BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/13/2010

RDM Management, Inc.

(310) 301-2503P.O. Box 66488, Los AngelesCA 90066-0488

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/13/2010

BBB has determined that RDM Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised RDM Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on RDM Management, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
after a year and a half of harassment form property managers under RDM, i left an apartment.
deposit was only partly refunded to me.
entered unit 28 at XXXXX tabor st location in la (zip XXXXX) in june 2012.
I was harassed constantly by property managers **** and ****** stark without cause. supervisor clarington did nothing- but when asked for repairs- i was delayed and ignored.
in august 2012 i emailed and called rdm manager ( mr. ***** this time) to complain about manager brenda calling and yelling at me- accusing me of being a liar and parking a stranger car in my parking spot. after showing rental lease- no apology was offered.

all this time i was paying my rent on time as usual.

this went on- but i stayed due to rent control and good location.

in october 2013 i had a family emergency and had to leave the country- when coming back i was accused of subletting- while my friend was merely house sitting due to resent break in- in the area.

i gave 30 day notice as required on November 1st 2013 by email and fax and immediately got a response.

on 11/9/13 i had an initial walk through with manager tony and was told apartment looks really good and no amount will be deducted from deposit. i then signed a form saying several things needed to be cleaned. i agreed to clean and signed.
i also informed **** i will not be able to be there in the final walk through since i had to live the city before the weekend ended.

before leaving the apartment Friday 11/29/13. i left the apartment clean, empty and with no damage.
please find videos that documenting it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-**********

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=***********

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=***********

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=***********

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=***********

on December 19th i received a letter from rdm- stating they have deducted:
120$ for cleaning the house
95$ for cleaning the carpet
and 37.9$ for unpaid rent.


i sent the videos of the clean house- along with a receipt for carpet cleaning to manager ***** ******.

when talking on the phone Kevin stated that although i gave 30 day notice starting 11/1- and he replied immediately it only "took affect" 11/2 and they had to charge me more rent.
he then went on to tell me that the form i signed in the initial walk through said i agreed to pay for cleaning. when telling him the law stated he has to prove the house needed more cleaning and that i did give enough notice- he dismissed me very unpleasant and said me deposit will not be returned in full- and did not provide any evidence.

i have all the email exchange between me and the managers that came and went over the year and a half i lived there.

i left to avoid any more unpleasantness and all i ask is to be refunded all of my deposit back.

i can supply all the other documentation i stated i have.

Desired Settlement
i would like to receive the remaining 252.9$ that rdm owes me in security deposit.

Business Response
RDM Management, Inc. does not manage this property and did not during the dates listed in this complaint. However, I am a principal in the company that does manage this property, HMH Associates, Inc. as well as RDM. RDM simply just advertises vacancies for HMH on it's website and performs maintenance work for HMH. I do believe some of the statements in this complaint are a little exaggerated. I do have record of our company responding to every issue brought to our attention concerning this tenant. I also feel the complaints filed by this consumer on this and other websites against RDM were irresponsible considering RDM had no involvement in the management of this property. However, in the interest of settling this issue, HMH Associates would be happy to refund the deductions made on this consumer's security deposit in the amount of $252.90

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
the email address i had to send in all info including giving my 30 day notice- was of RDM management (****@rdmmanagmentinc.com).
the notes left on tenants doors had HMH associats written on them.
and the rent went out to sepulveda tabor properties.

i'm sure you can see how it would be hard to understand where to turn to- since the manager (under RDM) was the one that answered me and called me, i turned to RDM.

i will accept the refund and hope we can part pleasantly.

you should have in your records my new address- please send the check there, thank you.

03/08/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
Business started: 08/07/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 893865 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2017.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/LicenseDetail.aspx?LicNum=893865

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 01396497 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 08/06/2019.

Type: Department of Real Estate

Check License Status: http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License id=01396497

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2003, CA

Number of Employees

47

Business Category

Property Management

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • P.O. Box 66488 

    Los Angeles, CA 90066-0488(310) 301-2503

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*RDM Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.