BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2009

Cal Western Property Management, Inc.

Phone: (408) 554-1818

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Property management was taking care of my apartment I rented my apart Housing Authority
calwestern hasnt returned tenant's repair request 14 days. Property management was taking care of my apartment I rented my apart Housing Authority
calwestern hasnt returned tenant's repair request 14 days.housing autrhorty stopped paying my rent
cal-western's problem became my problem
calwestern took all my money from my trusteed accounts and saying that go ahead work with Housing Autrhority they lied to me saying that tenant went to jail lie, talked to housing authrotiy they didnt show up 14 days tenant asked to fix kicheen leaking

Desired Settlement
i want me 6.000 refund this is not my issue
they are the one failed working with Housing Athority they took my 6.000$ from my share accounts
person:*********************************




********@calwestern.com,

Business' Initial Response
*****,

We have received your claim to the Better Business Bureau.

As you well know I have been working with the Santa Clara County Housing Authority very closely over the last several months to have them return the money the wrongfully took from you.

On May 29, 2013, I spoke with ******* ******* at the Santa Clara County Housing Authority office and she informed me that they (Santa Clara County Housing Authority) are sending you a check for $6,855.00, which covers the following dates for rent:

October 2012 at $1265.00

November 2012 at $1265.00

December 2012 at $1265.00

January 2013 at $1265.00

February 2013 at $1265.00

March 01-13, 2013 @ $530.00

TOTAL CHECK: $6,855.00


The check is being mailed directly to you and is to be mailed out on their next check run of June 5, 2013.

Attached are emails with the housing authority and letter dated March 12, 2013 with supporting documents.

Sincerely,

******* *********
Property Manager
(XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. ***
********@calwestern.com

Cal-Western Property Management
**** *** ********** **** ****
*** ***** ** XXXXX
www.calwestern.com

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I terminated my relationship with Cal Western in February of this year and I'd like the balance of my account to be returned to me.
I terminated my relationship with Cal Western in February of this year because I was selling my property.

I received a detailed statement on Feb 26 which noted that my account had an ending balance of $291.70.

I emailed my property manager, ******* ***************** on March 30th, April 3rd and April 8th requesting the balance to be returned to me. She has not returned any of my emails.

I also called ******* **************** on April 11th and left a voice mail but that has also gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement
My ending account balance should be returned to me either by check or deposit into my checking account.

Business' Initial Response
April 22, 2013

Dear ******,

We have received your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau, and I wanted to take a moment to acknowledge and respond to it, as I am a bit confused. I received your voicemail on April 11th asking about the balance in your account. I had already deposited $207.54 into your account at Wells Fargo that very day. I also left you a voice-mail on your cell letting you know that I had made this deposit.

Here is the accounting:

$30.05 PG&E bill on March 14, 2013

$35.34 to the Screen Shop on April 05, 2013 for the broken screen by the past tenant (money was also taken from their security deposit)

$15.38 to PG&E on April 11, 2013

$3.39 to PG&E on April 11, 2013

I had held back $1200 for the interior painting, as I hadn't received a bill yet. I received the bill today and it was for $800.00.

In the meantime I have received the final billing from San Jose Water Company for $44.54.

Which leaves a balance of $355.46 in your account at Cal-Western after we have paid these last two bills. This will be deposited into your account at Wells Fargo Bank by the end of this week.

I hope this explanation is helpful to you, and I'm hoping you will consider retracting your complaint.

Thanks ******,

******* *********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Maintenance, Painting Contractors, Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.