BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/2000

United Online, Inc.

Find a Location

(866) 841-1442View Additional Phone Numbers21301 Burbank Blvd Fl 3, Woodland HillsCA 91367-6697View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/2000

BBB has determined that United Online, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised United Online, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 207 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

209 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 145 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues81
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service112
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 209

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (209)BBB Closure Definitions
10/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: service was cancelled in April,2014,I am still being charged a monthly fee
In April of this year I called NetZero to cancel my dial up service. I spoke a person and they assured me it would be no problem.Every month since then I have been charged 4.98 a month. I have called to try to get them to stop charging my debit card,I get no help,I have tried sending them E-mails. They are still using my card each month.I do not remember my account number,my phone is XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint. Ms. ***** issued a complaint with you as a result of charges from Netzero. She states that she cancelled the acct and we continued to charge her. As compensation, she wants complete refund since April.

In researching this account, -, I discovered that according to our records, Ms. ***** had signed up for NetZero's billable service for account - **********@netzero.net. We see that Ms. ***** called on 04/17/14 to cancel the service. At this point Ms. ***** was offered our Norton Internet Security for $4.95 per month with 1st month free. We see that Ms. *****, had accepted the same. Once a member accepts a Save offer it is their responsibility to call and cancel the acct. As. Ms. ***** never called to cancel after that, she was continued to be charged. However we have now cancelled the account and issued refund for $24.97 that she incurred since April 2014.

We hope Ms. ***** is satisfied with the above information and we apologize for the confusion regarding his account.

10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: I am being charged $11.95 a year for something called mega mail from Netzero which I never agreed to.
I purchased Netzero dial-up internet from netzero in 2008. I then cancelled after I got high speed DSL from another company. One day going through my bank statement in Decemver of 2013 I saw a charge of 11.95 from netzero. When I called they said I do not have an account with Netzero and that the charge is from Megamail. The representative said it was a yearly fee of 11.95 and that I should call Megamail to resolve the issue. When I call the number representative gave me the automated message asks me to enter my home phone number to look up my account. I enter my phone number which the automated message tells me that I do not have an account with them and to re-enter the number. I called back to Netzero and I get the run around again and they tell me to call the number again. I requested to speak with a supervisor at the customer service center which gets denied and I get told I can not be transferred to another representative. I dont know whether they have been charging me 11.95 yearly since I cancelled my service service. Only recently did I look carefully enough to notice the 11.95 charges, they probably have been charging me since I cancelled. I am not the only one with this issue many people have been scammed out of money by Netzero or mega mail but it seems that both netzero and megamail are the same company.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint *** ******** issued a complaint with you as a result of charges on her bank account. She states that she was charged by NetZero though she did not authorize multiple charges on her Credit card. As compensation, *** ******** would like the charges refunded.
After researching *** ********'s complaint, we cannot find any account using the information that she provided. In order to locate in our system exactly what was billed to *** ********'s account we will need the card number charged. This is due to the possibility that if the account was created with *** ********'s billing info; it is possible the account does not have her name or other info associated with it. She can provide this via fax to XXX XXX XXXX and we can provide assistance. Also *** ******** should provide her name and reference this complaint and the date of this letter.

We hope *** ********'s is satisfied with the above information and that we can resolve this matter as soon as possible.

Thanks
*****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: this is third time I have submitted form. I am not certain that it is getting through.
Money taken from checking account after account was closed
internet service cancelled 1/2010. NetZero continued to take money from my checking account monthly for next 40 plus months while providing no service and confirming that service was cancelled on 1/2010,.Withdrawals only stopped after I called the on 11/15/2013. They then suggested settlement of 29.70 then 89.10. They then deposited the 89.10 in my checking account without my knowledge or approval.

Initial Business Response
Consumer's Original Complaint :
Cliams previous cancelled and wants refund

Consumer's Desired Resolution:
Issue complete refund.

BBB
Consumer: *** **** ******
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint. *** ****** issued a complaint with you as a result of his experience with NetZero Services. He states that he intended to cancel the account but the Customer Service Representative would not cancel the account. As compensation, he would like to have the account cancelled and wants refund for charges incurred after he claims to have cancelled.

In researching this account, I discovered that according to our records, *** ****** signed up for Juno's billable service for account ********@netzero.net on 10/24/2003. *** ****** called on 01/27/2010 and at this time accepted an offer of Hi-Speed backup service for first month free and later charged $4.95 per month. When a member accepts a save offer, they have the responsibility to call and cancel that service. Later he has made multiple calls checking on account status. However, he called on 11/08/2013 to cancel the service. *** ****** can be assured that we have cancelled the account and he will not be charged anymore.

We apologize for any confusion that *** ****** may have had concerning his account and he will not be charged any further. We have fully cancelled the account and issued refund for $178.20 on 11/23/2013.

We hope *** ****** is satisfied with the above information.

Thanks,
*****


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the payment was only for a small portion of the amount they over charged me for. They need to return the balance owed from the time I cancelled the account.

Final Business Response
As mentioned before, *** ****** had called on 1/27/2010 and was offered to a backup service for $4.95 along with other add-on services. When a member accepts a save offer, they have the responsibility to call and cancel that service. Later he has made multiple calls checking on account status. However, he called on 11/08/2013 to cancel the service. *** ****** never called to have the account cancelled before that, due to this he was continued to be charged for the service that we provided.

We apologize for any confusion that *** ****** may have had concerning his account and he will not be charged any further. We have fully cancelled the account and issued refund for $178.20 on 11/23/2013 as a courtesy. We hope *** ****** is satisfied with the above information

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I have had nothing but problems since my Mobile wifi device was ordered and I've only had it for 15 days.
My mom ordered a NetZero mobile WiFi device for me, for my birthday. (6/14) Right off the bat, they lied to her, telling her that she would only pay for the device (at 75% off, on sale) and that she would get free shipping and a free month. They said she could order it online and she ended up being charged $19.95 for shipping. (I also inquired about the free service for a year and was told that that sale was over and later saw the commercial on tv again.) She didn't receive the item until 2 days after she was supposed to received it (6/18) and I received it on 6/22,my birthday. I pointed out to her, on the receipt, that it showed that she payed for shipping and they tried to charge the account for the first month, which they werent able to do, so the device was off. (They also sent a different device than what I was supposed to be getting. I received a Clear device instead of NetZero) She called them, that day and they said they were sorry, they couldnt refund the shipping charges, but gave her the free month. It was supposed to be turned on within two hours and was not on until the next day. That was when I realized that it didnt connect properly and when it did, it was slow. I called in, that day, and spoke to technical support rep and he tried a couple of things to reset it before informing me that it was my apartment building blocking the signal and that it would work outside of the apartment, when i was moving around in public, and that if it was still doing the same thing, then the device was defective. I told him that I would try it the next day, on my way to work, and at work, and let them know if it didnt work. I also informed him of the device mix up and he insisted that that wasnt the problem. The next day i tried it out for a couple of hours, at work. But it wasnt connecting and i gave it another day, because i was busy and didnt have a chance to pay attention to it. So the next day, i tried on my way to work and at work and it was doing the same thing. I believe it was the next day or the day after that I called in about the problem and i told them what was going on and the customer service agent denied that it was defective, like the Tech agent said, and I told them that I wanted a refund because of all the problems i was having and i would send them the device back. They connected me to Tech support anyway and i demanded that they cancel the account which they transfered me to the cancelation department and they informed me of a cancellation charge that cost more than the device itself. I refused and they put a request in for Upper Management to call me within 1-2 bus. Days. 2 days later, (6/27)i received a call from a Tech support supervisor, who offered to fix it, again. He lied to me 4 times in that call, about different things, and i called him out on every single lie. He got frusterated after acknowledging them and said that he would have upper management call me, again within 1-2 bus. Days. Today (7/1) i received a call from another supervisor who informed me that upper management denied the request to wave the early term. Fees and, once again tried to send me to tech. Support and denied that it was defective. I requested a call from upper management them selves and will be waiting on their call. In summery, I requested a refund, on a defective device, within the 7 days from receptant, as per the website requirements when my mom ordered the product and they are refusing one and wanting to charge me more. They have also lied to me about their services, my account, what was said to me, and even what I said to them. I flat out told them that if this is how they treat their customers within 15 days of receptant, then I dont want to be tied to them for a year. They can have their crappy device back (thats not even their's but Clearwire's), I just want my refund for the device and shipping.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint. *** ***** issued a complaint with you as a result of her experience with NetZero service, a United Online Company. She claims that she was unable to connect using NetZero 4G Mobile Broadband service, cancelled the service and wants to get refunds.
In researching the case, I discovered that according to our records, *** ***** signed up for NetZero 4G Mobile Broadband service having member id- ***********@netzero.net on 06/14/2014 with 12 Month commitment. She then reached our Phone support reporting unable to connect and wanted to cancel the service. She was then informed on the Early Termination fee. We see that the account has been already cancelled on 07/08/2014 and Early Termination Fee was waived off. Refund for service charge ($48.58) has been issued and we suggest *** ***** to wait for 2-3 business days.
We apologize for the inconvenience and *** ***** can rest assured that her valuable feedback is carefully considered by the Customer Relations Management Team at United Online in its continuous effort to provide better customer support.

08/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: They will not cancel account without a fee,and charged my bank unauthorized.
I ordered and received the netzero stick,i received it June 30th,iwas not able to get any signal.I called on the 1st to let them know i would be sending the device back,they insisted i had to go through tech support,which i did still no signal.They said that i would have to pay a 37 dollar cancellation fee.I refused and finally after 4 calls got with a supervisor who told me they have to esqulate to a higher up supervisor and would contact me in 24 to 48 hours.I found out they charged me on June 30th for 20.22 for a month of service that i did not authorize,which caused me 38 nsf,i had opted out of overdraft but my bank said the way Net Zero(United Online )takes payment it goes through.I finally got a supervisor to credit the 20.62 back but its been 6 days and i can't get anywhere.I call and go through the same thing getting transfered and now today July 8th they tell me again to wait for a superviser to call to waive the cancellation fee.I told them they better not charge my debit card anything,i do not have the money to cover the cancellation fee and then wait to be refunded.I purchased through a live agent over the phone and paid 12.49 for the device and 6.95 shipping.I was told if returned i would be refunded 12.49 but not the shipping,never was it disclosed to me there was a cancellation fee.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint. *** ****** issued a complaint with you as a result of her experience with NetZero service, a United Online Company. She claims that she was unable to connect using NetZero 4G Mobile Broadband service, cancelled the service and wants to get refunds.
In researching the case, I discovered that according to our records, *** ****** signed up for NetZero 4G Mobile Broadband service having member id- *****@netzero.net on 06/26/2014 with 12 Month commitment. She then reached our Phone support reporting unable to connect due to coverage and wanted to cancel the service. She was then informed on the Early Termination fee. We see that the account has been already cancelled on 07/11/2014 and Early Termination Fee was waived off. Device was already returned on 07/23/2014 and the refund for partial device cost charged of $12.49 has been issued on 7/27/2014.
We apologize for the inconvenience and *** ****** can rest assured that her valuable feedback is carefully considered by the Customer Relations Management Team at United Online in its continuous effort to provide better customer support.

Page 1 of 39
08/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent Advertising and charging through my bank account without authorization to do so.Per sometime in February 2014, NetZero Wireless, Inc., A United Online Company advertised internet service for $19.95 per month. So I thought that the advertising monthly service would be a real trued price. But the reality was not true. NetZero shoot off my Internet service in two days of usages. This is simply a fraud advertising.NetZero Wireless, Inc., A United Online Company is not just shoot my internet service, but continuously charging against my bank account in amount of $19.95 on February 23, 2014, $19.95 on March 23, 2014 and $19.95 on April 23, 2014. The total NetZero Wireless, Inc., A United Online Company has been charging against my bank account is $59.85. These charges are not authorized to do so. In addition, the NetZero Internet Service has been cancelled on February 2, 2014. See Below for the cancelation email to NetZero.February 2, 2014In my understanding is $19.95 per month and not per usage. But it is not truth at all. Base on this problem, it is simply a rid off and lie to me that the HOT SPOT was 4GB. It is only 1MGB instead of 4GB because I know how much 4GB is. . At this moment, I need to cancel this Internet service immediately and no further question to ask.Thanks,**** ****

Initial Business Response

We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint *** **** issued with you as a result of charges from NetZero 4G Mobile Broadband Service. He claims that the service did not meet his requirements and claims to have cancelled the account in February 2014. As compensation he would like to get the account cancelled and waive off ETF along with refund for unused months.

In researching this account, **************@netzero.net I discovered *** **** signed up for our Wireless Plus service which provides 2 GB of service a month on 1/23/14. At this time our wireless device was offered for Free of cost with one year commitment. A one-time charge of $21.55 was made on 1/23/14 towards the shipping and handling. *** **** was clearly informed that if he decides to cancel within the commitment period, he is liable to pay the fee and hence we cannot waive off the same.

On 1/26/2014 *** **** was charged $18.02 for a prorated amount towards the service charge as mentioned at the time of sign up. On 6/6/2014 *** **** called claiming to have cancelled the account way back in February, when as per our records there were no contacts from *** **** to cancel the account, hence we continued to bill. At this point he was again informed of the early termination fee which he states he did not agree upon at the time of sign-up. As part of any sign-up with an ETF our Terms of Service is clearly indicated and a member must agree before service is signed up.

To avoid any inconvenience we have now cancelled the account and we have waived off the ETF on a condition that he has to return the device within 30 days of cancellation to the below address:

NetZero Wireless Returns
Arvato Digital Services
**** ******** ********* *****
*********** ** XXXXX

We have sent Return Label Sticker to *** ****'s NetZero email through which he can return the device without incurring any additional charge for returning the device. We have also waived off the Outstanding balance of $19.95 that we tried to bill for current month towards the service charge. We will not be able to issue any refund towards the service charge as we charge based on availability of service and not usage.

Also his valuable feedback is carefully considered by the Customer Relations Management Team at United Online in its continuous effort to provide better customer support.

We hope this satisfies *** **** and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I disagree with the business because I have never asked for any rental equipment and NetZero has never told me that it needs to be returned up to day. But the best of my knowledge, NetZero told me that it would be free device. Today, why it need to be return? Why hidden information? I would like add one more thing to this complaint. Here another lied from NetZero. NetZero intents to lie that NetZero has sent shipping label to me. This is simply a lie. For the fact that I have never received any shipping label from NetZero. Why NetZero has to lie all the time? Please attaché this page to my disagree respond. Please answer these two question honestly. And I need refund in full for the months that NetZero shot off my service in within 15 days. Look forward to hearing from the business soon possible.



Final Business Response
This is to explain *** **** that NetZero Broadband service is provided on data and is not unlimited. Agents do inform the same at the time of sign up and our terms of Service also imply the same. However to avoid any inconvenience account is already cancelled and we have waived off the ETF on a condition that he has to return the device within 30 days of cancellation to the below address:

NetZero Wireless Returns
Arvato Digital Services
**** ******** ********* *****
*********** ** XXXXX

We have sent Return Label Sticker to *** ****'s NetZero email through which he can return the device without incurring any additional charge for returning the device. We have also waived off the Outstanding balance of $19.95 that we tried to bill for current month towards the service charge. We will not be able to issue any refund towards the service charge as we charge based on availability of service and not usage.

Also his valuable feedback is carefully considered by the Customer Relations Management Team at United Online in its continuous effort to provide better customer support.

We hope this satisfies *** **** and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Consumer Response
July 29, 2014

I need a physical evident of what I signed for it within 10 days from today. To the best of my knowledge, I have never signed any in term of agreement in paper. What I did only by phone and no document had been signed.

I believe NetZero created it for NetZero's benefit to prevent their fraudulent online business.

Look forward to having a physical evident documentation in the next 10 day before my lawyer takes the case.

Thanks,

****
Consumer


Consumer Response
July 29, 2014

In addition, I will never spend my time to pack and send it back the free unit that NetZero sent to me because 1. NetZero has been hiding the truth because NetZero conducting a fraud online business . 2. NetZero has never told me that I need to return the unit at front. 3. NetZero told me that no contract and can be cancel any time. Buy today I just learn from NetZero that I need to return the unit. This is a truly a fraud. However, it is unnecessary for me to keep the useless unit for whatsoever reason and welcome NetZero comes and get it by NetZero within 5 days from today and I will keep it outside the gate from today.

Best regards,

****
consumer

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being questioned by the sales Rep as to how I would use the service (ISP), I explained that I would be attending some online college courses in addition to leisure browsing. The representative explained that the $9.95 deal that I was requesting (in response to a television ad)was insufficient. I agreed, and accepted the $24.95 package. The rep said that this package included 80 hours of "web browsing". I interpreted this to mean internet access. However, on the second day of service, my allotted "web browsing" expired. This was not explained to me at the point of sale. I telephoned Customer Service, complained and requested that my service be cancelled. Also, when I received an email (after subscribing to a different ISP) requesting that I extend my "web browsing" (pay more money), I immediately responded stating , among other things, that their ads were unfair and deceptive and I would not be extending my "web browsing" ever! In spite of all this, I recently discovered that NetZero had continued to bill my account. When I telephoned them, I finally got through after about 25 minutes, they only offered to refund the most recent charge. I do not feel that they should be allowed to keep anything other the original payment.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint; *** ******* issued a complaint with you as a result of his experience with NetZero. He claims that he was signed up for the service which does not meet his internet service needs and wants us to issue refund for entire charges as he claims to have cancelled long back.

