BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

On & Off-Site Shredding Services

(877) 444-5529View Additional Phone Numbers12331 Foothill Boulevard, SylmarCA 91342

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On & Off-Site Shredding Services is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on On & Off-Site Shredding Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have never heard of this business until today. I received a call regarding payment of a recently issued invoice for $90.00 on a pick-up service in Nov-2009, that apparently was never billed out. I immediately asked why an invoice for almost 3 years ago would just now be getting billed out. Apparently the shredder is going out of business and this is a last ditch effort to gather as much capital as possible. I asked for a manager to call be to discuss. I receive a call from a Dave who identified himself as an office manager. When I questioned why this was so delayed (3 years) in getting billed, Dave immediately became combative and said that I was lucky that our documents have been disposed off or he would bring the shredding documents back to me and dump them on my door step. I asked how long has he been a manager, because I am shocked he would even say something so stupid and ridiculous. Apparently he is a very tough guy, and threatened to come to my office to show just how tough he is. I asked him for clarification, are you threatening me? He said "Oh yeah, I will see you at your office". I told him that would be ill advised if he had any brains. He then clearly said that he was going to be coming by at his time and I better watch my back. I don't mind listening to big mouths talk big game in a world they nothing about what is big game. I look forward to see if this Dave the office managers actions are in as poor judgment as his office management skills.
Product_Or_Service: unknown

Desired Settlement
I would like **** the owner to contact me this week to discuss the actions and liability his designated office manager has put him and his company in. I will be contacting the proper authorities and seeking legal actions on this matter based on facts and witness testimony from several of my office staff participating in this call. In matters of physical threat and criminal intent, no corporate veil shields business owners from legal persecution, and I intend to take this matter to completion.

Business Response
On 6/27/13 I **** ******* had a phone conversation with ***** ****** and discussed the reason of ***** calling a trying to collect debt of a past due invoice closing on 6/3/11, ***** was never threatened by ***** at any time and was told if he needed to see all work orders that were signed for every service we provided ***** would take the time and go see ***** to discuss the reason of non payment as he kept saying we have nothing to with this invoice. When ***** and I spoke on the phone on 6/27/13 we agreed to settle the past due bill in the amount of $160.00 for 50% off the bill bringing the total to only $80.00 so he and I agreed on this and considered the matter closed! Why till this day 10/16/13 has he not sent a payment? you can see how he goes on and on complaining and never once mentions our conversation or that he tried paying the past due bill for only $80.00. Med Works was always invoiced at the time of every service request, in June 3, 2011 they cancelled their service and again no payment was sent or any attempts to settle the bill. We have never encountered a client like Med Works where we provided service for and when payment is due they will try to do anything to get out of paying, ***** ****** accusations are all false! We have serviced thousands of clients and never have came across such false accusations and effort just to try get out of paying a bill. We will proceed with proper legal collection action against Med Works as we do have all employee signed request work orders or if ***** ****** wants to resolve this matter he can contact our office at 877-444-5529.

Final Business Response
***** lets get one thing straight, I **** ******* am the owner who you talked to on the phone after ***** nor he or I never threatened you! your feeble response has led me to be the bigger person and walk away from this issue that is no longer worth my time. Please take the amount you owe us and add it to your 6-figure donation (wow!) and apply it to your preference! I hereby end all communication & attempts to collect any type of payment from ***** ******/Medworks and hope you the best in business and will always keep Medworks in mind as a giving small business...

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paper & Document Shredding

Additional Information

Business started: 06/01/2008
Number of Employees


Business Category

Paper & Document Shredding

Alternate Business Names
Off-Site Shredding Services, Offsite Shredding

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for On & Off-Site Shredding Services

12331 Foothill Boulevard

Sylmar, CA 91342

To | From


1 Locations

  • 12331 Foothill Boulevard 

    Sylmar, CA 91342

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*On & Off-Site Shredding Services is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (818) 896-8100

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Paper & Document Shredding


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.