Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carroll Plumbing & Maintenance

Phone: (805) 687-2677 2825 De La Vina, Santa Barbara, CA 93105 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.carrollplumbingsantabarbara.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company's business is full service plumbing and maintence company specializing in new construction, remodels re pipes, drain cleaning, etc.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carroll Plumbing & Maintenance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carroll Plumbing & Maintenance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Carroll Plumbing & Maintenance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 1975 Business started: 12/17/1974 in CA Business started locally: 12/17/1974 Business incorporated 11/02/1976 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
Fax Number: (805) 983-3921
The number is 335667.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick C. Carroll, Owner Customer Support
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Patrick C. Carroll, Owner
Business Category

PLUMBERS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carroll Plumbing & Maintenance has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2825 De La Vina

    Santa Barbara, CA 93105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, February 22, 2014, my mother had a clog in her sewer line from using flushable wipes. I called ******* Plumbing and asked them to clear the line. Over the last 25 years, I have called a number of plumbers to remove blockages in sewer lines. Usually their bills range between $100 to $150. I was shocked when I received a bill from ******** for $348.04 for the same job.******** is charging me for 2.5 hours of their plumbers time. I do not remember him being there anywhere near that long. The clog was caused by paper, not grease, hair or roots. Any competent plumber should have been able to clear paper blockage in no time. Over the years, I have paid many plumbers to clear blockages in sewer lines. Even with roots, at no time did any of their bills come anywhere near $348.04. I called Carrolls on March 28, 2014 to discuss the bill. I was hoping they would review it and would offer me a more reasonable price. Instead, told me that was their rate and I would have to pay it. While I do not mind paying a premium because I am in a pinch, I do not appreciate being ripped off.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a bill that reflects a price that is more representative of the amount of work actually done and a price that is more in line with the industry standard for clearing a paper clog from a sewer line.

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is for excessive billing. I had a leaking valve under my bathroom sink. I called Carrolls and told them of my problem, noting it was leaking from an angle stop valve. They arrived on time and with the part. After taking the old valve off, he told me, I am not used to working with PEX,plastic piping that is in most new homes. The first plumber then called another plumber who works on PEX more often. He came and fixed the problem. Much to my suprise, when the bill arrived, I was charged for one plumber for 1 hour and another plumber for 1/2 hour. I am not complaining about the service only I shouldn't have to pay for the other plumber. One hour to repair a leaky valve is fine, but when I called to complain about the extra 1/2 hour, I was basically told two plumbers 1.5 hours sorry pay the bill. The man at the office told me he only had one guy that works on PEX and I should have told them we had PEX when I called for service. How did I know this, I did not build the home.

Desired Settlement: Remove from my bill the extra half hour that was billed $43.00Total bill should be $135.37 minus $43.00 for a total of $92.37