BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2003

U.S. Bankcard Services, Inc.

Phone: (888) 525-8558Fax: (888) 877-1234View Additional Phone Numbers17171 Gale Ave Ste 110, City of IndustryCA 91745-1822

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2003

BBB has determined that U.S. Bankcard Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised U.S. Bankcard Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on U.S. Bankcard Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
07/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harrassment over closing account I no longer wish to have for my business. 2 wks no contact from supervisor, my account to be drafted after not agree
I emailed several times******** as well as spoke on the phone on closing my account. The salesman I originally started account with is no longer with them.My first attempt to close account was never followed thru so called back and was now working with********* After several emails of saying my signature didn't match original which was electronically signed over net I was asked for my social security number, my drivers license and so forth . Still saying I cannot close my account and will continue to be charged even though I am not using, I have sent machine back stating that it wasn''t charging and was told I now have to pay shipping which I did, plus $95.00 return fee ?? plus labor and parts to fix machine they will be keeping. I didn't do anything to their equipment but was told it will be drafted from account on top of monthly fees of around %0.00. The machine can go up to 1500.00 they are not sure what my fees will be. I offered to provide a tracking number and was told it has to be in there hands to physically see it or I owe the total cost of machine. I have mailed it with signature confirmation but feel as if this is beyond harrassment and when asked several times to please speak to a supervisor I was told they don't take calls but a request can be left and its up to the supervisor if they choose to call back. Still no phone call from a supervisor and been over a week. I then on another occassion asked to talk to corporate and was told no I could not have there number he felt it wasn't neccessary I was taking it too far. I don't want funds drafted from my account that I do not owe and have never ever been thru any of this in 20 years of running a business.I have several emails showing that I am trying to just close the account paying for the fees for the month I did use and that is it. Not for a continued service I don't use. Or for a machine I sent back.

Desired Settlement
I would like please to just have my account closed with my final month of fees not other add on fees and not for 95.00 plus labor and machine costs. I would also like corporate phone number.

Business Response
Hello ******, in regards to the cancellation process, we were first notified that you wish to close the merchant account on 12/20/2013 and promptly sent a cancellation form the same day. Upon receipt of the cancellation form, the signature did not match with the one on the original application. It was determined the application was first signed via e-signature. As such, we had to verify the account holder's information through other means by confirming SSN and DOB as standard operating procedures. Due to the nature of the situation with mismatched signatures, we requested a copy of the driver's license with a signature that matches the one on the hand signed cancellation form to prove that it was indeed the same person. As indicated in your case, there are several emails going back and forth on this matter as you would not provide a valid form of ID to show the signature matches with "****** ******" which caused the delay in submitting the cancellation form.
In regards to the fees, the $95 is a wireless terminal deactivation fee that will be assessed upon the closure of the merchant account, or when the terminal is no longer required and returned. Understand this was clearly indicated in the merchant processing agreement for all wireless terminals. The $1500 you mentioned is the retail value of the wireless unit, as indicated on the signed loaner terminal agreement, where in the event the terminal is determined to be broken/ unrepairable/ or not returned, will be assessed. I believe there was some confusion on this matter because in order for us to properly diagnose the terminal, we would need to receive the physical terminal itself, which can either be brought in in person or mailed to our office.
In summary, your account is closed as of 12/27/2013. The existing fee owed is $95 for the deactivation of the wireless terminal. There is a potential $1500 that will be assessed if the terminal is not returned to our office in proper working condition within 30 days of the account closure date as indicated on the cancellation form that was submitted to you. The terminal that needs to be returned is a Nurit8020, serial number XXX-XXX-XXX. The corporate phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree. The first rep I talked to never submitted my request as I explained to you the first conversation. Almost a week later is when I spoke with you.

Several emails back and forth to verify an electronic signature, which you were clueless on until my partner and I both explained several times. After I believe 5 times of signing from ****** to Debra then Debra Lynne ******, then from cursive to print I think I was about done. Then it went to Social Security numbers to tax id to addresses and so forth. I was closing an account, that was all.

Didn't go through any of this to open it. I called merchant company and explained to the nice rep and she said all you requested was not needed and you should have provided me corporate or a supervisor to speak with which you denied several times and all of us here heard you and even questioned you on why ?

Rep with merchant co went to her supervisor and she is the one who got my account closed in a matter of a few minutes.

As far as the fees, I agree to 95.00 closing but no wheres in my papers I was given is there anything about me being responsible for a malfunctioning machine.

I was told it was like a rental , not a purchase. If anything was to go wrong I could call and get help and it would be exchanged like any other rental program.

I did tell you also the machine was shipped 2-3 day and offered you tracking number which you said you were not in need of it was for me to watch for its delivery. You went on to say that it needed to physically be placed in your hands or what I feel is a threat it may not get there and then I would owe the total fees of a new machine. You offered for me To hand deliver it from Florida and I believe you are located in another state seems like another jab at being harassed.

You have still not let me know you have received even though it has been delivered.

Care to explain all this ? And why no call from supervisor yet either ?

Still very dissatisfied.

****** ****** (Electronic Signature )





Final Business Response
Hi ******,

We received the loaner terminal on 1/9/2014. You are correct in saying the terminal is not a purchase as it is a FREE loaner terminal (not a rental). Only in the event the terminal is returned damaged or not in proper working condition will we have the right to assess fees associated to the repairs or full coverage of the terminal price. In your case, the terminal was returned, tested, and determined to have a non-working power supply and a missing modem.

However, as a good faith gesture, USBSI WILL NOT pursue the fees associated with the physical terminal, and will only require the payment of $95 for the deactivation fee.

In regards to you calling in and able to close the merchant account, typically the signed cancellation form with matching signature is still required. This may have been an oversight and was approved without further confirmation. If it is any consolation, your merchant cancellation form was submitted to for closure around the same time. As previously stated, standard procedure normally dictates that matching signatures be confirmed, but in your case, and exception was made as you were able to confirm other key details related to the merchant processing account.

I want to confirm with you again your account was closed as of 12/27/2013.

Thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do agree to the $95.00 closing account. What I have a problem with is the modem you are referring to as missing ?? I had my own modem that was purchased thru Verizon under contract and have the papers here to provide proof if you would like to review. Also when relocated to new store, was serviced over internet thru Hughes Network so could you please explain .

Again, I do agree to the closing fees of $95.00 of closure to the account.

I am also pleased that you can see I did not damage the equipment, a faulty non-working power supply is an electronic issue that does occur in all equipment on its own making not only useless but affects business sales.

Once more, its a sad shame no call from a supervisor as of yet. In both my companies I run, customer satisfaction is a top priority. Says a lot about my businesses as an owner. A simple phone call can go along way .

Thank You ,

****** )O(

04/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
03/29/2016Billing / Collection Issues
11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Payment Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Gift Certificates/Cards

Additional Information

top
Business started: 04/26/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1996, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Chris Chang (President / CEO)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Alan Long (Sr. IT Manager) Ronald Leung (CS Manager) Anne Yang (Marketing Manager)
Number of Employees

76

Business Category

Payment Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Gift Certificates/Cards

Alternate Business Names
U.S. Bankcard Services, USBSI

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for U.S. Bankcard Services, Inc.

17171 Gale Ave Ste 110

City of Industry, CA 91745-1822

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 17171 Gale Ave Ste 110 

    City of Industry, CA 91745-1822(888) 525-8558

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*U.S. Bankcard Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 888-8872
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Payment Processing Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.