BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/1990

Herbalife International of America, Inc.

Find a Location

(310) 410-9600800 W Olympic Blvd #406, Los AngelesCA 90015-1367

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers multi level sales, offering business opportunitues for independent distributors marketing Herbalife's products for weight management, dietary supplements, energy & fitness, aging, skin & hair care, nutritional and personal health care products developed by scientists, doctors and nutriltionists.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/1990

BBB has determined that Herbalife International of America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Herbalife International of America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (19)BBB Closure Definitions
07/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: He never trained me. He used my internet acct. to steal. I told Herbalife ethics right away. They've been investigating ever since. I'm minus $4000.
I joined Herbalife on aug 23, 2012. Under a world team leader for Herbalife. This was my first venture. I spoke with a me.*******************. He asked if I had a credit card, I told him no. He also spoke to my husband. He asked me for four $1000. Checks and somehow opened my account. **************** never trained me. He took control of my web sites. He made sales to a ********* and to ************. He sold my items and got angry when I'd ask for training or ask what was going on. On sept 24. We argued and when I went to look into my cabinet, I noticed I was minus a lot of products.
I called and wrote the the company. I was directed to the ethics dept. I sent them all the documents they asked for. It has been over a year that they have been stringing me along.
The last person I spoke to was a *** ******* ********* XXXXXXXXXXX ext. XXXXX. She is a nice lady but, that isn't helping me much.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. Herbalife conducted an inquiry regarding *** *****'s allegation and informed her of the findings on Wednesday, March 26, 2014.

We also reached out to her on Wednesday, June 18, 2014, but we were unable to speak to her over the phone. As we were unable to reach her by phone, we have sent her our Buy Back policy by both email and U.S. mail. We are currently awaiting her response so that we may assist her with any possible buy back.

Please feel free to contact us should you have any additional questions.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Ordered items were not delivered on specified date. They were not delivered at all. I was told a refund would take 4 to 6 weeks.
On 5/26/2014 my wife and I purchased a Distributor Membership, ID Number ***XXXXXXX with Herbalife for $71.08, Order Number *XXXXXXXXX. Along with this purchase we made and PAID for an order for products totaling $488.27, Order Number *XXXXXXXXX These charges were made to my Mastercard. We were told that due to the holiday (Memorial Day) we would not be able to pick up our order until 5/28/2014 after 3:00pm. When we went to the location we were directed to, Way of Life Nutrition in *** ********* the door was locked and the business sign said the hours of operation were from 7-2 M-F. We immediately called the person, ***** ********* who sold us the membership to inquire about this issue. We were told that the items were at her store, over an hour away from our home. We were told that she would deliver them to our home. This was at 2:45pm. At 7:30pm we still had not received our merchandise. I decided that I did not want to be associated with a company who does business when it is convenient for them and not by set hours or methods. I contacted Herbalife directly. After several minutes on hold I was directed to the refund department. When I told the girl that I wanted to discontinue my relationship with Herbalife and that I wanted a refund for membership fees and products not received she gave me a reference number ****XXXXXX and said that it would take 4 to 6 weeks for the refund to be processed AFTER they received the paperwork she was going to email me requesting this refund. She stated that I would receive the papers within the next few minutes. It has now been over an hour, the email has not arrived, and I suspect that because it is past hours of operation wherever this person was, I will not be emailed this paperwork this evening. This practice is unacceptable. It did not take 4 to 6 weeks for Herbalife to charge my bank account for the Membership fees or the purchased product. I should not have to wait a month to a month and a half to get my money back. Especially when I never even touched the product.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A refund in the amount of $559.35 was issued on June 2, 2014. We remain available to *** ********* should he have any questions/concerns in the future.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I initialized a refund on March 24th of a purchase i attempted on March 23rd. I have not received my refund and have been lied to numerous times.
My Herbalife Case number XXXXXXX. Basically I initiated a refund on March 24th and at that time i was told i would receive my funds in 7-10 Business days. So I waited the allotted time before checking the status, so I called back on April 2nd. At that time I was told it would take another 3-5 business days. So again I waited the allotted time and called back on APril 7th. At that time I was told it would take 7-10 days from April 4th (thats when the company processed my refund) to receive my funds in my account. So I waited AGAIN, and here we are today (April 17th, 2014) with no refund and the company Herbalife again telling me to wait. Today's excuse was their banks have not approved the refund. I needed the money in March hence the request for a refund but now I am in a battle with this huge corporation and I feel like I will NEVER get my money. This is totally unacceptable and unfair to the little people that work hard for every dime!

