BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/2007

Ameritek Industries

Phone: (818) 837-2015

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
07/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceitful Sales and Contract Specifications
I was sold a water softener for $7500, promising that I would get free soap supplies for 10 years without any additional cost. I got the first 4 shipment of soap and now that I am requesting for new shipment, I was told that I have already received all free soap/detergents that I was entitled to. This is clearly not the promise and what is stated on the paperworks given to me by the sales agent. ( who happened to be a fellow Army Veteran). I called the company and sent them a copy of the paperwork that was given to me stating that I would receive soap/detergent supplies for "5 years x 2". Only to be disregarded and promised that they will call me back but I have not received any email or call backs until now. I am a disabled combat veteran and I just can't believe how I become a target for a deceitful business tactics.

Desired Settlement
They would need to fulfill all promised deals within their sales.

Business Response
We did advise to the customer that we do inot have 10 year package for his contract. He signed the coupons and it says 5 years (2) that means customer can order ONCE A YEAR 1 coupon per year. With times (2) he receive double dotation set of soap, he only has to call once a year to the Soap company PGI they are located in Texas. He was calling every six months. We did send some soap from our office to him so he can still have more soap. In order to get another 5 years we told him to pay for shipping $50 a year for UPS and we will send the soap.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still not satisfied with the response I got because it does not fix or fulfill what I expected base from the explanation I was given at the time of the sale. In which, I was guaranteed to get soap shipment every six months(not per year) for 10 years. However, the company did in fact sent me some soap per my request but instructed that I will have to pay shipping next time. Clearly, this doesn't fulfill what their agent has told me at the time of the sale. It's either they take responsibility for their agent's actions, regardless of their personal intent against their standard operation procedures due to the fact that they represent the same company, or deny everything that the agent has told me( which I would gladly return the unit). But this would only shows the level of integrity and accountability that this company have for their business and customers. NOTE: the only reason I agreed to get the water softener, even though I still have a working unit at that time was the soap supply which again promised to be for 10 years. If everything was explained to me exactly how they now are telling me the real deal, then I should have NEVER even bother getting this unit, regardless how good it is. My old one was working just fine.

Although, I will give credit to Ms. ***** on her efforts but I have nothing against her, only on the company she works for and their sale tactics. TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACTIONS OF YOUR EMPLOYEES! THEY REPRESENT YOU, YOUR COMMITMENT TO YOUR CUSTOMER, AND YOUR OVERALL BUSINESS INTEGRITY.


********* *******
Disabled Combat Veteran, US ARMY
XXXXXXXXXX

Final Business Response
We will send 5 more coupons to our customer.
We would like to be at his service all the time. Just last week we did send soap by ups and he did received.
We are responding to all his request and the 5 year coupons will be mailed by first class, one coupon per year.

We appreciated his time and if he needs anything please he can call our office anytime
Regards,

*********** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
No other choice.

10/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman promised to deliver me one month payment and promised first years' service was free.
In late March of this year, a salesman for Ameritek Industries with his office in Las Vegas, gave my wife and I a sales presentation for a Puronics Water Conditioner System. The salesman's name was Rafael, I believe. He did I good presentation, was definitely going to buy the system. I told him I would purchase the system upon my return from Alaska, sometime in late July. He said to buy it now and he would defer the payments for 90 days (until I returned from Alaska) AND he would furnish me the first months payment before my Alaska trip. He also stated the first year of service would be free. Well, I never saw him again, he never gave me the first month payment, as promised. Upon my return from Alaska, in late July, my wife did reach him. He asked for my wife's checking account number and promised the funds would be in her account within one week. This never happened. Also, after calling Ameritek Company Headquarters today, a lady informed me a service call was $150.00 and the first year was indeed not free as the salesman indicated. The salesman refuses to answer any of my calls - have called him repeatedly.

Desired Settlement
Refund of one month payment ($139.00, as promised and free service call to check out my system, as promised.) Also, an apology from the salesman.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salt tank is keeps on filling up with water.
Ameritek has installed the water softner in my home and the salt tank is keeps on filling up with water. I have called the customer service about my issue and they unable to fix my issue with my current softner. I need my softner to replace with new one.

Desired Settlement
I need a replacement system or full refund.

Business Response
I understand the clients concern for the claims he has made with his water softener. The clients claim the water does not feel soft or claims the water in the brie tank continues to fill with water. We have responded to his request for service on four different occasions. Including one visit from our Factory representative who supplies our product. We made some fine tuned adjustments to the control valve to use the salt and backwash feature most effectively, ensured there was no excess water in the brine tank, and found the system in each case to be working as designed. If there continues to be complaints from the client we will service the system as promised since it has a guaranteed to be free from defects. A replacement is not required since the system is working as designed. A refund for the system is allowed within three business days of the purchase. We have passed **** time period. A refund not available at this time since we have not found any issue with the softener.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a Puronics system through Ameritek back in April. A few days after Thanksgiving, the water in the kitchen stopped working.
We have been calling for almost a month now and no one has been out to look at the system and fix the problem. The great thing about cellphones is that you can keep track of all of the calls you've made and text messages you've exchanged with them.

My husband had been calling the number on the card that the rep had left (XXX) XXX-XXXX and he wasn't getting a return call, even after he left a message, so on December 8, 2014 I decided to give him a call myself. As soon as I stated my name and address he said "Oh yes, your husband called", great, you know that my husband has been calling yet you don't have the decency to return a call. We talked for a few minutes and he said he'd send someone out the next day, no one was ever sent. I ended up having two different handymen come out and take a look at our kitchen sink, and both said I needed to call Ameritek to get the problem fixed because the problem is with the system. I called Ameritek again December 22, 2014, no return call even after a message was left. I ended up calling Puronics on December 23, 2014 and let them know about the problem I was having with Ameritek, they referred me to another company that is not Ameritek. We called and set up an appointment with the company that Puronics referred us to, since we didn't have a contract or warranty with this company the service fee would cost $65 but were told we would have to get reimbursed from Ameritek, because after all, it is Ameriteks job to service our water system!

The service call was scheduled for December 24, 2014 at 11 a.m., we called Ameritek and let them know what was going on and that they'd have to reimburse us, that didn't sit well with the rep, he had the nerve to say that someone was sent out the next day after I had called on December 8, 2014 but that no one ever answered, strange because my husband waited all day and when he had to go to work my sister came over to wait for someone to come, we didn't receive a knock on the door, a ring, or even a phone call! He then proceeded to tell me that I shouldn't be calling him, that there's a number I need to contact and that he left it in the folder he gave me, well pal, the only number you left me was yours and you said to give you a call if I had any problems! He said he would send me a text message with said number and would schedule for someone to come out on December 24, 2014 between 3 and 4 p.m., I ended up canceling the service call with the other company. Well, we waited and no one ever came, again, shocking! I text the rep to let him know it was 5:08 p.m. and that I was still waiting, no response from him. No calls or text messages were exchanged after that, until yesterday December 29, 2014.

I spoke to **** at(XXX) XXX-XXXX, which is the number our rep gave us and he gave me a number for another guy named ******, (XXX) XXX-XXXX he said I needed to call him to arrange a time for December 29, 2014. I called ****** and he said he was in NLV and couldn't meet at the times we would be home but to call him tomorrow so that he could come out. Well December 30, 2014 came, I called him and again, he can't come out. We are getting the run around and different numbers to call, yet we are getting nowhere. We've been without water in our kitchen for a month now which is very unsanitary. We have no water to wash dishes or drinking water.

Desired Settlement
We are calling the company that Puronics referred us to since they are more competent. We wish to be reimbursed for the costs we will accrue for their service call. We can't wait any longer to have someone from Ameritek come and service our system, we've been waiting over 30 days.

