BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cleopatra's Choice

(800) 925-4232View Additional Phone Numbers9825 Independence Avenue, ChatsworthCA 91311-4320http://www.cleopatraschoice.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Cleopatra's Choice is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cleopatra's Choice

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company offered a Risk Free 100 % money Back Guarantee on the item but then charged $125.00 "re-stocking fee."

I ordered an "iGrow" laser hair treatment device from them for $486.00 on 04/18/2016, Order #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX-XXXXXX When I ordered it, prominently placed on the order page the company said "6 Month Risk Free Trial, 100% money back guarantee." (See http://www.cleopatraschoice.com/igr-0001.html) Therefore I decided to give the item a try. When I received it I discovered several issues with the product that clearly showed it was of poor quality and design, especially for the price, so I returned it. I got an email from the company asking why I had sent it back and I explained. They responded that they would only refund $361.00, because there was a $125.00 "re-stocking fee", as stated on the web page. I remembered no such caveat on the web page, and would certainly not have ordered the item if I had seen it, so I went back to the web page to check. I discovered that if you scroll all the way down the lengthy order page to the bottom, beyond the reviews and press releases, there (in much less prominent print than the "6 MONTH - RISK FREE TRIAL 100% Money Back Guarantee" located directly under the order button) it did indicate there was a $125.00 restocking fee. This was at the very end of the page. I told the company in an email that was an unfair deceptive practice and they basically politely said "tough".

Two problems with this: it is clearly a deceptive and unfair practice to persuade people to order an item by saying there is a 6 month 100% money back guarantee right by the order button, but then in small print, all the way down at the very bottom of the long order page, where I'd wager almost no one looks, to say there is a $125.00 re-stocking fee. It also completely contradicts their earlier assertion that the purchase is "risk free". This is clearly meant to deceive the customer into a false sense that it is a risk free purchase when it fact it is not. How is not returning $125.00 of the price a "risk free trial with a 100% money back guarantee"? Secondly and less importantly, how can you possibly justify charging $125.00 for returning an item?! This set up is obviously is designed so no matter what, return or no, Cleopatras Choice makes a tidy profit.

Finally, I'd like to point out that on their home page, the company plays up, in prominent print, that all their items come with a "LOVE IT GUARANTEE 3 Month Money Back Guarantee." Obviously not.

Thank you for your consideration.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the $125.00 "re-stocking fee." In addition, the company should change the web page so it is not intentionally misleading and contradictory, and they are not deceitfully burying the info on the re-stocking fee in a place most people would never look.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: James S
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
Hi we do clearly identify the 20% restocking fee on this item. We do have a 90 day money back guarantee on all items, but this item has an extended return guarantee with the restocking fee. We do strive to make every customer happy so we are willing to refund the restocking fee to this customer in this one case.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/21/2005
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Skin Care

Alternate Business Names
Natural Lifestyle Brands, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cleopatra's Choice

9825 Independence Avenue

Chatsworth, CA 91311-4320

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9825 Independence Avenue 

    Chatsworth, CA 91311-4320(800) 925-4232
    (818) 718-2307

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cleopatra's Choice is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (818) 718-2307
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Skin Care

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.