Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mr. Rooter Plumbing?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete plumbing services (including septic systems) for residential, commercial, industrial, and institutional customers. They also offer drain cleaning, underground replacement specialists and diagnostic inspections.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Rooter Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Rooter Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mr. Rooter Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 02, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 06/03/2011 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
Fax Number: (805) 983-3921
The number is 968680.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Kiefer, Service Manager Mr. Patrick Patel, President & CEO Mr. Patrick Patel, President & CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Larry Kiefer, Service Manager
Business Category

PLUMBERS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS CONTRACTORS & DEALERS SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS CLEANING

Alternate Business Names
Mr Rooter Mr. Rooter Pacific Coast Plumbing Pacific Coast Plumbing dba Mr Rooter Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr. Rooter Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4478 Market Street, Unit 701

    Ventura, CA 93003

  • 5892 Valentine Road

    Ventura, CA 93003

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 773-9371(Phone)
  • (800) 773-9371(Phone)
  • (800) 773-9371(Phone)
  • (805) 275-0034(Phone)
  • (805) 275-0039(Phone)
  • (805) 275-0059(Phone)
  • (805) 331-6257(Phone)
  • (805) 650-6650(Phone)
  • (805) 766-2208(Phone)
  • (805) 797-1668(Phone)
  • (805) 963-5425(Phone)
  • (805) 963-8087(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Mr. Rooter co. gave me a bill for $751.00 which I paid with an credit card. The credit card statement shows that the company charged $800.00 to my account. There was an $49.00 overcharge for no reason. I would like the Rooter company to refund that amount.

Desired Settlement: Refund $49.00. I have waited 4 months for their mistake to be corrected.

Business Response:

Good evening,

I will be investigating Mr. ******n concerns and will be in touch with him no later than Wednesday evening. Sorry for any inconvenience

Thanks,

***** ******

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

 

 

 

Business Response: I will follow up and see if that has been taken care of. If not, I will have it sent out by Monday!!

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 10293194

I am rejecting this response because:

I am still waiting for the refund of $49.00 that you overcharged my credit card. You said at the first time you would sent it. 

Regards,

****** *******





























9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Rooter Plumbing Company came out to repair a leak under sink in bathroom. Arnulfo showed up around 12:30 on Tuesday July 1st, 2014. While repairing the leak he said there was a problem with the toilet as well (although no water came from toilet area, only under sink) the job lasted from 1230 after 4pm because of not having the right parts to complete the job. Arnulfo left to main office, returned with part and shortly after his supervisor showed up – Arturo, saying there was a problem with the plumbing, Arnulfo had detected this, but did not say anything to me. Arturo & Arnulfo set up the scoping machine to show me the pipes under the house. This house was built in 1964 – 1965 my parents own it. The piping used then is different. What I saw was very little piping left and lots of rocks. Arturo (fast “sales” talker) said that there was problem, needed to replace concrete & dry walls etc.) to the sum of $21,750.00. Deposit of $1,000 given over no charge for the repair in bathroom done on July 1st (nothing written up about it). Work was to begin the Monday of July 14th, 2014 but had an uneasy feeling about what was going on, so I postponed the start of the work while I contacted 3 other random plumbing companies. All 3 companies could not figure out why the need to scope in the first place (only reason to do that if they really detect a problem 2.) All 3 found the pipes (even though old house built in 1964 – 65) were in working order 3.) No sewage back up in the house or huge “plunging” problems with 3 toilets in house.3.) All 3 companies suggested (recommended) but not mandatory or necessary at this time to “hydro flush” the pipes (kitchen area). I find interesting that the other companies found nothing as Mr. Rooter did. Upon calling to postpone (dispatch) the work, the tech showed up still expecting to start the project. I then called Mr. Rooter firmly cancel the work because I believe they were going to take advantage of the elderly. My parents own the home & are 86 & 88 years old. There is no invoice on the initial work repair they came out to do (shame on me for not getting that) only invoice stating of the work that would be done & the minor work no need to pay yet. So there is no breakdown of the cost of fixing the bathroom sink & toilet piece. I find it hard to believe that it would cost $400.

Desired Settlement: Should refund the remaining $400.

