BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Herbalife International of America, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (310) 410-9600Fax: (310) 216-5145800 W Olympic Blvd #406, Los AngelesCA 90015-1367View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.herbalife.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers multi level sales, offering business opportunitues for independent distributors marketing Herbalife's products for weight management, dietary supplements, energy & fitness, aging, skin & hair care, nutritional and personal health care products developed by scientists, doctors and nutriltionists.

BBB Accreditation

Herbalife International of America, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Herbalife International of America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Government action(s) against business.

Factors that raised Herbalife International of America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service21
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Herbalife International of America, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (29)
06/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was not allowed to return incorrect unused product immediately after receiving.
I received the wrong product, whether by mistake or internet issue. I asked the consultant to allow me to return it or exchange it. They stated I got what I ordered and stopped communication with me. I called the corporate number to complain and try to get this resolved and they said the consultant has the right to run her business how she sees fit and that there is nothing they can do to help. They have a 30 day return/exchange policy and NO ONE would help me get the product returned. I sent an email in to the company asking for assistance as well, twice, and to no avail I received NO response to either. I find this to be very misleading and bad business practice. I want my money back for the trouble since they won't let me return this unused product. I reached out to the consultant the DAY I RECEIVED IT in the mail and called corporate the Day After when the consultant told me she couldn't help me.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the product I ordered, since I will not use it and cannot seemingly return it. I am no longer interested in receiving the correct item as I am disgusted with this service. I will be sure to tell all of my friends not to use this product due to their customer service issues.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to *******'s concern.

We have coordinated a full refund with the Independent Member which sold the product to *******. If ******* has any further concern she may contact us at ************ extension XXXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Full refund was issued, however it should not have ta Ken this much effort to receive assistance when there is a policy to help with exchanges and returns. Glad it was reaolved , but the member did not contact me at all.

08/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 4/30/2014 I signed up to be a distributor with Herbalife. When signing up I was informed that there is a 90 day money back guarantee. While signing up I wanted to only sign up for the distributor pack for $69.58. I was told that I needed to purchase the products as well so I did for $167.76. After about two weeks I decided that this is not for me. I was encouraged by another part of Herbalife to try the products, I was called on a regular basis to check up and get my opinion on the products. After about two weeks I decided that this is not for me. On 5/13/2014 I had called to cancel the program and return the product. I was informed while trying to cancel and receive a refund that I was promised. However I was told that I can get my money back for the $69.58 for the distributor pack but for any products that were opened I would not be getting a refund because they are not resalable. If I was told that there is a 90 day 100% money back guarantee. Why would I not be getting my money back. I used 3-4 portions of the product and don't like it, it is advertised you will get your money back if you don't like it. I was mislead in what I was told and feel mislead into buying and using product that I didn't want in the first place. I would like to be contact about this matter ASPA to get this resolved.
On 4/30/2014 I signed up to be a distributor with Herbalife. When signing up I was informed that there is a 90 day money back guarantee. While signing up I wanted to only sign up for the distributor pack for $69.58. I was told that I needed to purchase the products as well so I did for $167.76. After about two weeks I decided that this is not for me. I was encouraged by another part of Herbalife to try the products, I was called on a regular basis to check up and get my opinion on the products. After about two weeks I decided that this is not for me. On 5/13/2014 I had called to cancel the program and return the product. I was informed while trying to cancel and receive a refund that I was promised. However I was told that I can get my money back for the $69.58 for the distributor pack but for any products that were opened I would not be getting a refund because they are not resalable. If I was told that there is a 90 day 100% money back guarantee. Why would I not be getting my money back. I used 3-4 portions of the product and don't like it, it is advertised you will get your money back if you don't like it. I was mislead in what I was told and feel mislead into buying and using product that I didn't want in the first place. I would like to be contact about this matter ASPA to get this resolved.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to response to this issue. We currently have a buy back case open for **** ******* and have received his paperwork, however, we are still waiting for **** to return the products. A courtesy call was placed on June 24, 2014, but we have not received a response. Once we receive a response from **** we can proceed as needed. We remain open to assisting **** and request that he respond to our contact attempts or contact ***** ******** at XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am sending back the product that I have that was unopened. They were picked up by FedEx at the beginning of August. When I first called to return the product, I was told by the Herbalife rep that I can only returned the unopened product. I explained that I was told that I had a 90 guarantee on all products. The rep informed me that because I also signed up as a distributor, I could only return the unopened product. I could send in the opened product and if a manager approves the return, then I would be refunded. If it is not approved then I don't get a refund or the product sent back to me. That is what upset me. I'm going to be out $200.00 and out the product if the manager does not approve a refund. I don't agree with that being an ethical business practice. I will send back the remaining product, that I opened if I can have it confirmed that I will receive a full refund. That is all I'm looking for. Please contact me by phone or email to get this resolved. Thank you.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the case, and will be issuing a
full refund for all opened and unopened
products. We attempted to speak to **** on
August 21, 2014 to provide an update, however, were unable to make contact. We
will continue to reach out to **** until contact
is made.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have received the full refund. I'm satisfied that I was finally able to get the full refund. Sad that it took 4 or 5 months and contacting the BBB. I will say that I won't be doing business with Herbalife anymore due to how long it was to get a refund. All this would have been avoided if I simply would have been able return the product when I first wanted to, like is advertised. Thank you for getting the refund to me.

