BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mount Sinai Surgery Center, LLC

(818) 343-1401View Additional Phone Numbers18425 Burbank Blvd., Suite 105, TarzanaCA 91356

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Mount Sinai Surgery Center, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mount Sinai Surgery Center, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

On 1/6/2011 I was at Mount Sinai Surgery Center and had an endoscopy performed for a lap-band surgery (that I never received). I was told that because I had a PPO that they would accept what the insurance company paid as full payment. I am now receiving bills from a collection agency for $49,648.24. I was at the facility only one time, and that was on 1/6/2011 and had the endoscopy performed. I am being charged for a surgery that I never had, or I am being charged $50k for an endoscopy. Either way, I was told that Mount Sinai would accept what my insurance company paid as payment in full. I do owe them $2,500 yet, but that is a far cry from the $50k they are charging me. I have tried to reason with the collection agency, Grant & Weber in Calabasas, CA, but they insist that I owe the money.

Desired Settlement
I want Mount Sinai Surgery Center to stop the collection agency from further harassing me and drop this action.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Connie *******-Billing
Contact Phone: ************ Ext 210
Contact Email: ******

Dear Ms. Mathews,
I am writing in response to your email dated on 09/18/13.
Ms. Walker was seen in our office to have a procedure done on January 6, 2011. She was informed that we are out-of-network providers for her insurance company and claims were processed according to her out of net-network benefits and subject to co-insurance and deductible. In addition, her insurance company may send reimbursement check(s) directly to her. In that case, she needs to forward the payment directly to us to avoid collection. She acknowledged, understood and signed consent.
We have followed our company protocol by using our policies and procedures. We have sent patient statements, along with a reminder letters followed by several phone calls and emails requesting that she has to remit insurance payment that was rendered and cashed otherwise we will send her account to a collection agency. Again, we have sent final letters to Ms. Walker on February 08, 2012. Ms. Walker has failed to response to our calls, letters and emails.
On 08/15/13 I received a call from Grant and Weber (collection agency). I was told that the patient had contacted the collection agency and Ms. Walker agreed to pay the amount of $2,294.69(cashed) as payment in full. But no payment was received as promised instead she filed a complaint to Better Business Bureau.
I believed we have provided her sufficient notice to resolve this matter. She has the right to report the situation to Better Business Bureau. However, as I have explained above, her complaint has no legitimate reason against our company.
If you have any question, please do not hesitate to call me @************* Ext.210.


Connie *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not disputing the $2400 billing. I am disputing the billing that was sent to the collection in the amount of $49k for an endoscopy. I was not informed that I would be subject to any co-pay, in fact, the Dr., himself, informed me that since I had PPO insurance, that he would accept what the insurance company paid as payment in full. That is the only reason I went to him. I am asking that the Dr. correct the billing that he sent to the collection agency and make up his mind what is owed. First it was $2400, then it was $49k, then it was $2500, now it is $49k again. I am tired of being harassed by their collection agency. This Dr. appears to be trying to fraudently collect for services he did not perform. A complete gastric bypass does not cost $49k.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. Matthew,
I spoke with Grant & Weber (collection agency). I was told that the account was in "promise status".
Ms. Walker promised to pay the amount reimbursed by her insurance company that paid directly to her.
We are not asking for any co insurance. At this point, we are will to settle this account as soon as we received the payment in full.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call me at ************ Ext 210.
Thank you,
Connie *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still receiving correspondence from Grant & Weber (including calls from their "attorney") demanding the full amount of $49,691.14. I need an ITEMIZED statement reflecting what is exactly owed to clear this up. I want to be done with this, but all correspondence I get is for the larger amount.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Additional Information

Business started: 06/11/2004
Number of Employees


Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Alternate Business Names
Lap-Band VIP, Mount Sinai Surgery Center

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mount Sinai Surgery Center, LLC

18425 Burbank Blvd., Suite 105

Tarzana, CA 91356

To | From


1 Locations

  • 18425 Burbank Blvd., Suite 105 

    Tarzana, CA 91356

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mount Sinai Surgery Center, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 561-9000

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.