Business Response:

Hi ******,

I will be looking into this further and will be returning your call no later than Wednesday. Let me know if you have any questions

Thanks,

***** ******

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 9th 2013, I called the gas co, because I smelled gas in the front yard. A representative came and shut off the gas. I called Mr. Rooter Plumbing for an appointment. Dean, the technician came on October 10th 2013 to the house. The estimate was with the senior discount $13,310.30. While the front yard was dug up with a big trench, I replaced a water pipe. The estimate for the water pipe was $1,487.80 total 14,797.80. I paid 10% at the beginning of the job $1.331.00 Half thru the job, I paid $5.000.00 At the end of the job the balance $6,979.30 13,310.30 Plus to replace of the water pipe +1,487.50 Amount paid in full 14,797.80

Desired Settlement: I believe I was overcharged because seniors and people take (advantage). The amount should be not more then 7,000.00.

Business Response: We are gathering up all the information and will be getting back with you. I will send all the documentation in the next few days.

Business Response: We have got in contact with customer and had made an appointment for 10am on 12/31/2013. After the observation of the job performed, we will notify the customer and resolve this issue.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Rooter was not adequately prepared to deal with a simple drain stoppage. They did not use a strong enough snake and they were encouraging us to do major pipe work in the house which was not necessary. They snaked, pressure washed, ran a camera down the drain line and took out part of one of our walls to remove a section of the drain line spraying the interior of the storage closet with some of the backed up liquid from the pipe in the process. They failed to clear the drain and the work they were suggesting (an additional $2500 on top of the $2478 they charged us) was self-serving to them, not us. The drain was never cleared (after 16 hours of work) and we finally told them to cease work, cap the drain pipe, tally up their bill and leave. We also told them we would be hiring another plumber.We then hired another plumber who completed the work in 25 minutes and charged us $125. We have had no drainage problems since.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of our monies paid.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9677605, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. We have received a refund from the company and are, at this point, satisfied with the resolution.

Regards, 

******* *** ** ********




















6/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I built my last two homes...from grading raw land through to key in the front door. I recently purchased a 1959 Ranch home after selling my other homes. I had a clogged toilet and sewage backing up into a bath tub. My plumber was out of town, I called Mr. Rooter Plumbing. After looking through a few roof vents I was informed I had a main line blockage and they were unable to clear it do to the corrosion and poor shape of the line. They informed me the ONLY way to fix the problem was to cut through the slab in the house and replace the line or cap the old line and reroute the clogged bathroom plumbing to a new drain already in use. The bid.....$8300.00!!I called a referral recommended by my plumber. He came out, cleared the line, explained about the soft main line blockage and charged.....$170.00

Desired Settlement: I have been calling for 3 days to speak with a manager at Mr.Rooter. No return call yet. I would like a formal apology for the lack of integrity and ethics used by Mr. Rooter Plumbing. A letter written to me as well as a public apology in the local newspaper, to show that Mr. Rooter actually is concerned with customer service, public opinion and professionalism would be the right thing to do. They should pay the $170.00, as I had to wait a few days with 2" of raw sewage in my tub after their bid

Business Response:

We have returned the customer phone call and explained of the different option that were provided. I apologized if my Technician did not explain it correctly. I told hime I would sit down and talk to my Technician. We did not charge for anything.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9550445

I am rejecting this response because: The response from the business owner is un acceptable. I was completely clear about their intentions and suggested way to solve my plumbing issue. Not only were their suggestions and outrageous bid ( $8300.00) incorrect for the situation, I still have not received a call from them with an apology for their deception, lack of integrity and unethical business practices.

Due to their untruths, I ended up with 3" of raw sewage in my bathroom for 3 days after their bid. My plumber (who was originally unavailable), came over and fixed the problem for $170.00.

The response from them is not fitting as it wasn't the issue in the first place. Lack of ethics and integrity are the problem here!!

Regards





























6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The water heater pilot light went out when Sears came to replace the dryer. Mr. Rooter came to light it and it has worked fine since. However, my grand son who called in to Mr. Rooter, forgot to say 1) the invoice should be in my name and that I (we) had the Advantage Plan to obtain at least 30% off. I pay $99 for a year membership to try it out. Naturally, I called ###-###-#### once a week and spoke with an Ashley each time. I n addition, I faxed my request several times (I kept the transmission confirmations). Mr/ Rooter is not living up to its contract and shines away in returning my call. I no longer want to use them. I do not trust them.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I do not trust this company that has been giving me the run around. They have falsely advertise their services.

Business Response: I had responded to this complaint via email to one of the BBB agents because you website would not allow me to respond. I am still talking with them and coming to a resolution. Teresa is going to retract her complaint onnce its resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9511478, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I am hoping the vendor follow through this time. I will remove the complaint once the vendor will hold his part of the bargain. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Regards,




















2/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues