BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2011

DermStore

(310) 734-2570View Additional Phone Numbers2301 Rosecrans Avenue Suite 2100, El SegundoCA 90245

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers skin care.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2011

BBB has determined that DermStore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered DermStore's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised DermStore's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB since March 10, 2013
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service13
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/03/2014Delivery Issues
01/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
12/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 5
04/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: Ordered next day delivery, not delivered for 3 days.
Dermstone has on their website that orders need to be in by 2.30 p.m. to be eligible for next day delivery. This I did. Paying an extra $29 The delivery didn't show up. So I checked the UPS tracking number and found out that Dermstore's shipping department dragged the chain and didn't even give the delivery to UPS until 5 hours after the order, thereby going over UPS cutoff time. I called the company and the customer service guy said his supervisor would only give me a 10% discount on my order. I then spoke to the supervisor who was one of the most rude people I've ever encountered. He continued to speak over me, wouldn't listen to the facts, and wouldn't take any responsibility for the Shipping departments ineptitude and lack of punctuality, by delaying my order. And after 25 minutes of him making excuses, I gave up and here we are. The products are good, the service is less than desired.

Initial Business Response
Dear *******,
I apologize that you have had a negative experience with DermStore. I have reviewed your order and see that you placed your order on Friday 3/28 and was shipped on 3/28 by UPS Overnight. Per the tracking your order was delivered to the recipient on Monday 3/31.
Per our shipping guidelines listed at http://www.dermstore.com/content/content.php?content=shipping your order was delivered as expected on Monday 3/31. DermStore overnight shipping does not included Saturday delivery (as stated in the shipping policies page). Overnight shipping is stated to be delivered in one business day which in your case was Monday.

I do see because of the negative experience we have already issued you a 10% credit back to your credit card. At this time we are unable to issue you a credit for the overnight shipping as the order was delivered on time.

I have attached a document witch shows our shipping policies regarding overnight shipping.

Sincerely,
******* ********
CS Optimization Manager


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company continues to neglect responsibility, and offers peanuts to try and negate their responsibility. They may have a legal point, but it is still dishonest. Their main page stated one day. I didn't see anything saying that I had to delve deep into the company's policy's to see the fine print saying they don't deliver on a Saturday. Most people would expect that when they pay for next day delivery they would receive it next day, regardless of Saturday or not. The site was misleading. I never accepted the 10% discount, but it was given voluntarily. They misled me and now they continue to exclude themselves from responsibility. If there is no Saturday delivery, it should be very clear, not on some remote policy page. The company could have refunded my money for postage and stated on their site next to next day delivery, "Excluding Saturday" This way people would actually be aware, but instead of saying and doing this, they continue to fight simply to have their BBB record clean. In this case it needs a clear strike against the company, and whoever answered the response should be removed from their position. The company's response, Let's hide behind legal loopholes and get rid of this annoying customer. In fairness to the company, their products are good, but it scares me when a company can't be honest and simply fix a small problem like this.

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. *****,

It has been brought to my attention that you are less than satisfied with your recent DermStore shopping experience. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience, I recognize that having to spend additional time contacting us for a resolution on top of being dissatisfied is not a good experience and I thank you for your patience while we have been researching and reviewing your order and complaints internally.

I have refunded the shipping charge of $29.95 that you paid, in addition to the 10% you were previously credited. Please allow up to 10 business days for this credit to appear on your account. While this is a carrier issue, as the overnight shipping options we offer with UPS do not include Saturday delivery, we could have been more upfront about when your package would be arriving during your checkout process. I have put in a request to have this reviewed and updated moving forward. In the future please do know that until those changes are made, overnight orders placed on a Friday will not arrive until Monday at the earliest depending on the time placed on the previous Friday.

Thank you again for being a DermStore customer. We appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to providing you with excellent customer service on all of your future purchases.

Best,

******* ********** I VP Operations


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had to choose No, as there was no middle option, and no place for comment if I clicked yes. I am partially satisfied with the company's response. I am still not happy that I had to go through the process of contacting the BBB and that the issue of the supervisor of the night shift, wasn't properly trained to handle this simple situation. I didn't mention this because I wanted to see if the company would wake up and identify this themselves. They didn't, but in fairness to the senior management they finally returned my shipping payment and an additional 10% discount, even if it was simply to keep their BBB record clean.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/14/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/25/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Vanessa Ballentine (VP of Operations)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Katrina Sandston (S Optimization Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Skin Care

Service Area

Alternate Business Names
dermstore.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DermStore

2301 Rosecrans Avenue Suite 2100

El Segundo, CA 90245

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2301 Rosecrans Avenue Suite 2100 

    El Segundo, CA 90245(800) 213-3376
    (310) 683-0950
    (310) 734-2570

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DermStore is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 213-3376
  • (310) 683-0950
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Skin Care

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.