BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo Counties

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers internet search features related to the residential, real estate and multifamily housing markets.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Move.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Move.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Move.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
2201 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818-2500
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 1-877-373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 227-0863

SRAR
7232 Balboa Blvd., Van Nuys CA 91406
http://www.srar.com/
Phone Number: 818-786-2110
Fax Number: 818-786-4541

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Berkowitz, CEO Mr. Bruce Caul, Manager, Customer Service/Top Producer Mr. Jim Caulfield, General Counsel Mr. Eric Gramberg, VP Sales Move Rentals and Senior Housing Ms. Debbie Neuberger, Senior Vice President of Service Operations Mr. Errol Samuelson, Pres. of REALTOR.com Ms. Patty Wehr, SVP and Chief Account Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie Neuberger, Senior Vice President of Service Operations
Business Category

INTERNET SERVICES REAL ESTATE SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
BDX HOMESTORE.com ListHub Move New Homes Move Rentals Move, formerly Homestore, Inc. Moving.com National Association of Realtors National Organization of Realtors REALTOR.com Realtor.com SeniorHousingNet Top Producer

Additional Locations

  • 30700 Russell Ranch Road

    Westlake Village, CA 91362 (805) 557-2085

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (480) 315-6280(Phone)
  • (800) 282-4859(Phone)
  • (800) 444-8570(Phone)
  • (800) 736-8638(Phone)
  • (800) 779-3526(Phone)
  • (800) 874-6500(Phone)
  • (800) 878-4166(Phone)
  • (805) 557-2085(Phone)
  • (805) 557-2303(Phone)
  • (847) 523-0350(Phone)
  • (888) 347-2211(Phone)
  • (604) 270-2492 (Fax)
  • (805) 557-2680 (Fax)
  • (805) 557-2694 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Realtor.com selling products to realtorsEnhanced listing was the "product"It was my impression that I needed to purchase this service in order for Realtor.com to display my listings from MLS/ Austin Board of Realtors. I was under the impression it was one of the many fees I needed to pay since the ABOR decided against Zillow etc. It turns out they( Realtor.com) get the feed for free and I do not need to pay for this service. What I got the sales girl said was an "enhanced" listing so other realtors are not shown as the listing agent. I have seen NO results from this and want to discontinue the service.First off, the salespeople are hard line sales people but the minute you do not want services they turn abrupt and extremely rude. I do not want to be associated with them and I am also going to report them to the Austin Board of Realtors. Their "tactics" feel underhanded. I did not sign a 1 year contract and yet they say I cannot cancel because of my dissatisfaction with a product. They said we had a verbal contract. This practice will ultimately come back to bite them with realtors. I will not be using this company again and will let other brokers and agents know of my dissatisfaction.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my remaining time they say I will owe for thru June 2015.

Business Response:

Spoke with ********* regarding cancellation request.  Customer advised had purchased product under impression that it performed different function that designed to do.  Advised would process cancellation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10185068, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* *********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for service from Top Producer. I was not told that I was signing up for a 1 year contract. I have paid for 3 months worth of service, and have barely used the product. Top producer is aware of this, and is offering me a buyout for the contract that was never clearly explained. They have a 30 days refund policy, however I was never told that if i did not cancel within the first 30 days, I would have to use the service for a full year, or pay money for a service I did not receive, in order to be let out of my term contract. I received no value in exchange for the service term, and have not used the product enough to justify paying them for what I have already paid for. This is a scam, They need to be upfront with their customers, this is a robust software system that is not very user friendly or intuitive, when a customer clearly does not use it because it is overwhelming, although they are paying for it, they should allow you to discontinue service in good faith. I feel taken advantage of and no once at top Producer is offering me anything but to pay them more money just to get out of the contract that they put in fine print and did not explain to me properly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the remainder of the back door term contract waived. Based on my usage history, it is more than clear that had I know I was signed up for a 1 year contract I would have cancelled within the first 30 days, rather than continue to try to learn a program that was not providing me any value, the money I have spent already was a waste, however the money they are trying to force me to continue to pay should be illegal. Please help them to do the right thing for customers.

