BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Modern Data Products, Inc.

(800) 309-0904View Additional Phone Numbers22122 Sherman Way Suite 204, Canoga ParkCA 91303http://www.shopmis.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Modern Data Products, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Modern Data Products, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 3 ink toners from ******* ***** and have had another previous order before this one. The last 3 toners all failed. The first ink toner dispursed ink toner powder into my printer, which I had to clean and then the toner stopped working shortly. The second toner ran out of ink before the maximum pages were printer. These are high yield ink toners and it barely printed 1,500 pages. The same happened with the third toner. I let ******* know about this on 1/14/15 but he has failed to assist me and has ignored my request for refund. Instead, he offered me that I should put in 2 orders of 2 ink toners and then get the 3rd free. I refuse to buy from this company and he is making me purchase toner from him even though I refuse to buy from them again. Their product is unreliable and he admitted to the toners not working properly in my email correspondences, which I have kept. I have yet to hear from him again.
Product_Or_Service: ink toner
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: cust ** - *******

Desired Settlement
I would like $87.18 back which is part of invoice XXXXXXX.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXXx322
Contact Email: XXXXXX
Our sales rep did call the customer back. We carry a full range of cartridges for all printers from OEM to Top American Made from MSE or Xerox, and then when a customer just demands the cheapest cartridge out there we have Chinese branded products, most of which are perfectly good for standard black toners. The Hi yiend TN450 should last approx 2,600 pages, but that's highly dependent on the documents your printing. Page yield with all supplies is based on 5% coverage, some documents are much highter. We are happy to field destroy the one bad cartridge, and offer you a good price for any number of other brands. It seems you fully used the second two. And 1,500 is certainly within the range of possible yield. You paid 27 dollars each, free freight no tax. Staples sells OEM for 69 dollars plus tax so 76 dollars for one. We have never had a complaint on this vendor for yield, so we presume you printed heavy and go resonable value on 2 of the 3. Contact ******* for a credit or optional replacement on the defective.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business did not handle their response professionally, but I will let that slide. **** claims "when a customer just demands the cheapest cartridge out there we have Chinese branded products" but ******* did not even mention to me the various types of cartridges that they have. I did not reply call them and ask for the cheapest cartridge. ******* was the one who looked up my business and proposed a TN450 product and I purchased it. However, I have received a return label and will look forward to getting refunded or replacement at this point since I have spent so much time already trying to get a response from this company. It's also strange that **** mentioned no one has complained about their products when ******* admitted to the cartridge that I purchased in fact has had issues and now they have changed suppliers so it shouldn't have the same issue again.

04/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company calls too many times to sell me something I do not want. Asked them to stop, and they continue!
This company has called me three times a week, usually three times in the same day, to offer me some product that I was never interested in. Every time they call, I usually answer on the third call because I am fed up with my phone ringing. I tell them to remove me from the list and I am NOT interested, and the calls stop until the next week or so, then they begin calling again. I am not sure what else to do but file a complaint to get the harassing phone calls to stop!

Desired Settlement
Just to stop contacting me!

Business Response
email received:
Dear ***** ****,
I just want to apologize for the behavior of the rep or reps who have been calling you and failing to make notes on your request. I am available anytime if you just email me here if you ever get called again I will immediately take care of it. We take good customer service very seriously and this should not happen. Please let me know if you have any further problem.
Thank you,
**** ********
President
Modern Imaging Solutions Inc,
Modern Data Products, Inc.

email received:
We apologize for the excessive calls. We use goldmine CRM and we had a new employee who did not make the required notes on the calls. This has now been done.
Thank you,
**** ********
President,
Modern Data Products

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Office Supplies

Additional Information

top
Business started: 02/23/1989
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Office Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Modern Imaging Solutions, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modern Data Products, Inc.

22122 Sherman Way Suite 204

Canoga Park, CA 91303

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 22122 Sherman Way Suite 204 

    Canoga Park, CA 91303

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modern Data Products, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 511-7585
  • (888) 317-5807
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.modernimagingsolutions.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Office Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.