BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo Counties

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

FastSpring offers E-commerce payment processing, merchandising and fulfillment solutions for software publishers and other digital products merchants.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FastSpring meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for FastSpring include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on FastSpring
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 20, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated: 01/01/2005 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Lueck, President Mr. Ken White, Chief Customer Service Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ken White, Chief Customer Service Officer
Business Category

COMPUTERS HARDWARE, SOFTWARE & SERVICES COMPUTER SOFTWARE PUBLISHERS & DEVELOPERS COMPUTERS - MULTIMEDIA CREDIT CARDS - PROTECTION SERVICE CREDIT CARDS & PLANS - EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
Bright Market, LLC Fast Spring

Additional Locations

  • 8 E Figueroa St., Ste. 240

    Santa Barbara, CA 93101

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (805) 409-9008(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a software product (iPod Copy Master) on 4/30/14 via the internet. Software purchase was processed thru fastspring.com. Immediately received my download and activation code. Activation code was invalid. I have been trying since 4/30 to get resolution to no avail. To date, I've sent 5 emails and left 2 voicemails but all I've received was an email response from a customer service rep that told me my issue needed to be forwarded to the company that produced the software. Since the order was processed thru fastspring.com, there shouldn't be any reason why they can't process the refund. Cost was $19.95

Desired Settlement: An activation coder that WORKS or a refund.

Business Response: Order refunded today.

 
FastSpring offers a next generation Java-based software reseller platform, merchandising, and fulfillment solution for software publishers which is focused on customer service, flexibility, and reasonable pricing.
View the Flash Demo at: 
http://www.fastspring.com/

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was an unauthorized purchase of a software application called Data Recovery Guru for which Fast Spring management. They were notified within 24 hours that this was a mistake purchase and a refund was requested. Since they did not respond immediately several inquiries were initially made. When they finally responded they simply respond by badgering to avoid having to refund me. There product is not on the computer and not in use.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $79.

Business Response: Refund issued today.  Please allow 2-5 days for this to show on your statement.

 
*** ***** - FastSpring
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I downloaded USB LOCKER security software on January 3, 2014 from Software Orbit, marketed through Fast Springs Software. The software was supposed to password protect a USB flash drive or external USB drive. I loaded it onto a 500 GB Toshiba external USB drive per the instructions. I have been unable to access the drive and its contents (hundreds of personal photographs and documents) since then. The USB LOCKER password "gateway" is not visible and when I attempted to reload the software I get an ERROR message that there is insufficient space on the drive.I sent emails to the Software Orbit company (first email on 1/10/14) and to Fast Spring (first on 1/24/14) requesting assistance and have received no response. I telephoned Fast Spring yesterday (2/11/14) and left a voice mail--no response.

Desired Settlement: I want to access the personal and private files that are on my Toshiba drive and remove the USB LOCKER software from it.

Business Response: I have refunded the order.  To get any further help with the specific product questions or technical support, you will have to talk to the maker of the product at

support@softwaresorbit.com

Business Response: Unfortunately we are only a retailer of the product, and the most we can do is to refund the order.  The product is manufactured by another company who provides product support, and we have provided their contact info.  We know none of the technical details of the product and you will have to talk to them to resolve any remaining technical issues.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9924932

I am rejecting this response because: My request all along is getting assistance from Fast Spring in obtaining necessary technical support from from Software Orbit. Please see my original email below---

From: **************@msn.com
To: orders@fastspring.com
Subject: FW: Your USB LOCKER Delivery Information
Date: Fri, 24 Jan 2014 15:17:51 -0700

Hello:
I am contacting you regarding the software below. I have sent three emails to "Softwares Orbit" about this problem and have not received any response or acknowledgement. There are hundreds of files and photos on the affected drive that I do not want to lose due to "USB Locker". Please assist me if you can in communicating with that company to ensure product support.

***** ***********































BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a software (Kindle Removal for Mac) online from FastSpring (www.EPubSoft.com) for $29.99 on 1/15/2014. I thought that it would convert my Kindle eBook to a PDF file, but in fact it only removed the DRM. I contacted the support people and got a response back on 1/16/2014. They suggested that I should tried another software (EPubSoft Toolbox) which would convert my file to PDF format. However, this software did not convert my file correctly. It generated a 1400 page file from my 300 page file. The format was all messed up. I contacted the support again. They asked me to send them my Kindle file. I send my Kindle file to them and never heard anything back. I contacted the support again on 1/28/2014. The support people sent me a very rude email saying, "If you have bought a MP3, can you request a refund because it does not support Television function (so why not buy a TV directly)?" I request the refund because EPubSoft posted a "30-day money back guarantee" on their website. If I am not mistaken, I should be able to return the product and get the refund within 30 days after my purchase. FastSpring refused to honor their 30-day money back guarantee and sent a very rude email to its customer. I felt that my personal dignity was seriously hurt. I contacted my credit card company and got my credit back. But I still want to report the unprofessional behavior of FastSpring. Hopefully, other customer will be aware of this issue. Thank you for your attention.

Desired Settlement: FastSpring should honor its "30-day money back guarantee" and refund its customer for unsatisfied product within 30 days of purchase. FastSpring owe me an apology for the unprofessional email from its support people.

Business Response: this order has now been refunded.


*** *****Chief Customer Service Officer
FastSpring
Email: ken@fastspring.com

FastSpring offers a next generation Java-based software reseller platform, merchandising, and fulfillment solution for software publishers which is focused on customer service, flexibility, and reasonable pricing.
View the Flash Demo at:
http://www.fastspring.com/

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9905694. According to their response, they had refunded the purchase. However, I have checked my credit card account and I did not see any refund for the purchase amount credited to my account. I have not received any refund check from the business neither. I will wait another week to review the ruefulness of the refund.