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered items were not delivered on specified date. They were not delivered at all. I was told a refund would take 4 to 6 weeks.
On 5/26/2014 my wife and I purchased a Distributor Membership, ID Number ***XXXXXXX with Herbalife for $71.08, Order Number *XXXXXXXXX. Along with this purchase we made and PAID for an order for products totaling $488.27, Order Number *XXXXXXXXX These charges were made to my Mastercard. We were told that due to the holiday (Memorial Day) we would not be able to pick up our order until 5/28/2014 after 3:00pm. When we went to the location we were directed to, Way of Life Nutrition in *** ********* the door was locked and the business sign said the hours of operation were from 7-2 M-F. We immediately called the person, ***** ********* who sold us the membership to inquire about this issue. We were told that the items were at her store, over an hour away from our home. We were told that she would deliver them to our home. This was at 2:45pm. At 7:30pm we still had not received our merchandise. I decided that I did not want to be associated with a company who does business when it is convenient for them and not by set hours or methods. I contacted Herbalife directly. After several minutes on hold I was directed to the refund department. When I told the girl that I wanted to discontinue my relationship with Herbalife and that I wanted a refund for membership fees and products not received she gave me a reference number ****XXXXXX and said that it would take 4 to 6 weeks for the refund to be processed AFTER they received the paperwork she was going to email me requesting this refund. She stated that I would receive the papers within the next few minutes. It has now been over an hour, the email has not arrived, and I suspect that because it is past hours of operation wherever this person was, I will not be emailed this paperwork this evening. This practice is unacceptable. It did not take 4 to 6 weeks for Herbalife to charge my bank account for the Membership fees or the purchased product. I should not have to wait a month to a month and a half to get my money back. Especially when I never even touched the product.

Desired Settlement
I want the $71.08 and $488.27 ($559.35)refunded to me IMMEDIATELY. If this money is not back on my Credit Card by Friday 5/30/2014 I want Herbalife to pay interest on these funds at the rate of 12.9% compounded daily, as that is the interest rate I would be charged until my balance was paid.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A refund in the amount of $559.35 was issued on June 2, 2014. We remain available to *** ********* should he have any questions/concerns in the future.

01/28/2016Problems with Product / Service
03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*********** *********** never refunded my money. Herbalife products caused health issues with me, my children and my mother. This Dr.asked for more documentation and my answer to her was: " Your answer came as a surprise to me. I am not asking for the assessment of my mother medical documentation. She has her own Dr. and the specialist.The issue that everyone is avoiding here is refund of my money $ 7,000.00.
Herbalife guaranteed their product and the customer's satisfaction on the paper but now you are backing up. Another fraudulent statement.I was mislead in more ways than one. I asked for the problem resolution.The only reason that I did provide any type of medical documentation in the first place was because of months of pressure do so, perhaps thinking that I was lying and insisted that without medical documentation the case of money refund could not be resolved.
In the good faith and in the hope to resolve my case I did it but I am still waiting for my money.