Business Response:

Spoke to customer and agreed to cancel product, did agree to keep 3 month credit on file to be applied towards any future purchases of TP services.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed up for their Real Estate Lead program for a 6 month contract and was promised between 12-24 leads. Well after the 6 months I was getting emails that stated that I would be automatically renewed unless I called them to cancel even though I was promised that they would never automatically renew after the 6 month period. Anyway I had read complaints about dozens of similar problems with this company & kept on calling & leaving messages to my account rep to call back. He never called me back once & I spoke to the sales department stating that I did not want this renewed. They assured me that it was canceled & that i would not be billed. Then a week later I received an email thanking me for the business & that I was going to renewed. I called again & they apologized & promised me that I would be taken off for auto renewal. Well guess what? Another email thanking me again for the business & stating that I would be automatically renewed. The bottom line is I called about 10 times & each time they promised me that they would fix the problem. Finally after thinking that i finally fixed the problem guess what? I WAS BILLED. THIS COMPANY'S BUSINESS PRACTICES ARE NOTHING BUT SCAMS & SHOULD HAVE A "F" RATING ON B&B. If you read the # of complaints it is a miracle that they are rated "A +". I will never ever do business with this company again & hope that other Real Estate Agents read this complaint before giving them a dime!

Desired Settlement: I request an immediate refund on my credit card.

Business Response:

Spoke to ***** and reviewed experiences with renewal and service received; assured would look into.  Cancel and full credit of renewed agreement was processed on 05/08, prior to BBB posting; Scott will check to ensure credit was received.  Scott had no further concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been having trouble with Realtor.com salespeople for some time. My first sales person was M****** *******r and then I switched over to Maria Jacutin. Both promised the world, solid leads, and refunds for leads that were either duplicates or undesired. After I signed up for the marketing accounts which was around $700 a month I didn't hear back from them, they didn't respond to e-mails, all of which I have months and months of e-mail documentation.The first issue I had was when duplicate leads starting coming in and properties priced under $10,000. It took me a month to finally speak to management who took care of the issue. At this point the manager informed me I will me issued a new salesperson (which she never did).December 10th, I called in and spoke to David. I wasn't receiving results from the CMA program (5 zip codes) and he was going to terminate it with a prorated refund. I didn't hear back from Realtor.com until today Wednesday January 15th 2014 (a month later). The salesperson didn't mention the CMA program, but tried to sell me on another zip code account. When I brought up the CMA account, she hesitated then informed me D**** "actually told me" Realtor.com would switch the CMA account to a CO-broke account. Which is untrue. At that point I asked to speak to David about my account or have him call me back, which she refused. Then I asked to speak to management, which she refused and replied that they have already reviewed my account and made a decision.I'm very disappointed with the customer service and product quality which I paid for at Realtor.com. This is the company that is supposed to represent Realtors and give us a good name, but I have not seen that. There's much potential for our team to use Realtor.com services in the future, but at this point I don't trust the salespeople. If I had a dedicated salesperson that was professional, I would look into their services in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would like my CMA, Co-Broke, and banner advertisements terminated immediately, with a prorated refund for any marketing costs that were paid in full upfront.

Business Response:

Spoke with *** and reviewed account and agreements.  Processed cancellation of FCMA per customer’s original request, with 2 months credit.  Remainder of agreements will stay in effect through to expiration date of agreements.  Also emailed Joe confirming cancellation and credit, and provided details on remaining agreements.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9878372

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *******






I never received an e-mail detailing our terms going forward,






















Business Response:

Spoke to *** and agreed to cancel products due to customer dissatisfaction.  *** requested to keep Market Snapshot, but wanted FAC and CBC cancelled.  Did process cancellation and issued 2 month credit for FAC per customer request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over a phone I had ordered one zip code - 01803 - for advertizing on 11/23/2013 - and second was to be confirmed (could have been 01887,01864,01801). The rep sends me the sign up for two zip codes without informing me about the second one at all.I did receive an email to confirm the advertizing on 12/10 - which still did not start until 12/17/2013 - as per the email I received from them. So I should not have been charged whatsoever on 12/4/2013 and 12/6/2013. However, they did. Also, they charged my credit card again on 12/31/2013 and 1/7/2014.As I saw 3 charges on my credit card on 12/31, I sent an email on 12/31/2013 to check why double charge on my account - no answer for few days. Another reminder on 1/11/2014 with mention of BBB and I got the response immediately.Finally, with an excuse of sick family member, rep gets back to me saying that 'I said so'! I requested the refund - they issued me the credit for only half a month whereas I was already charged for two months!As of today, the charges on my credit card are for 2 months for two zip codes so far - $166.67, total of 4 times whereas it should have been only for one campaign.If the rep got back to me in timely manner, the second campaign still could have been stopped by 12/31/2013 - less than 14 days in running of the campaign - however, he decided not to respond to my voice message and email.Today, I have asked them to stop ALL ads in this section - and because of the terrible experience I had with the customer service as well as mismanaging my advertising, I expect a full refund on all of them - $583.35! (And I hope they don't charge my account anymore!)