In researching the case, I discovered that according to our records, *** ******* signed up for NetZero 4G Mobile Broadband service *************@netzero.net on 06/03/2013. He called our support on 06/10/2013 claiming that he was unable to connect to internet and was informed that the account was inactive as he already used the complete data allotted on the account and provided next available options. *** ******* claims that his service was interrupted and hence was dissatisfied with the same. *** ******* wanted to cancel the account but did not do the same successfully and hung up before being transferred to Cancellation department. Hence we continued to charge *** ******* every month on 3rd of every month. Also there were no previous calls after that to cancel the account.

To explain further on how the data consumption works:

Normal Internet activity consists of many processes occurring in the background about which the user may or may not be aware, and which can result in unexpected data use. This includes automatic updates to programs on his computer (such as Windows system updates), refreshing any online advertisements or dynamic content present on websites, browser plugin updates, routine synchronization of locally installed applications, regular network authentication through communication between the computer and the server, device reconnection, device updates, etc. The amount of data required for any of these functions is variable, and can account for the activity he observed.

There is no way to completely prevent background data usage. However, members can minimize this by turning off any automatic program updates and by making certain that whenever not working online they not only completely disconnects from Internet connection, but that they also turns off Mobile Broadband device. Closing a browser or email application will not sever the Internet connection, resulting in continued data use.

As a courtesy, we offered refund for last charge of $24.90 on 10/18/2013. As per the policy if the member does not call to cancel the account, he will continue to be charged and we will not be able to issue any refund.

We apologize for the inconvenience and *** ******* can rest assured that his valuable feedback is carefully considered by the Customer Relations Management Team at United Online in its continuous effort to provide better customer support.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I telephoned the service to complain about 80 hours of allotted time having expired in less than 48 hours in real time, I clearly and emphatically requested that my service de canceled. I was never told that it was necessary to have my call transferred. Net Zero has my phone number and at least two email addresses but did not use either to inform me as to cancellation procedures. This certainly should/could have been done when I responded to their notice urging me to purchase more data (I forwarded that correspondence to the BBB).Not only did I CLEARLY state my negative opinion of the service, but I have never re-visited the cite or utilized any of the data that I was charged for. I do not receive paper bank statements and I do check my account history as often as I should. Obviously, this is business that preys upon customers in this fashion (continuing to bill even though they advertise "no contract") in order to make a profit...the service certainly is not worth a red cent.

Final Business Response
As mentioned in the previous response, *** ******* wanted to cancel the account but did not do the same successfully and hung up before being transferred to Cancellation department. Hence we continued to charge *** ******* every month on 3rd of every month. Also there were no calls after that to cancel the account.
The agents do not call the customers as per our policy. It is the member's responsibility to have the account cancelled to avoid any future charges.

In this case, *** ******* did not even allow the agent to let him know the cancellation procedure. Before the agent could explain and transfer the call to the cancellation department *** ******* hung up. However though we charge based on availability and not usage, we issued we issued refund for last charge of $24.90 on 10/18/2013 as a courtesy.

We apologize for the inconvenience and *** ******* can rest assured that his valuable feedback is carefully considered by the Customer Relations Management Team at United Online in its continuous effort to provide better customer support.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They mentioned that policy prevented them from calling a customer...what about email...they sent one asking me to buy more data immediately! They also do not explain how 80 hours of "browsing" can be used in less than 48 hours. Further, one could assume that a contractless agreement would require voluntary payment by the consumer. Lack of payment, combined with lack of usage (as well as the request to be canceled) clearly demonstrates the company's unethical behavior.

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Web Design

Additional Information

top
Business started: 06/18/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2007, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Vikram Anand (Senior Director- Billing and Fulfillment Services)
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Web Design

Alternate Business Names
BlueLight, BlueLight.com, Freeservers/My Site, Juno, Juno Online Service, Juno Online Services, MegaWeb Services, NetZero Incorporated, United On-Line

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for United Online, Inc.

21301 Burbank Blvd Fl 3

Woodland Hills, CA 91367-6697

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*United Online, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (805) 418-2020
  • (805) 418-2000
  • (877) 272-9929
  • (805) 418-2026
  • (212) 597-9225
  • (888) 279-8132
  • (888) 811-5866
  • (212) 597-9000
  • (888) 349-0029
  • (888) 839-5866
  • (212) 597-9009
  • (800) 396-1999
  • (800) 303-0319
  • (818) 287-3000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Web Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.