SERVICE & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Affinity Group, Inc. Coast to Coast Resorts The Good Sam Club

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 Parkway Drive, Suite 270

    Lincolnshire, IL 60069

  • 2575 Vista Del Mar Drive

    Ventura, CA 93001

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    64 Inverness Drive East

    Englewood, CO 80112

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 728-7384(Phone)
  • (888) 236-8166 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to our purchase of Good Sam extended service plan, we discussed with them, over the phone, their companies policies in regards to claims and coverages. We were told that we would have to find a business who would be doing the work, call for a claim authorization, and then submit the claim. If we were unable to call for a claim authorization we could file a claim after the work was complete. We were told that anything spent out of pocket, over and above our $500 deductible would we covered for most repairs. So we purchased the policy. That was in February. On the 4th of July we took our truck to Firestone to have a check engine and battery warning light investigated. After a computer diagnoses, we were informed that the alternator had to be replaced and that the 2 batteries were no good and needed to be replaced as well. Being it a holiday, we couldn't call for a pre-work authorization. After it was all said and done, we called to submit the claim for this work totaling $1083.05. We were informed that the insurance did not cover battery replacement, but that the rest of the work would be covered. We faxed all the necessary pages to a kit the claim to them and then waited for our claim to be processed. Their settlement for this claim totaled only $59.59 after the deductible which was around $220.00 less than what it should have been. We called back to the claims department to discuss this settlement and we were told that the claim was decided by taking the part number for the alternator and checking the price through NAPA auto parts. That price was $188.03 and not the $381.99 I was charged by Firestone. NAPA was not contracted to do the work, nor would they have completed the needed repairs that were performed, but they were used to decide the price of he parts used by a completely separate business. This was not how the Good Sam employee described to us the coverages and claims to us prior to our purchase. I believe that this company blatantly misrepresented itself to us.

Desired Settlement: I would like either the difference in parts and labor that I spent to the amount that Good Sam authorized be paid to me, and/or because of the false advertisement of their company to us about there extended service plan I would like the premium payments made to Good Sam for this service be refunded from the date of purchase to the date policy was cancelled.

Business Response:

Upon review of this claim we found that Mr. **** was charged $381.99, for the alternator and we authorized $188.03 for the alternator.    We are reimbursing Mr. **** for the difference of $193.96.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10206637, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/16/14: Early Monday morning my husband went to the York River to launch his boat for the first time this year. This is always a debugging trip for the boat every year. The drive from our home in Ashland, VA to York River State Park boat landing in Williamsburg takes a little over an hour. On the way, one of the tires on the boat trailer started smoking and ***** pulled over to find that the fender brace had broken and had fallen down on the tire, which was now flat and had to be changed. That was the first bug. After removing the fender and changing the tire, he continued to the road that winds down to the boat ramp where a stick in the road punctured a brake line and started draining the brake fluid. Bug #2.Without knowledge of bug #2, he successfully launched his boat and parked the big red van with the trailer. Since he was boating alone, he had notified me of his intention to be off the water by 1:00 p.m. and, up until that time, he was having a wonderful day playing with the new GPS and fish finder he had recently installed on his boat.At 1:00 p.m. he called me at work in Richmond to tell me that he had broken his arm and was about to be taken away by ambulance; and that I needed to get to the boat ramp immediately to stay with his boat and get our emergency roadside service to get the boat home, where it would be safe from the pilfering of his electronics and outboard. Bug #3. And, oh yes, theres something wrong with the brakes (see bug #2).I left immediately and arrived at the York River State Park boat ramp at 2:00 p.m. I found the boat safely on the trailer with the big red van parked just a few yards from the ramp. I immediately called the number on my Good Sam Travel Assist card and felt secure that they would be ready to come to the rescue. A word about this rather expensive program: the brochure lists many emergency services for folks who have medical emergencies while on the road with a towed vehicle, which had happened to us before; the logistics of which, proved to be overwhelming. The promise on which I was focusing at the moment was that they will return your towed vehicle to your home, so that you can deal with your medical emergency. This extra coverage program seemed prudent to us as we are past our prime. It gave us a sense of security that, when we need it most, there will be an agency there to help us through an emergency. After describing my situation as quickly as possible, the man on the other end of the phone began stuttering. I dont really know what to do usually the people who call have a truck that works and we just drive it home for them, but your truck has the brakes outso I dont know how to help you until you get your truck fixed maybe you should call your Good Sam Roadside Assistance program and then call us back after your truck is fixed. Well that might take days and I need to leave here shortly to get to the emergency room and check on my husband! Isnt that what this program is for?! Ordinarily, yes, but I dont know what to do. Ill give you a case number but I cant do anything until your truck is fixed. He gave me a case # 402-905 and I hung up feeling totally disappointed. Well that was a big waste of money. Immediately I pulled out the Good Sam Roadside Assistance card and dialed the number. A word about this program: ***** and I belonged to AAA for many years with no complaints, but we recently made the move to Good Sam Club because now our free time was spent towing our camper or boat to enjoy our nations state park systems, so it also seemed prudent. After going through their automated system, punching in all the right numbers and making the most logical selections, I sat in my car, on hold for about 15 minutes. Finally, I was connected and again described my situation. During this conversation I realized that I didnt have my key to the big red van in my purse! Bug #4. ***** had had the ambulance technician lock all the doors to the van, which only made

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money back for this service and also for Good Sam Roadside Assistance.

Business Response: At this member's request, we have refunded both payments in full.   They were refunded $99.99 which is the amount they paid for Travel Assist on 3/12/14 and $114.95 whish is the amount paid for Roadside on 6/13/14.   The total refund to the member will be $214.94.  These refunds are being sent as checks, which should arrive to the member's home address within 3-4 weeks.   We have also sent a letter to the member explaining what action has been taken. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SAVINGS CODE: TD-SE 219476My wife and I have repeatedly called the ###-###-#### contact number over several months and requested that Good Sam Insurance Agency (** ** *** ***** Winston-Salem, NC 27102-3199) STOP MAILING SOLICITATIONS for RV insurance. They have been repeatedly told that we SOLD OUR RV TWO YEARS AGO AND HAVE NO INTEREST IN THEIR SERVICE IN ANY CAPACITY. We receive lip service and they completely ignore our request. This is illegal -- a violation of consumer law! To be honest, we weren't thrilled with their service when we DID have it and fired them in favor of another carrier years ago.What does it take for your company to honor this valid request? Our information is to be removed from your sales solicitation database immediately and is not to be sold or in any way shared with any enterprise either internal or external to Good Sam.These solicitations are immediately shredded upon receipt. Lack of response will result in further pursuit of this issue until resolution.We appreciate your in advance and will expect confirmation by return e-mail within 10 business days (Friday, August 29) and a copy is retained for record.

