BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Montana Capital

(818) 322-339312116 Sherman Way, North HollywoodCA 91605-5501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Our goal is helping consumers and small businesses overcome challenging times. We offer car title loans in Los Angeles, to both good and bad credit applicants, using the customer's car as collateral for the loan but allowing him to keep driving it.

BBB Accreditation

Montana Capital is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Montana Capital

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Completely inept in assisting in resolving online access to my account.
I was told the day I came in and did all the paperwork that I would be able to make my payments online. I made multiple attempts to login. Still not working. Their "customer service" told me "we e-mailed you a reset link". I didn't receive them. ANY of them. I checked my Spam and Junk e-mail folders. I was on the phone with Apple AND Time Warner Cable for over 2 hours. They're not seeing any problems on my end. I finally had to walk into a Bank of America, stand in line for 25 minutes and make the payment in cash.

I reached out to Montana Capital again to try to set up online access to my account for future payments. The representative told me "You're having problems because our website doesn't work with Macs. Only Windows computers".


Just to illustrate my point, I actually have a Windows computer. He gave me the link to manually go in and register. When I went to the website, a page came up warning me the security certificate of this website seemed "fraudulent". Nonetheless, I proceeded and was taken to a page that says:

"This domain is not currently in use. To sigh up for AutoPal Software and start using this domain, call 888.725.4495. If you are an existing AutoPal customer and you would like to use this domain, contact your account manager".

The customer service rep told me what the others had told me:

"We'll be happy to take your payment over the phone".

Seriously? This gets shadier by the minute. I'm going to give these people a bank card number over the phone?


I asked if I could come into their office and register my online account right there with them. The rep said "In-office visits are only for customers signing up for new loans".


Desired Settlement
Successful registration/access to allow me to make my payments online.

Business Response
We would like to extend our apologies that our service did not satisfy you as you expected.
At Montana Capital we strive to make sure that we provide the highest quality of service and we make every attempt in order to assist our customers with their financial needs.
After reading your complaint we took our time to investigate into what went wrong in order to ensure that this does not happen again.
Our loan managing software, AutoPal Software, is a leading program used across the industry by top companies and we can assure you that their website is absolutely secured. It is possible that the link the customer representative provided to you was expired, and we do apologize for that mistake on our behalf.
Accepting payments by phone is a widely accepted method used by banks, lenders, and many other finance companies.
As the customer representative told you over the phone, we do not accept in-office visits for making payments. You can look through our Methods of Payments document, which was provided to you when you first got the loan, and see that in fact this method is not an option.
Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused and we assure you that we will continue to look for additional payment methods which will enable our customers to pay quickly and easily.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not ask to come into the office to make a payment. I asked if I could come into the office to set up my account for online access so I could make my payments online. I was told explicitly that I could make my payments ONLINE!!!! I was not told there was only one option to make my payments (by phone). I don't know if the links sent me expired...BECAUSE I NEVER RECEIVED THE E-MAILS SENT TO ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Your response reveals the truth:

"Accepting payments by phone is a widely accepted method used by banks, lenders, and many other finance companies."

I'm not sure what world you live in, but not everyone is comfortable giving a credit card/debit card/checking account number to someone over the phone. Worse yet, your actions and response shows you will only accept payments over the phone. That's odd, in addition to telling me to my face that I could pay online, one of the few e-mails I actually received from you states the following:

"Your monthly payment of $XXX.XXX is due on XX/XX/2016. Please arrange your payment no later than the above date. You can also make your payment on our website"

You either can't or won't fix this problem.

Final Business Response
Accepting payments by phone is only one of our methods in order to make a payment, and nowhere did we indicate that it was the only one.
Also, we would like to apologize again that you did not receive our e-mails but after checking we can assure you that these were sent out multiple times, from different accounts, to the address you provided. While we guarantee you that accepting payments by phone is a completely safe payment method, we respect the fact that you do not feel comfortable giving your information over the phone.
Since we do want to fix this issue and assist you in making a payment easily, we would like to invite you to come to our main office in North Hollywood so we can personally help you set up the online payments. We have been trying to reach you over the past few days but have been unsuccessful. Please call or e-mail us so we can schedule a convenient time.

We thank you for choosing Montana Capital for your loan. We are confident that we can solve this matter to your satisfaction.

08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

During my car title loan they registered my Car incorrectly and are now having me pay to remedy the situation / Signed contract under duress

I got a Car Title loan with them out of desperation - and they re-registered my car to CA incorrectly.

They also paid the DMV hundreds of dollars in excess through my loan which I am paying interest on but cannot get back. Montana Capitol told me the DMV would give me a breakdown of costs and refund any extra monies paid - this was false. The money is gone even if it was extra funds, and it is $110 dollars to fix my registration, which Montana Capitol is refusing to pay.

They also had me sign my contract in duress - they installed lo-jack on my car then had me wait in the office for 4 hours for their internet. I missed the opportunity to get a loan anywhere else that business day and had to sign as I needed money same day.

This company is full of scams - and their car title loan rates are confusingly high

Desired Settlement
I want my loan cancelled and my lo jack removed - I will payback my principle but I want my interest and all Car Registration fees subtracted from this total

Business Response
Our company is a Finance Lender licensed by the CA DOB. Our title loans are for emergency situations only and we always advise our customers both in writing and verbally regarding our high interest loans. We also recommend that the customer should exhaust all other potential forms of financing before taking a car title loan from us. As this is a high interest loan, most of our customer payoff the loan in a matter of few months, and we do not charge any prepaid penalties.
Regarding Mr. ****'s claims:
1) On the day that Mr. **** came to our office for his loan, we had severe internet and phone problems, due to those problems the process lasted more time than usual; in addition we had to register Mr. ****' vehicle in CA due to the fact that he had an out-of state plate & the CA DMV requires that all title loans in CA must be applied to vehicles registered in CA. This registration process by itself is time consuming process thus the overall time spent in our office had increased.
We asked Mr. **** a few times if he would rather come back the next day to complete the process but he said that it's fine and he would prefer to get the loan on the same day no matter how long it takes.
2) The registration process with the DMV: as mentioned above, Mr. ****'s vehicle was not registered in CA; we had explained to Mr. **** the necessity of registering the vehicle in CA as a part of obtaining a title loan and he agreed. All fees that are deducted during any registration process are paid directly to the CA DMV. The amount and type of fees are determined explicitly by the DMV and they are based also on the information that the client provides in writing. Once Mr. **** called us to inquire about the fees, we printed the breakdown of fees and sent it to him via email. We advised him to double check those fees with the DMV, due to the fact that the DMV is the authority which determines the amount of fees. Therefore in case of a mistake they can issue a credit.

3) Signing the contract in duress: Mr. **** had been provided with a full explanation of the whole loan process including the registration by our loan officer. The explanation was both in writing and verbal and we verified that Mr. **** understand all the aspects and terms of his loan contract. As mentioned above, we asked Mr. ****'s permission to continue with the process and pointed out that it will take longer than usual. Thus he was fully aware to the fact that he will spend more time in the office.

Mr. **** called our office around the beginning of July with his complaints; we explained all of the above to him, and advised him to double check with the DMV regarding the issue with the fees. Mr. **** paid-off his loan on July 3, 2014 in our office.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1) They assured me the internet difficulties would be right back up - they did not suggest I go somewhere else until about 2.5 hours into the ordeal AFTER the tracker had been put on my car. The man that installed the tracker had left, so I was told it would probably be just as long for him to come back and take it off as to just wait out the internet problems. Also - their phones were working, the whole time I was waiting they were taking sales calls on two different lines and in contact with the man that came and installed the tracker on my car.

2) I took the printed sheet of fees to the DMV and they are the ones that told me I over paid for registration. There is incorrect information about my car on this sheet as well, which contributed to the extra fees (wrong year of car, purchase year). This extra money is gone due to Montana Capitol's negligence - it was my money they were spending at the DMV, so they did not care to take the time to double check that they were not overpaying.

3) Duress was a poor choice of words - I should have said high pressure sales tactics. Like I mentioned, they did not advise me to go somewhere else like they stated until 4:30 or 5pm and they knew I needed check same day. They also already had the tracker on my car so they would not let me leave when I did mention wanting to leave and go somewhere else. Anytime I mentioned trying to leave they assured me they could get me finished quickly.

I did double check with the DMV, twice. Once before I got the printout from them because I had to go change the typos Montana Capitol put in my registration, and again after they sent me their price breakdown. The second trip just reaffirmed the first - their negligence was the cause for all my extra fees, and for the $110 to re-register my vehicle to my correct address.

Final Business Response
1) As we mentioned before, on that day we had severe Internet and phone problems, which is what caused the delay in processing the loan. Due to the fact that we did not have internet connection, we could not communicate with the DMV system nor verify additional on-line data which is part of the funding process; those severe problems were solved only one day after Mr. ****'s visit to our office. In regard to the tracker installation - we have never told Mr. **** that we are unable to remove the device, nor told him that it would take time. We have had cases in the past in which a client decided not to take a loan or he/she could not wait long in the office and we called back the installer and had him remove the device. We had advised Mr. **** to do the same more than once, but he kept telling us "that's fine I do need the money today therefore I can wait"

2) As mentioned before, processing a DMV registration is based only upon the information that the client provides in writing, by filling out a DMV form. Based upon Mr. ****'s data we had process his registration. It might be possible that Mr. **** had not understand all of the DMV questions and provided incorrect information or he might had done a typo error which we copied, but the final amount paid to the DMV was calculated by the DMV system and we have no way of overwriting their decision.

3) We fund thousands of loans each year, and we never use any "pressure sale tactics" - there is no need for us to push an applicant to take a loan and later on have him/her not be satisfied. Should we have used any "pressure tactic" we wouldn't have asked Mr. **** a couple of times if he rather prefer canceling the process and returning on another day..

Mr. **** has paid-off his loan and the tracker has been removed from his vehicle; at the time of the payoff process Mr. **** was polite and he had not mentioned any dissatisfaction or other complain regarding the service provided.
We do not think that going back and forth with accusations and counter replies would benefit any of the parties. We actually wonder what it is that Mr. **** wants; if his concern is regarding the excess fees that he claims that were collected by the DMV, we would be happy to try and settle it with him in our office

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Title Loans, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Additional Information

Business started: 12/19/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 2005, CA

Business Management
Principal: Yochay Eliaz (General Manager)
Contact Information
Eyal Adler (CFO)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Title Loans, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Products & Services

We provide car title loans, personal financing and bad credit loans. We also provide our customers with DMV services such as vehicle registration renewal, driver license / identification card renewal, change of address and payments of DMV fees.

Alternate Business Names
Simple Cash Loans, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Montana Capital

12116 Sherman Way

North Hollywood, CA 91605-5501

To | From


1 Locations

  • 12116 Sherman Way 

    North Hollywood, CA 91605-5501

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Montana Capital is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Title Loans


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.