BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/03/1996

Laser & Dermatology Institute of California

Find a Location

(626) 915-1911View Additional Phone Numbers246 W College St Fl 3rd, CovinaCA 91723-1924

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/03/1996

BBB has determined that Laser & Dermatology Institute of California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Laser & Dermatology Institute of California's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Laser & Dermatology Institute of California

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Went for acne scars. Procedures absolutely made no difference or improvement.
If I'm paying 6 grand for services that are intended to fix something it should be corrected or at least showing improvement in areas targeted. They weren't addressed I have complained multiple times and I got the same thing over and over "it takes time, give it a year". Said to me with attitude and very impolite facial gestures. It's been a year. Nothing has improved and very unhappy with their faulty advertising and lies. I've issued a bbb complaint before and have dropped it because they had promised it would work and be taken care of. They will say it's buyers remorse well I'd be happy to pay if it worked but that's not the case otherwise I wouldn't file it again. Can't get any money back. That's my fault for trusting in a company that only cares for receiving money instead of helping it's patients.
I have acne scars slightly indented I know my skin. They can say all they want but they never took pictures of my skin so they can easily lie and say it's super bad. It's not, I just wanted improvement to be a little happier. They had paperwork but isn't truth. They use dawn soap as a face wash under the sink but brushed it off like it was for the sink they had me use it which I learned is very bad for your skin too. I think they should be investigated their horrible services are horrible. There is more negative reviews then there are positive. And again they'll say "people can write anything" yes of course they are unhappy! My friend was also looking into this place, I saved her $6000 and she is satisfied with ROC cream instead which I should have bought to begin with. Very unsatisfied with their products services procedures- are shady and not worth it. Can't get anything back and that's regretting. Trying to expose it for the lack of efforts in keeping patients fulfilled.

Desired Settlement
I'd like some sort of refund. I don't wish to have any of their services. They don't work at all.

Business Response
This case was already adjudicated & closed in March 2013.We provided treatment in good faith & even provided 2 add'l free treatments, as well as supplied hundreds of dollars in complimentary medications in an effort to reduce cost for the patient. On the patients last 2 visits (March & April 2013) she was improved & stable. She was told we would offer one more complimentary visit in 3 months, but was also told to call the office manager immediately if she had problems before the 3 month period. Not only did she NOT CALL, SHE NEVER RETURNED FOR HER LAST COMPLIMENTARY VISIT. It has been over 15 months since we have seen this patient; what more can be expected from us when she was non-compliant and failed to return? We can only assume she was fine! She cannot wait 15 months and then start making allegations again after this was already closed. We fulfilled the contract; the patient failed to return as instructed. We cannont be held responsible for her non-compliance over the past 15 months. All contracts and medical records are available to support our statements.

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had moderate acne and went into LDI for a consultation. They told me that if I paid them $10,000 that they would do 4 laser treatments on me and that my skin would clear up, scars would be gone and I wouldn't break out again. "The skin on your face will look like the skin on the back of your hand." They did a good sales job and I paid the $10,000 and started my treatment. The process was intense. I drove 6-7 hours every month to get to their location and have my treatments done. They also put me on tons of creams and pills that I had to pay for which was not mentioned before. My skin got better but was never what they said it would be. They kept telling me "You have to give it a year or so, it will just keep getting better and better." My skin did get better. Not how they said but it was better for a while. In January of 2013 I completely broke out. It was frightening. I had never in my life had anything so severe happen to me. Over the next 5 months or so I called the office, they have one location open m-w-f and another open t-thur. I left over 4 messages on a voicemail and no one called me back. Two other times the phone forwarded me to the LA location because the Irvine office was closed. They told me I had to talk to the Irvine staff and took my name and number but no one ever called back. Finally today I spoke them and voiced my complaint and asked for a refund seeing as I was not at all given the service I was promised or the results. The office manager they had call me back was so extremely rude and even began yelling at me. She didn't want to see pictures or even hear about what had happened and told me that she would have to call me back later in the week because *** ******* wasn't in. Earlier when I called the receptionist she had put me on hold and gone over my file with the Dr. which is when she had this rude lady call me. So obviously he was there. I feel completely ripped off and do not recommend anyone give these people any money! I'm worse off than I was before LDI.
Product_Or_Service: Laser treatments

Desired Settlement
I was promised certain results in exchange for $10,000. I did not at all get what was promised to me and want my money back.