Desired Settlement: Our information is to be removed from your sales solicitation database immediately and is not to be sold or in any way shared with any enterprise either internal or external to Good Sam. We require correction of this issue and will expect confirmation by return e-mail within 10 business days (Friday, August 29) and a copy is retained for record.

Business Response:

We've investigated Mr. ******'s complaint and have stopped all mail coming from Good Sam insurance.    I called and spoke with Mr. ****** to let him know that this had been done and I apologized that this had not been fixed earlier.    Mr. ****** seemed satisfied with this resolution.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the early hours of July 4, 2014 our RV broke down on US 412 @ OK 88. We called the 800 number for dispatch and were told they would send a tow truck to tow us to Cracker Barrel as no mechanics could be verified to be available for repairs. We waited and no towing company called us. We repeated the calls to Good Sam Dispatch 3 more times after which we were told to just sleep in the RV along side the road and call again at 8 am. We had two children with us and the speed limits on the highway were 70 mph. While not in immediate danger, the situation was definitely precarious. In desperation, we called AAA. Within a 1/2 hour we had a tow truck at our site and were towed to a mechanic in Pryor, OK. On July 7, I contacted Good Sam via their website to let them know of our dissatisfaction with our encounter. They finally returned the call and made contact on July 14. Initially they tried to justify the behavior by saying services in the area were limited. This is inaccurate as we received services through AAA. In fact, the tow truck driver informed us that Good Sam had contacted him, but they were not pleased with his quote. So, to save a few dollars, they intended to leave us stranded at the side of the road. After discussing the issue with the customer service agent, we were informed this would be brought to the attention of the company in a meeting. We were not able to talk with people who could make decisions or rectify the situation. We requested our money back and were told that in the aforementioned meeting they would consider refunding a pro-rated membership fee.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a full, 100% TOTAL REFUND, or the purchase by Good Sam of a membership in Coach Net! A pro-rated refund is insufficient as we did not receive any service, in fact, we would have been better off without the Good Sam Roadside Assistance. We also desire a written apology for the inadequate service leaving us stranded at the side of the road for hours.

Business Response:

We have tried to contact this member directly via phone to discuss their concerns, but were unable to speak with them directly.   We have researched the members concerns and found that the member had spoken with one of our Roadside coordinators in 7/15/14 and cancelled the membership.   We are refunding the member a total of $128.73.  Also, our dispatch team has extended formal letter of apology to member. We have left a voice mail for member explaining what we discovered as a result of our research.   Further we invited the member or their spouse to call our office directly to further discuss the events surrounding the disablement of July 4th

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday, July 13, 2014, my family and I were traveling home from a baseball tournament when I experienced an alternator problem with my unit. After discussing with my wife on what to do, I called Good Sam Roadside Assistance to utilize the coverage that I have paid for. Talking to the Good Sam agent, I was given the option of a towing service or roadside mechanic service. I chose to get the towing service. She asked me if I had a preferred Service Provider and I chose PPL there in Houston. I had my wife call them to verify if they were open or close(This was on a sunday) and they were closed at the time. I let the Agent know that and asked her several times if they could still tow it there and she said yes. At that time, she said she had a towing company lined up and they would get it there for me. At that time, I contacted the Tow Provider and they told me it would be a couple hours before they would be there. We agreed that I would leave it there and they would get it around 5 or so. Later that evening, a Good Sam Agent called me back and said they were closed and what i wanted to do with it. I told her that I knew it was closed and that I made it very clear and asked them several times if they could still tow it and the answer I got several times was yes. At that time, the agent called the provider and made arraingments for the provider to store it at there yard and to have it towed the next morning and that Good Sam would cover the cost. This was told to the provider as well. This morning I get a call saying I am responsible for the cost now to tow it this morning. I had to pay the tow provider 650 for them to move my motorhome to PPl after him and I were told that it would be fully covered by Good Sam and they would pay for it. Not only am I very upset about this but after talking with the Tow Provider they are as well. We were both told the same thing and now they are coming back and saying they wont pay for it. Very Bad buisness on Good Sams Part.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $650 towing cost that I had to pay. If I were told last night that I had to pay for the cost I would have made different arraingments like trying to find another service provider that was open to fix the problem. But myself and the tow provider were clearly told that Good Sam will cover it. The Tow Service made Good Sam call me to tell me I was responsible because he said Good Sam was wrong and he wasnt going to make that phone call.

Business Response:

We spoke with Mr. ****** and reviewed the root causes of the service failure and reviewed the steps we will take to ensure this does not happen to any member in the future.  I advised Mr. ****** we would reimburse him $650.00 which is what he had to pay out of pocket to the service provider.  Also as goodwill gesture, we upgraded his roadside membership at no cost to the member.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Although I have not recieved my check for reimbusement, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10131968, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The resolution is satifactory but before the complaint is resolved I want the check.

Regards,

**** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 26th my husband and l, along with our dogs returning from a dog show in Vallejo, CA, broke down in Jackson, CA.. . . . .we of course called our Good Sam club as we are members, trusting that they would help us……. this has turned into a disaster beyond belief..After numerous calls„ listening repeatedly to their“ messages, getting transferred to the right person to speak to, and then put on hold for sometime over half an hour, and finally told that help was on the way, however, the truck, needed to haul our vehicle was located in Placerville, CA and 'it would  a. few hours to get there. Okay, finally, help is on the way. ...we thought. With that, a good friend came to get my husband and some of our dogs to take them home. I was left with the RV…. About and hour later I received a call from the person who has the truck that was supposedly on his way....wrong. I was informed by him that his truck wasn’t big enough to do the job and wouldn’t. be' coming.....huh?‘ He advised that he would call Good Sam to let them know and that I Should also make the call to inform them of the problem. . . call, disconnect, call, disconnect, call disconnect, I can’t tell you how many times I listened to that stupid recording and was disconnected….. (a lot). It now is dark and I am still waiting for my husband to return, not to give up trying to reach Good Sam…. When suddenly my phone rings and it is the person who was supposed to haul our vehicle to begin with. Letting me know he hadn’t forgotten
me but that he was still on hold and nobody was answering…. I told him that too was trying to reach them and couldn’t get through…. He advised that we should call a hauler in Pioneer, CA closer to where we live, that they had a truck that could do the job……I finally was able to get through to Good Sams and was told they would try to find someone that could haul us to Pioneer, CA. I gave them the information that was given to me and viola, the contact was made and help was on the way again…. These folks called me to let them know that they were on their way ….. thank you god!