Now you are trying to give me my mother's assessment. It is her oncologist that should be the one to assess her. As a Dr. you should know that my mother's documentation is protected by HIPAA law and no further documentation will be disclosed unless this case goes in to the court.
Since I no longer have a faith in the Herbalife or your team and especially do not believe that you are working in my best interest if anything I feel that I am being manipulated I am giving my aunt permission to handle this case and represents me in any correspondence with you via e-mail or telephone. She is very familiar with your company and your products."
Her e-mail address is:
*************@aol.com
Phone number is XXX XXX XXXX
She agreed to speak to you.

I am also giving the permission to you and all Herbalife representatives to contact her.You can include me on any e-mails send to her. I personally sent tons of e-mails out requesting the refu
nd. I need a refund of my money ASAP.
Thank you.
******** ******

Never heard back from this Dr.
Product_Or_Service: Nutritional supplement

Desired Settlement
I would like this Herbalife representative to refund my money. I Kalafatic, the Herbalife leader named Dr. Rashanah N. Responsible for the money refund,

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ******'s request. We originally received her request through our office in Croatia where she purchased products and resides. We have been in constant communication with Ms. ****** since she originally contacted us regarding this issue. During this time we have been working with her, and most recently with her legal representative in Croatia, in order to try and resolve this matter. We are currently awaiting a response to our most recent attempt to resolve this issue in Croatia. She confirmed via email that she currently resides in Croatia and that the contact information provided on this form corresponds to a relative in the US. We will continue to try and resolve this issue with her through our local office.

Herbalife is compliant with all applicable adverse event collection and reporting regulations worldwide. We have a well-developed adverse event reporting system that monitors and evaluates the relatively small number of reports received globally. The assessment of adverse event reports is a comprehensive process managed by qualified scientific and medical staff on Herbalife's Global Post-Market Safety Surveillance team. Contrary to Ms. ******'s claim, medical information is requested a part of our adverse event reporting procedures to assess the validity of the reported adverse reaction. This information is not requested to decide whether or not a refund will be issued. The medical claims associated with her and her family's negative health issues have been fully reviewed by our medical and scientific team and have been found to be unsubstantiated.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr.Kalafatic has done nothing but miss lead us for sooo long. His "scientific team" does not exist. This is his selling team not a "scientific team" they are not qualified or medically competent to make any conclusions or support anything that they are saying. None of them have any credentials. They can not support or validate anything. All they do is rationalize their actions and make empty promises which they are yet to deliver. Mr Kalafatic himself should be a Politician. He is unethical man that makes promises and delivers nothing. That is a very reason why we had to secure legal help in Croatia. If he did what he was suppose to do that would not happened. We are not happy, the issue is not resolved. So far "his team" did absolutely nothing. We were hoping that you can help us out. He and his team should be cited and removed from their positions before they endanger Herbalife.
Please give a further consideration to this matter.
Thank you very much !

Final Business Response
As mentioned in our previous response, this complaint was initially received in Croatia where we continue to work with Ms. ****** and her legal representative to settle her refund claim.

Contrary to Ms. ******'s allegations that her complaint was not reviewed by qualified personnel, all of the information she provided regarding the alleged negative health issues experienced by her and her family were thoroughly reviewed by US board certified physicians employed at Herbalife. As we previously replied, our medical and scientific team fully reviewed what Ms. ****** submitted for review and found her claim to be unsubstantiated, and this decision stands based on the documentation Ms. ****** provided.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Herbalife claims to have "Gold Standard" as advertised, when it comes to the health and money refund. Yet in mine and my family case Herbalife products have been cause of many health problems including my mother's Ca of colon. Mr. Kalafatic and his "team" had pushed this products and fraudulently advertised it for the selfish reasons and commission gains. The fact remains that Herbalife contains GMO and lead. Non of this was disclosed to the consumers as my self. Instead Mr. ********* and his "team" had patronized me for over a year. I have over 100 saved e-mails to proof that and the witness that we returned some of the products and I have stamped and signed proof. Mr. Kalafatic and his "team", advertised fraudulantlly, refused to return my money, over $ 7,000.00 and made no effort to resolve the case.
He claims that our medical records were examined by "Certified Physician" We would like to know who were this Physicians and where is the proof of any kind. Here is what the real research Doctors have found; Herbalife is not a herbal supplement approved by the Federal Drug Administration (FDA). Herbalife has also been accused of using too much lead in their products, and has recently been involved in a court case because their supplements exceed the normal lead limit. More information about the risks of Herbalife are available at the Resources below.

Read more: Risks of Herbalife eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/facts XXXXXXX risks -of-herbalife.html#ixzz1RCbb9qLR

Criticism of the Herbalife Diet Program
By Dr. ****** ********* N.M.D. with Dr. ***** ******** M.D.
This is the fact. Everything that Kalafatic and his team has to say is "here say" and a lie. They attempted nothing to adhere to their so called "Gold Standards" or even remoteally to resolve the case. They are doing "absolutally nothing". All we get is a dead silence now. Unfortunatelly we have to seek a legal help. We were hoping that we will not have to do that. By taking these through the court and to the News media Herbalife is getting a bad reputation thanks to Kalafatic and his unprofessional team.They need to be sanctioned and fined.
The case is not resolved till we get our money back. We suffered enough.We will be waitng for your response.
Thank you for all of your time and efforts in this case.

04/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Herbalife starter kit for $94.10 on September 15, 2015. I got a bottle of shake and a bottle of vitamins. Later on I found that I could got the same thing for under $30 at Walmart, so called Herbalife distribution centre and I asked fir refund. THe sales rep was very friendly on the phone and he advised that I did not need return the products and that they would issue me refund. I called them two times later because I didn't received the refund. Herbalife call centre staff al ways promised that they would issue me refund but until today, I still haven't received the refund.
Product_Or_Service: Herbalife starter kit

Desired Settlement
PLease help me to get my refund as Herbalife promised.

Business Response
We've attempted to reach *** on several occasions and have been unable to make contact. In order for us to properly address the request, we need to first speak with ***. Please have *** reach out to ***** ******** at (XXX)XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX.

04/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Satisfaction Guaranteed, No Receipts.
I was sold some product without a receipt, they have a satisfaction guaranteed policy, when i called to get a refund they asked me for information on the labels, then i was asked to mail in the labels, after about a month i call in to check on the status they claim that they didn't receive the labels, and that since i have no proof of purchase that they can only refund me the retail price, I paid 100.00 and they only want to refund 80.95 witch is according to the the retail price, yet when i shop around with people that sell the product no one will give me that price. I have gotten higher prices but nothing less than what i paid for my product.

Desired Settlement
I want the full amount that i paid for the product witch is $100.00

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to ******.

****** contacted us on 2/13/2016 to inform us of the request for refund. As ****** was unable to provide us with proof of purchase at a rate of $100.00, we are issuing a refund of $81.95 which is the retail price of the product labels returned. ****** should allow the refund 3-5 business days to arrive.

Should there be ****** have any questions or concerns, they have contact David Renteria-Gonzalez at XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why do I as a customer have to be held liable for something that a representative of the company does not do? I have asked around about the prices for the products that i purchased and i have not been able to find not one person that gives me a cheaper rate than what I paid. I have been to several clubs and i have never seen anyone giving receipts as to the orders they have purchased. If you require a receipt you need to make sure that your sales representatives give receipts, like avon, they charge you for the receipt but you know you get one, here i just had someone that knocked in my door and sold this product to me. If you are the company that is selling the product to only people that are members of your company you need to make sure that you have your reps follow your rules. I should not be held liable for something that your sales person did not do. Horrible Customer Service.

Final Business Response
An accommodation was made to grant a refund for the amount previously specified. Although ****** states that the product labels were returned, no actual labels were received. This accommodation was made in good faith and for the retail price for which our independent members would purchase the products directly from Herbalife not for the price which ****** states he paid.

If ****** has any further questions, he may contact David Renteria at XXX-XXX-XXXX


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I paid $100.00 for the product, the product gets sold at more at times than what i paid for, I have called several sellers and don't understand why the price changes from seller to seller, and have also asked if a receipt is given and i have gotten the answer as no. I don't understand why i would get paid the amount that is sold to their sellers when its clearly not the price that anyone else would pay.

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Compliance Issue
ID# 10YXXXXXXX

I signed up for Herbalife as a distributor in June 2015.

On September 16th, I received a generic email from ****** ****** in Herbalife Compliance notifying me my membership account as put on hold, and they were demanding my retail receipts including a written explanation about my retail sales for Herbalife product for a period of July 2015, August 2015, and September 2015.

I complied with the request immediately, and provided ****** ****** my retail receipts (56 pages of hand-written retail receipts, no small endeavor) on September 25th. Garcia confirmed receiving the receipts, and told me I would receive contact after the file was reviewed with management.

On September 30th once and October 9th two times (over a week later) I sent emails to Garcia asking about what was going on, and asking if there was anything else I can do to help with the situation. Garcia did not respond to any of these emails at all.

In between this time, I then received a certified letter in the mail from a new person in Herbalife Compliance named Cesia M. making a ridiculous claim that they had "not received any contact from me", and were going to terminate my Herbalife account on October 16th.

I then attempted to contact Cesia by phone numerous times:

October 9th:

10:22am
10:23am
1:16pm (message left)
2:45pm (message left)

I also sent several emails to Garcia again just pointing out the disconnect in communication, since I already provided my written response, and receipts. Once again, no response.

Eventually, I received a generic voicemail on October 13th from Cesia asking once again for the written response, and receipts which I already previously provided. Later that same day, Cesia leaves a second voicemail making a claim that the receipts did not cover exactly every single retail sale I made during that time frame.


Herbalife has a policy called the 70% rule pertaining to customer sales. It states:


Rule 18-B - 10 Retail Customers Rule
A Distributor must personally make sales to at least ten (10) separate retail customers in a given Volume Month to qualify for and receive Royalty Overrides, Production Bonuses, and other bonuses paid by Herbalife. For the purpose of fulfilling the certification requirements of this Rule, a Distributor may count any or all of the following each Volume Month.

* If the Distributor fails to timely certify to Herbalife that they have sold to at least ten (10) retail customers in a given Volume Month, Royalty Overrides, Production Bonuses, and other bonuses will not be paid to the Distributor.

The 56 pages of retail receipts I sent more than qualify in that policy for my volume, and to make the claim that "some or several receipts are missing" to justify a shutdown of the account is absolutely beyond outrageous, and a semantic just to do whatever they want regardless.The policy requires that a distributor account for 70% of his/her volume through retail sales receipts, while the other 30% can be used for personal use/gifts/family/etc.


This issue was handled absolutely terribly. The communication was extremely poor or non-existent.

This was a good source of part-time income for me, and has now cost me a several thousand dollars a month in my sales because of the way this issue was handled including rightfully angering my customers whose orders could not be taken. I worked hard with my family retailing these products, and was within the policy. It is at least very clear that I am legitimately retailing products, and none of my customers have even been contacted by Herbalife. Herbalife says they have a right to contact your customers, and I would by more than happy for them to do so.

My account should be reinstated in full, as I have cooperated beyond what any reasonable person would have done, and provided all documentation requested.

Desired Settlement
Account reinstatement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX,XXXXX
Contact Email: ********@herbalife.com
Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

We are currently in the process of reviewing *****'s account and have been in constant communication with ***** to provide status updates. Until our reivew has been finalized, the account will need to remain on hold. We hope to have this matter resolved in the near future.

If ***** has any quesitios or concerns, she may contact David Renteria at XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This reply still completely avoids the basic issues of this case, which are unresolved.

Facts:

I have never heard from this new person ***** ********* nor has he attempted to ever contact me since this issue started September 16th. To post a generic reply claiming that Herbalife has been in "constant communication" with me simply has not happened. My "questions and concerns" were already repeatedly asked even in writing with no answers. ***** should contact me as the complainant instead of just providing a face value reply that just attempts to paint Herbalife as being responsive to this issue now that it is in the public domain, when they are pretty far from that.

I provided my call logs previously with dates, times, and specific names of Herbalife employees that ignored almost all of my emails, calls, and phone messages except for now exactly 1 recent call on November 2nd, where I have spoken to "Cesia M" in Herbalife Compliance. "Constant communication" is a stretch.

Summary:

This case started from Herbalife demanding I provide 3 months of sales receipts to them verifying I was, in fact, making sales to customers. I accept that this is within their rights to do as a company.

56 pages of hand written receipts were sent to Herbalife. In a phone message dated October 13th, Herbalife Compliance Employee Cesia M. first claimed the receipts did not cover "every single sale" I made, so they were not going to accept them.

My response to this claim, was to re-cite Herbalife's "70% rule" and "10 Customer Rule" which were clearly met by those receipts. These are the same rules being cited to me for " violation".


Herbalife falls silent on the issue , but then decides to send me a certified letter dated October 29th changing the story now claiming that they have my receipts, but will not accept them based on a single issue: The receipts "lack a phone number" for the customer. (Mistake)


The receipts I sent Herbalife provide a complete full name (first and last) including a personal email address belonging to that specific customer. The receipts also detail the quantities of the product purchased, the name of the product, and the date of the sale. Pretty detailed information for a receipt.

This has now where the issue has unfolded in some ridiculous semantics battle of Herbalife policy:


The vast majority of my customers are absolutely opposed to giving ANY of their personal information to a third party at all. This has become an issue so many times to where I have had people confront me about asking for this information, or seem uncomfortable. It is also uncomfortable in many ways for me, and I am not going to argue with a customer who has a pretty real privacy concern about giving this information out.

Any reasonable person could make contact with these people to verify any sales including asking for any other personal information if that truly is the issue.

No contact with any of my customers has occurred still to this day for reasons Herbalife refuses to answer, which is another glaring issue in this case.

Herbalife (or at least Herbalife Compliance) seem to completely lack any common sense whatsoever with the issue about privacy. Anyone I have spoken to about this seems to understand right away about being cautious about your personal information getting to some random third party or company.

There is also the glaring issue of legality when it comes to somehow "mandating" voluntary, personal information from a customer. You cannot force people to give their personal information, and penalize your distributor because that customer says no, or only wants to provide their preferred method of communication or limited contact information. Apparently, Herbalife can because that is what they are doing in this case. My account was put on "hold" since September 16th without even attempting to resolve the issue beforehand with reason. This action alone has financial repercussions to me.

Ironically, Herbalife themselves communicate "official information" through email, yet they refuse to acknowledge the validity of the email and a customers first and last name as being valid contact information? It is just a matter of picking another reason to deny this account reinstatement at this point.


To make this response shorter, I have forwarded this issue to exactly 2 local law firms for a real, honest cursory review because my parents and family have been in this type of business in the 6 annual figure range at the top of their pay plan full-time for over 20 years. Both law firms, one of which includes a 20+ year attorney with business issues like this feel there is a valid case.

The problem? The super high costs involved. I can make a couple thousand dollars about every 2 months retailing products almost on a full-time basis. It is no walk in the park. It takes a great deal of time to meet these people, talk about their product needs, deliver the product, and follow up with their orders.

Like many things, it will cost a great deal of money to prove the issue, for a pretty small return. My family is willing to pay the legal fees because these companies treat their distributors like garbage until they run into someone that is not willing to get bullied around especially in a situation like this, where we have pretty good documentation to prove the issue at least to a reasonable person or group of people. It still is an absolute hassle, and it was my sincere hope to reach a fair resolution without through all of this nonsense.


Potential distributors, customers, and anyone else can read this through the lines of this issue, and draw your own conclusion.










Final Business Response
At this time, our position on this matter remains the same. Until our review of the membership is complete, the account will remain on hold.

If Ms. **** has any questions, she can contact ***** ****** or ***** ******** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
To Whom This May Concern:

This issue has not been resolved. I still have received no response from Herbalife.

Herbalife is stalling plain and simple. To describe the unprofessionalism along with the sheer terrible service provided by this Compliance Department would be quite an understatement.

Herbalife decided to contact some of my customers, since the last update because many of my customers contacted me about some survey that was sent to them via email.

Some replied, and I am sure some did not based on them obviously making it clear it was a bother or inconvenience for them to do so. I do not know how many of my customers actually replied, and based on some of the tones I wouldn't doubt they will never buy from me again thanks to the privacy issue being violated.

Either way, it is clear that these sales occurred, and these are "real" people.


Here are the facts re-capped:

1. Herbalife demanded receipts for sales I made for the previously mentioned time period. This is within their right.
2. The sales receipts were provided. Pages and pages of receipts for the time period.
3. Herbalife claimed their retail sale receipt policy was not met because a receipt was not provided for every single customer.
4. IT was proven that policy WAS met based on the verbiage of the policy.
5. Herbalife changed their mind now claiming because the receipts lacked a "personal phone number", and, that the receipts still do not comply. The receipts containing detailed information (first name, last name, specific product ordered, price paid, and personal email address of that customer)


Thus, we are in the same position again. Herbalife makes it appear they are helpful, or that the issue "is complex" because it paints the appropriate picture to someone reviewing a public complaint. This is misleading entirely.

The issue is not even remotely complex, and Herbalife is just back-peddling rather than just admitting they were wrong including, at a minimum, acknowledging the inquiry has been resolved. Any reasonable person could figure out these sales happened.

This company routinely treats people in this fashion. You can review many other BBB complaints, and identify a trend including many other independent sites reviewing this business with their shady business practices.

01/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Herbalife International has repeatedly failed to honor my requests for withdrawal of membership, and to provide me with letter confirming this.
Regarding HerbaLife ID#: ** X XXX XXXX

HerbaLife International has failed to honor my repeated requests for withdrawal of membership. I have tried repeatedly since April of 2014 (over a year and a half ago) to get this company to recognize my right to terminate my membership.

I have followed their bureaucratic procedures, and still they have not sent me the confirmation I have repeatedly requested that my membership be withdrawn. Additionally, they have failed to update my correct mailing address despite my giving it to them via telephone and in writing.

On 4/1/14, I called HerbaLife to inform them that I was moving out of state, and that I wished to end my membership. I spoke with *********, Herbalife, who informed me that because I did not have a fax machine, I would need to write a resignation letter which should include my ID#, and she gave me the following address to write to: HerbaLife Records, *** **** *** *** ********* ** XXXXX. ********* also cancelled my ******** account at that time, and noted that I was requesting to end my membership.

I followed instructions per the above HerbaLife directive with the attached letter dated 4/22/14 which I sent registered mail and which was received/signed for by ** ********** HerbaLife. Nothing was ever done on the HerbaLife end to terminate my membership per this letter (they appear to have either lost it or chosen to disregard it).

Consequently, In September of 2014 I received a check from HerbaLife for $6.23. I called and spoke with ******, Herbalife on 10/27/14 and let her know I had proof that I had sent my letter of resignation back in April. ****** told me that if I cashed their check, they would be unable to honor the letter and suggested I return the check to HerbaLife and re-send my original letter (which she could find no record of) so that HerbaLife could honor my end of membership retroactively as of April of 2014.

I followed instructions per ****** and sent both the check (which I voided per ******'s suggestion) and a copy of my original resignation letter back to HerbaLife International. I also made a note for them to update my new address and I sent this correspondence via FedEx. The FedEx was received and signed for by HebaLife employee, ** ****** on 12/1/14 (FedEx signature page attached). This correspondence included both a copy of my original letter, and my additional request to please confirm cancellation of my membership. Again, I never ***** back from HerbaLife. Instead, they sent me a year-end 1099 tax document stating income of a few dollars.

I followed up with phone calls to the HerbaLife offices expressing my frustration as their inability/unwillingness to handle a basic administrative matter; I also repeated my request for confirmation of my resignation. I received in response a few insincere voicemails from HerbaLife employees saying they "were looking into it". There was never any appropriate action taken nor follow-up on their end.

In my personal opinion, this company operates by signing people up for membership instantly, and than failing to honor membership withdrawal requests in good faith, instead leaving people enmeshed in their chaos.

I strongly request that HerbaLife International provide me with immediate confirmation that my membership has been terminated. Additionally I want them to confirm they have my current and correct mailing address (in order that I will actually receive their correspondence).

Desired Settlement
HerbaLife International needs to provide me with immediate confirmation that my membership has been terminated. This will include them communicating with their accounting department to confirm there is no longer any affiliation whatsoever between myself and HerbaLife.

Additionally I want HerbaLife to confirm they have my current and correct mailing address in order that I receive their confirmation correspondence.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to response to Ms. ******.

The membership for Ms. ****** was resigned effective April 25, 2014, we've sent her a letter confirming this information to the updated address on file. Should she have any further questions or concerns, she may contact ***** ******** at ************ extensions XXXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Herbalife.

To date, I have received no such letter to my updated address.

I request that Herbalife immediately re-send this purported confirmation letter stating that my membership has been resigned (including date it was resigned). Furthermore, I request that Herbalife provide me with a UPS or FedEx tracking number to verify that the above mentioned letter was actually sent.

Final Business Response
We have sent another copy of the letter to Ms. ******. The letter is being sent using USPS with tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXX, the delivery time frame is 3-5 business days.Please note that delivery may be delayed due to the upcoming holidays.

If Ms. ****** has any additional questions or concerns, she can contact ***** ******** at XXX-XXX-XXXX extension XXXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company needs to acknowledge their mishandling of this situation in taking over one & a half years to take care of this mundane matter, despite that I twice sent my resignation letter via registered mail which they repeatedly failed to acknowledge (& they are only acknowledging now since I filed this complaint with the BBB). They also need to acknowledge that I have no unpaid debts with them (as they well know).

They have provided me with a cold corporate letter which I am providing to the BBB. Blatantly missing is their apology for wasting so much of my time due to their incompetent & unprofessional handling of this matter.

As far as their mention of a sponsor, I do not want my previous sponsor nor any other sponsor, they need not worry. I had once asked my sponsor to verify a product was sodium-free for my aunt, age 101. My sponsor told me there was no salt, & thanks to my own research I saw there was salt which could have killed my aunt due to her congenital heart failure condition. This sponsor was more interested in making a few dollars in commission than assuring the well-being of an elderly person.

I want people to know that in my personal opinion, I would not recommend that anyone become involved with this company.

Thank you to the BBB for The opportunity to share my experience.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Health & Diet Products - Retail

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1980
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2004, NV

Business Management
Principal: Robin Snowdon (Director)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Thomas Aagaard (Manager) Stacy Heard (Manager) Michael Johnson (CEO)
Number of Employees

400

Business Category

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Health & Diet Products - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Herbal Life, Herbalife International Distribution, Inc., Herbalife International, Inc., HerbalLife

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Herbalife International of America, Inc. has received 3.4 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herbalife International of America, Inc.

800 W Olympic Blvd #406

Los Angeles, CA 90015-1367

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herbalife International of America, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Multi-Level Selling Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

July 15, 2016 - Herbalife agreed to pay $200 million in consumer relief and overhaul its business practices in a settlement with the Federal Trade Commission. A legal complaint the FTC filed in California federal court said Herbalife focused less on retail sales of its nutritional, diet and personal care products than on bringing in hundreds of thousands of new sales people.
The distributors of Herbalife were encouraged to recruit others with promises they would profit from a share of the products sold to those they brought in, according to the complaint.
However, the filing said more than half of the company's sales leaders received less than $300 in reward payments during 2014. Owners of Herbalife's Nutrition Club brand invested an average of $8,500 to launch their operation, but 57% broke even or lost money, according to an internal survey found by the FTC.
The settlement requires Herbalife to revamp its compensation structure so participants' success depends on whether they sell the company's products, not on whether they buy the products. Additionally:
Herbalife will differentiate between participants who join simply to buy products at a discount and those who join in search of business opportunity. Discount buyers will not be eligible to sell the company's products or earn rewards.
At least two-thirds of the rewards Herbalife pays to distributors must be based on tracked and verified retail sales.
In order to pay compensation to distributors at current levels, at least 80% of Herbalife's product sales must involve sales to legitimate end users.
An independent monitor funded by Herbalife will oversee the company's operations for seven years.
The $200 million payment required by the settlement will include compensation for consumers who purchased Herbalife products. Repayment details will be determined later, the FTC said. More information on this is available on the FTC website here: https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/blogs/business-blog/2016/07/its-no-longer-business-usual-herbalife-inside-look-200?utm source=govdelivery

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.