Business Response

Final Business Response
February 10, 2014

****** *****
Operations Specialist
BBB Silicone Valley

Patient: ******* *****

Dear *** ******

This is our response to the above claim and your letter dated January 31, 2014. Ms. ***** is entitled to no refund based upon the following facts, as supported by the contract and medical chart documentation:

*** ***** signed a non-refundable contract on October 6, 2010 and was given 6 months in which to complete treatments. This contract was for 3 laser treatments for facial acne/scarring for $9500, as well as 1 additional bonus laser treatment valued at $3500. (Treatments purchased individually are $3500 each per treatment per area.)
Patient was advised in the signed, non-refundable contract that she was purchasing a partial package and that we were recommending 3-6 treatments for optimal results. She did not purchase the full amount of recommended treatments.
She received all 4 treatments contracted for as well as an additional 5th treatment, valued at $3500, for no additional charge.
She was never told her scars would be completely gone and that she would never breakout again. In fact, the contract clearly states 40-50% improvement to old scars (after the full amount of recommended treatments). The contract also states additional treatments will/may be necessary for optimal results. The contract also states medical visits may be necessary at additional cost after completion of the laser package.
Contract clearly states **Medications are not included in the price of the package**.
All the above was acknowledged by the patient's signature and/or initials.
While we appreciated the distance the patient drove to get to us, she chose us and knew where we were located before she signed the contract.
Modifications were made to the contract prior to completion of the laser package as the patient became pregnant, which warranted a change in medications safe for use during pregnancy (during which time she had breakouts). Due to the increased breakout in her first trimester, we offered an additional laser treatment, valued at $3500, after patient delivered.
Patient miscarried shortly afterward and was able to resume her previously prescribed medications. However, we still honored our offer of the additional laser treatment, which was rendered on 5/11/2011. The patient was told the package was completed, however there is a 6-12 months lag period in which lasers continue to produce results. She was also told follow up medical visits were needed (which was insurance billable).
In July 2011, her medical records clearly state she had improvement in scars, was to continue to be on a medical regimen and was told to return to the office in 3 months.
The patient did not return for over 1 year. She went through a second pregnancy and self-treated, rather than return for continued care.
After the birth of her child, she returned twice and was restarted on medications. In October 2012, her acne was clearly better, but was told to return in December 2012.
She never surfaced again for another year (October 2013), complaining of breakouts. Clearly she was non-compliant in following through with visits as recommended by the physician.

I clearly spoke with the patient on several occasions in October 2013 and attempted to explain the contract to her as well as maintenance. There was no reasoning with her and the only thing she wanted to talk about was a full refund. I told her I would discuss her case with the doctor and call her back with his recommendations. She didn't believe me, called me rude and said I "didn't give a ****". She continued to call other locations trying to bypass me, rather than wait for the return call.

I spoke with the doctor and called the patient back, stating he was offering her an additional no charge visit and laser treatment, as long as she acted reasonably. I even stated *** ******* would work with a dermatologist closer to her area and try to keep her trips to our office fewer and farther between. I then told her the names of all the medications she had been on (which she wanted for another dermatologist) and she said she would call me back to schedule an appointment for some time around Thanksgiving. This never happened and apparently chose to complain to the BBB instead. We haven't heard from her since.

To summarize, we acted in good faith and provided all services as outlined in the contract, as well as provided additional bonus lasers valued @ $3500 each. The medical regimen had to be altered and contract extended longer due to the pregnancies. She did not follow through as recommended after completion of the package and did not return for maintenance as instructed.

In the patient's own words she stated she had nearly perfect skin in 2012! How can she state that and then ask for a full refund, stating treatment didn't work? It clearly did, despite the pregnancies and non-compliance. Not to mention that even a year later, we offered the additional visit and laser treatment at no charge; however, she never came back.

I hope this information proves helpful to you and that you will resolve this dispute in our favor. (The signed contract and medical records are available if requested, and release authorized by the patient.)


****** for
***** *******, MD

04/06/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care, Laser Cosmetic Services

Additional Information

Business started: 06/17/1987
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Ms. Sharon Aynes (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Skin Care, Laser Cosmetic Services

Service Area

This business is a laser and dermatology center.

Alternate Business Names
L D I, L.D.I., Laser and Dermatology Institute of California, LDI

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Laser & Dermatology Institute of California

246 W College St Fl 3rd

Covina, CA 91723-1924

To | From


3 Locations

  • 246 W College St Fl 3rd 

    Covina, CA 91723-1924(800) 606-6000
    (949) 261-2031

  • 1400 Reynolds Ave # B101 

    Irvine, CA 92614

  • 1125 S Beverly Dr STE 410 

    Los Angeles, CA 90035-1152

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Laser & Dermatology Institute of California is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 606-6000
  • (949) 261-2031

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Skin Care


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.