Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Roto-Rooter of Ventura County

Additional Locations

Phone: (805) 642-1980 Fax: (805) 642-0720 View Additional Phone Numbers 3989 Market St., Ventura, CA 93003 http://rotorooterplumberventura.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers 24/7 complete drain cleaning and plumbing of residential, commercial and industrial properties. (Trenchless pipe replacement, hydrojetting and video sewer line inspection.)


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter of Ventura County meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roto-Rooter of Ventura County include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter of Ventura County
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1935 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1935 Business incorporated 09/26/1985 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
Fax Number: (805) 983-3921
The number is 630460.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Heard, Vice President/General Manger
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Heard, Vice President/General Manger
Business Category

PLUMBERS

Products & Services

Roto-Rooter of Ventura County offers the following product(s): drain cleaning, emergency plumber, faucet repair, septic repair , sewer line repair, toilet repair, water heater repair

Alternate Business Names
Gold Coast Rooters Roto-Rooter Plumbers

Additional Locations

  • 3989 Market St.

    Ventura, CA 93003 (805) 642-1980

  • 3989 Market Street

    Ventura, CA 93003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the number listed on the website for Roto Rooter in Camarillo, CA. At 5:06 pm I contacted the Camarillo Roto Rotter at ###-###-####. I asked how much it would cost to have a technician to come out today (a Sunday) and look at our problem. The dispatcher said it would not cost anything. The dispatcher took my name, phone number and address and said that he would call back when he had a technician.At 5:26 pm the dispatcher called back and said that the technician Art was available and would be there in 30 minutes or less. Art showed up within the thirty minutes looked around the room with the problem and the closets in the area. He offered to remove a small cut in the drywall to further diagnose the problem. After looking inside the wall, Art was able to diagnose the problem. He said we needed to replace the shower pan in the shower in the adjoining room, however this was not a service Roto Rooter could provide. Art then said we owed him $125.00. I was shocked because the dispatcher had told me $0, and at no point did Art state that it would be extra to look inside the walls. Like an auto mechanic, I would assume before performing services that were beyond a basic service call, the technician should have informed us that there would be an extra charge! When I protested that we were told that the visit would be free, Art stated that they often have problems with the dispatcher telling customers that, however he is paid on commission and he was actually cutting us a deal as the charge is normally $150.00. So we paid the fee.I sincerely feel that it is inappropriate for the dispatcher to bait me into requesting a technician to be sent out to review our problem, only to have the technician charge us nearly the same fee that we would have paid had we used the services of a more honest vendor.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $125.00.

Business Response: In regards to the complaint filed by ******** ****** we truly believe she did so in haste. We record all of our telephone calls for quality assurance and training. Our dispatcher did in fact tell Mrs. ****** that we would come out and there would be no charge. When our servicetech arrived at her house she was told it appeared there was a leak somewhere in the wall or maybe under her shower pan. It was explained that we would need to open the wall to further inspect and that there would be a charge if she wanted us to continue. At that point there was no charge to her. She said she did not care how much it cost as her landlord was paying for everything. Our servicetech spent 1 ½ hours at her house, cutting a small opening in the wall and diagnosing the water leak. After this work was done Mrs. ****** said she felt she shouldn’t have to pay anything as she was told on the phone we would come out for no charge. We did in fact go out at no charge, investigate her problem and advised her we would need to charge her to continue to diagnose the leak. The following morning (today) Mrs. ****** called our office saying now her toilet and a different shower was plugged up. She asked if there would be a charge to come out and look at it. She was told there would not be a charge to come and check the problem. She was also told if there was going to be any charge she would be advised once we had the chance to come to her home and check the situation. She was also told we would have a servicetech at her house within 1 ½ to 2 hours. Our servicetech arrived at her home within this time frame but Mrs. ****** refused to let our servicetech check anything. Our Operations Manager called Mrs. ****** and asked if there was a problem, she said no but she had called another company and didn’t feel right about having two companies show up. At no time during the original calls did Mrs. ****** say she was going to call another company. She was also told that if any further work was needed the money she had paid (about 12 hours prior) would be credited toward that work. She still refused to have our servicetech check her toilet and shower. Our Operations Manager, in speaking with her on the phone could see she was upset and told her we would be sending her check back as he felt we had failed to meet her expectations. Later we received an email from BBB notifying us that she had filed a complaint. We feel we did everything possible to help Mrs. ******, including giving her back her money. We do not feel we did anything wrong but it is our policy to refund a customer’s money if they are not fully satisfied with our service. This should be apparent as we have maintained an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau for many years. We truly feel Mrs. ****** acted hastily and did not give us any opportunity to address any issues that she may have had. Sincerely John Heard General Manager Roto-Rooter Plumbers of Ventura County