BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/1990

Herbalife International of America, Inc.

Phone: (310) 410-9600Fax: (310) 216-5145

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
07/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
He never trained me. He used my internet acct. to steal. I told Herbalife ethics right away. They've been investigating ever since. I'm minus $4000.
I joined Herbalife on aug 23, 2012. Under a world team leader for Herbalife. This was my first venture. I spoke with a me.*******************. He asked if I had a credit card, I told him no. He also spoke to my husband. He asked me for four $1000. Checks and somehow opened my account. **************** never trained me. He took control of my web sites. He made sales to a ********* and to ************. He sold my items and got angry when I'd ask for training or ask what was going on. On sept 24. We argued and when I went to look into my cabinet, I noticed I was minus a lot of products.
I called and wrote the the company. I was directed to the ethics dept. I sent them all the documents they asked for. It has been over a year that they have been stringing me along.
The last person I spoke to was a *** ******* ********* XXXXXXXXXXX ext. XXXXX. She is a nice lady but, that isn't helping me much.

Desired Settlement
I would love a refund. The least they can do is fire *** And **** ** and ***** ************ for using the company name to misappropriate funds. Their ethics committee needs help.
They took year to leave me hanging, it took 5 mins. For the $4000. Dollars to be excepted by them.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. Herbalife conducted an inquiry regarding *** *****'s allegation and informed her of the findings on Wednesday, March 26, 2014.

We also reached out to her on Wednesday, June 18, 2014, but we were unable to speak to her over the phone. As we were unable to reach her by phone, we have sent her our Buy Back policy by both email and U.S. mail. We are currently awaiting her response so that we may assist her with any possible buy back.

Please feel free to contact us should you have any additional questions.

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered items were not delivered on specified date. They were not delivered at all. I was told a refund would take 4 to 6 weeks.
On 5/26/2014 my wife and I purchased a Distributor Membership, ID Number ***XXXXXXX with Herbalife for $71.08, Order Number *XXXXXXXXX. Along with this purchase we made and PAID for an order for products totaling $488.27, Order Number *XXXXXXXXX These charges were made to my Mastercard. We were told that due to the holiday (Memorial Day) we would not be able to pick up our order until 5/28/2014 after 3:00pm. When we went to the location we were directed to, Way of Life Nutrition in *** ********* the door was locked and the business sign said the hours of operation were from 7-2 M-F. We immediately called the person, ***** ********* who sold us the membership to inquire about this issue. We were told that the items were at her store, over an hour away from our home. We were told that she would deliver them to our home. This was at 2:45pm. At 7:30pm we still had not received our merchandise. I decided that I did not want to be associated with a company who does business when it is convenient for them and not by set hours or methods. I contacted Herbalife directly. After several minutes on hold I was directed to the refund department. When I told the girl that I wanted to discontinue my relationship with Herbalife and that I wanted a refund for membership fees and products not received she gave me a reference number ****XXXXXX and said that it would take 4 to 6 weeks for the refund to be processed AFTER they received the paperwork she was going to email me requesting this refund. She stated that I would receive the papers within the next few minutes. It has now been over an hour, the email has not arrived, and I suspect that because it is past hours of operation wherever this person was, I will not be emailed this paperwork this evening. This practice is unacceptable. It did not take 4 to 6 weeks for Herbalife to charge my bank account for the Membership fees or the purchased product. I should not have to wait a month to a month and a half to get my money back. Especially when I never even touched the product.

Desired Settlement
I want the $71.08 and $488.27 ($559.35)refunded to me IMMEDIATELY. If this money is not back on my Credit Card by Friday 5/30/2014 I want Herbalife to pay interest on these funds at the rate of 12.9% compounded daily, as that is the interest rate I would be charged until my balance was paid.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A refund in the amount of $559.35 was issued on June 2, 2014. We remain available to *** ********* should he have any questions/concerns in the future.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I initialized a refund on March 24th of a purchase i attempted on March 23rd. I have not received my refund and have been lied to numerous times.
My Herbalife Case number XXXXXXX. Basically I initiated a refund on March 24th and at that time i was told i would receive my funds in 7-10 Business days. So I waited the allotted time before checking the status, so I called back on April 2nd. At that time I was told it would take another 3-5 business days. So again I waited the allotted time and called back on APril 7th. At that time I was told it would take 7-10 days from April 4th (thats when the company processed my refund) to receive my funds in my account. So I waited AGAIN, and here we are today (April 17th, 2014) with no refund and the company Herbalife again telling me to wait. Today's excuse was their banks have not approved the refund. I needed the money in March hence the request for a refund but now I am in a battle with this huge corporation and I feel like I will NEVER get my money. This is totally unacceptable and unfair to the little people that work hard for every dime!