 
My husband returned at last and I was able to relate no him all that had happened. It took. about an hour before the other new truck from Pioneer, CA to arrive and about another hour to get it loaded. ....at least that amount of time…..it cost us $88.00 on our credit card, thank you! Good Sams took care of whatever other charges there were for this tow.

 

 

Chapter two:

 

We were informed by the garage in Pioneer that they wouldn‘t be able to look at what needed to be done until Friday, Okay. . .Friday came and we got the phone call that they couldn’t do the repairs that it needed to be taken to Freightliner for repairs….they are in Sacramento, CA …..here we go again. Called Good Sams, yep, same recording …..trying to make it short, after being told that because we suggested towing
to the garage in Pioneer, CA that Good Sams would not be responsible for the charges of $1,000.00 to Freightliner in Sacramento. They would take about $700.00 and the rest to be paid to the truck driver. Okay, no problem….. put it on the credit card, here is the number …. Wouldn’t go through, the lady on the other end said they were having problems with their computer and she was certain it was because of this that the card wouldn’t go through, after several calls along these lines, it was quite evident that this wasn’t going to happen and I took it from there to try to place funds where it was needed to make the card work…. Gets kinda crazy and if you’re confused, imagine where my head is at….We had do to it the “easy way” Call Good Sams, listen to their recordings, put on hold, you’ve got it. My husband appears after a good long time of me phoning, etc. he tells me we can put it on this other credit card and there shouldn’t be a problem……I get a bit
confused from here on out, but I did finally get through to them and they took the card number, took our money, whatever that amount was and because of the hour, couldn’t get it towed until Monday? I think…. This happened on that Friday, I was told to call the towing company to let them know and to set up a time, which I did. Originally I was told between seven to eight o’clock in the morning but to check back Monday morning which I did. I was then told that it wouldn’t nu until 12:00 – 12:30 that day….. Okay ……because mu husband has the
keys, be left here at about 11:30 and was at the RV by 12:00 and would call me when they would be on their way….. I waited ….. and waited …..and waited ….at 4:00 p.m. thinking my poor OLD husband forgot to call me and that he was in Sacramento……. NOPE, not so …..the truck never arrived and that he (my husband) was very hot and tired and was coming home…..my husband is 75+ years old……of course he is hot and tired with the kind of runaround we were getting plus the very hot days we are experiencing….I call to Sams Club once again, frustrated,
angry and using the best terminology I could muster so that someone there would know how angry I am…..I am calling to cancel with that tow vehicle they were sending that we have another for the same amount of money and would you please put that money back into my account. WHAT???? And hearing please Mrs ***** calm down…..we are cancelling the tow vehicle and we are refunding your money but it
takes about five to seven days for it to get there. It goes on and on from there, I am in hysterics and it is a wonder that I am not having a coronary by this time…..comes today, this morning and mind you, I still get hysterical having to speak of it again…..

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

We spoke with Ms. ***** and apologized for any communications or service failures that she experienced. Apologized for the poor service, reviewed the steps we will take to ensure this does not happen to her or any member in the future, and advised Ms. ***** we will be sending a refund of $912.00 for second tow.  We confirmed that the Ms. ***** was satisfied with this solution and gave her our direct contact information should any other questions arise.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Sam is selling and sharing my name and address without my knowledge or consent. I have never done any business with Good Sam and have never authorized them to put my name on any marketing lists to share, sell, or provide to their affiliates for marketing purposes. I received a marketing flyer from Camping World of Akron, OH last Friday. I contacted Camping World and informed them to remove me from their mailing list. I asked where they got my information because I am registered with the Direct Marketing Association opt-out program. I was advised that they got my information from Good Sam because I share a household with a Good Sam member. This is a violation of my privacy. My sister, who I do live with, does have a Good Sam membership. She herself has asked Good Sam to stop sharing her information as she was getting a load of junk mail from Camping World and other such companies. Now they're abusing my personal information. I do not use Good Sam, would never use Good Sam and have not authorized them to share, sell, use, or distribute any personal information about me, including my address. I want my name, and all related metadata about me purged from Good Sam's databases and marketing lists immediately and written confirmation that it has been done. I am lodging a complaint regarding their marketing practices with DMA.

Desired Settlement: Purge my name, address, and other data from your website and provide written proof that you have done so.

Business Response: At Ms. *****'s request, I have written her an email confirming that she has been removed from our database.  I explained in this email that because we prepare some of our mail in advance, it may take 3-4 weeks for all mail to stop, but that she should not receive any more mail from us after this timeframe.   In additon, I did reassure her that we did not sell any of her information.     As Camping World and Good Sam are the same company, we will mail under these different entities, but we do not sell our members’ information to anyone outside of our immediate company.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issue is that on oct 4, 2013 I purchased your ESP for my RV. I hardly ever go anywhere in it so it sits in my driveway. I start it every three or four months to keep the battery up in it. I also will run the generator to keep it in good condition. WEll a couple weeks ago I tried to start it and it would not. I called you to see if it would cover a fuel pump if that is what was wrong with it. I was told yes. I arranged to have it towed to an "approved" garage. Since then which was on 3/10/14 I have been given the run around. Yes no yes no. The mileage was not current., OK I got that taken care of then it was that the thing was preexisting condition. Gee how did it start all those times I moved it out of my way to mow and up to where a hose would reach to wash the RV. This whole process makes me think you are just another predator taking people's money and not doing what you said you would. Repair those things that go bad.I am disgusted by you calling or rather insinuating that I am untruthful or any other derogatory adjective. Please take care of this. I was told now that I will have to pay $50.00 to leave this ripoff of yours. Do I have to go hire an attorney to get any of this straightened out? I am not a liar or thief and am offended to the bone by your treatment of me.