Desired Settlement: As mentioned, not too happy about the way MOVE has handled this and expect a full refund of this!

Business Response:

Spoke to ******, who advised wants full credit of $333.34.  Confirmed credit of $83.33 already issued and remaining credit in amount of $250.01 is being processed.  Customer verified that this resolves his concern.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have attempted on multiple occasions (Nov 15, Nov 17, Nov 20, Nov 22, Nov 25 and Nov 27) to cancel this subscription. On each occasion, I followed each email up with phone call(s) to Realtor.com. In each case, I was told by a customer support person I would receive an email or phone call back giving me a status report or update by the COB of that day. In each situation, each Representative apologized profusely and assured me my issue would be resolved in a timely and expedient manner. The first three contacts, were never replied to. The last 3 contacts attempts I was told my issue would be "escalated" by a person at Move.com. No response or corrective attempt was made by the staff at Move.com. Talk is cheap..As mentioned before, my reason for canceling are: 1. The cost of the service is not comparable and of a greater value than other forms of advertising and marketing. 2. Our company is still currently opposed to 3rd party aggregators such as Realtor.com to receiving feeds from any broker. 3. The major reason was the technical support is very lacking. Lots of generalization, but no specifics supplied via the Support forums, phone or chat services. In true form, the handling of this issue echos the same style of technical support I have received from the staff at Move.com. When I initially contacted Move.com, I was told many things that were not true. I wasted many hours trying to work out solutions to manufactured problems. Our agreement was a month to month subscription on a trial basis.

Desired Settlement: I insist immediate termination and cancellation of our subscription agreement to Move.com. I also request a refund the Nov 20, 2013, fee of $52.85. They will also terminate any IDX, RETS or data download of our listings. All permissions to use our name, business or any related information is also revoked.

Business Response:

Spoke to *** and offered to assist setting up account as desired.  *** advises just wants to cancel with credit; did process cancellation with credit and emailed *** to confirm.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9822601, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards, 

*** ********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a few services through realtor.com in March of this year during a real estate convention. I called in April, July and several times between that time and the current date expressing my dissatisfaction over their product and the results and quality of leads, all are substandard compared to other website subscription services I use on a regular basis and for far less cost. I was told by a manager on the phone around the July time frame that he would stop the monthly charge of $228.47 and $378.47. I did agree to keep a $90.00 charge for a banner ad of some sort. Month after month these charges are appearing on my credit card; they have phone reps from their company call me at least twice a month trying to sell me something and each time I mention that I DO NOT want any of their services, each time I mention that they should have record of my subscription(s) being cancelled and each time the reps confirm that they are showing the account cancelled...yet I keep getting billed. I am not sure what else to do. I called on 10/14 and spoke to a few people, "Shawn" my account rep; ***** who escalated to a manager whom I did not speak with and was told they won't cancel my contract early...If they are insisting on keeping this active, they are doing themselves a huge disservice. I had expressed my dissatisfaction time and time again and was told my subscription would be cancelled. I will dispute these charges with my credit card company each month because, in my opinion, they are stealing from me and are not delivering a quality product and their astronomical fees are unheard of. Also, if they are not going to end this early and/or even reimburse me back to April or July I would like to see notes from their recorded conversations with me. I was lied to and I cannot believe a company can run their business in this manner. If they are not going to comply, I also want to see a copy of my contract.

Desired Settlement: At the very least I just want to stop being billed for something that is completely worthless. I was told this would be cancelled and they need to adhere to their promises. I have expressed my dis-satisfaction since April,because of that, I believe a good, customer-service orientated company would refund the money they have taken from me since then.