Business Response
Our service department received call from client on December 30, 2014 with issue with drinking water system, no water. Technician advised to service client however they could not make an appointment that was convenient to the clients request. Client was contacted again by Service department on January 8 and advised they had resolved the issue themselves and refused additional service.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What the business is saying is completely inaccurate. I have saved a log of the calls that were exchanged in November and December. I also have a text message saved from a rep. We were told on two different occasions that someone would be sent around 10/11 a.m. and no one ever was both times, on another occasion we were told that on Christmas Eve someone would be sent around 3/4 p.m., that was not a problem, no one ever appeared though. After Christmas Eve, I called again and the new rep told me someone could be sent after 1 p.m. on a weekday, I told them that would not work due to work issues. At that point I was fed up with the situation because I had been calling for a month, so I told them I would be hiring someone else to fix the problem and that I would like to be reimbursed for anything I would have to pay out of pocket. On top of that, no one from the business contacted me on January 8th, that is completely false. A man by the name of Martin did appear at my residence on Saturday January 10, 2015, unannounced when we were in the middle of dinner, he stated his boss called him the day before to come and fix my water softener. I found that funny, he came two weeks after I placed my last call, was I supposed to be without running water for another two weeks? I told Martin that I had my water softener fixed on December 31, 2014 by another company and I no longer needed his services, I had running water again no thanks to them. We spoke briefly about what happened and he entered my residence to check out the work and took a picture of the receipt from what I had to pay out of pocket. He then said he would need to change the water softeners filter because it's changed after a year. I advised him that it hasn't even been a year since I purchased the system, and asked him why he would want to change it several months early, he then said it would not need to be changed then, apologized for the inconvenience we had to go through, said he would talk to his boss about what happened and left.

Final Business Response
The service Dept XXX-XXX-XXX, Technician XXX-XXX-XXXX and client unfortunately were not able to make an appointment at a convenient time that was in satisfaction with the clients schedule. The client opted to locate a plumber of their choice to resolve an issue with the plumbing they had been experiencing. We contacted the client after several attempts on January 8th and they refused our service assistance. They claimed it had already been handled. We have issued a check # XXXXX to reimburse the client for the service call they paid for out of pocket to resolve the issue they were experiencing. Our systems are guaranteed against defects and I would suggest they contact our offices at XXX-XXX-XXXX if they are not experiencing satisfactory service that meets their requirement through our service technicians or Service department.

04/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied about giving a gift card, if we spent 30min of our time. Possible identity theft
ou have just bough a house? You will receive a card in the mail promising $45 to Home Depot if you allow these people to come to your home to show you "HOW YOU CAN SAVE MONEY, AND HAVE A BETTER QUALITY WATER IN YOUR HOME". Well......They will come to your home, to give you a presentation for 2 hours and at the end they won't give you the promised gift card, moreover if you've given them your info, they will steal your identity. This is exactly what happened to us. I submitted an application thinking we will go ahead and do it, (get a filtration packet) and then few hours later called to cancel. A week or so later my bank had contacted me saying I have purchases on my card and wanted to confirm it's me who purchasing it....It wasn't my purchases and amounts were pretty large....

I called their corporate, no help at all. They would not transfer to their supervisor, nor they would explain where my application with all my info is. I am calling a Police.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to receive a promised $45 gift card to Home Depot and what is more important to get all my paperwork back, immediately.,

Business Response
a Home Depot Gift card has been issued and mailed to clients home in Santee. The client opted to cancel his purchase application after a few hours of his presentation. Our facility is a secured environment with Camera surveillance and individually coded security doors. We take care to protect any client data submitted to our offices. Once the client canceled the purchase of our equipment, we destroy the clients information by shedding any paper documentation in our offices. We have not computer records of the clients details and have taken steps to ensure no remaining client data is in our archives. We are not able to return original documentation (credit Application) completed by the Client since we have destroyed the file. I would suggest contacting the credit bureaus, Experian, Transamerica, or Equifax if they feel their credit or identity ha been compromised. These agencies will assist the client in protecting their financial data and identity.

11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I no longer want a water filtration system and the company does not want to uninstall the system.
On sunday september 28th, a sales rep from the company Puronics came to my house. She said that she worked for the town and that our water was contaminated. She did some water test demonstrations, supposedly showing that our water was indeed contaminated. She also told my sister and I that the system could be completely free from the government. All we had to do was sign the application.So we signed the application, within minutes she called someone.And right away she said we had qualified for the free water system, she left and did not leave me any documents or invoice. That same night around 10pm another man came to install the system, he did not finish it all that night so he returned the next morning. He handed me a bill of $9,900.00 dollars. So we called the representative but she never answered. After that we called the central office in California but they said we had to keep trying with the representative. After calling the rep various times, she finally returned on Thursday October 2nd. I told her that I did not want the system, but she kept insisting me about keeping the system. We got into an argument, so I decided to file a police report. She left that day and returned the next day, finally with the documents we had signed on Sunday. She told me we would have the system uninstalled the next day but so far no one has come to uninstall it. And now her supposed manager is texting me saying that he will lower the price to $3,500.00. That I will only pay $75 for 60 months, but after doing the math. That comes out to $4,500.00 dollars. Also they are charging me $250.00 for some products that they also delivered on Monday.

Desired Settlement
So what I want is for the water system to be removed from my house. And to not be charged for all that money. The documents clearly state that we can cancel the transaction at any time before midnight on the 3rd day after the transaction was made.

Business Response
Unfortunately there has been a misunderstanding with the terms of the equipment purchase which improves water quality. The equipment has been removed under no obligation.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company lied about the products that we were told we would receive with the system purchased.
When Me and my family purchased our system we were told we will receive unlimited products and soaps for 5 years. When we went to place our second order I talked to ***** (Manager) and she said she will get my order placed for me. I waited 2 weeks and nothing has showed up in the mail. I called and talked to ***** again and she was surprised that I have not received them, she said she would look into it. Then after a week I called again, she said I needed to talk to ***** (Another Manager). I then gave them my phone number and they never called, when I tried to call and ask for the managers they continued to say they were not in or say they are on the other line and will call me before they leave the office, but they never will. Finally I got to talk to ***** and she is now trying to tell me that yes I do get unlimited products for 5 years but NOW I have to pay them $50.00 for shipping and have to pay the 5 years shipping upfront totaling $250.00!!! I was NEVER told I was responsible for shipping nor does it say in my contract that I am responsible for it. I am very upset that this company is trying to squeeze more money after I already bought a $6,000 system. I do not believe that I am responsible after talking to 2 representatives through e-mail stating that we do get 5 years unlimited products (not stating anything about shipping) as well as talking to ***** last October and this month that we do get 5 years unlimited products (not stating anything about shipping). This company is trying to steal my money and now holding my products until I give them $250.00. I request that you look into this company that is lying to their customers and trying to steal from them.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting for them to give my unlimited 5 year products with no hassle like was promised or give me my refund for $6,000 that I paid for the system.

Business Response
We understand the clients concern and request. We have arranged to have a second soap package available for the client under the same order #XXXXX. The order for the soap was processed on May 20, 2014 and should be available for client to release additional soap products. The client will receive double the normal five year package. The five year package was developed based on average soap usage of a family of four. Client can release soap as they have in the past by faxing, calling, or mailing coupon code to PGI soap distributor.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I appreciate finally getting my order sent to me after a month and a half. The only way I know I can receive more products is to call in through the Ameriteck company and not through PGI. When I fax, phone, or e-mail my order to PGI they view the address it's going to and confirms that they have not placed an order 6 months to a year before the next order. Even if I receive more vouchers to place my orders when I need them, PGI will not release my order till my next time frame of ordering. I was told that with the 4 vouchers I had I can send those to PGI but are only good for 1 per year and later found out on my own that it's only for a limited amount (which was never told). If I would need any more products I would need to contact Ameriteck for them to place my order through PGI. All I want is to not have issues when placing my orders, we were told unlimited products for 5 years and we should get that without having to jump through hoops. So the vouchers that are being given will not work unless PGI somehow agreed to letting me use my vouchers anytime I want (not having to wait 6- months to a year to be able to place my next order) and without having a limit of what I can order, because we were told UNLIMITED FOR 5 YEARS. I will never ask for more product than what I need but what was given was not at all acceptable for my families needs. I have had to buy shampoo, conditioner, dish soap, and ALL my cleaning products. That is hundreds of dollars I had to spend that I was not supposed to. I just want to make sure ALL my future orders will come with no questions or delays.

Final Business Response
We will advise PGI that your coupon number XXXXX is to be released at the times requested by the clients ********* *******. This will enable client to receive soap sooner than each six month period.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Before we can close this conversation I also want to be sure that there is no limit of how much product I can order per order as well. Since it was stated unlimited. I don't want to be difficult but my history with this company has been nothing but negative and need to be sure that the service that was told we will get will be honored. Thank you.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Filtration & Purification Equipment

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.