BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Octagon Roofing Company, Inc.

Phone: (818) 771-9838

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Octagon Roofing installed a new roof on our residence 8/13,
roof started leaking 1/ 15, mold is growing in our house, Octagon not being cooperative
Octagon Roofing installed new roof on our house 8/13. Roof began to leak 1/10/15. ******* **** inspected roof 1/14/15 and insisted roof was not leaking, and attributed water intrusion to exterior cracks in stucco. We had stucco repaired 1/28/15, and after heavy rainstorm we discovered mold growing between interior walls. We had our insurance company send out a roof inspector who found several documented instances of inferior workmanship on the roof. We also hired a leak detection company who confirmed leaks were coming from gaps in roofing material and areas around skylight that were not sealed properly.We contacted City of Glendale and discovered roof installed by Octagon in 2013 was done without a permit, and therefore was never inspected by the city. Octagon promised to install a new roof for us, but the permit they filed on 4/14/15 contained a number of false statements that the City of Glendale has ordered Octagon Roofing to correct. As of 4/30/15, Octagon Roofing has only attempted to repair the roof, which still has not passed ***** inspection, and they have reneged on their promises to;
1. install a new roof that has been properly permitted and subject to inspection by the City of Glendale
2. pay for mold remediation services and environmental testing,
3. pay for reconstruction services after completion of mold remediation

Desired Settlement
We want a complete tear off of the defective roof, a new roof installed with proper permit application so it can be inspected by the City of Glendale, payment for mold remediation, payment for follow up environment testing, payment for reconstruction services, and payment for temporary housing while mold removal and reconstruction are being performed

Business Response
Octagon completed the job according to city building code and requirements, passed ***** inspection by City of Glendale.
The homeowner home is old (built 1933) and suffers from past water leaks, incurred prior to Octagon was hired to work on this project. Octagon is not responsible for past damage from old water leaks. The contract between the homeowner and Octagon note on page one, that there was evidence of prior leaks. Please be aware according to the contract Octagon is not responsible for any blockage of gutters or roof drains, and is not responsible for any interior damage. In any event, as set forth above, the leak you experienced were not caused by Octagon. Homeowner completed a leak detection test on 4/14/15 and water test by American Leak Detection Company on 4/23/14. The leak detection test found no evidence of active moisture. The water test according to the homeowner e-mail on 4/27/15 found no water leaks.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The job performed by Octagon Roofing has not passed ***** inspection by the City of Glendale. I have a letter from the primary inspector, Antonio Abejo that clearly states that " the contractor has misleading information both on the permit and the actual work done." The status of the project as stated by the City of Glendale permit office is listed as partial approval only until contractor revises his statements on the permit application.
The leak detection test conducted on April 14th states that water intrusion is evident from holes on the roof, and from leak sources around the skylight. This was an infrared test performed before any repair work was attempted by Octagon Roofing. Octagon Roofing did do repairs on the leaking roof, but not until April 17th, three days after leak tests were performed, and water intrusion from the roof was confirmed. We also have an inspection report performed on 4/9/15 by an independent roofing company that was hired by our insurance company that documents numerous sources for water intrusion due to " faulty workmanship".

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.