Desired Settlement
I would like my refund back, and also my refund of my distributor start up fees. I have since resigned with a letter like instructed by an Herbalife Employee. I have been lied to and treated unfairly and all of the advertisements surrounding Herbalife states the contrary and for that reason I think it is false advertisement. I resigned within first 90 days so I am qualified to receive full refund!

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A refund in the amount of $57.81 was issued on April 17, 2014. We contacted *** ****** who confirmed receipt of the refund. He also stated that he did not have any other products to return and is satisfied with the refund received. We remain available to the *** ****** should he have any questions/concerns in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The representative did not even acknowledge the amount of time it took to receive my refund. The representative did not care how much stress it put me through chasing my own money. I needed those $57 for gas to get back and forth to my place of work. I was placed in an unfortunate situation that had me low on money and needed those funds sooner. But I was consistently lied to! But I am not ok with the response because in my original complaint I stated I didnt have any product to return, but I wanted the refund of the amount I paid intially to purchase a distributor account. I was led falsely into this company and Herbalife advertises being reputable and that too is a false statement. I feel to make up for the time I had to wait to receive my own money I should be given the money back that Herbalife intially coerced out of me.

Final Business Response
A refund in the amount of $102.92 was processed on Friday May 23, 2014. We attempted to contact *** ****** to confirm he received the funds, however, we have not been able to reach him. We remain available to *** ****** should he have any question/concerns in the future.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased the the Herbalife distributor kit and Ultimate kit. I was unhappy with the product and contacted the company and requested an exchange. I was told that I would be responsible for the shipping and handling of the return and repurchase. I then decided that because the process was so difficult that I was not interested in doing business with the company and requested a return of the products. I completed the required paperwork including my back statement by fax on 3/30/2014. The products were returned and received in the Memphis Distribution Center on April 2, 2014 with the return authorization number of ****XXXXXX, but I have yet to receive my refund. I have since contacted the company 3 times requesting a refund. I was told that someone would contact me back on 4/14 and have not received a call as of yet.
Product_Or_Service: Herbalife distributor and Ultimate weight loss kit
Order_Number: usrfXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for my return.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this issue. A full refund in the amount of $288.41 was approved on May 1, 2014. Once the check is issued the complainant should receive the refund asap. We remain available to the *** ****** should she have any questions/concerns in the future.

08/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Herbalife regarding their 30 day money gurantee promise on all products. I purchased 3 bottles of Herbalife supplements from one of their Herbalife distributors: ******** ***** 6/25/13 after seeing no results from the Herbalife tea and shakes she was selling to me daily for $5.00 each, she strongly recommended I purchase 1 month supply (1 bottle of each) of the following Herbalife dietary supplements: CELL ACTIVATOR, CELL U LOSS, and MULTI VITAMINA. She said taking these products will gurantee I lose the weight I wasn't losing from the Herbalife tea and shake. She sold me all 3 bottles for $80.00 As previously mentioned I was buying shakes from her daily everyday for weeks before buying the pills and cash was the only form of payment as she has no cash register or receipt system in place at her place of business used to sell Herbalife products. I never received a receipt for any purchases, shakes or pills. When I returned the bottles to my distributor requesting my money back on 7/18/13 because I had lost no weight and products were no good, she said could not refund me because I had used the products. I told her I need a copy of the receipt so I could contact Herbalife directly about their 30 day money back gurantee. She said she ran out of receipt paper and could not give me one. I contacted Herbalife same day 7/18/13 via email regarding the issue I was having getting my refund from distributor. Herbalife refunds dept ******** ******* emailed me back with all necessary documents I needed to send her back within 5 days to process my refund. I since have left her countless voice messages and emails without any reply back. I sent all documents via fax to her for my refund on 7/22/13 (copy of fax confirmation can be provided) I have yet heard back from anyone. Leading to believe this company is a pyramid scam and the company is avoiding my calls/emails. I want my full refund as im within my rights to ask for one as I'm within the companys 30 Day Money Back Gurantee promise.
Product_Or_Service: Herbalife dietary supplements (3 bottles)