Business Response:

Spoke with ****** and advised FH cancelled on 10/16/13.  Confirmed that ****** will be keeping Companion ad billed at $90/month and emailed advising of agreement expiration date.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9763835, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for advertising with Realtor.com on two consecutive 6 months. I the first 6 months, I did not get any new business and was finished with this type of advertising, however the Sales person, M***, convinced me that it get better and I signed up for a second 6 months. After 4 months, I still had not gotten any new business, so I contacted them to see if I could be released from my last two months. I also had my Credit Card Company on the telephone line with their Customer Service, so I would have complete verification of the conversation. After many Customer service persons we were switched to, finally we were given a person in Customer service that said he was the only person that could handle that. He agreed to release me from the two types of ads I had with them, one $100.00 per month, the other $28.42 per month. After we hung up from Realtor.com Customer Service, I asked my credit company to block their automatic billing just in case they tried to bill me again for the remaining two months, which is exactly what they did the next month. My credit card company and I called again the next month and after long conversations with R.com customer service reps, they agreed that I would not be billing again. Now they say I still must pay the remaining (2) $28.42 payments. I do not want their advertising. How clearly do we have to make it to them. Now, they are harrassing me on the telephone. To be such a major intenet business, I am appalled at this time of customer service. I am asking for your assistance in resolving this matter. I always pay my debt, but I do not feel I should have to pay this when one of their Customer Service people (who said he was the only one that could release me) said I did not have to pay.

Desired Settlement: I would a report to be filed against them and for them to stop harressing me over something that should have been resolved. My credit card company has this documented.

Business Response: Spoke with E***** who advised that this product was not working for her.  Advised would process cancellation and sent email confirming this.  Customer had no other questions or concerns.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9731812, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** *****, *******'s fiance and it was I who was told by Steve Taylor at http://expressemaillists.com in an agreement over the phone on Wednesday evening, Aug. 28, 2013 that on Tuesday Sept. 03, 2013 specifically at 8:40 - 8:45 AM (Pre-Open Stock Market Hours), they would send out 700,000 emails to a highly targeted list of penny stock traders at the above stated time for delivery, which was 40 - 45 minutes before the stock market opened (9:30 AM EST) on Sept. 3rd 2013. The emails were not sent and certainly not at this critical time agreed upon. Steve and also a female who worked there assured me that the emails would be pre-set to go out automatically at the agreed upon time and there would not be any problems. Up until 9:41 (I have all email correspondences with them), they were not answering their phones or responding to any of my emails. At 9:41 AM Steve replied by email that all of the emails had been sent. There is No proof what-so-ever of this and since then, they have tried to manufacture an excel spread sheet and force feed it to me as if that would be acceptable.The following may be better said as a quote, "Steve, how can you guys sleep? I just called and talked to two people (******* &***) over at https://www.infousa.com/ and they confirmed to me that as you stated to me on the phone Wednesday evening - Aug. 28 (of last week) that yes, they have been in business since the early 1970's but, in fact that No you - ExpressEmailLists.com are Not a subsidiary company of them and are in No way affiliated with them and their services what-so-ever?!They also said that whatever you all call are doing is fraudulent because a legitimate campaign to reach a targeted demographic of 700,000 penny stock traders, even by email (for example if done by them) would cost between $150,000 - $170,000!!"I would like a full investigation of this company, just in case Suzanne does not get the refund, I do not want this to happen to any more American's in todays economy!

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the amount of $1,172.50

Business Response:

The companies referenced in the complaint are http://expressemaillists.com and https://www.infousa.com.

These are not part of Move, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9694033, the business has refunded my money and I am satisfied.

Regards,

******* *******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with Realtor.com with a Co-Broker agreement that provided for leads weekly. I was told on signing up that if the leads were terrible (all of them) they would credit me for the over time. I contacted my rep on numerous occasions requesting the leads be replaced since they were basically poor quality. At 50.00 a lead you would expect something better. I have an agreement with another real estate website and I am quite satisfied with their quality of leads in relation to the money I pay. My problem is that I was told numerous times that the leads would be replaced (never were) or there would be a credit to my account (never happened). I called this morning to cancel. CS rep said no problem-taken care of. BUT she needed to have someone else finalize it. So I get a call later from Arizona (my rep is in California) and told under no circumstances can they cancel the agreement. Poor performance---too bad.I again called and requested a supervisor. I had Jessica on the line. She again said it couldn't be cancelled. Which leads were bad? Now, I am spending way too much time on this as it is, and I am supposed to go through each lead, again, to do what? Get more bad leads? This is a constant cycle that will not end until I pay them for 6 months. She also told me she couldn't compare notes with my rep since he is in a different state. Really? You are kidding me right?Realtor.com is supposed to be part of the National Association of Realtors. They supposedly have high standards for their agents. I hold myself to the highest standards. Why do I have to constantly complain and cajole to just have this group do their jobs and do it ethically.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my contract effective today.

