BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1992

Ecola Services, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 332-2847

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

The company did not perform services as promised and it is threatening to send a bill to collection
On March 8th or so, I noticed a lot of bees in my bedroom. I called ***** of Ecola Termite company and asked him to do an inspection. I told him that I want bees to be removed alive. He came when I was not in the house. He went on the roof and sprayed something that killed bees. A week later, there were bees in my bedroom. I called again and he came back and told me that he forgot to spray inside the bedroom. He sprayed again. I asked him, "were you not supposed to remove them alive." He said, "it will fill up the house with bees." He promised, he will return in a week.

He was supposed to come over on Tuesday of next week. On that day, I called in the morning to ensure that he will be home and I waited for him. When he did not show up, I called and he said, "My wife is having some problems with her health and I need to take her to hospital." I will come tomorrow.
I told him, Ok, I will wait for you.
Next day, he did not show up again. I called again and again and there was not answer.
I got really frustrated. By this time, my house is full of bees and I can't sleep in my bedroom.
I called several companies and after getting a quote, I hired Green Bees. A company, which came on Friday and removed bees alive, repaired the roof and removed the hive. For their services, I paid them 700.
I had forgotten Ecola termite services since they had not completed any of my service.
Then they started to call me and demand services. I am surprised, services for whatleaving me waiting and waiting my time. I could not do my work, had to take time off from work to accommodate Dave's schedule. Should I be asking them to compensate for unprofessional services. I got 2 calls and I told them that Dave had not shown up and I am not paying the bill. Both of the persons did not say anything. Then, I got a call from the Billing department and she could not apologize for anything other than the fact taht they are going to send the bill to collection. I am really surprised at the unprofessional services and then asserting for moneyI have been a home owner for ages and I never had companies not performing and then charging money. This is very unprofessional. I have proof of a payment made to Green Bees plus all the text messages that I sent to Dave of Ecoloa Termite asking him where he is and my frustration with him not showing up. I would love to submit it with this complaint.

Desired Settlement
I want Ecola to stop calling me and remove my bill from their system. They did not complete services. Even if they claim that Dave sprayed, I did not want him to spray. I called him specifically because I thought he was going to remove bees alive. In today's time and age when we have such a shortage of bees, he is going on killing them.
His spray did not take care of the problem. He came and told me that he should have sprayed inside the house also. It is not my fair to me that he is not completing his job and I am paying for his mistakes.
Finally, I hired someone to take care of the exact problem that he was supposed to do. Why should i pay Ecola and another company for the same problem. Please explain.
I want them to stop bugging me and take the bill out of the system and improve their work.

Business Response
We are truly apologetic regarding your frustration of billing and incomplete service. We have zeroed out the balance on your account. This was done on the 4.08.2016. We have complied with your request and consider this matter resolved. Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
thanks for taking care of it.

09/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Ecola billed us for a full pest control visit but performed, at most, only a small portion of the service. We paid for the work actually performed.
On July 1, 2014, an Ecola employee visited our house to perform the quarterly pest control services per our contract. The Ecola office called my cell phone to tell me the technician was at our house. I told the office worker how the technician could access our back gate. I was told that our regular service provider was there so that would not be a problem.

When I arrived home there was an invoice (#XXXXXXXX) for the full quarterly pest control service ($86). (Ecola apparently increased the price from the pervious $80 without giving us any notice.) The invoice indicated only "0.25 ounces of product were used and said "suspend, front only, back gate was closed." It did not appear that any service had been performed. (None of the doormats had been moved, as they usually are after service, and the usual mint smell from the service was absent.)

Our front yard is very small. So, Ecola's admitted failure to perform any service in the back yard means that, at best, it performed only a small portion of the pest control service it was contracted to perform. Past invoices indicate about 2 ounces of pesticide are normally used during our quarterly service while only a quarter of an ounce were used this time.

Ecola mailed a second invoice (also for $86) that did not mention that service was only performed on our front yard.

On July 16, 2014, we sent Ecola a letter explaining in detail these problems and enclosing a check for $20. That seemed fair for the small portion of the service that Ecola says it performed. (For comparison, Ecola charges a $10 fee if it makes a trip and the property "is not available for service.")

Ecola has provided no information justifying its invoices for the full quarterly service. It has credited the $20 payment but is continuing to send statements indicating the remaining amount is due ($66). The latest statement was dated 8/5/14 (#XXXXXXXX).

We believe we have been more than fair and Ecola has been unresponsive and has questionable billing practices. The failure to access the back yard was Ecola's fault. I told them how to access the back yard and was told it "wouldn't be a problem." And Ecola's original invoice admits that service was performed in the "front only" not the back yard. Ecola has no reason to charge us for work it did not do. (And it unilaterally increased the service charge without bothering to tell us).

We are happy to provide supporting documentation for all of this information.

As a final note, the first page of Ecola's website says it is accredited with the better business bureau and has an A+ rating ( But the BBB website says Ecola Services is not accredited with the BBB.

Desired Settlement
Ecola should accept the $20 payment we made and send us a statement indicating that invoice #XXXXXXXXX has been paid in full and no amount is due.

Business Response
*** and **** *********,
We would like to send out our apology for the miscommunication. We are aware that the services in your backyard were not preformed, due to the gate being locked. However, we have since that date have tried to contact you 8 times to schedule the remaining of the service. We are trying complete services rendered. There has been no returned call to our office to schedule. The only response we received is letter saying that services are not complete and a partial payment. We have been doing our best at attempting to contact you our dear customer to complete services. In which we are more than and ready to do upon you scheduling for a convenient date. We would sad to loose you as a customer. If you wish to continue service with us please contact us and schedule for remaining treatment needed. If you do not wish to continue please lets us know and we will adjust the account to a $0 balance. We want you to be happy in what ever direction you chose to go, just let us know how you'd like to proceed and we are ready to assist. Feel free to contact me direct ************ ****** ** Customer Service Manager and Sales and Reputation Director

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/14/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I was billed for $700. for an extended termite warranty when I wanted the 2 year warranty to check if I still had termites.
I thought the $700. bill was too much and will decline it, but I still am entitled to the 2 year warranty to check for termites. I had called the local office prior to feb. 10th and was told that tBen Taylor would call me. He left a message on my answering machine on Feb. 11th that $700. was the best price for an annual warranty, and to call the main office in Mission Hills to discuss this. AT NO TIME during these 2 phone calls was I asked if I wanted my recheck. I just got off the phone with the Mission Hills office (today is 2/23/16) and inquired about the recheck. I was told that I waited to long and my 2 year warranty was expired. (I had the tenting done on 2/10-12/ 2014. I spent $6720. and expected a 2 year recheck. I was never called by them or notified that I had to schedule the recheck before 2/12/16 or would have done so.

Desired Settlement
I want Ecola to do what they said they would do and make sure I don't have termites as was written in the warranty. They are just not doing this because I don't want to continue with them for an annual fee of $700. This is just not right and as a consumer, I feel that I was mislead.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Daniel Reputation Directo
Contact Phone: 818.920.6182
Contact Email: ******
Hello ******
after looking at the account I do see that you are currently out of the 2 year warranty period. However I can accommodate you in getting your inspection done per your request. Please contact me at your earliest at 818.920.6182 or 818.231.7314 Daniel S***; Reputation Director Ecola Services Inc

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

ECOLA refused to warranty or clear the termite treatments that they provided.
Before starting the paper works for the treatments they said that they have been working with escrow companies & they willing to do the report for the escrow company, Now my escrow agent just let me know that they refuse to do that. They said they could give a completion report only, they laughed at my escrow agent about certified/clear the property of the termites even they completed the treatments.

Desired Settlement
Within today they have to provide the certified or clearance report to my escrow company that the property is cleared of termites.

Business Response
Hello ****,
It is unfortunate to here your frustration in this matter. I feel almost as if you were speaking with a different company. I'd love to know if you remember a name of the person you spoke too. Based off my records in you account the completion notice which has the certified clearance on that notice was emailed to the address ***** on 9/18/2014. however it could of went to spam. Not a problem I will re email your document back out to all email address on file and please call me direct to let me know you did receive requested documents. my direct # is 818.920.6182. Thank you for bringing this to my attention

07/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.