BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo Counties
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Skinny Wimp Moving Co.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Skinny Wimp Moving Co. is a full service licensed moving company serving residential and commercial customers in Ventura and Los Angeles counties. Employess are uniformed and professionally trained. In addition to complete moving services, they also offer packing and unpacking before and after moves. They can also move large items like pianos.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Skinny Wimp Moving Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skinny Wimp Moving Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Skinny Wimp Moving Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 20, 2012 Business started: 12/26/2000 Business started locally: 12/26/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission
320 West 4th Street, Suite 500, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (213) 576-7000
Fax Number: (213) 576-7007
The number is 190997.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lance Clauson, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Lance Clauson, Owner
Business Category

MOVERS

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/8/2014 I used Skinny Wimp movers. When I contracted with them, I was told that damages were covered for the contents of BOXES for $0.60 per pound. I packed the boxes myself and was careful not to make them too heavy. It took them 12 hours to move a two bedroom apartment and when we got to my new address (less than 4 miles away) there was damage to furniture and a framed photograph. The based of my dining table was completely broken and unusable. The bookshelf had serious damage and the picture was not savable. I was told by Kendall that he was sorry and my items would be replaced. He also told me that he had filed the claim that same night.When I called to check on the claim, Megan told me they didn't have it on file. I then received an email today saying they are only going to insure my furniture for the $0.60 cents per pound. How can I replace my dining table for that, a bookshelf and a signed photo. I told them this was unacceptable and that I would be contacting the BBB. Please don't let them get away with being careless and then throwing pennies on the dollar to replace my items.

Desired Settlement: I can replace the shelf for $39.00.I can not find just the bottom of my glass top table so I am not sure how to put a price on it. The table is from Z Gallerie and not a cheap piece of furniture.The picture was a gift from my son. It was from a gallery in New York. It cost me $300 to frame and mat only. I can find out what he paid for it.

Business Response: As stated by the Business.


Hi, I am not familiar with this case but if a customer does not opt to purchase additional insurance all the state of California makes us pay is 60 cents per pound.  This is California law not ours.   We do about 300 moves a month and rarely have any damages at all.  60 cents is normal even if he does not like it we did not do anything wrong.
 
Thanks for you time
 
*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10199926

I am rejecting this response because:I have sent the claim form over twice without receiving any acknowledged.Yes, your company did do something wrong... they broke furniture. I would never have given the movers a $150 tip or any of the following items, had I known that the person who was in charge of the move in San Diego lied to me.

4 Z GAllerie dining chairs, 
Dresser
Dyson vacuum
pictures
They misrepresented the 60 cents per pound by telling me it was for the items in the boxes. They said it was because they hadn't packed them. Not one item in the boxes that I PACKED were damaged. Only the furniture the movers handled. 
I will take this to small claims court if need be. All I was asking for was a reasonable replacement value for my dining table, bookshelf and picture. After paying $1350 (plus tip) for a 2 bedroom move, I think it is the least Skinny Wimp would offer to do.

Regards,

**** ******





























6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted moving services and paid 100 dollars as deposit in advance by credit card (processed 3/22/14). On the day of service (3/24/14) I paid full in cash and have a receipt as proof. I have was not refunded the deposit. I have repeatedly requested the return of my deposit and supplied proof of my entitlement to the refund but have been delayed and denied. I am contacting the Better Business Bureau as a last recourse.

Desired Settlement: refund of the 100 dollar deposit