Initial Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A refund in the amount of $57.81 was issued on April 17, 2014. We contacted *** ****** who confirmed receipt of the refund. He also stated that he did not have any other products to return and is satisfied with the refund received. We remain available to the *** ****** should he have any questions/concerns in the future.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The representative did not even acknowledge the amount of time it took to receive my refund. The representative did not care how much stress it put me through chasing my own money. I needed those $57 for gas to get back and forth to my place of work. I was placed in an unfortunate situation that had me low on money and needed those funds sooner. But I was consistently lied to! But I am not ok with the response because in my original complaint I stated I didnt have any product to return, but I wanted the refund of the amount I paid intially to purchase a distributor account. I was led falsely into this company and Herbalife advertises being reputable and that too is a false statement. I feel to make up for the time I had to wait to receive my own money I should be given the money back that Herbalife intially coerced out of me.

Final Business Response
A refund in the amount of $102.92 was processed on Friday May 23, 2014. We attempted to contact *** ****** to confirm he received the funds, however, we have not been able to reach him. We remain available to *** ****** should he have any question/concerns in the future.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the the Herbalife distributor kit and Ultimate kit. I was unhappy with the product and contacted the company and requested an exchange. I was told that I would be responsible for the shipping and handling of the return and repurchase. I then decided that because the process was so difficult that I was not interested in doing business with the company and requested a return of the products. I completed the required paperwork including my back statement by fax on 3/30/2014. The products were returned and received in the Memphis Distribution Center on April 2, 2014 with the return authorization number of ****XXXXXX, but I have yet to receive my refund. I have since contacted the company 3 times requesting a refund. I was told that someone would contact me back on 4/14 and have not received a call as of yet.
Product_Or_Service: Herbalife distributor and Ultimate weight loss kit
Order_Number: usrfXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A full refund in the amount of $288.41 was approved on May 1, 2014. Once the check is issued the complainant should receive the refund asap. We remain available to the *** ****** should she have any questions/concerns in the future.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I WAS TOLD THAT IF I WAS NOT SATIFIED THAT MY MONEY WOULD BE REFUNDED , I PAID THEM $399.00 ,I SENT MY REFUND REQUEST BEFORE THE 90 DAYS ,THAT WAS IN FEBUARY, IHAVE HEARD NOTHING FROM THEM. ALL I WANT IS MY MONEY BACK. THANK YOU

Initial Business Response
After an initial investigation, we have determined that the consumer's complaint involved an independent third-party company. However, now that Herbalife is aware of this complaint, we will assist the consumer in resolving any and all issues they may have with the third party. We have opened a file for this complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Health & Diet Products - Retail

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1980
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2004, NV

Business Management
Principal: Mauricio Domingo (Vice President of Compliance)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: David Renteria-Gonzalez (Supervisor Distributor Business Practice & Complia)
Number of Employees

400

Business Category

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Health & Diet Products - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Herbal Life, Herbalife International Distribution, Inc., Herbalife International, Inc., HerbalLife
Industry Tips
New Medical Miracles Not so Miraculous
So-called Diet Aids Will Thin Your Wallet, Not Your Body
Weight Loss Promotions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herbalife International of America, Inc.

800 W Olympic Blvd #406

Los Angeles, CA 90015-1367

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herbalife International of America, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.