BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/09/2008

Lunada Biomedical

Phone: (310) 568-1048

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
04/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I heard a radio advertisement for Amberen, a product that is to assist with menopausal issues such as hot flashes and nights sweats, two things I am plagued with since stopping hormone replacement therapy. Since the product had a 30-day money back guarantee I decided to give it a try and order the product. Per the instructions when 1 pill of each color taken day and night did not work, double the dose. Allow 2 to 3 weeks to allow the product to work. I have done this and am still plagued with night sweats and hot flashes. I called to obtain my money back and was informed that I could not return the product because it was opened. How am I supposed to try something if I don't open it?
Product_Or_Service: Amberen
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: None

Initial Business Response
We have spoken with this ******** and we found a solution that was satisfactory to the ********. This was a case of misunderstanding. The ******** misunderstood the dosage instructions, but she is now getting a qualified advise of one of our nurses and hopefully she will get the results she was looking for.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
12/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I purchased Amberen and had extreme side effects within a week of taking it. I called them and asked for a refund and they refused.
I tried Amberen and within one week I had dizziness, headaches, and what seem to be panic attacks. I stopped taking it and called to ask for a refund and the refused stating that my husband had purchased it in the past and the only allow one refund per household. It was purchased with a different credit card, a different person and a different address for the credit card. I did not get my money back. My symptoms were extreme and I had never had them before in my life. I do not take anything else so I know it had to be the amberen.I have since discarded the Amberen since they would not do a refund, but I think it is wrong what they are doing. I lost 87.00 and peace of mind for my health at the same time.

Initial Business Response
It is important to state that each purchase of Amberen comes with a free one month supply of product ($49.99 retail value); therefore, we have a strict policy "one refund per household" to prevent the abuse of our free product give-away. The policy is not "one refund per credit card" or "one refund per billing address" as argued by the ********. It is clear that this ******** already used Amberen in January and deemed it unsuitable for herself at that time. That's why the first time around we honored her refund request - no questions asked. This ******** admitted that the purchase in question was the SECOND purchase she was trying to return for a refund. That's why her request was denied this time. Her side effects explanation is irrelevant as this is a policy issue, not the product efficacy matter. We would only address the side effect issue briefly: Lunada Biomedical is a science-driven company: therefore, in evaluation of our product's safety and efficacy we don't rely on anecdotal statements such as "it had to be Amberen". Instead, we rely on several randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled human clinical trials, long-term clinical observational trials, and the product's comprehensive toxicology dossier. The side-effects reported by this ******** have never been recorded in any of the above-mentioned studies, so we would respectfully doubt "it had to be Amberen" statement due to the lack of scientific substantiation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Obviously the person responding to this has never had menopausal symptoms, if they had they would realize that women would do just about anything to relieve their symptoms, including giving a product a try more then once. Or, maybe they do know that. Maybe they should have something in place that does not allow it to be purchased more then once if this is the case.I can see that I am not going to get my money back as suspected, but my point has been made. It doesn't work and they do not care.

Final Business Response
The statement about one return per household is prominently displayed wherever our Terms and Conditions are listed. Namely, on our website (www.amberen.com/terms-and-conditions), on the back of each invoice mailed to customers along with their orders and in the e-mail order confirmations (if ******** provides e-mail address at the time of the purchase). In fact, this statement is so important for the company in order to prevent the free sample abuse, that it is literally the first and stand-alone, emphasized sentence of the "Refund Policy" section of the Terms.

As far as ********'s concern about the MSG, we would like to address this as follows:

1. First of all, we don't "fail" to inform public about neither MSG, nor any other ingredient in Amberen, because we dedicate the entire page on our website to the ingredients of our product. The page is unambiguously called "Ingredients" (http://www.amberen.com/ingredients) and it contains detailed description of each ingredient, including MSG. The back panel of the actual product box also lists ALL ingredients, including MSG.

2. Second, there is absolutely no reason to make any special warnings about MSG, as this ingredient has been fully investigated by several government authorities and independent research institutions and, as a result, determined by the Food and Drug Administration to be absolutely safe for human consumption in dosages much higher than contained in Amberen. In fact, this ingredient has a permanent place on the FDA's GRAS list (Generally Recognized As Safe) of ingredients commonly used in dietary supplements and foods.

Again, we are sorry the product didn't work for the ********, but there was absolutely no need to purchase it more than once in order to figure that out. Please note, that the ******** didn't have any complaints about the product and/or our handling of her first refund request following her initial purchase.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/05/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vitamins & Food Supplements

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.