BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ticketmaster Corporation (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(800) 653-8000View Additional Phone Numbers9348 Civic Center Dr, Beverly HillsCA 90210-3624http://www.ticketmaster.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computerized ticketing sales and service through telephone sales and a network of retail ticket centers.

BBB Accreditation

Ticketmaster Corporation is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

874 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 283 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues217
Billing / Collection Issues46
Delivery Issues63
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service542
Total Closed Complaints 874

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ticketmaster Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 9 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (874)
05/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the ticketmaster website searches for tickets improperly and displays available ticket results improperly as well. Total bait-and-switch.
Back on March 10th I purchased presale tickets online to the Cure in St. Paul for June 7th. Not only did the website incorrectly display results for the incorrect level pricing versus what I had selected online the but it also showed much worse results than what was actually available. In other words, I feel they used a bait-and-switch tactic to create false urgency and the false appearance that more people were buying the tickets and putting them on hold than what was actually happening and occurring at the time. I've been trying to reach the business and the hold times to reach anyone have been outrageous. I would like a full refund of all of my tickets for face value except for the two pairs I purchased in section 109 (total of 4 tickets) or I will be looking into any and all legal recourse I have available to me.

Desired Settlement
Back on March 10th I purchased presale tickets online to the Cure in St. Paul for June 7th. Not only did the website incorrectly display results for the incorrect level pricing versus what I had selected online the but it also showed much worse results than what was actually available. In other words, I feel they used a bait-and-switch tactic to create false urgency and the false appearance that more people were buying the tickets and putting them on hold than what was actually happening and occurring at the time. I've been trying to reach the business and the hold times to reach anyone have been outrageous. I would like a full refund of all of my tickets for face value except for the two pairs I purchased in section 109 (total of 4 tickets) or I will be looking into any and all legal recourse I have available to me.

Business Response
Dear Mr. *******:
I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns regarding this matter. As a service oriented company, the satisfaction of our customer is always our utmost concern.
As you will recall your concern relates to your purchase of tickets for The Cure scheduled at Xcell Energy Center on Tuesday, June 7, 2016. I am truly sorry that you are not happy with your purchase but what you might not realize is that Ticketmaster distributes tickets for live entertainment events to the general public as an agent on behalf of Ticketmaster's clients, who are venues, promoters, entertainers and sports franchises. Each and every ticket our clients entrust us to distribute is made available for sale in strict compliance with their instructions. Ticketmaster does not determine the number of tickets available for any event, nor does it determine the pricing of the tickets that are available. The pricing and availability of tickets is determined by those with the responsibility of presenting the event such as the artist, the event promoter, and/or the venue.
Ticketmaster does whatever it can to make the ticket purchase process as fair, efficient, and user-friendly as possible. You completed this transaction online at Ticketmaster.com, you acted as your own agent without any assistance from Ticketmaster. In multiple places during the purchase you were informed of the event name, date, time and price. Additionally, an email confirmation was sent to the address that you provided at the time of purchase. The price you paid per ticket was agreed upon at the time of sale with the understanding that there are no refunds, exchanges or cancellations. Our Purchase Policy, subcategory Refunds and Exchanges, clearly states before purchasing tickets you carefully review your event and seat selection. Policies set forth by our clients, including venues, teams and theaters may prohibit Ticketmaster from issuing exchanges or refunds after a ticket has been purchased. Once an order is complete, all sales are final and there are no refunds, exchanges or cancellations.
I hope we can better serve you in the future. Thank you for the opportunity to respond and address your concerns.
Sincerely,

*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It says you can have a refund within 72 hours of purchase which I requested.

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. *******: As we discussed a refund for two orders has been processed. Please confirm with your issuing bank. You have my contact information for further questions or concerns. It was very nice speaking with you and I hope that you'll allow us to more favorably assist you with future Ticketmaster purchases. Sincerely, *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you!

03/01/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On January 8, 2016 we purchased tickets to Def Leppard in San Antonio for the Feb 2, 2016 show. The purchase was for (7) tickets for $495.32. The night before the show, we were notified that the show would be postponed. On Feb 2, 8:42 PM, my wife sent an email to Ticketmaster at (****************@ticketmaster.com) requesting that the money be refunded to our account. They never responded. On 2/9/16, I called and spoke with a Customer Service rep who told me he would start the process of refunding my money, but he would have to put me on hold. After waiting for 16 minutes I hung up. I tried calling back 4 times but only got a busy signal.On 2/17/16, I called back and a recording told me that I could get a refund by pressing a request refund button once I logged in to our account- I could find no such button.Later, on 2/17/16 I tried filling out a form on their website to receive a refund but never was able to submit the form.At 11 AM on 2/17/16 I called the Ticket Master CS number, after waiting 6 minutes, ********* came on the line to tell me that I needed CS, she put me on hold. After several more minutes I finally got to speak with *********** She said they would not refund my money. I asked for a supervisor so she put me on hold and at 11:40 AM I started speaking to *********** ****** told me that he would NOT refund my money and my only option was to go to the TicketMaster website and try to sell my tickets to another fan. ****** ended up hanging up on me.As of this writing (Feb. 17) there is no new date for the "postponed" show. I asked him if he thought anyone would be willing to pay $495.32 for tickets to a show that had no date, he said, "No." I told him that I am not a ticket reseller...that that's what TicketMaster does and he said that he would not refund my money because I had actually purchased the tickets from another fan. I have a credit card statement that reads: Ticketmaster XXX-XXX-XXXX $495.32.I would like my $495.32 refunded to my account.
Product_Or_Service: Concert
Order_Number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-
Account_Number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-

Desired Settlement
Since I paid for tickets to an event that never happened, I would like my $495.32 refunded to my account.

Business Response
Dear Mr. ********:
I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. Ticketmaster regrets any inconvenience you may have experienced in connection with your recent ticketing experience and thanks you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

As you will recall you requested a refund on tickets for Def Leppard scheduled at the AT&T Center. As this event is now canceled a refund for your TM+ re-sale tickets in the amount of $495.32 has been processed. Please allow 7-10 business days for this amount to show as a credit.

I hope Ticketmaster will be able to more favorably assist you with future event purchases.
Sincerely,
*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept their response once my refund has been received.
******* ********

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. ********: Def Leppard scheduled at AT&T Center that has been canceled. A refund in the amount of $495.32 has been processed to the credit card used at purchase. Please confirm with your issuing bank. Thank you *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/26/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sold Monster energy outbreak Fetty Wap tickets for 55.00 a piece and still have not received a refun. I feel like I'm getting a runaround again.
As stated above.. I work hard for my money and feel like I'm getting robbed of that money. I know ticketmaster tries to help everyone involved with sales, but I'm getting tired of waiting.

Desired Settlement
55.00 * 2 = 110.00 deposited/refunded into my debit card account

Business Response
Dear Mr. *****:
I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. Ticketmaster regrets any inconvenience you may have experienced in connection with your recent ticketing experience and thanks you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

As you will recall, you wrote concerning payment for Monster Energy Outbreak Tour Presents: Fetty Wap Welcome To The Zoo tickets that sold on TM+. I am sorry to hear you are having trouble with your re-sale payment. Please be aware that payments are posted within 7-10 business days after tickets are sold and once the account has been confirmed. Our records indicate that your payment was received by the bank on February 24, 2016 but at this time we have not received confirmation that the money was accepted. Please check with your issuing bank to confirm receipt of the funds.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond and address your concerns.
Sincerely,
*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The money has been refunded and my bank agrees that the funds have been accepted. Thank you.

12/18/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wheelchair accessible ticket listing advertised as "1 + 1 companion" but actually did not include companion seat.
On 12/10/15, I used Ticketmaster to purchase what I thought was a wheelchair seat and a companion seat to a Golden Gate Warriors basketball game to be played on 12/25/15, as a Christmas gift for my father (who is a paraplegic) and my mother. The ticket advertisement contained the following phrase: "Wheelchair accessible, sell 1 + 1 companion." I was surprised only to receive one ticket after I'd completed my purchase. I contacted Ticketmaster and emailed them a screen shot of the listing and its misleading wording, only to be told that if I wanted a companion seat, I would have to purchase it at additional expense, and that it would not be next to my father's wheelchair seat. No explanation was provided about why the listing included the wording "+1 companion" if the companion seat was not actually included in the purchase.

Desired Settlement
In addition to providing my mother with a companion seat next to my father for the game at no further expense to me, I would like Ticketmaster to change the wording on handicapped accessible seating listings in order that other people not experience the same confusion.

Final Consumer Response
I was contacted by Ticketmaster this morning and offered a refund for the ticket, which I accepted. This issue has been resolved to my satisfaction.

10/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased tickets to a show. Seats were not available the day of the show.
Purchase date- August 28th, 2015
Order Number- XX-XXXXX/atl
Payment Amount- $103.95
Event Date- Septemebr 12th, 2015

I, along with a group of friends, purchased wheelchair accessible seats for a ticketmaster event. One of our friends was restricted to a wheelchair and crutches due to a broken leg. When we arrived at the event the seats were not available. We ask an usher to remove the ppl sitting in our seats, which he did.We got up during the show to get concessions. When we returned more ppl were in our seats. We ask another usher to remove the ppl to which he refused. We looked for management or someone else to assist. We ended up having to leave the show bc we had no where to sit and the wheelchair would not fit anywhere else. I would like to request a refund and file a complaint with Ticketmaster for their handicap practices.

I have contacted ticketmaster personally and have had no one contact me.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the ticket and to file a formal complaint. We were not able to see the show we paid for and we were not treated fairly. $103.95

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******: After speaking with you concerning the One MusicFest scheduled at Aaron's Amphitheatre at Lakewood on Saturday, November 22, 2015 a refund in the amount of $103.95 has been processed to the MasterCard that was used for purchase. Please allow 3-5 business days for this to show as a credit. I hope Ticketmaster will be able to more favorably assist you with future event purchases. Thank you *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response. It is what I ask for. Thx!

Page 1 of 55
11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought tickets and they only charged me $4.75. They emailed me saying they have to charge me the correct price. Even though it was their fault.
I bought tickets to the cirus on the ticketmaster website. There was a glitch in there system that they only ended up charging me $4.75 for 6 tickets, so I bought the tickets and received an email with the tickets and codes on them and requested off work for this even for my daughter. I get an email a week later saying they made a mistake and have to charge me the correct price or the tickets will be voided. I ended up not calling in the 30 hours they gave me to call because it was my daughters birthday and I was not going to pay the price for the tickets that was messed up on their end. I called and talked to 3 different people including ***** (operator #zys827) who told me there was nothing they could do but waive the sservice fees then I asked to speak to his supervisor who was eli ( operator 3 zys816) who then also told me there was nothing beyond that that he could do, I asked to speak to his supervisor. He told me no one was there at 6:30 pm. but someone would be in the next day but they still would not be able to give me back my tickets for the price that i purchased them at.
purchase date: 10/22/2014
event date: 11/06/2014
order #: XX-XXXXX/CH6
payment method: mastercard

Desired Settlement
Tickets to the cirus or credit for 6 tickets to another event that I purchased.

Business Response
Dear Ms. **********:

I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. Ticketmaster regrets any inconvenience you may have experienced in connection with your recent ticketing experience and thanks you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

As you will recall, you wrote concerning tickets purchase for Ringling Bros and Barnum & Bailey "Built to Amaze" scheduled at the Consol Energy Center on Friday, November 6, 2014. I am sorry to hear that you encountered and error while using our Ticketmaster.com website to purchase tickets. The following information was sent to the email that you provided at purchase.

Dear Ringling Bros and Barnum & Bailey fan,

This is not the kind of email we like to send; however, we recently found an issue with your order for the below event. At the time of sale, when you selected the Buy 1, Get 1 Free promotion, your credit card was not charged for the regular priced "Buy 1" ticket. You were only charged a $4.75 handling fee.

Ringling Bros And Barnum & Bailey
Consol Center
November 6th, 2014
What do I need to do?

In order to correct this, just hit reply with your authorization to charge the credit card you entered for the price of the ticket(s) and applicable convenience fees. Please re-verify how many full priced tickets you would like. For each $25 "Buy 1" ticket you purchase, you will receive one complimentary "Free" ticket.
Please reply to this email by midnight, Wednesday, Oct. 29th; otherwise, these tickets will be canceled and all fees refunded. Please note, upon cancellation, your tickets will no longer be valid for entry into the event.

Our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Ticketmaster Fan Support
Thank you for the opportunity to respond and address your concerns.
Sincerely,
*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not respond because I was not willing to buy the tickets at the correct price. They messed us my tickets and took them away from me because they didn't charge the right price. I had work all day the email was sent and the next day was my daughters birthday, I was busy all day with her and her party. I should not be punished for ticket masters mistake. I deserve the tickets I requested in the first place, for the price I purchased them at.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. **********: I am sorry that you encountered an error on our site and as previously stated this is not the kind of email we like to send; however, we recently found an issue with your order. At the time of sale, when you selected the Buy 1, Get 1 Free promotion, your credit card was not charged for the regular priced "Buy 1" ticket that you were intending to purchase for Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey "Built to Amaze" at the Consol Center on November 6, 2014. In order to correct this, just hit reply with your authorization to charge the credit card you entered for the price of the ticket(s) and applicable convenience fees. Please re-verify how many full priced tickets you would like. For each $25 "Buy 1" ticket you purchase, you will receive one complimentary "Free" ticket. Our records indicate that No reply was received and the tickets were canceled and all fees refunded. Please note, upon cancellation, the tickets will no longer be valid for entry into the event. Our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for the opportunity to respond and address your concerns. Sincerely, *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I explained why I did not respond to the email. I was not paying the price of the real ticket. You guys should have to eat the cost and not cancel my tickets that I paid for because there was an error in your system!!

05/11/2016Problems with Product / Service
05/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is stating they will be charging me for a fraudulent purchase that was refunded per a chargeback by the credit card company.
My identity was stolen along with my credit card information.

Ticketmaster is claiming that I must reimburse them the cost of a chargeback that they had EVERY right to fight themselves when the credit card company contacted them in 2015.

My credit card and account were used to purchase over $700 worth of tickets to see Shania Twain. Whom I would never purchase tickets for in the first place. When I spoke to a manager in the Fraud Department she informed me that they deemed it was not a fraudulent charge (although she could not tell me how they deemed it not to be.) I asked if I could provide police reports or have a lawyer contact them to make them aware of the theft I had been dealing with and she was clueless on why that would matter.

I asked her to tell me why if this event occurred in March of 2015 I was hearing about it only now in April over a year later. Also why I was allowed to purchase and attended multiple concerts in the past year. She had no response she could just keep repeating that she was in the here and now not in the past. Although this chargeback was technically in the past so really she WAS in the past, she just wasn't smart enough to really understand.

I then asked if she could tell me if the tickets had been used, this could show if I had purchased the tickets, why would I not go to the event? She told me that wouldn't matter and that she would not look into that. I told her I was 100% positive I was not there and I think this would help prove this was fraud, she told me no. I asked her to read back the last 100 events I attended to see if I had a history of attending Country concerts, she told me she would not do that. I asked to speak to her supervisor and she told me no one was available and she was the top brass this evening.

Again I want it to be noted that Ticketmaster had every right to provide the credit card company through the dispute documentation to prove this was not fraud. The credit card company would then take that information and make a decision. If they had nothing of substance then to make this claim then why is it my responsibility. They state they lost money on these tickets, but no one went to this event and I didn't purchase them so really what they lost was nothing. I have lost hours of my life.

Desired Settlement
I want this chargeback issue to be put to rest. I want clear confirmation that I will not be charged the $700+ dollars in order to use ticketmaster again. I want to make sure none of the tickets I HAVE purchased are going to be cancelled.

If they charge me this money I want a full refund and a apology from both fraud prevention specialists whom I spoke to tonight.

Business Response
Dear Mr. *****:

I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. Ticketmaster regrets any inconvenience you may have experienced in connection with your recent ticketing experience and thanks you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

As you will recall, your concern relates to your orders being canceled due to fraud. Ticketmaster's records indicate that you contacted the issuing bank and denied knowledge of charges from Ticketmaster resulting in a fraudulent purchase. This fraud claim was confirmed by yourself as well as your issuing financial institution. Pursuant to your claim, Ticketmaster refuted the transactions but the financial institution ruled in your favor which resulted in a financial loss to Ticketmaster. As a result of this claim, Ticketmaster cannot accept further purchases from you or anyone else linked to your information. Any future attempts to purchase tickets will continue to be cancelled without notice. As a service to our valuable consumers, orders that are placed with information associated with or confirmed to have been compromised or misused are cancelled.

If the disputed purchase was not in fact fraudulent you may reverse this charge by check, payable to "Ticketmaster" in the amount of $1526.00 fax to:

Ticketmaster, 7060 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood CA, XXXXX

Credit Card Authorization Form
Today's date: /_______/________
I: ____________________________________________________________________

As the individual card holder, I hereby authorize this card to be charged: $ .

Credit Card Information:
Name as it appears on the Card:
___________________________________________________________
Type of Card: VISA MASTERCARD DISCOVER AMERICAN EXPRESS

Credit Card Number ______ - ________- ________- ________ Expiration Date______/_____¬¬¬____



Credit Card Billing Address: Street: ___________________________________________
City: ___________________________ State: _______________ Zip Code: ___________
Telephone: __________________________________
Email: __________________________________

Per the terms, you agree that you will not attempt to evade, avoid, or circumvent any refund prohibitions in any manner with regard to this transaction. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, you will not contact us to seek a refund or exchange from us, and you will not dispute or otherwise seek a "chargeback" from the company whose credit card you used to in association with this transaction. Should you do so, your tickets may be cancelled, and we may, in its sole discretion, refuse to honor pending and future ticket purchases made from all credit card accounts or online accounts on which such chargebacks have been made, and may prohibit all persons in whose name the credit card accounts exist and any person who accesses any associated online account or credit card or who otherwise breaches this provision from using the Site.

I agree to the terms and hereby authorize this card to be charged.
Cardholder Signature: ______________________________________

Date: ________/________/________

This Authorization can be faxed to (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Barring a reversal, any future purchases made with sensitive personally identifiable information associated with these fraudulent orders will be cancelled without notification. Thank you for the opportunity to respond and address your concerns.

Sincerely,

*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why would I pay for a fraudulent charge? Why would charges that are not fraudulent be cancelled? This seems insane.

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. *****: As previously stated, Ticketmaster's records indicate that you contacted the issuing bank and denied knowledge of charges from Ticketmaster resulting in a fraudulent purchase. This fraud claim was confirmed by yourself as well as your issuing financial institution. Pursuant to your claim, Ticketmaster refuted the transactions but the financial institution ruled in your favor which resulted in a financial loss to Ticketmaster. As a result of this claim, Ticketmaster cannot accept further purchases from you or anyone else linked to your information. Any future attempts to purchase tickets will continue to be cancelled without notice. As a service to our valuable consumers, orders that are placed with information associated with or confirmed to have been compromised or misused are cancelled. Barring a reversal, any future purchases made with sensitive personally identifiable information associated with these fraudulent orders will be cancelled without notification. Thank you *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

03/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought tickets from this website and they told me it was one price. When I completed the transaction, they charged me more than they initially promised. There is too many added price fees.
Product_Or_Service: Tickets

Desired Settlement
i would like to see if I can get the extra money for those fees returned and in the future they should not have all those extra fees. If you are stating one price, stay with the price.

Business Response
Dear ****** ****:
I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns regarding charges or fees. As a service oriented company, the satisfaction of our customer is always our utmost concern at heart.

As you will recall, you wrote concerning the fees that were included with your purchase of tickets. I sincerely regret that you are disappointed with your recent experience using Ticketmaster. On the review page under the subtotal button, the following information exactly as it appears on the page; Note: The amount shown includes the ticket/item price plus, when applicable, service fee, facility charge, and additional taxes. Click Price Details for more info. You also see the (grey) button remember for later or the (blue) continue button. Any additional fees associated with each item will be displayed on the billing page. You may delete any item before you complete your order. All orders are subject to credit card approval and billing address verification.

Unfortunately fees are frequently misunderstood, so we welcome the chance to explain what they're for and how they help us provide a secure and state-of-the-art way to buy tickets. Almost every ticket we sell is actually owned by our clients, not by us. We're generally selling tickets on behalf of our clients including artists, teams, venues, and promoters, though in some rare instances we may own a small number of tickets as part of our services contract with the individual client. Our clients typically set the face price of their tickets. In exchange for the rights to sell their tickets we also usually give our clients a portion of the fees we collect such as the convenience fee/charge, order processing fee, and sometimes the delivery fee. Whether it's for the purchase of a ticket or merchandise, the portion we keep helps us to provide the distribution and access network used by fans and clients and, considered with other revenues, earn a profit.

You were informed of the full price including service fees when you selected the seats on the interactive seat map. After selecting the seats, you also had the option to "Show Details" to again view the seat locations and review the cost breakdown of the service fees associated with each ticket.

After clicking the "Buy Tickets" button, the "review" screen provided the seat locations, a "price details" link and a subtotal that excluded any processing fees or other applicable delivery fees. After selecting the delivery method and signing into your Ticketmaster "My Account", you reached the payment screen which displayed a final total and again provided you with the opportunity to review "price details".

Despite being provided a final total that apparently exceeded the total amount you expected to pay for the tickets, you entered your payment information and clicked the "Submit Order" button. Immediately below the "Submit Order" button, a disclaimer states "Your credit card will be charged". There's also a "cancel order" link which provided you a final opportunity to abandon the transaction before completing the order for Exoplanet#2 the Exo'luxion scheduled at the New York Prudential Center on Sunday, February 21, 2016. We feel you were provided multiple opportunities during the purchase process to review the price details and cancel the tickets during your purchase.

The convenience charge will vary depending upon where you purchase tickets. There is typically no convenience charge when you drive to a box office to purchase tickets. Ticketmaster is unquestionably a large and well-known ticketing company, but Ticketmaster's ticketing clients and other event presenters have a wide variety of choices of whom they engage to sell their tickets. In most cases tickets are available for purchase in person at the venue of interests' box office without the facilitation of Ticketmaster's service. A convenience charge is applied when you purchase from the Internet, phone or ticket outlet (e.g., at your local department store) and this charge may vary depending upon Ticketmaster's local agreements with the venues, promoters and outlet partners. I hope that I was able to provide some insight into this matter. Thank you for the opportunity to respond and address your concerns.

Sincerely,

*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist

12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a ticket based off of the section presented on the app. Once at the event, I learned the section was wrong and I was refused a refund.
I frequently use the ticketmaster mobile app to purchase tickets to various events. Sunday October 18, I purchased tickets to the Hawks game for $38.83 (Order number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-X). The section view showed Section 116, Row FLR-BB, seat 11. Once I arrived, there was an issue with scanning (which I was informed they were having issues with the app all day). Once that problem was cleared, and I went to the section shown on my app, I was informed the ticket was listed for a different area, row YC. Which I was unable to locate, even with help from attendants. I had to leave the game and was unable to enjoy my ticket purchase. I am requesting a full refund for my purchase on October 18. When speaking with customer support, at least 4 agents corresponded but none was of any help. They just kept reciting the "no refund policy" without considering my falsely advertised purchase along with picture attachments I sent, and the fact that it was clear that ticketmaster was having technical issues with the app that day. I asked for information to speak with someone else and never received it. I am wanting my money back for the event because I was unable to attend due to my purchase based on false advertising of the section. I am highly disappointed in how my issue was approached and consequently not resolved. I have been made fully aware that it is best to purchase from the venue, and not ticketmaster. However, I am still requesting a refund to my card, for that purchase.

Cardholder name: ***** M *******
Last four digits of card: ****
Event: ATLANTA HAWKS
Venue: PHILIPS ARENA
Venue city and state: ATLANTA, GA
Event date: OCTOBER 18, 2015
Order number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-X

Desired Settlement
Refund for $38.83 for purchase.

Cardholder name: ***** M *******
Last four digits of card: ****
Event: ATLANTA HAWKS
Venue: PHILIPS ARENA
Venue city and state: ATLANTA, GA
Event date: OCTOBER 18, 2015
Order number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-X

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******: A refund in the amount of $38.30 has been process to the MasterCard used at purchase. Please allow 5-7 business days for this amount to show as a credit. I do hope that you'll allow us to more favorably assist you with future Ticketmaster purchases. Thank you *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Request of refund fulfilled.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *******: A refund in the amount of $38.30 has been process. Please allow 5-7 business days for this amount to show as a credit. I am truly sorry that I made the mistake concerning the processing of your credit. Thank you *** ****** Consumer Support Specialist

Final Consumer Response
*********** ***********
I was promised a refund and as of 11/23/2015 my card has not been refunded. I was lied to and their customer service has again been of no help to solve this issue.

11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Errors in processing purchase
On August 15,2015 I attempted to purchase a ticket for an event that evening. When I attempted to finalize the purchase I received a message stating that "my order could not be processes." My immediate thought was that someone else was able to purchase that ticket before I did. I attempted to purchase another ticket and again, received the same error message. So, I once AGAIN attempted to purchase a third ticket. AGAIN I received the error message. Luckily, I checked my bank account which was debited three times. I called customer service and was unable to get through. I ended up using one of the three tickets and the following morning I contacted customer service. I was told, in a very rude manner,that I was basically out of luck and that there was nothing that they could do for me. I followed up with my bank and filed a dispute. I received notification via mail that my dispute could not be credited. I suggest never purchasing through ticketmaster because any normal person would assume that when you receive a notice that "your order cannot be processed" that your bank will not be debited for that transaction.

Desired Settlement
I would like at least a partial refund for the product that I was told "could not be processed". I did not use this product.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ********:
I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. Ticketmaster regrets any inconvenience you may have experienced in connection with your recent ticketing experience and thanks you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

As you will recall you requested a refund for the Florida Georgia Line tickets that were purchased. It is my understanding that your complaint has been resolved. Both orders XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-X & XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-X were refunded on September 30, 2015 and a credit was processed to the VISA Card that was used for purchase. Please confirm with your issuing bank.

I hope Ticketmaster will be able to more favorably assist you with future event purchases.
Sincerely,
*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist

10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TicketMaster is refusing to issue my money back for a ticket that was canceled. I was on a payment plan for a ticket called, "EDC". Due to fraudulent activity I had to close down the card, resulting in myself missing the last payment in order to get the ticket. I then was never notified by there company in order to get my ticket so I took it apon myself to call to then realize they sold my ticket that I was making payments on. I then asked the representative what I should do now, He gave me the option of either buying another ticket triple the cost or a refund I choose to do the refund, but explained to him the account card they have on file is close. He then went to assure me that my bank will deal with re routing the money, waiting the 3-5 bussinness days I never recived a payment, I then called back there representative that later told me I had to wait till there company gets rejected 3 times from the bank that the account is closed where they were sending my refund, I then waited over a month to hear back. I called again to see my update on the refund to be told they were rejected and would be able to send a check out but I had to wait up to 4-6 weeks I then waited and still nothing. At exactly one month into the waiting proccess I called to see the status update to end up finding out they havent processed anything they have been telling me they would. They keep giving me the run around its been 6 months and I think that is rediculious to wait for a refund. I talked to there superviser that once again told me they would look into the refund process and would call me back in 3-5 business days, yet its been almost over a week and still nothing. I just want my refund that is entitled to me.
Product_Or_Service: electric daisy carnival ticket
Order_Number: XX-XXXXX/nev
Account_Number: XX-XXXXX/nev

Desired Settlement
To be able to get my refund.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******:
I am in receipt of your recent complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau. I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns regarding this matter. As a service oriented company, the satisfaction of our customer is always our utmost concern.

As you will recall, you are questioning a credit on order #XX-XXXXX/NEV for EDC 2015. I called and left this information on your voice mail and hopefully it will assist you in verifying your credit. A credit in the amount of $319.18 was processed on September 16, 2015. Please check with your credit card issuing bank to confirm the refund has been processed with the following credit reference number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Our records do not indicate the funds have been returned to Ticketmaster. You have my contact information for further questions or concerns.
Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns.
Sincerely,
*** ******
Consumer Support Specialist

Page 1 of 120
02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ticketmaster.com would not switch our Monster Jam tickets from the 2:00 p.m show to the 7:30 show. They would not give me Monster Jams number directly
While using a tablet to purchase Monster Jam 2014 tickets from www.Ticketmaster.com, their information was not displayed in full view. The tickets that were ordered was for the 2:00 p.m show and I wanted the 7:30 show for the same day. Ticketmaster would not change them for me because they said that they are non refundable tickets. I told *** that I didn't want a refund just for a different time. She said that the Monster Jam would not allow that and that we were stuck. We paid 170.00 dollars for the tickets and are not able to go. I told her that if tickets were non refundable it should be said before purchasing. She told me that if I was on an actual computer using full/desktop view then I would know that. She also would not let me talk to anyone above her.

Desired Settlement
I would just like my tickets to be switched from the 2:00 p.m show to the 7:30. On the same day, February 1, 2014

11/26/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never received a "VIP PACKAGE" Ticketmaster offered, since then I have written many emails. 30 days later I still have no package.
I am absolutely NEVER going to use ticket master again. NEVER, and for as long as I live I will make sure I recommend no one to use this business. You'd think that a company like Ticketmaster would hire or contract a legitimately responsible company to send out your "VIP PACKAGE" (Future Beat). It has now been 31 days since I "Claimed" my vip package. Since then I have been emailing back and forth with Future Beat, somehow they keep giving me the run around. Which is perfectly fine because now I'm going straight to whom I initially bought the vip package from, Ticketmaster. Keep the F***ing package I don't want that s**t anymore. Anyways, it's not like Redbubble.com doesn't have the exact products if not better. I just want a refund, I wish there was a way you could return all the time I spent waiting for a package that was never sent, or my time back for communicating with an uneducated, unethical, moron who addressed me by "J". Clearly you're not a friend, or family member I have no idea what professional environment gives a client a nickname. Hey but I guess I'm old school, So if there was anything less that a 1 star to give this affiliation please note that by me that's what I would rate it.

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back, I will never use this affiliation again. You can't give me back the time I have spent trying to cooperate in fixing whatever your companies messed up on. Something as simple as Delivery, but to not provide the customer with information for half a month then provide a FAKE tracking number is unheard of. Like I said I want my money back and won't settle for anything less. We can both part are ways and I promise I give you my word I will make sure EVERY SINGLE BODY I know will hear of my experience and I will bad mouth this company for all that I have been through.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Ticket Sales - Events

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1968
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Terry Lilly (Consumer Support Manager)
Contact Information
Barrett Justice (Asst. Consumer Support Mgr)
Number of Employees

5000

Business Category

Ticket Sales - Events

Alternate Business Names
Ticketmaster Entertainment To Go Corp., Ticketmaster Superstar Platinum, Ticketmaster, LLC, Ticketmaster-Southern California Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ticketmaster Corporation

9348 Civic Center Dr

Beverly Hills, CA 90210-3624

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ticketmaster Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 830-8497
  • (213) 639-6100
  • (303) 839-9850
  • (800) 726-8669
  • (800) 877-7555
  • (757) 518-5500
  • (304) 357-6114
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.ticketsnow.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Ticket Sales - Events

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.