Business Response:

Spoke with ****** and reviewed customer’s concerns regarding services received.  Processed cancel of contract with credit for last payment received per customer request.  No other issues. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Realtor.com in connection with an email ad. The ad mentioned lead generation and other tools to attract Buyers. I spoke with Jennifer Stickell, an AE in Westlake Village, CA, who explained how I was going to receive 8 leads/month at the cost of $330/month, for 6 months and a total of 48 leads.After having being billed for 3 months, for a total of $990, I received exactly one lead that I actually had any communication with. The program generated a total of 8 "leads", the first 3 of which I was never notified about either by email/text (as Jennifer had said), the next 3 leads were from the exact same person, the one that I in fact exchanged texts with (despite that it led to nothing), then I received one lead that was actually from a real estate professional and then the last one, I contacted within a couple of hours of receiving an inquiry and didn't hear back, despite a second effort.When I contacted Realtor.com to cancel the program I was made to talk to 3 different individuals (including a product specialist and a manager) and no one could make a commitment to cancel the program or provide a refund, despite the fact that none of them could dispute the poor performance and results of this alleged lead generation program. Repeated emails & phone conversations led nowhere, thus I seek BBB's aid, along with my bank's, FTC and other agencies as it appears there have numerous victims revealed by a cursory internet search.To recap, Realtor.com/move.com not only puts forth false & deceptive advertising, it also fails to deliver even when given multiple chances (while it continues billing and promising future performance) and then in light of all evidence of its ineffectiveness, it refuses to cancel and refund. Realtor.com is in gross breach of its contractual obligations. Overall, I have found Realtor.com to be dishonest, unresponsive and predatory in as far as my experience with their lead generation program is concerned. Despite my bona fide efforts, they refuse to cooperate.

Desired Settlement: False advertising that doesn't deliver, while continuing with client billing as if the promised services were rendered in full and attempted efforts to keep client in the program despite strong protest about the program's inefficacy, points to one goal: Rip off the client despite the mounting evidence of inability to deliver. I was billed for 3 months, should have received 24 leads and received 1 that led to nothing. Thus, nothing short of a full refund would be fair or equitable. Thank you.

Business Response:

Spoke with Panos regarding his concerns related to number of leads received through CoBroke Connections program.  Agreed to provided 2 months credit.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by Rona Shiffman at Realtor.com about their Co-Brokerage connection program. she told me that for $247/month that I would receive approx 6 leads per month. I said I wasn't interested in a long term contract because most internet leads are no good and a waste of time and money. She assured me that their program was different and after further discussion I agreed to try their service out but again I said I did not want to be tied to a contract. She told me that I could cancel if I wasn't happy. The following day I received my first lead (no phone number)which I responded to by email immediately. As expected, the lead was a dead lead, and after several attempts to contact the lead over several days I gave up on the lead.the 2nd lead that I receive had a phone number and I made contact with the lead but they were niether a serious or qualified lead. On our 2nd call, the person admitted that being from out of state and just looking and seeing that So Cal real estate was so expensive, she decided to move to a less expensive state.The remaining leads that I received were also dead leads, with no response to emails except for one scammer. Only one other lead provided a phone number and guess what - not qualified and not serious and stopped responding.After a month with the service I contacted Rona and told her that thier solution wasn't working for my business and I reiterated that online leads are junk and that I wanted to cancel. I told her that the information on the site was incorrect, homes listed for sale were not in the MLS and that I had 4 lead contact me about a property that wasn't available. She offered to replace my leads never saying that I was locked into a contract, and convinced me to keep their system which I agreed to for another month. The next month all I received were dead leads,I tried to reach Rona but she did not call me back. I escalated the issue but so far I am being told that I was made aware of the terms and I cannot cancel

Desired Settlement: I want Realtor.com to cancel my services immediately. I am not expecting a refund for the 2 months of services they scammed me out of - live and learn.

Business Response:

Spoke with Andy who expressed dissatisfaction with services received.  Agreed to cancel remaining agreements and processed cancellation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues