BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Archer Travel Service, Inc.

(818) 248-1511View Additional Phone Numbers4148 Ocean View Blvd., MontroseCA 91020http://www.archertravel.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Archer Travel Service, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Archer Travel Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated requests for travel service have been ignored, despite membership in GPS, a company run by Archer Travel. Efforts to get a refund have failed
On 2/20/13, my wife and I attended a presentation by Global Personal Services (GPS), a travel company that is owned and operated by Archer Travel Service of Montrose, CA. We were impressed with the presentation, and - since we travel a lot - decided to join GPS. We paid a $1,000 membership fee and agreed to a monthly charge of $24.95, commencing March 20, 2013.

I called customer service a day or two later after joining GPS to ask about quotes for a hoel on the Oregon Coast. Nodoby returned my call. Is ent an email requesting the same information. Nobody responded. I sent anemail to the person who signed us up for membership. No response was forthcoming.

My daughter, who is also eligible for the supposed discount prices, is planning an overseas trip this summer. I tried to contact GPS and, once again, no response at all. When I called one day, I actually got to speak with someone - ***** ***** - who mentioned that she was brought in by *** ****** to fix the customer service issues that plagued GPS. She was pleasant, but offered no discount prices for my daughter, who did better through using Expedia online.

I wrote to Mr. ****** on March 28, 2013, outlining my complaints and requesting an immediate refund of $1,024.95 (membership fee + the March 20 electronic deduction from my checking account). Similar to the so-called "service" provided by GPS, there was no response. I have sent several emails, in addition to the letter of March 28,requesting a refund. I have received no response.

It was a mistake to join, I will acknowledge that. I actually took the word of paid shills that GPS was reputable and knew what they were doing. I shouldn't have to suffer because GPS and Archer Travel Service don't have their acts together. That is not what I paid for.

I am willing to compromise and take a reduced settlement, as my complaint is legitimate and Archer Travel Service should be held accountable.

I am a retired senior citizen and the money is important to me and my wife. I have asked Mr. ****** "to do the right thing" in all of my correspondences. He obviously won't do that on his own. He will, however, if the BBB does the right thing and demands that he refund all or part of the money we have spent, for which we have received only grief and broken promises.

Desired Settlement
Since we have been members in the seemingly non-existent entity for a very short period of time, the refund should, in my opinion, represent about 75 - 80% of the $1,024.95 claim. A refund of $750 - $800 would seem equitable.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
Business started: 02/22/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Archer Travel, Archer Travel Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Archer Travel Service, Inc.

4148 Ocean View Blvd.

Montrose, CA 91020

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4148 Ocean View Blvd. 

    Montrose, CA 91020

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Archer Travel Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 272-4377
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Travel Agencies & Bureaus

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.