BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1970

YMT Vacations

Find a Location

(310) 649-3820View Additional Phone Numbers100 N Sepulveda Blvd #1700, El SegundoCA 90245-5662

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers vacation packages.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1970

BBB has determined that YMT Vacations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on YMT Vacations

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
04/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My reservations are wrong. I reported it on Monday, March 21. I have called many times since. No one will return calls or explain what is going on.
Last fall I replaced another lady and took her reservation. She could not go. I joined a group that was already formed. However, when the details arrived I was not with the group and am supposed to leave from an airport no nearby. I immediately called. I was told that they would look into it and call me back. I have called many times since -- the last call being last Thursday. If I leave a message, no one returns the call. If we reach anyone, they just say they are working on it. Meanwhile, I am extremely nervous and upset to the point of being physically sick.

Desired Settlement
Information and contact even if there is no resolution.

Business Response

Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to respond to our guest's concerns. When preparing for travel, we understand how important it is to provide our guests with the most recent and up-to-date travel information, and sincerely apologize for the discrepancies on the guest's Reservation Confirmation. Upon learning of the error to the guest's departure city, our Air Department re-issued new tickets for the guest and again expressed our apology.

Furthermore, the concerns shared by the guest regarding the lack of follow up were particularly upsetting and not representative of a typical YMT Vacations experience. This is clearly not the way we would have wanted for the guest's pre-departure experience to have been and truly regret the impact this has had on the guest's overall booking experience. Rest assured, we have taken specific measures to ensure that a similar situation does not occur and appreciate the guest's direct and actionable feedback.

In an effort to make things right, we have arranged for a refund of $100 to be issued back to the guest, in addition to a $100 future travel credit as a gesture of goodwill.

We appreciate the BBB for its assistance in bringing a resolution to this to matter, and to the guest for their continued patience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Rep said accommodations for trip were Embassy Suites and DoubleTree Inns. After 7 day cancellation we were told we were staying I. holiday Inns
Phone rep assured us we would be staying in Embassy Suites and DoubleTree Inns so we gave her our $400 deposit. After 7 day cancellation expired we received a brochure via mail with the trip listing Holiday Inns for the accommodations. We asked for deposit refund but were denied because of 7 day cancellation policy. We booked trip on May 5,2015 for travel in Sept 2015. We attempted to cancell as soon as we learned of switch in accommodations. Deposit is on Citicard/MasterCard who says it isn't bsit and switch but quality of service. YMT vacations is providing a place to stay. We would never have booked trip if we were told we were staying in Holiday Inns. We feel our deposit should be returned . We cancelled trip immediately upon finding out from YMT that we were given false information regarding the trip

Desired Settlement
Refund of our $400 deposit

Business Response
On May 5, 2015 the aforementioned guests contacted YMT and booked the September 18, 2015 Autumn Leaves Tours and placed a $400 non-refundable deposit. The brochure that the guest received prior to booking noted YMT's non-refundable deposit policy as well as the initial reservation confirmation received by the guest after the deposit was placed. On May 7, 2015 a second deposit notice and passport ************ form were sent to the guest which also stated in writing that the deposits were non-refundable. Moreover, the initial reservation form further stated in the terms and conditions that YMT YOUR MAN TOURS, INC. reserves the right to substitute the Hotels for others in similar categories, or to alter the itinerary provided it remains similar in effect or to substitute aircraft if compelled by circumstances beyond the control of YOUR MAN TOURS, INC.

On May 19, 2015 the aforementioned guest contacted YMT to discuss the accommodations and requested to cancel the reservation and asked that the $400 deposit be returned based on the quality of accommodations. Because the written literature provided to the guest states that hotels may be replaced with hotels of equal value, and that deposits were non-refundable, the guests request for a full refund was respectfully declined.

On May 22, YMT received a chargeback for the $400 deposit on file from the guest's credit card company. YMT supplied the client's credit card company with the aforementioned details and the guest's credit card company ruled to return the $400 back to YMT based on the events that have been outlined above. At no time was false information provided to the guest as all the written material they received prior to booking the trip and after the reservation was secured, noted that the hotels could be substituted for one of equal value. Nevertheless, as a gesture of goodwill, YMT will issue a partial refund of $200.00 to the guest. Given the aforementioned extension of customer service that is already outside of company policy, we feel that this matter has already been fairly and appropriately addressed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not know of any traveller that considers Holiday Inn to be anywhere near comparable to Embassy Suites or DoubleTree Inns. The YMT rep said comparable hotels may be used but again, Holiday Inn is in no way comparable to Embassy Suites or DoubleTree Inns. I have stayed in all three of these hotels and the difference is incredible. Again, I feel it is a deceptive practice for a travel company representative to promise Embassy Suites and Doubletree Inns and after receiving a deposit ambiogusly inform the customer the accommodations are far below the standard of the promised hotels. Most reputable travel companies would be happy to refund the deposit to create good will. I still feel YMT's practices are deceptive and I should receive a full refund. If YMT is using Holiday Inn for their hotels of choice they should be upfront and inform the customer. Obviously, the YMT rep knew we would be staying in Holiday Inns since the brochure was all ready printed. We just didn't have one.

Final Business Response
We appreciate the guest taking the time to share their additional feedback with us. As noted in the written documentation provided to all of our guests, hotels may be replaced with other hotels of equal value. Furthermore, print collateral (such as brochures and flyers) state the name of the proposed hotel along with the disclosure that the property may change (i.e. Embassy Suites or Similar). Although the aforementioned details along with YMT's non-refundable deposit policy were properly disclosed to the guest, we will amend our offer and issue a full deposit refund of $400 as requested by the consumer as a good will gesture.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will receive the full refund I requested

10/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Refusing to refund all or part of my deposit that has not been used for there services.
My friend and I signed up for there Southwest tour. In order to secure a place on the tour we had to pay in full the price of the tour. The price was 4212.00 dollars. We booked the tour on 6/19/2015.
Then my friend and I broke up, totally unexpected. Our differences are erectable.
I know YMT'S policy is not to refund the money, but by the same way most of that money is not going to be used for the purpose it was intended for. We were required to deposit all the money three months in advance.
I am not asking for a full refund,but in good faith I feel that a good part of the money should be returned.

**** ****** & **** ***********
Reservation # EXXXXX
Booking date: 6/15/2015
tour date: 9/29/2015
Tour code: *******
Consultant: ***** ******

Desired Settlement
Refund of some of my deposit.

Business Response
On June 16, 2015 the aforementioned guest contacted YMT and placed a $400 non-refundable deposit for the September 29, 2015 Southwestern and Balloon Fiesta Tour. On June 27, 2015 the guest called YMT and paid the remaining balance of $3812.00 as final payments are due 90 days prior to departure. Prior to paying the initial deposit, the guest was informed about YMT's non-refundable deposit policy and this information was also provided to the guest in writing with the reservation confirmation form, along with the terms and conditions of YMT's Tour and Air Protection Plans.

On August 14, 2015 the guest contacted YMT and informed our office of his intent to cancel the aforementioned booking. Because the reason for the cancellation was not covered under the Tour Protection Plan offered by YMT, the guest was informed that no reimbursement would be issued if the account was cancelled. In an effort to minimize the potential loss of the non-refundable funds, the guest was encouraged to have at least one member in their party continue on with the tour since the reservation was paid in full and no refund would be issued for the unused services. This offer was declined by the guest and on August 19th, 2015 the guest submitted an email to YMT vacations which acknowledged his understanding of YMT's cancellation policy and furthermore, that no refund would be issued by YMT to the guest as a result of the cancellation. Pursuant to the guest's request, the aforementioned reservation was cancelled.

Although YMT cannot provide the guest with a refund as the reason for cancellation is not covered under the Tour Protection Plan, a refund of the $400 deposit will be issued back to the credit card holder as a gesture of goodwill. Given the extension of customer service that is already beyond company policy, we feel that this matter has already been fairly and appropriately addressed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I paid 3076.00 for a September tour bought insurancenever recieved the policy or informed of its contents..had to cancel trip
I bought the trip April 10 2015 and bought insurance. never received the product I boughtwhich was the written policy..I had to cancel the trip..they wont refund my money stating its company policy.really where is that written at... I have to be dead or get a physicians statement. They said they sent me the policy in January really I didn't sign and pay for the trip till AprilMy seat/room for trip has been replaced by two travelers and they are making more money now than if I went. Kathy Korber my travel agent can verify they did not buy me a ticket for this trip on the plane...she will also verify i never recieved the insurance is illegal to take consumers money and not provide the service or product bought.Trip was cancelled july 6thno arrangements had been made by your man tours at that time.

Desired Settlement
I want the refund that is due be fair I paid 3076.00...I was informed that the first 200.00 was not refundable..and of course the insurance of 128.00 -(I Believe)... REFUND DUE IS: 2,748.00...

Business Response
As part of YMT's standard process, travel protection details are routinely supplied during the booking process and with the subsequent reservation confirmation documents that are issued to our guests.

When travel protection is purchased and an unexpected covered issue comes up, guests are simply required to fill out a short form to initiate the refund process. As a matter of good faith and customer service, YMT has processed the guest's claim and issued a refund on July 28, 2015 for $2,748.00 as per the guest's request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have received a refund and am very satisfied. Thank you

07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

because of a death in my immediate family I cancelled trip. ymt refuses to offer a replacement trip.

I ***** ******* and my wife bought a trip through ymt vacations scheduled to leave on april 26,2014.the name of the trip was 24 DAY TRANSATLANTIC AND MEDITERRANEAN CRUISE. as destiny would have it my mom passed **** on the very same day we were supposed to leave for said trip.the total cost of the trip was $8116.00.I notified YMT that I could not make the trip for the reason stated above.I asked YMT for a replacement trip and they notified me that all they could do was to give me a $500 credit for each, my wife and I.The # of the reservation was TXXXXX and the code # was ecn2401.on 09/19/2013 I sent in a check #4114 totaling $400 and check #4158 sent in on 01/27/2014 totaling $7516 plus another check whose # I don't have handy to complete the monies for the trip.for the records my wife's name is ***** ********** feel YMY VACATIONS is being unfair and that they should at least offer my wife and I a replacement trip.This would have been a trip of a lifetime for us.I had just recently retired from the department of corrections and was really looking forward to this.

Desired Settlement
All we are seeking is a replacement trip that would be comparable in scope.Thank you very much.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us regarding Mr. *******' aforementioned complaint.

On August 29, 2013 our office received written notification from Mr. ******* asking to have YMT's Tour and Air Protection Plans removed from their reservation. The protection plans were subsequently removed from the guests' account and on October 17, 2013 YMT revised Mr. *******' tour to the April 26, 2014 Transatlantic Cruise & Italy Tour per the guest's request.

On April 25, 2014 our office was contacted by Mr. ******* to inform us that they would be unable to participate in the tour due to a medical emergency with the guest's mother. It was at this time that our agent informed Mr. ******* that we would regrettably be unable to provide a refund since the Tour and Air Protection Plans were declined by the guest.

As a gesture of goodwill, Mr. ******* was initially offered a future travel credit of $500 per person. This matter is still under review by our office as we need to determine the amount of penalty fees YMT incurred by our vendors as a result of the cancellation. We are grateful for Mr. *******' patronage and value our relationship with the guest. We hope to work with Mr. ******* directly to reach a suitable resolution for all parties involved.

We have reached out to Mr. ******* and look forward to speaking with him directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

wish ymt to stop sending ads to our home
worst trip we ever took was ymt fall folage tour. therefore we wish not to have any of their brochures. have called numerous times to stop but they keep on coming. dont need reminders of poor service and poor trip.

Desired Settlement
stop sending brochures.

Business Response
We apologize for the inconvenience caused to the guests regarding their request to suspend all future mailings from YMT. Our Marketing team has confirmed that both the guest's mailing address and email address have been removed from YMT's mailing list as of August 19, 2014.

10/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tours - Operators & Promoters, Tourist Information

Additional Information

Business started: 01/01/1967
Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2006, DE

Business Management
Principal: Noreen Soomro (Guest Relations Coordinator)
Contact Information
James Gallas (CFO) Marco Jahn (VP of Guest Experience)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters, Tourist Information

Service Area

This business's service area is nationwide.

Alternate Business Names
Your Man Tours, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

YMT Vacations has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for YMT Vacations

100 N Sepulveda Blvd #1700

El Segundo, CA 90245-5662

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*YMT Vacations is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 979-4310

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Tours - Operators & Promoters


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.