Regards,

******* ****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Digital piano course: PianoEncyclopedia This product is vastly misrepresented, contains numerous errors and not of use to me. I cannot reach merchant by email or phone; emails are returned as "permanent" error. Phone is not answered. Website states office closed until 1-6-14. However, still no answer 3 days later. I demand instructions to return CD's and cancel course, guaranteed refundable 60 days. I purchased it a few days ago.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund. Instructions to return CD's.

Business Response: Order was refunded on Jan 9.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an online "help" button for Windows 8 through Candysoft.com called the istart button with my credit card for $9.95. The activation code they gave was deemed invalid so I began contacting the company (***** **). He would respond to my e-mails but the code would not activate the button. He finally told me to uninstall the button, go to the website and reinstall and apply the activation code. When I went to the website to reinstall the button, the website domain had expired. I e-mailed Kevin again and the email came back with a failure to deliver notification.

Desired Settlement: $9.95

Business Response: Order has been refunded.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9848034, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased software call Great barcode Generator, it help you make barcodes, I purchased this software online on July13,2012 it was working fine, until my computer hard drive had to be replaced. I re-installed all software after I put my License number in : MIAW-ACFQ-UIHE-KDWF, it tells me to contact support and the program will not work.I have sent them over 10 emails without one return email, I have try to call and email Fastspring who takes the credit card charges they did try to reach out to Great Bar code without any luck. Bottom line is I Paid $49.90 for software I can't use I have been dealing with this over 5 months without any hope to a end. I have called my back they did give me a temp credit, I was just noticed that I was getting re-charged for $49.90, as the purchase was over 60 days old.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want a full refund because I can't trust them get back to me if they would give me a serial that works, after you close the case they could shut down the number again.

Business Response: Unfortunately this order is 15 months old and I could no longer refund.  You can contact the maker for further support via
http://www.gr***********************/support.php


Business Response: Bill, can you email me all the details including any info you have about the original order to ken@fastspring.com and let me see if I can do anything to help.  

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re; Order ID - ********************* Date of Order; November 5, 20131 TV Access Show - VIP Platinum Membership Paid in full; $39.95I ordered TV Access Show on November 5, 2013. Because my computer did not support the software that I need to view the media, I was offered to buy another software, which I did. All totaled, this cost me nearly $100.00, which didn't sit well with me. So I request a refund from all purchases including this one from; First Spring/TV Access Show. I received a return of receipt for the request of refund stating that my request was being reviewed by the staff, but no refund. Rather, On November 7, 2013 I also received a offer to upgrade, which I had already purchased. I replied by insisting for the refund to my debt card in full for $39.95. Which I have had no response and no refund receipt or refund.I don't want to negotiate my refund as it was valid and within 5 hours of purchase.Sincerely,Taite Montgomery

Desired Settlement: Return $39.95 to my debt card, in full, immediately.

Business Response: I have now refunded this order.  Should hit your card within 5 days at the most.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9803994, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards, 

***** **********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent charge to my bank card!

Desired Settlement: Refund and someone should go to Prison!

Business Response: Sorry to hear about the problem.  Please email orders@fastspring.com with those details, including the last 5 digits of the credit card number and we will locate and get it refunded asap.  If you would prefer, you can reply in the BBB with the info. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a software claimed to root android phone from root-android.org whose payment system is linked to fastspring.com. At the time of the purchase, they stated clearly on their website that once you buy their product, you will be guaranteed a life-time membership to their website. I went ahead and I bought the software and in return they sent me an email with login information to their website. I logged into their website(root-android.org) just to make sure it works. Then the next day, I came back now ready to follow the steps provided in their to complete my service but to my surprise the website was nowhere to be found. I have searched for that website for 5 days to no luck! So I decided to call Fastspring Software(###-###-####) to ask them for my refund but all I'm told, by voice-operating system, is to go onto their website where I can email them. When I go to their website and click on their email link address, what I get is a pop up that says 'Could not perform this operation because default mail client is not properly installed". Again and again I have tried but the same pop up comes up everytime! Its just a vicious cycle! I cannot contact them on the phone because their voice operating system refers me to their website. On their website, its nothing but a fake email address and basically, I'm not getting anything solved. So, I finally came to the conclusion that this could be a fraud and maybe extra help may help me to find a solution and maybe get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my $29.99 back if possible.

Business Response: I have refunded this order.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've ask this company for a refund of my money because the software they sold to me did not work I removed in from my computer! I e-mail the supportgroup 3 or 4 time asking them to return my money the sum of $23.50 but I have not received a message or my money the Order ID: SHRINKDVD2*********-8788-53134 paid in full : May18 2013 I tried the software and it do not work like they say so I want my money BACK.

Desired Settlement: Return my money $23.50 and they want here from me again.

Business Response: This order has been refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: order refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Mac Data Recovery Guru via Fastspring on 03/13/13. $99.00 $ 14 hours later – it doesn’t. It never recovered my file. In fact, most of what it did recover was unreadable. I feel that their product does not work as advertised. Moreover, enclosed is the PayPal transaction. I’ve tried several times to contact Mac Data Recovery directly. However, the firm doesn’t list a dedicated physical address (even the CO BBB was unable to contact them). That said the CO BBB suggested that I file a claim with SB BBB as Fastspring handled this financial transaction.

Desired Settlement: Please refund my $99.00.

Business Response: Order has been refunded today.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9522772, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/10/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/5/2011 Delivery Issues
1