Desired Settlement: reimbersment for repair bill and wave the $50.00 cancellation fee. i need an apology from those who accused me of fraud. there is no reason for me to keep the policy that refuses to respect me and honor their responsibility to me

Business Response: Spoke with this member this afternoon.   Ms. ***** was very upset and stated that she felt Good Sam had called her a liar.  I apologized on behalf of Good Sam and told her we never meant to imply she was a liar.   I offered to email her forms to submit her claim to our review board to be considered for reimbursement.    These forms will be emailed to Ms. ***** this afternoon.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9973696, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards, 
********* *****





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pre-Paid for 3 of Good Sam roadside service in 2012. use to be with AAA. tried to use their service for the first time on 10/18 and then on 10/20. Both times the experience was horrible and no actual assistance was given to us. Had a flat tire on the truck the I was using to trailer my toy hauler. Called for assistance and after waiting 45 minutes to get a confirmed time from someone to come out I decided to change my own tire, this was on the side of a 91 fwy with my wife and two kids in the car. Second time, 10/20 we lost a tire on the Trailer, has 2 on each side, one wheel and tire completely fell off, called to have to towed home, since we were less then 30 miles away from homeAll I kept getting was no, they can't, they can only tow it to a nearest repair location. This was at 3pm on a sunday, when asked what location is that, all we got was we have to search for oneIn the past with AAA, they would tow us unto 100 mileswhatever locationSo after giving up on this we drove home 50 at MPHWhat a HORRIBLE serviceI'm switching back to AAA soon as I can...

Desired Settlement: Requesting a FULL refund, since never used the service and when trying to use it was unable too...

Business Response: Our roadside assistance coordinatlros spoke with Mr. ***** on 10/28.  We apologized to the member for the service he received.   In addition we reviewed with him the steps we will take to ensure this doesn not happen to him or any member in the future.   As an apology to the member, we have extended his membership by 1 year and upgraded his membership level to platinum.  The member indicated he was satisfied with this resolution.

Business Response: We have spoken with Mr. *****.   We came to a resolution of cancellnig and refunding the membership in addition to the $89 already promised.   Mr. ***** was satisfied with this resolution.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9774475

I am rejecting this response because:

 
"We came to a resolution of cancellnig and refunding the membership in addition to the $89 already promised"

I have yet to receive the refund...only received the $89 check so far...

My Cell ###-###-####

Regards,

****** ***** 





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/31/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a complaint both with roadside service and the extended warranty they sold me I was driving from great falls, mt to Crecent city, ca on 7-21-13. I called roadside assit for help because my 5-wheel lost it breaksthe next morning the send out ark mobile rv repair after pending 350.00 out of my own pocket the tech said when you find out whats wrong with it I would lik to know. I called the next day to find out if there were any shops around and the told me their was one at Junction city or. I called with thye number provided and said I was on my way and would be there in 2 hrs.the guy on the phone told me no way its a 4 -5 hr drive and I ask him where he was at and he saqid outside of Portland. this is after we were already on the way to Junction city. Junction city is closed so they just had their phones forward to Portland. that covers te roadside assit.the good sam extended servicer plan is far worst. I called them for refrig repairs and air cond problems and they told me I could go anywhere I wantso I went to Martin's rv service center in great falls they fixed the refig and the water leak in the main holding tank I paid them and sent the bill to good sams for payment that is from 3-29-2013 still no checkI talked to **** at good sam serval times and his story changes everytimeHe told me there is limited places where you can go in montanta and is askedhim for my money back for the warranty. He said I will call you back(never does) so I wait for a few weeks call again I think if no want wants to take good sam warranty in the great falls area they should h]not sold me a policy for the trailer

Desired Settlement: My extended warranty that they haven't paid one dime on

Business Response:

Mr. ******' Extended Service Plan claim is still open and authorized; we have requested that Mr. ****** submit required information that was missing from the original claim.   On 5/22/13 we sent Mr. ****** a letter requesting this information.   On 8/14/13 an invoice was received which contained only the VIN # and the labor rate.   The following information was still required but not received:   Part Numbers, Requested Warranty Information, Cause of Failure for Both Parts, Requested make/model of refrigerator, and Requested Manufacturer on Fitting.   We advised Mr. ****** multiple times (on 8/12/13, 8/22/13, 9/18/13 and 10/21/13) that the additional information was still required to proceed with processing the claim.   When Mr. ****** requested a full refund on the policy on 10/21/13, we did explain to him that the best we could do would be to backdate the cancellation on the policy by 30 days.   At this time, Mr. ****** ended the call with our representative.  

In regards to Mr. ******’ concerns with his Roadside Assistance, we have initiated an internal action to review the events of his call. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased extended warranty coverage for my motorhome in April of this year because I thought it would be prudent on my part to protect myself from the possible eventuality of an expensive repair due to a breakdown while traveling. The plan was purchased from Good Sam Club. I believe they have an underwriter by the name of QBE of Europe. Having this coverage was important because we did not have any extra funds of consequence to cover an emergency situation such as this.While we were in California, and starting our return trip to Minnesota, our motorhome broke down on the multi-lane 215 freeway heading north. To date, the extended warranty company has said they will cover the failed water pump, but they would not cover the engine because their findings indicate the driver (myself) was at fault since the engine failed because it overheated as a result of me not pulling over and shutting down the engine to prevent the damage. I strongly disagree with this decision and view it more as a self-serving decision that was made to avoid paying a potentially expensive claim. The failed water pump caused the engine to fail! This cause and effect relationship is brought up in their literature when they emphasize (I am paraphrasing here) that if a non-covered part fails and it subsequently causes a covered part to fail, then neither the non-covered part nor the covered part would be covered in that instance. This is very obviously a provision to serve their interest. In my situation, they have acknowledged that the water pump failed and would be covered; however, they have declined coverage on the engine, a normally covered part, even though its failure was caused by the water pump failure! They are instead reaching and with a self-serving interpretation claim that the driver caused the engine to fail. Their assertion is absurd; it is again made with their interest in mind!I will now provide a detailed summary of the events surrounding the failure of the engine to include information regarding conversations that apply.On July 22, 2013, while driving on the 215 highway during rush hour traffic, a little bit south of March AFB, I had a mechanical problem with my motorhome. I had encountered several hills while driving this road. Each time, my water temperature gauge rose a small amount while going up the hill, but it went down when I reached the crest and started down the hill so this appeared to be normal behavior. The same thing happened when I ran into the problem.While going up this last hill, the engine started running rough. When that happened, my immediate thought was to get to the shoulder; I could not because I had traffic all around me. I let up on the gas pedal and checked my instruments. I found the tachometer was jumping up and down, the oil pressure was normal and the water temperature had risen again just like it had on the previous hills. The two semi-trucks between me and the shoulder were still there but gaining ground, probably due to me decelerating. As the last truck cleared me, the engine stopped running, and I saw the temperature gage had red-lined. At this point I no longer had power steering. I had my turn signal on, but the car to my right-rear was not giving ground. Finally, since it looked as if I had enough room, I coasted into the right lane and then onto the shoulder.We called our insurance company to get a tow. We also made arrangements to have an on-site mechanic come out to assist us because at this time we were hoping it was a busted hose or something of that nature. We were towed to a cul-de-sac about two exits north of where we were stopped. We spent the night there, and waited the next day until about noon when the mechanic showed up. He removed engine cowling inside the vehicle, and added water to the radiator. After it was full, he started the engine, and shut it off almost immediately. There was a lot of noise and water was spewing out all over the place. He said, I cant help youyour engine is shot. I paid him his fee and he departed.Next we called the insurance company again to get a tow to place that could work on the engine. We were towed to Crest Chevrolet in San Bernadino, CA. The first mechanics assessment was confirmed by the people at Crest Chevrolet. At this point, it was too late in the day to contact the people at Good Sam Club to initiate a claim on our extended service plan.The next morning the mechanic contacted Good Sam and was told that the engine had to be torn down to the point of failure. The mechanic told me that could cost as much as $3000 just to tear down the engine. I did not have any choice except to go ahead with this; I felt the engine surely would be covered under the plan so Good Sam would pay for this expense anyway.It was at this point my wife and I decided to rent a car and head home. There were three reasons for this decision. First, it would likely be on the order of a week before the process of tearing down the engine, taking pictures and emailing them to Good Sam and finally getting an okay from them for the repair ( at this time, we were still thinking there could be no decision other than for them to cover the engine repair). Secondly, once the okay was given, it would take maybe two weeks to order, receive and install the new engine. So we just were not going to wait for that process. Thirdly, we had to be back home because our daughter was scheduled to start summer practice for high school swimming. Since we did not have a place to stay locally, we felt comfortable with the decision we made because our extended service plan had provisions for a rental car, meals and lodging.On July 31, 2013, I received a call from the mechanic at Crest Chevrolet. He told me an inspector had been there and had submitted his findings to Good Sam. Those findings were: the water pump had failed and that is a covered part, but the engine would not be covered because the engine failure was due to overheating and that was because the drive

Desired Settlement: I think Good Sam should be required to replace my engine immediately. Additionally, since this process has been dragging on excessively, they should also be required to pay for any storage fee that may be assessed by the dealership where my motorhome is currently stranded. They should also be required to pay my expenses associated the rental car, lodging and meals that were required for me and my family to return home.Finally, I would really like an apology from them for their greed!

Business Response:

Dear *** ******: 

 

Thank you for taking the time to contact The Good Sam Extended Service Plan regarding the recent claim to your Motorhome. 

 

We at Good Sam take the satisfaction of our customers very seriously and strive to provide our customers with one of the most comprehensive breakdown programs in the industry today.  The Extended Service Plan is the only program that is a true insurance product underwritten by an A+ rated carrier.  Since we do offer an insurance product, not a warranty, we are bound by the Terms and Conditions of the policy. 

 

After a thorough review of the claim on your engine and a review of the inspection notes it was found that the engine cylinder heads were warped due to overheating. The overheating was caused by a lack of coolant, due to the failed water pump, and the continued use of the engine in a failed state. The Terms and Conditions of the policy are very specific regarding eligibility for coverage. It is stated in the policy under General Exclusions

 

 

.               • Any loss due to continued operation in a failed condition. 

 • Any loss resulting from inadequate amounts of coolant, lubricant, or fluids. 

 

 

In light of this information we have no choice but to stand behind our Claims Administrators denial of the claim and will not be able to provide you with any further assistance toward the claim.    

Business Response:

Mr. ******,  

We apologize that you are not satisfied with the answer you received.  We do take the concerns of our customers very seriously and while you did not feel safe to pull off the road this in turn caused additional failure that are specifically not covered by the terms and conditions of the policy. Since we do offer an insurance product, not a warranty, we are bound by the Terms and Conditions of the policy. In the Terms and Conditions of your policy under “General Exclusions” it states:  

           Any loss due to continued operation in a failed condition. 

            Any loss resulting from inadequate amounts of coolant, lubricant, or fluids. 

We also understand your frustration with the tear down process, which is needed in order to determine exact cause of failure to determine coverage. I will review your exact circumstances with our claims office to ensure that this was handled correctly.  

As a benefit to our customer’s we do offer a review of claims if they felt it was not handled properly. This is handled outside of the claim administrators by Good Sam. Since it is handled outside of the claims administrators we do require that the claim is paid because we do not have any means to pay shops directly and want to ensure that the repairs are completed. 

If you have additional concerns we would be happy to address them with you directly, but we unfortunately still stand by our claims administrator denial of the claim.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 9690686

I am rejecting this response because it does not address the concerns I have expressed in prior correspondence.

The text of my complete response can be seen in the included attachment.

Regards,

***** ****** 





























BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August 25th on the Good Sam website there was an advertisement "RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP NOW AND GET ONE MONTH FREE CAMPING" "RENEW NOW" "OFFER ENDS SEPTEMBER 2, 2013". Ss to me this was a great deal and I renewed my membership for three years for $59. After renewal I didn't see anything about the free month camping so I emailed Good Sam. The response I got back was "Thank you for contacting Good Sam. This was a typo and the offer is 13 months plus a free night of camping. Sorry for the confusion." I didn't need to renew at this time and the only reason I did was for the free month of camping. I then received a free night camping certificate in the mail and it said a free night, but was limited to $25 which is less that it usually cost me for a night of camping. All the way around there is false and misleading advertising from Good Sam. I have sent them an email about getting my money back, however on the Good Sam website they state that "Membership fees are non-refundable".

Desired Settlement: I want them to cancel my renewal and refund the $59 I spent to renew.

Business Response:

Mr. ********,  

We would like to apologize for the misinformation and inconvenience we caused you. We have refunded your $59 membership, plus the additional $13.33 for time remaining on the membership as of 9/6/2013. We also left your membership active (at no cost to you) through 5/31/2014. We left you a message at the phone number on file to confirm that you received the refund. If you have any additional questions feel free to give us a call.  

Regards, 

Good Sam Club Team  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 28th, 2013 and about 10:15 I locked myself out of my home for 6 hours due to the fact that the batteries on the combination pad lock had drained out without my knowledge as the pad lock did not warn me of bad batteries, therefore, I was left outside of my home for 6 hours while I was trying to get this issue solved by calling my roadside assistance, the "Good Sam Auto Roadside Assistance to send help to open my home.In order for me to get "Good Sam Auto Roadside Assistance" to call a locksmith I had to pay them an extra $50.00 on top of the Yearly $89.00, plus a $45.00 (which I have a receipt), I had to pay out of my own pocket to get a locksmith on my as the locksmith they had sent over took two hours trying to get my home opened and which he wasn't successful. The locksmith which "Good Sam Auto Assistance" called initially did not have any success in opening my home. Harlee's Key Service, 218 Asturias Ave. Laredo TX 78046,serviceman spent two hours trying to get it opened, to no avail.The locksmith which I was force to call on my own, Easy Access Key Service was very successful I might add that he only took 3 minutes to get my home opened, very professionally, which I might add, had to pay him $45.00 out of my own pocket.After the two hours that Harlee's Key Serviceman had tried to open the doors without any success, the lady driver came up to him and order the serviceman "to leave since he had not been successful to open the doors and to leave me and for me to call my road service company and to let me take care of it".At this point and time I called "Good Sam Auto Roadside Assistance", my roadside service provider and the lady that answered my called, Mary Beth, just told me "that they could not send another locksmith since the one they had already sent could not open my home. She told me to call my home security service provider and to see what they could or to call the police dept. They did not fulfilled their service and left to fend on my own. Product_Or_Service: 06/01/2013 Order_Number: 28749879 Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to have "Good Sam Auto Roadside Assistance to release me from the contract and to refund me the following; $89.00 for my membership fee, $50.00 for the up-grade so that they could send me a locksmith and my expense for the locksmith which I called on my own to open my home and which I have a receipt for the amount of $45.00. Total amount of refund in all is, $184.00. and let's not forget my release from the contract from "Good Sam Auto Roadside Assista

Business Response:

When Mr. ******** initially called Good Sam Roadside Assistance, to report that he was locked out of his house and required a locksmith, the membership that he had did not cover home lockouts. We offered to upgrade his service for the additional $45. At that time we dispatched a locksmith who was unable to unlock Mr. ********’ home.  Mr. ******** then called a second locksmith who was able to unlock his house, which he had to pay $45 out of pocket for the service. We have since spoke with Mr. ******** to rectify this situation and apologize for the poor service he received. We reimbursed Mr. ******** for the upgrade in membership and the $45 for the second locksmith. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I took a cross country this summer and traveled from Ohio to California in an RV. Two weeks before we left we purchased all new tires, had our RV serviced & bought Good Sam Roadside Assistance. It wasn't long until we needed the Roadside assistance as we blew what we thought was one back tire in Arizona. We called Good Sam for help and it was brutal. The length of time that we waited was inexcusable but aside from that they finally sent someone. I had to pay $540 to Good Sam over the telephone with my credit card. I wasn't exactly sure why we had spent the money on Good Sam since they charge for service for someone to come out ($130)plus the cost of the tire, but at that time I just wanted off the side of the road as where we were stuck was quite dangerous. When the repairman came to our rescue our dually tire was also flat. We followed the repairman back to the shop w/ our older spare on to get a tire to replace the 2nd tire blown. Once all was said and done the manager had called Good Sam and they refused payment for the tire as they said "we were no longer stranded". So, we had to pay an additional $357 for the second tire. Very long story short we blew another tire in California and the repairman there told us that the tires did not have the valve stems tightened and that is why our tires were blowing. Once back home we called the business that had originally put on our tires and they agreed to refund our money but we needed the receipts. I had not received any receipts from Good Sam so I called Customer Service. Customer service said it would take 7-10 days but I needed it sooner so they told me to call Dispatch. I called Dispatch and they took my information and said they would call me to confirm everything and get the receipt to me. I just called again after 2 weeks and a CS rep named Carlos told me that my requests were not even noted!!! I requested the receipt again but my experience with Good Sam has been AWFUL!!

Desired Settlement: I would like the receipt sent to me as soon as possible with a written letter to the Tire Company (Discount Tire) an explanation of why it took so long to receive a receipt. We look like fools trying to collect on an accident and not showing receipts in an appropriate amount of time! Also, I feel we deserve a credit on our second tire if not the entire amount of our tire (Good Year, Great West in Arizona told us they typically cover the second tire).

Business Response:

Good Sam has no record of a request for the receipt other than the one showing that we sent a receipt for the additional fees to your Galena OH address on 8/1/2013.  We have addressed the other issues with the representative(s) that you spoke to during your request for assistance to ensure that this doesn’t happen to you or any other member in the future. We would like to offer a one year extension as part of the resolution to your complaint .  Please let us know if you would like to accept it and we will process the extension and have new cards out to your Galena OH address within the next 10-14 days from receipt of your response.  Again we apologize for the lack of service and look forward to regaining your trust going forward. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9641776

I am rejecting this response because:  I suggest you pull all voice records concerning this issue from the phone calls I made.  There were four separate requests for this receipt and many times I had to speak with both the dispatch office and the customer service office.  There is DEFINITELY a problem with your customer service if my calls were all ignored.

Regards,

**** *****




























Business Response: Your rejection has been noted and we have withdrawn the extension as part of the resolution to your complaint .  Again we apologize for the lack of service and look forward to regaining your trust going forward.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I completed the initial application I was asked to give my RV name, year, and VIN. The information I gave said it was a 1998 Winnebago, Vectra. VIN as listed on the door. The application was accepted and my first payment was given. The contract says the only way it be broken was
by nonpayment of the premium, intentional misrepresentation or fraud. At the time I completed the application I was told it was a 1988, which I know now it is a 1994. Also at the time I gave the correct VIN, which would tell the entire story. It is not my problem that they did not validate the VIN at that time. They validated when I put in my first claim which is too late based on what the contract says. On my trip I was under a false sense of security.




Desired Settlement: Reimburse my out of pocket cost to repair my transmission, and continue contract, with just the first three payments be the premium for the entire year.

Business Response: It is up to the customer to provide the correct information at the time of enrollment.  Similar to any other insurance - if incorrect information is provided, unintentionally or otherwise, the risk is that any future claims may be denied.  

For example, Life Insurance rates for smokers are very different than for non-smokers.  If a smoker took out a policy as a "non-smoker" and it was later found that the applicant was actually a smoker, the claim would be denied and all premiums would be refunded.  

Good Sam ESP never would have enrolled a 1994 model year vehicle.  Our agents are Property & Casualty licensed and ask for that information on 100% of all enrollments. Our terms & conditions are very clear. Based on that we can't pay the claim.

Business Response: Good Sam Enterprises stands by prior responses made in reference to this issue. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9607802

I am rejecting this response because:  Business knew when I purchased the contract the year of the vehicle.  Breaking the contract is not acceptable, and I demand the business to cover my transmission bill.

Regards,

***** * *********




























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2008 Daymon Daybreak has been sitting at the Sirpilla Dealership in Akron,OH for 2 weeks now ( we are starting on week 3 ) to be repaired. We bought an extended warranty on our motor home to avoid this type of situation. The Generator went bad ( we have had it less than 4 months) with 36,000 miles on it. For two weeks we have been told the dealership was waiting for the "higher ups" at Good Sam to see if the repair would be covered. Today ( Monday, July 8th) when I called Good Sam they threw it back to the dealership asking for an estimate of repair cost. Why this couldn't have been done 2 weeks ago is beyond me. When I called the dealership I was told they have to take it out of the motorhome and send it to get the estimate. Then they will send it back to Good Sam. We have a reservation for a camping trip from July 18 to August 4th. At the rate Good Sam is going we won't have our motor home until the end of summer.

Desired Settlement: I want my motor home fixed at no cost due to our extended warranty OR Hotel reservations paid for the trip we are going to miss out on due to not having our motor home.

Business Response:

In this case, the generator exhibits symptoms of "Blow By" meaning there is some sort of internal issue allowing oil to go through the exhaust. The most common cause of this is worn or stuck piston rings and unfortunately the contract specifically excludes coverage for the condition. This is typical of a generator with excessive hours and or simply worn out. The dealer has requested to just replace the generator, however for the contract to assist, the dealer needs authorization from the contract holder to disassemble the Generator engine so that actual cause of failure can be seen. We have spoke with Mr & Mrs Skidmore today and advised them that if this is this case the contract may not be able to assist.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We looked up numerous reviews before signing up with Good Sam Extended Warranty. Therefore we were surprised when we had a problem with our turbo diesel. When we signed up for the policy at no time did the salesman tell us there was exclusions due to ANY modifications. If he had of said that, we would not have signed up because there were several added modifications like the Edge chip. When the adjuster came out to look to see if Good Sam would approve the repair he asked lots of questions even to the point of bigger tires than was manufactured. We wonder if he was looking for some reason to deny the claim. We are honest people that asked for fairness. Aprrarently we purchased a policy that was worthless from the beginning. Because of the lack of communication, we felt deceived. We asked for the the matter to go before the review board and they denied us once again. We are extremely disappointed with Good Sam Extended Service Plan and wanted to warn to warn others to understand before signing up. We asked for the policy to be cancelled since they wouldn't cover anyway and they then charged a $50.00 service fee. (BEWARE)

Desired Settlement: Since they were deceptive with a lack of communication from the saleman, they just wanted THE SALE. I would like a refund of the entire policy # B06*******11

Business Response:

The customer's claim was denied due to to rust indicating a pre-existing condition as well as modifications that may have had an adverse impact on component life.   Customer cancelled the policy in June and we issued a pro-rated refund as per our policy.  Since any future drive train claims would be jeopardized due to the modifications, we have decided to issue an additional $522.61 for refund of premiums.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9613682, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 1, 2013 I purchased a extended service contact for my newly purchased RV. The application was completed that I listed the year, 1998, and the VIN that specifies the year of the RV. The application was accepted by the company and I made the first three payments. On June 5, 2013 my transmission need repair, and when the repair facility called to get approval for the repair they told the. That my RV did not qualify because it was a 1994 not a 1998. When I purchased it from a private buyer they told me 1998. I did not intentionally misrepresent the information because I did give the VIN which said it was a 1994. The contact says the only way it can be cancelled is by non payment of the premium or intentional misrepresentation of the facts. They were not. My expected resolution is for them to cover the repair. If I was not eligible it should have been indicated at the application stage. Not checking the VIN is their problem not mine.Policy # garmh.07092791.01.01

Desired Settlement: Cover the repair and reinstate the contract.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, the customer is not eligible for coverage since the age of the unit is 1994. 

 We are dependent on the customer to provide the correct model year.   Normally the year is on the registration as well as comp and collision insurance.  

If 1994 was entered, it would not have let the customer continue, which is why a 1998 model year may have been used.

 We have issued a full refund of premiums paid, which is the only thing we can reasonably do.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NameOfTheCompany: Good Sam Club CompanyAddress: PO Box 6888 BusinessCity: Englewood BusinessZip: Colorado BusinessZip: 80155-6888 BusinessPhone: ###-###-#### Website: http://www.goodsamclub.com NameOfSalesPersonOrPrincipleOfBusiness: unknonw YourComplaint: It's all bullshit! They send mailing after mailing trying to sell products for RVs, insurance, catalogs (we have a small camper that is IRRELEVANT to products offered). In 2012 I asked SIX times in writing by USPS and twice by email to be permanently removed from mailing/membership list. They ignored all requests and continued to send junk mail. Three days ago, I finally received a cancellation notice. Delighted until yesterday, when I received a "you have received a complimentary membership" letter. They will not listen to or honor my request to be taken off all of their mailing/membership lists. I hope you can get their attention. DiscussedTheComplaint: 1 PersonSpokenTo: 6 letters and 2 emails to Good Sam WhenSpokenTo: 2012, multiple times ProductOrService: camping/rv services DatePurchased: 04/2012 WasTheProductOrServiceAdvertised: No WhereAdvertised: Camping World, Albuq. NM RepresentationsMade: This free one-year membership will help you enjoy camping and let you have services helpful to you. WhenRepresented: April 2012 AmountInDispute: 0

Desired Settlement: To permanently remove me from their mailing/membership list and to NOT give/sell/or otherwise convey my name and address to any other vendor, company, person or other entity.

Business Response:

Because the customer purchased an RV from Camping World in 2012 they were set up as complimentary Elite member.  We have contacted the customer and let them know it will be cancelled. Note that it could take 4-6 weeks for all mail to stop.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 2, 2011. I called to have my '89 Lincoln Town car Signature towed to Reese Auto Service, **** **** ******, Lubbock, TX. Good Sam Affinity Road Service refused to pay the just bill of $75.00. See attached correspondence. On June 4, 2012, I called to have my beautiful '76 Cadillac towed to Reese Auto Service, **** **** ******, Lubbock, TX. Good Sam Affinity Road Service refused to pay the just bill of $48.00. See attached correspondence. On June 4, 2012, I talked with a lady named Diana and requested a flat bed to the above address. She said Juan Cantu Towing would have a hauler here at my home no later than 45 minutes. He was here in 15 to 20 minutes and did a very good job of loading, hauling and unloading the Cadillac to the garage and charged the garage $48.00. See attached bill.

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/12/2013 I received an advertisement from Good Sam's Club offering a Free Night of Camping for signing up for a one year membership @ $25.00.I called their customer service department to make sure I was eligible because I was already a member, and it didn't specify for new members only.Customer Service said I would be eligble, so I signed up over the phone with my credit card. I never received a voucher for a Free Night of Camping. I called again their Customer Service Dept on 4/4/13 and was told I should have also received a packet as well and she would mail out the packet and voucher and it should take 4 weeks. I called the end of April because I still didn't receive anything and was told it was in the mail.I then called on 5/08/13 and spoke with Dominick in Customer Service. He said it should take four weeks to receive and I reminded him it was past four weeks and actually it's been over 7 and 1/2 months from when I joined. I then asked him for a full refund of my membership since their obligation has not been met or if he could e-mail or fax the voucher. He put me on hold and came back and told me that his supervisor, Brian Obendorf said he was going to write me a check for the full refund amount and mail it the same day. To date I have not received anything and I found it bizarre that my charge card just wouldn't have been credited back. I feel I was very mislead with their advertisement and their Customer Service Department. I fufilled my obligation of paying for a full year's membership and I am expecting them to fulfill theirs by honoring what they are advertising or giving me my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a full refund or the Free night of Camping voucher as promised in their advertisment.

Business Response: Customer was not happy with customer service she received and how issues were handled.  Likes Good Sam Club and wanted membership, but cancelled
due to customer service.   Good Sam will refund the member, provide a free year of membership, and send a free night of camping cert.   Customer was satisfied with the
resolution.

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9539665, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The policy expressely call out coverage on the microwave and leveling jacks. They have refused to honor the replacement when these components have failed. Althouth the jacks have worn out and leaking seals, they say this is not a mechanical failure. The Microwave cannot be turned on but this is not a mechanical failure so they will not cover the warrenty. The fact is neither component work and they will not stand behind the warrenty.Copy if insurance policy available if necessary.

Desired Settlement: Replacement Replace the component as warrented or refund all of my insurance premium for the past 3 years. I want good Sams club to sease offering this policy as others RV'er are being scammed every day.

Business Response:

After a thorough review of the claim submitted it has been determined that the additional amount requested has been denied.  Unfortunately we are limited in our liability towards the cost of the repairs as the failures reported are not covered under the policy terms and conditions. Per the claim information the shop reported the failures to the jacks were due to the cylinder being pitted causing the seals to leak.  The shop also reported no failure to be found on the microwave except for a broken plastic panel.  All this information is stated on the Lazydays invoices attached.  Our claims office took the cause of failures reported from the shop and referred to the terms and conditions to determine coverage. After reviewing the failures reported, pitting is caused by rust, corrosion, and/or physical damage which are excluded under the policy terms. No mechanical failure was reported on the microwave, the shop stated it was operating as designed except for the broken panel which is also physical damage and excluded from coverage. The policy’s Terms and Conditions are very specific regarding repairs that are eligible for coverage. It is stated in the policy under GENERAL EXCLUSIONS”:

 

MECHANICAL BREAKDOWN COVERAGE

We will provide payment to Your Repair Facility or reimburse You for reasonable costs of labor and materials (approved and receipted) to repair or replace any of the covered parts under this Coverage if required due to Mechanical Breakdown. A "Mechanical Breakdown or Breakdown" is defined as failure of a defective covered part or faulty workmanship of a covered part as originally supplied by the manufacturer and under normal service. A covered part has failed when it can no longer perform the function for which it was designed solely because of its condition and not because of the action or inaction of any non-covered parts. Replacement will be made with like kind and quality to include rebuilt or remanufactured parts. Parts may be upgraded to “new” at owner’s expense.

 

• Any loss caused by negligence, misuse, abuse, impact or collision damage or from any other cause whatsoever, except as provided under this Coverage.

 

• Any damage or failure resulting from rust, corrosion or freezing.

Business Response:

It is the position of the Administrators of Good Sam Extended Service Plan that there has been absolutely no attempt to deceive the customer or to deny responsibility for said claim.  We have found no evidence that their was any room for interpretation of coverage as provided in the terms & conditions.  We have provided detailed explanation by letter and by personal phone conversations with the customer as to why these items are not covered.  We pay millions of dollars on behalf of our customers every year in repair claims for legitimate claims.   We stand by our position.  

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9511528, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,






















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/13/2012 Delivery Issues
3/12/2012 Delivery Issues
2/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/23/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/15/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/10/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues