BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

California Pools, Inc.

Phone: (800) 282-7665

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delay in finishing services. Lack of response. Unattentive to job details.


I have contacted California Pools numerous time to follow up on the a few work that still outstanding from the pre-plaster agreement since Oct, 2013. *** from ******* office ask me to resend the paperwork to him since they moved the office. I resent to him, followed up with phone calls and emails, but ultimately, no one come to do the work. It has been an ongoing stalling from California Pools to complete oustanding items listed in my email to them in Oct, Nov, Dec. *** responsed but bottomline no action. Now after New Year, he does not even answer to my call. It has been frustrating to continue to chase *** and not getting any specific action to resolve the pending work. He also said **** his manager, doesn't recall this which I need to fax the contract to them as that was listed to complete since day 1. I need California Pools to come and finish the pending work!

Desired Settlement
I need California Pools to come and fix the items listed in my email since Oct 2013.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** monroe project man
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@californiapools.com
my name is ****** Monroe from California pools. Ihave been in contacted with ******* Mui and I have informed her that we have completed the work that we where contracted to do.And that this work can be done by one of our sub contractors.so I try-ed to set them up and she could pay them for the work that she needed done .and I am still trying to help .But I can't force anyone to go out there .I am and will continue to help work this out .But none of this is on my con traced .SO please inform me if there is anything more that needs to be done .THANK YOU ****** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am shock to receive this reply which is different from his call to me on 1/24/14, He told me he is having a cold and he is off on vacation. He will call me back on Monday (1/27) and **** get in touch with Todd (the A/C person who reinstalled half of the A/C unit), and ****** to move the pool equipment so that the boxes all open on one side. He is not helping me but to finish what he has not completed. He said will call me on 1/27 which I hv not yet received a call this week.

In the contract, in scope of work, pt 1 -listed clearly they need to reinstrall the front yard, sprinkler system and A/C as before. They did the front yard, sprinkler system, but not the A/C. I hv the video of CP removing the A/C from where it was and I need it to put back. I can show him the video, too, besides the written contract! There are 2 A/C units, and they hooked up one A/C due to the weather was very hot last year when work was half done.

For the pool equipment, CP did not get confirmation from us when they set the equipment. It was spread 2 sides and we cannnot get a fence to build around it which was discussed along the way of the pool construction. I have emails addressed the equipment was placed over the cement edge (which was a reflection of their poor planning) and need to move so that we can build the fence. He has expressed that this was easy and will be done. This was listed in the pre-plaster meeting punch list which said will complete in timely manner!!!

I have numerous emails from Oct, Nov, Dec 2013 showing these outstanding items which CP has acknowledged will come back and finish. There are emails dated back to Dec 10, 2012 listed all the items pending as the pool was finishing even before pre-plaster! These are not new sudden things that we ask CP to "help"!

Final Business Response
we have been working with her on trying to work out these items .we are sending my guy out to move the A C .now for the moving of the equipment we have never told her that we will do that . we have always told her that we will help get some one to build a fence and she can pay them .the equipment was per plan and she signed off on the plan and location .I called her on 1-31-14and informed her that told will call her to set up a time and date to move the A C .please let me know if there is anything more you need from me Thanks RobertMonroe.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For the A/C, noted Tod will contact us. Will see how well this will get completed. For the equipment, the problem is CP failed to plan properly, having one salt system door open on one side, while the other timer and main on-off control open on the other side. Hence, we cannot have the fence build properly with 1 side gate open. THIS WAS IMMEDIATELY ADDRESSED TO ***...AND HE HAS NUMEROUS TIME SAID NO PROBLEM, AND IT IS EASY TO MOVE THEM TOGETHER SO THAT ALL THE OPEN AND CLOSING WILL BE ALONG ONE SIDE! THIS IS EVEN LISTED IN THE PRE-PLASTER AGREEMENT! THIS ISSUE CAUSED BY CP FAILURE TO PLAN PROPERLY. ***, these denial of responsibility really call into question how well CP dealing with their jobs. Customer need to be aware and don't trust any words that you said unless it is in writing no matter how trivial the issue might be!
One more thing on the list that was there are still 2 opening holes in the pool that require cover which you said will bring but never showed up for many months. I have emails to reflect all these communications!

