BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/20/2000

Howard Management Group

(310) 313-006512492 Venice Blvd., Los AngelesCA 90066

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/20/2000

BBB has determined that Howard Management Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Howard Management Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Howard Management Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
According to Howard Management Group's website an application fee of $30 is refundable if another applicant has been approved. My roommates along with myself all sent in applications totaling $150. The very next business day the listing was removed from their website. I then proceeded to inquire about our refunds and was told I would be receiving the $150 back. It has now been 3 months and I have not received the refund or a response back about the status of our refund.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $150 that we were told we would receive.

Business Response
From: ****** *********
Sent: Friday, September 13, 2013 2:18 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

Here is my response. I did not get confirmation that my response was received.

A check for $150.00 has been cut & mailed today. We are sorry for the delay in refunding the application fees. We generally refund this fee within two business days. This refund fee was not remitted to the prospective tenants. We do not use applications fees as an income generator as some companies do. In late August, a follow up e-mail was sent to my rental manager ***** ******* who forwarded the request to my accounting manager. During that time, our Microsoft exchange server was sending/receiving my accounting manager's e-mails off and on. This is why the reminder check was not cut. I wish the tenant would have tried one more time for the refund or copied or called me as the owner of the company for immediate service. I am sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. Since this application fee, our software company rolled out an updated version, where we can now refund the application fee directly to the applicant's credit card.

Thank you,

****** *********, President
Howard Management Group, Inc.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Elevator broke in building, management promised it fixed shortly, 3 weeks later still broken. Elderly people in building in jeopardy. Still broke.
The Elevator broke in building, management promised it fixed shortly, 3 weeks later it is still broken. Elderly people in building in jeopardy and risk serious injury being forced to use the stairs. Management has not come through on any promises to repair the elevator. DO NOT RENT THROUGH ****** MANAGEMENT.

Desired Settlement
Refund on rent paid (pro-rated for time of elevator downtime). Lease was signed for a building that has a working elevator, this building no longer does. Management has been complaining of people not taking their packages upstairs, when elevator has been broken.

Business Response
The elevator was put back in service on 5/20/2014. This elevator has a monthly elevator service contract and the part needed took more time than expected to install, configure and work properly. We authorized any and all overtime necessary to complete the task. The ownership is currently receiving bids for a complete modernization of the elevator. As far as the packages, an area manager was at the property and noticed a few odd size light packages were in the lobby for a few weeks. The area manager called Mr. *********** about the packages, and he became very upset that we would call him about the packages when the elevator was down. The area manager personally brought the packages to the unit with a note about the light weight of the package and a personality conflict started over the issue, which I personally sent an apology for during the e-mail dialog. With regard to compensation, the elevator is working and do not feel we are legally obligated to provide a rental credit or compensation in this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
Business started: 06/06/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 01521497 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 02/26/2018.

Type: Department of Real Estate

Check License Status: http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License id=01521497

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 947816 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 05/31/2016.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/LicenseDetail.aspx?LicNum=947816

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 01048034 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 06/05/2016.

Type: Department of Real Estate

Check License Status: http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License id=01048034

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1998, CA

Business Management
Principal: Howard Greenberg (President)Customer Contact: Daniel Sloan (Vice President)
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Property Management

Service Area

This business's service area covers North Hollywood, Van Nuys, Marina Del Rey, Brentwood, Los Angeles, Playa Del Rey, Bel Air, Silverlake, Palms, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Culver City, Westwood, Westchester, Cheviot Hills, Pacific Palisades, Echo Park, Encino, Toluca Lake, Mar Vista, Century City, Koreatown, Holmby Hills, West Hollywood, and Santa Monica.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Howard Management Group

12492 Venice Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90066

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12492 Venice Blvd. 

    Los Angeles, CA 90066

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Howard Management Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.