BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2009

The Eberly Company

(323) 937-64688383 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 906, Beverly HillsCA 90211-2443

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2009

BBB has determined that The Eberly Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Eberly Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Eberly Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car broken into/window broken out while in their "secure" garage which has cameras on every exit yet they claim they can't see anyone on surveillance
On Wednesday May 14, 2014 night or early Thursday May 15, 2014 my car was broken into and the window completely broke out. The thieves were able to steal irreplaceable belongings. The apartment building and people working for the ****** Company were unsympathetic, rarely returned phone calls and or the people I needed to speak with were "in meetings" whenever anyone answered the phone. The garage is equipped with surveillance cameras at all exits yet they claim they didn't see anyone smash out my window and steal my possessions and then walk out.

Desired Settlement
I would like the cost of the repairs to my car and the cost of the possessions lost in the theft. I no longer feel safe going into that building and even getting in my car.

Business Response
I am very sorry but I cannot respond to this persons complaint. They have filed a lawsuit against our company so I cannot make any comments on this matter until it is adjudicated in a court of law.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No settlement or agreement has been reached.

Final Business Response
I can not respond to this complaint. Consumer has filed a lawsuit against our company and on the advise of our attorneys all testimony regarding this matter most be reserved till the matter is adjudicated in court.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not give back entire security deposit for an apartment.
They kept money back for painting, cleaning, and carpet cleaning. I called them about this and they said the apartment needed extra work. There was only one tv on the wall in a 2 bedroom apartment, nothing else on the walls. The carpeting has some normal wear, no stains. We cleaned the apartment.
When we rented the apartment, the landlord told us that they paint, change carpeting, and clean before all tenants move in.
This company is scamming their tenants and purposely keeping some of the security deposit for their cost of doing business. I have rented out apartments myself, and know that it is the cost of doing business to fix up an apartment to rent out. There is always the basic wear and tear to an apartment. As I said earlier, we left this apartment in good condition and there was no reason for us not to get back our entire security deposit.

Desired Settlement
I want to receive the remaining of the security deposit that they held back: $440

Business Response
The problem is that our office managing over 1000 units and I do not know where this tenant lived. We cannot find her name on our system.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The tenant was my son, ******** ******, at *** N. ****** Ave, Apt *** in *** *******

Final Business Response
Thank you for the clarification The tenant declined a pre inspection prior to move out which would have given him to opportunity to know what we expect when it comes to the condition of the apartment and then he could have taken action to avoid being charged for the work we had to do. The tenant did not even ask the manager on the day he moved out to come and inspect. They left the keys in office and just left. The manager and our supervisor contend that the deductions were proper and in accordance to the tenants lease agreement and allowable under California Department of Consumer Affairs. I am attaching a copy of the tenants pre inspection moveout form which he declined.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
Business started: 04/25/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 01245855 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 06/21/2019.

Type: Department of Real Estate

Check License Status: http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License id=01245855

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 00675395 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 10/18/2017.

Type: Department of Real Estate

Check License Status: http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License id=00675395

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1986, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Chuck Eberly (President)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Eberly Company, Charles & Cynthia Eberly, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Eberly Company has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Eberly Company

8383 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 906

Beverly Hills, CA 90211-2443

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8383 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 906 

    Beverly Hills, CA 90211-2443(323) 937-6468

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Eberly Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.