BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lunada Biomedical

(310) 568-10136733 S Sepulveda Blvd #108, Los AngelesCA 90045-1551http://www.lunadabiomed.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the online sales and distribution of medication for menopause and other hormonal issues for women.

BBB Accreditation

Lunada Biomedical is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Lunada Biomedical's rating include:

  • Government action(s) against business.

Factors that raised Lunada Biomedical's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lunada Biomedical

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
07/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lunada / Amberen is harassing me with embarrassing mailings in spite of my attempts to be removed from their database.
On February 13, 2014, I contacted Lunada / Amberen and spoke with a sales representative named ****. I asked **** to remove all of my information from their database. I was very angry that they had sent me an embarrassing mailing - in the form of a postcard - advertising all of the menopausal symptoms they wanted to help me deal with. I live in a small town where all of my mail is delivered to a post office box. The postal workers all know all of the residents. I was mortified to receive a large, glossy and completely unsolicited mailing that offered, among other things, to help increase my sex drive, delivered to me by an employee who could not HELP but see what was being advertised because it was loudly stated all over the postcard. I fully expected to be dropped from their database at the time of my request. Instead, they are now sending me more mailings, advertising "Amberen Menopause Relief" and offering to help me relieve hot flashes, night sweats, mood swings and low sex drive. I seriously wonder if a mailing like this is in violation of HIPAA law, because it most certainly violates my privacy in a most humiliating manner. I can only say that I am relived that Amberen is not a product used for hemmorhoid relief, or I'd be hiring an attorney right about now. I want them to go away and leave me alone. An apology for the humiliation they have put me through would be nice as well.

Desired Settlement
I wish for any and all information that Lunada / Amberen has for me it their database to be thoroughly and permanently deleted. I can assure them 100% that I will never, never EVER purchase a product from them.

Business Response
Lunada offers a sincere apology to Ms. ******, it was never our intent to cause her any unpleasant emotions. We have permanently deleted all of Ms. ******'s information from our customer database as she has requested.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased this product and it gave me a terrible health issue like a blood clot feeling, shortness of breath and hives. I called
had health issues with the products. it says guarantee satisfactory and they will not help by credited or taking the product back.

Desired Settlement
please credit order number XXXXXX ship id XXXXXXX

Business Response
Our review of customer's info indicated that the order in question was placed on June 5, 2014 and that our company processed a full refund in the amount of $157.94 to the customer's American Express credit card ending in 5000 on July 11, 2014. We considered this matter closed and are quite perplexed by this complaint filed 3 months after a full refund was issued. We believe this complaint should be removed from our record as invalid.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your customer rep said it was not credited. Please send me the verification it was. my credit card was not showing this as well.

Final Business Response
After careful examination of our records we discovered a technical issue that made it appear like the refund was processed for this customer in the past; however, while this refund was authorized in our system, it was never captured by the credit card processing company. We remedied this situation by manually re-processing this refund again. The customer should re-visit her bank statement and hopefully this time she will be satisfied to see her requested refund. We apologize for this misunderstanding.

11/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been purchasing the Amberen for menopause, since 06/2013- well then they came out with this new DIET Pill- Tried it, didn't work so I called to see how I could return- well you only have 30 days to return even though the Web says "money back guarantee" & since I was over my thirty days 50% refund. OK, whatever- so I return with tracking # - had to call after a month of them having it & ask about refund, well they needed my CC# to put it back on- OK, then I get a refund for one bottle returned- when I returned 2... I called again customer rep "*****" said shipping told them one bottle and the a packing slip from April 2014- I didn't return the wrong shipping slip... So I asked if we could pull the slip and she said no and I asked WHO else could help me and she said there is no one else--- WHAT??? So I thought I needed to do this, because WHO else are they treating like this, making up lies and not offering any help and getting all my product back.
Product_Or_Service: Amberin 3 Month Supply Novoslim
Order_Number: *********

Desired Settlement
I would like the rest of my refund, this is wrong. I sent in TWO(2) bottles and I positive I sent in the correct packing slip. And let the consumer know they aren't as awesome as their website leads you to believe

Business Response
Upon our close review of the customer's file, we have determined that this customer had more than one purchase order with our company and according to the documents in the file, the information retained by the company defers from the information provided in this complaint by the customer, in terms of the quantity of the returned product, accompanying packing slip etc. We're very disappointed that this customer had a negative experience with our company and we encourage this customer to call our Customer Care line at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and request to speak directly with the Customer Care Manager who is aware of this situation and is willing to sort out the discrepancies with the customer and reach the amicable resolution of this unfortunate dispute.

09/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was denied 50% off $49.99 they try to charge me $39.99 and then $29.99 which isn't half of $50.00 half of that is $25.00
I called Amberen, on Tuesday Feb the 5th at 11:25 CST my time reqesting to purchase the NOVOSLIM at 50%off a single bottle. the advertisment doesn't implement buying three bottles, the coupon code is DMENV, but on the advertisment it doesn't state that, the other 50% off for Amberen includes for an offerening for 50%off the 90day supply of the menopausal capsules. **** from customer service was trying to get me to pay $39.99 or $29.99 which isn't half of 50%

Desired Settlement
requesting for them to honor the advertisment of 50% off $49.99 of the (NOVOSLIM) and reprint the advertisment because this is not truthful advertisment and how many others have they falsed advertised too.

Business Response

We have investigated the issue at hand and examined the promotional materials that could possibly cause the confusion for the customer. The promotion in question is no longer in the running; however, we would like to state that we always strive to explain our offers clearly and unambiguously. Therefore, we apologize if some of the offers caused the confusion for this customer. We value our customers' feedback and encourage everyone to contact our Customer Care at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX with all future concerns.

I'll be sending you our corporate form for renewal shortly... Thank you!



***** **********

12/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased Amberen and had extreme side effects within a week of taking it. I called them and asked for a refund and they refused.
I tried Amberen and within one week I had dizziness, headaches, and what seem to be panic attacks. I stopped taking it and called to ask for a refund and the refused stating that my husband had purchased it in the past and the only allow one refund per household. It was purchased with a different credit card, a different person and a different address for the credit card. I did not get my money back. My symptoms were extreme and I had never had them before in my life. I do not take anything else so I know it had to be the amberen.I have since discarded the Amberen since they would not do a refund, but I think it is wrong what they are doing. I lost 87.00 and peace of mind for my health at the same time.

Desired Settlement
I would like my 87.00 credited back to my credit card.

Business Response
It is important to state that each purchase of Amberen comes with a free one month supply of product ($49.99 retail value); therefore, we have a strict policy "one refund per household" to prevent the abuse of our free product give-away. The policy is not "one refund per credit card" or "one refund per billing address" as argued by the ********. It is clear that this ******** already used Amberen in January and deemed it unsuitable for herself at that time. That's why the first time around we honored her refund request - no questions asked. This ******** admitted that the purchase in question was the SECOND purchase she was trying to return for a refund. That's why her request was denied this time. Her side effects explanation is irrelevant as this is a policy issue, not the product efficacy matter. We would only address the side effect issue briefly: Lunada Biomedical is a science-driven company: therefore, in evaluation of our product's safety and efficacy we don't rely on anecdotal statements such as "it had to be Amberen". Instead, we rely on several randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled human clinical trials, long-term clinical observational trials, and the product's comprehensive toxicology dossier. The side-effects reported by this ******** have never been recorded in any of the above-mentioned studies, so we would respectfully doubt "it had to be Amberen" statement due to the lack of scientific substantiation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Obviously the person responding to this has never had menopausal symptoms, if they had they would realize that women would do just about anything to relieve their symptoms, including giving a product a try more then once. Or, maybe they do know that. Maybe they should have something in place that does not allow it to be purchased more then once if this is the case.I can see that I am not going to get my money back as suspected, but my point has been made. It doesn't work and they do not care.

Final Business Response
The statement about one return per household is prominently displayed wherever our Terms and Conditions are listed. Namely, on our website (www.amberen.com/terms-and-conditions), on the back of each invoice mailed to customers along with their orders and in the e-mail order confirmations (if ******** provides e-mail address at the time of the purchase). In fact, this statement is so important for the company in order to prevent the free sample abuse, that it is literally the first and stand-alone, emphasized sentence of the "Refund Policy" section of the Terms.

As far as ********'s concern about the MSG, we would like to address this as follows:

1. First of all, we don't "fail" to inform public about neither MSG, nor any other ingredient in Amberen, because we dedicate the entire page on our website to the ingredients of our product. The page is unambiguously called "Ingredients" (http://www.amberen.com/ingredients) and it contains detailed description of each ingredient, including MSG. The back panel of the actual product box also lists ALL ingredients, including MSG.

2. Second, there is absolutely no reason to make any special warnings about MSG, as this ingredient has been fully investigated by several government authorities and independent research institutions and, as a result, determined by the Food and Drug Administration to be absolutely safe for human consumption in dosages much higher than contained in Amberen. In fact, this ingredient has a permanent place on the FDA's GRAS list (Generally Recognized As Safe) of ingredients commonly used in dietary supplements and foods.

Again, we are sorry the product didn't work for the ********, but there was absolutely no need to purchase it more than once in order to figure that out. Please note, that the ******** didn't have any complaints about the product and/or our handling of her first refund request following her initial purchase.

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered Amberon from Lunada Biomedical on June 2 2013, took the product as directed with no results. After 30 days, I called and talked to a nurse who encouraged me to keep trying the product but to take the 2 pills at different times of the day. This continued for 90 days, when my supply completely ran out and I still have no results, although I called in and talked to various nurses about every 2 weeks. I was always told to try something different, or to stop for one week and then to take the 2 pills again, etc. On September 3, I spoke to a nurse by the name of **** and he even said they would send me another 30-day supply and he wanted me to keep trying it but to take the 2 pills right after lunch. I did this but no results. So, today (10-15-13), I called and after talking to a nurse named Kathy, she had no other suggestions and I asked for a refund of my original purchase price. She said that since I didn't return any unused product within 30 days, I was not entitled to a refund. I explained that she and the other nurses were the ones who kept insisting I try the Amberon longer, or to try different things - otherwise I would have returned the product after the first 30 days. She said she had no control over the return process. I asked to speak to her supervisor and he said it was all my choice and the nurses were just trying to help. His name is Ben, agent #4918 (he wouldn't give me a last name.) I feel like I was misinformed by the nurses from the very beginning and I truly feel like I should get my $99.98 refunded (this does not include the $7.98 s/h.)
Product_Or_Service: Amberon

Desired Settlement
Refund of $99.98

Business Response
We are very sorry the product didn't work for this customer despite her trying different regiments. However, to forego the 30-day money back guarantee and to keep trying the product is never a decision of any nurse or a customer care representative - it is solely a choice of the customer herself and nobody can and/or should influence that decision. We make the terms of our 30-day money back guarantee very clear and easy to understand. In fact, those terms are reiterated to the customers numerous times throughout their shopping experience: on the web, on the phone, on the back of the invoice, in a follow up e-mail etc. Therefore, we believe that we adequately inform our customers so that they could make choices they are not going to regret later. It is true that the nurses will recommend different regiments and in many cases increasing the dosage or taking pills at a different time of day will result in much improved results. However, the nurses would only recommend, explain and inform, but the actual choice to keep trying beyond the guarantee window is always that of a customer herself. We examined our communications with this customer and did not detect any misguiding or misleading information that was provided to her. In fact, she e-mailed us after the first 30 days on 7/7/13 asking to return the product, to which we replied via e-mail on 7/9/13 and provided detailed return instructions, willing to accommodate the return. However, on 7/10/13 the customer e-mailed us again stating "I'm starting on the second box of Amberen". This is where the decision to keep trying the product was clearly made by the customer on her own and from that point on we simply accommodated her desire to try different approaches by providing advise over the numerous telephone consults.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vitamins & Food Supplements

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/13/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2006, CA

Business Management
Principal: Donna Kasseinova (CEO)
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Vitamins & Food Supplements

Alternate Business Names
Amberen, Potensa, Smart-C

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lunada Biomedical

6733 S Sepulveda Blvd #108

Los Angeles, CA 90045-1551

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6733 S Sepulveda Blvd #108 

    Los Angeles, CA 90045-1551(310) 568-1013

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lunada Biomedical is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Vitamins & Food Supplements

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

May 20, 2016 - Lunada Biomedical, Inc. and its three principals have settled Federal Trade Commission charges that they deceptively marketed Amberen, a dietary supplement, to women over 40 who are perimenopausal or menopausal, making a range of unsupported claims about its ability to help users lose weight and belly fat, and relieve menopause-related symptoms such as hot flashes and night sweats.
The proposed stipulated order bars the defendants from making unsubstantiated efficacy or health benefit claims for any dietary supplement, food, or drug, as well as other illegal conduct
The FTC filed its original complaint in May 2015 and an amended complaint in December 2015. The amended complaint alleges that the defendants made unsubstantiated claims that their dietary supplement, Amberen, causes substantial and sustained weight loss, loss of belly fat, and an increase in metabolism in women over 40 who are perimenopausal or menopausal, and false claims that Amberen is clinically proven to cause substantial and sustained weight loss in those women.
The Commission also alleged that the defendants made unsubstantiated claims that Amberen alleviates nearly every common symptom of menopause, including hot flashes, night sweats, sleep problems, fatigue, and irritability, and false claims that the product is clinically proven to provide these benefits.
The amended complaint further alleges that the defendants failed to disclose their relationship with certain consumer endorsers and falsely claimed consumer satisfaction and success rates of nearly 93 percent and that consumers could try Amberen "risk-free" for 30 days.
The proposed order settling the FTC's charges prohibits the defendants from: 1) claiming that any dietary supplement, food, or drug causes weight loss, sustained weight loss, or loss of belly fat; boosts metabolism; relieves hot flashes, night sweats, and other specific symptoms of menopause; or cures, mitigates, or treats any disease, unless they have human clinical testing that meets certain requirements and is sufficient to substantiate that the claims are true, 2) making any misleading or unsubstantiated claim about the health benefits or efficacy of any dietary supplement, food, or drug; 3) misrepresenting the results of any test of the product; 4) misrepresenting any material fact about the product or any material terms and conditions of any offer for it; and 5) failing to disclose any material connections (such as financial relationships) they have with endorsers. They also are subject to a $40 million judgment, all but $250,000 of which will be suspended based on their inability to pay.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.