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
California Pools performed incomplete and unsatisfactory work constructing a pool and other structures. Very expensive pool, quality is substandard.
****** ********** (******) and California Pools (CP) entered into a written agreement to construct a pool and hardscape for $109,000. From November 2012 to May 2013, ****** paid a total of $118,469. But CP failed to complete construction and performed unsatisfactory work. ****** is now forced to pay for repairs. He also engaged legal counsel and sued CP for breach. Accordingly, ****** **** also incur attorneys fees as a result of CP's breaches.

The agreement stated "CALIFORNIA POOLS shall construct a swimming pool in a good and workmanlike manner which shall be equal to or exceed the standard in the industry.

The Agreement contained specific terms, including contractor and buyer information, description of the materials and equipment, contract price, down payment, terms and conditions, and other pertinent provisions. The Agreement expressly stated a two (2) horsepower booster pump would be installed for the spa. The total price was $112,000. The Agreement was prepared by CP while at the Property.

****** performed his obligations under the Agreement by submitting payments to CP as required. But during construction, CP purposefully changed its position and requested additional money from ****** over and above what was agreed upon. *******, who represented himself as a salesman and agent of CP, told ****** he (*******) required more money (separate from and additional to the contract price) in order to complete the work. CP also requested that ******* be paid separately for the work. CP deceived ****** by not including this work in the original contract price.

On May 28, 2013, CP credited ****** $3,000 for items that would not be performed, bringing the total price to $109,000.

From about November 14, 2012 to May 28, 2013, ****** paid CP a total of $118,469.

Desired Settlement
****** requests that CP immediately repair the defective work until it meets top quality requirements as stated in the parties' written agreement. Alternatively, CP can satisfy ****** by paying for the repairs.

Business Response
Mr. ********** has filed served a CIVIL COMPLAINT against California Pools and **** *******. Therefore, it is my understanding that a Civil Complaint would supercede a BBB Complaint, so it should be dismissed at this time.

03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
poor workmanship, collected $3,000 for permits and city inspections, did not pull permits (fraud)?..**** not provide warranty for work

Contracted California Pools in November for a pool remodel. **** Ekstrom, **** ***** collected $3,000 to pull permits and city inspections for plumbing to bring pool up to code. They never pulled the permits.but kept the $3,000.The drains leaked massive amounts of water for a week. The newly plastered pool suffered damage due to exposure to air. THe drain was fixed but left markings, scratches and a significant patch on the bottom of the pool which was a different color. In order to darken the color of the patch to match the plaster they acid washed the pool 5 0r 6 times which did not work. The acid wash caused the entire pool color to darken to a very dark gray
and the patch is still there. THe pool plaster is now pitted, mottled, patchy and discolored. The concrete coping is also of poor quality with patches, striations, blobs of concrete scratches in the concrete which should have been sanded and sealed. We have exercised extreme ******** and given the company every chance to make good on the contract. We no longer trust the company can remedy the problems and we must start again. We want a full refund of approximateley $19,000 as we have to start all over again with another company. We have repeatedly asked for an explanation as to why they collected funds for permits and did not pull them, and for the contracted warranty they were supposed to give us after they received full payment. THey have gone completely silent and do not answer any of our correspondence We have contacted the CEO
***** ******* but he does not answer us. We are currently seeking legal counsel to find a remedy and **** file charges if we find the company has committed any kind of fraud. We believe the CEO works out of 34 Waterworks Way Irvine CA XXXXX XXX XXXXXXX. license no XXXXXX all parties operate under this license no. Bond number XXXXXXXXX. This project is well documented with photos and email exchanges to support this claim

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a full refund of approximately
$19,000 so we can pull permits and hire another pool company to do the job right. We are in the process of getting ready to sell our home and we must supply the new homeowners full disclosure and a transferable warranty for the work, including permits and inspection reports. If we receive a full refund we **** not pursue further action. If we do not we have no other recourse but to file charges and bring suit to California Pools. We have repeatedly asked for the warranty and city permits to no avail. In the meantime we are going to continue our quest for satisfaction and **** pursue every avenue. This complaint does not put that process on hold. They did collect $3,000 for permits but cannot produce the permits or inspection reports and refuse to answer the question or refund the money.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.