BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/13/2011

Global Relocations, Inc.

(818) 772-6200View Additional Phone Numbers8824 Shirley Avenue #16, NorthridgeCA 91324

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/13/2011

BBB has determined that Global Relocations, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Global Relocations, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Global Relocations, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the inferior services provided resulted in damaged and lost items and a legal issue that is preventing me from covering my looses.
I make reference to the contract celebrated between myself ****** *** ******** ********** and Global Relocations, Inc represented by **** ********* to ship my household goods from West Covina California, USA to Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico. I hired their services trusting that they were a professional and reliable company that would guide me through the process of international relocation due to their expertise and knowledge. However, due to a series of irregularities, negligence and lack of professionalism I am forced to present this complaint to the better business bureau to seek compensation as follows:
1.- As per contract they agreed to provide professional labeling and inventory list and deliver all my belongings to ***** *** ******* since they stated in repeated occasions that their services were professional I expected my belongings to arrive complete and in good state to the destination. However, this was not the case, some items were missing and some had been damaged. Mr ********* gave a poor excuse stating that I had signed the list of items and that he was not liable for any damaged or missing items. If I hired their services was to have his expert crew to go through hundreds of items and record them appropriately in the list, otherwise I would have done it myself and saved thousands of dollars in fees. In addition Mr. *********'s company recommended an insurance company that they "have worked with and trust" in assured me that they would cover any missing or damaged items. After the shipment arrive to its destination a series of items were damaged or missing and since there are hundreds of items I explicitly told the company that Mr ********* hired to deliver the items to the destination that I had some some initial damage and missing items and that I would need a few days to find the extend of the damage and stolen items. The insurance company recommended by Mr. ********* refused to cover all damages and missing items mainly due to three reasons 1) they argue that because the shipment was inspected by customs that voided the policy 2) because some of the items were not appropriately packaged and 3) some items claimed were not originally listed. I request Mr ********* to cover the cost of all missing and stolen items due to professional negligence by not listing all the items in the inventory list and not packaging according to the insurance standards, nothing that Mr *********'s company recommended the insurance company and they should have packaged all items and listed all items in a professional manner to avoid this situation. In addition, I request Mr. ********* to send me legal proof that my shipment was indeed inspected by US and Mexican customs as I intend to file a tort claim for property damage or loss with the federal government. I understand that the federal government will also be contacting Global Relocations, Inc and the insurance company recommended by Mr. *********'s team for further details regarding the irregularities with my shipment.
2.- In addition I wish to highlight that as per contract I hired a 40" High Cube container to transport my belongings to Playa del Carmen and again due to a lack of professionalism where some items were not listed and Mr *********'s crew not calculating adequate space I was forced to pay for an additional 20"container. I am not a professional in the industry like this company claims to be, however, even I calculated that if their claims are true that all this additional space was needed a regular 40" container and a 20" container would have been sufficient for my shipment, however, I was still forced to pay for the 40" high cube container. In any case I am not agreeing to the last minute additional charges imposed and I request that Global Relocations, Inc compensates me for this in the form of returning the difference between the price of shipping a 40" container and a 40" HC container.

Desired Settlement
To cover the cost of all missing an stolen items an refund the price difference between a 40ft high cube container and a regular 40ft container used.

Business Response
***see attachment***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to Mr. *********'s statement:
In response to Mr. *********'s point 1) The self-evaluation of the services provided is biased and my rating was done at a time where no damaged and lost items and legal issues were present. Obviously I have changed my impression about the services rendered and there is legal evidence provided by the insurance provider recommended by Mr *********'s company that his company's services are not professional and have created a liability. Thus, I remain interested in the resolution cited in this case before proceeding to take legal action.

In response to Mr. *********'s point 2) I agree with the statement, however, it is evident that Mr. ********* did not understand the claim under this item. If you look at the dimensions of the containers and the space used by the items shipped, it is evident that a 40 ft regular container plus a 20 ft container would have been sufficient, instead Mr ********* chose to keep a high cube 40 ft container and add a 20 ft container which resulted in hiring extra space that was not needed and incurring in additional expenses for which I want a refund. Again if items were professionally packed as he claims the insurance company that he recommended would not have had declined to cover the items as expressed in letter they sent to us some items were not professionally packed.

In response to Mr. *********'s point 3) I am not sure about the relevance of this point but I wish to state that it is impossible to check in detail hundreds of items and as I expressed to the delivery service in Playa del Carmen some items were missing and I would need more detail to unpack and review every single item and that was agreed.
In response to Mr. *********'s point 4) I will file a claim with the federal government quoting the text provided under this item.
In response to Mr. *********'s point 5) I am not sure what the purpose of this point is.

In response to Mr. *********'s point 6) As previously said the insurance company claims that some items are not covered because they were not professionally packaged.


Final Business Response
***see attachment***

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel & Moving Services, Moving Supplies, Movers, Aircraft Ferrying & Transporting Service, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
Business started: 04/22/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2010, CA

Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Travel & Moving Services, Moving Supplies, Movers, Aircraft Ferrying & Transporting Service, Moving & Storage Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Global Relocations, Inc.

8824 Shirley Avenue #16

Northridge, CA 91324

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8824 Shirley Avenue #16 

    Northridge, CA 91324(818) 772-6200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Global Relocations, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (818) 433-6185
  • (818) 478-9247
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Travel & Moving Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.