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $80.00 paid to ******** ***** - Herbalife distributor. Paid on: 06/25/13 Refund request made: 07/18/13

Business Response
Thank you very much for the opportunity to respond to this issue. Our records indicate that the refund was approved on 7/29. Ms ********** should currently have the refund in her possession.

We are now going to close our file on this matter, but should the complainant have any further concerns she is free to contact us at any time.

Page 1 of 5
09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A few months ago, I received a letter and ID card saying that I am now a distributor for Herbalife. Having not at all heard of Herbalife nor signed up to be a distributor, I disregarded the letter. About a month later, I was delivered 7 large boxes of Herbalife through FedEx to my address. The name addressed on the box is extremely close to mine in spelling. I turned the delivery woman away with the 7 large boxes of supplements since I placed no such order. When I called Herbalife, I was told that that was not the first order placed to my address, and that more were to come. I related my issue to the manager, Urenia to whom I spoke with, and demanded to be given the name of the "sponsor" who hired me as distributor. However, even with my pressing suspicion of identity theft, they would not provide me with means to contact this sponsor. They did say they would notify this sponsor that I was trying to get a hold of him/her. Weeks later, I have yet to receive contact from this "sponsor" of mine. I have strong reason to believe that Herbalife's employment policies involve fraudulent processes and their lack of assistance in this issue leads me to believe that their business practices are dishonest. Due to their lack of investigation in this matter, I have also taken measures to report them to FTC and local police.

Desired Settlement
Herbalife needs to conduct a thorough investigation on:- Who this "sponsor" is.- How he stole my information.- What other information about me he has.- Remove me from their system.Also: revise their employment policies to prevent other similar situations from happening as reviewed and approved by a licensed lawyer. Herbalife needs to provide evidence of investigation and changes or be subject to pressed charges.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint which we view as very serious in nature. We have reached out to the complainant and expressed our regret for her experience. We immediately flagged the complainant's address in our system and no additional products have been delivered to her. We also verified that aside from her address, we do not have any other personal information or financial information of the complainant in our system. Our investigation is ongoing in order to identify the individual or individuals that were involved.

We remain available for any further questions. We will continue to investigate this matter to the fullest extent and take appropriate action once the responsible parties are identified.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have spoken with **** from Herbalife on the phone in regards to the issue. In addition to the above, he also answered a few of my questions all of which were responded with vague answers. For example: in response to "What legal actions will be taken against this sponsor"? He replied that the sponsorship will be terminated once they find out who it is. He also mentioned that they contacted the sponsor via phone, email and postal mail but have not gotten a response. In addition, that if they find the sponsor to be guilty, the credit information that sponsor placed on file will be blocked in their system. However, this does not address the legal actions they would take against this person who is suspect to identity theft. This also does not address, as stated in my desired resolution, how the company will proceed to revise their policies in preventing future occurrences. Especially since this does not prevent the same sponsor from creating another account to do the same to other individuals. How it is possible for people such as this sponsor is able to create an account for business purposes without having had his or her identity verified as part of the process?

Also, flagging my address in their system does not equate to removing my account from their system as I had requested. I also know since my initial contact with Urenia that they do in fact have my date of birth on file because she read it to me from their system to confirm with me. Although I am not saying that **** is positively dishonest with me, I am implying that there definitely is a flaw in the communication between departments in the corporation.

I have also not received any sort of evidence in regards to changes in their system nor investigation. To have been contacted by one person and provided with vague, unsatisfactory answers does not account for plausible evidence.

Final Business Response
We would like to thank you again for allowing us the opportunity to fully investigate Ms. *****'s complaint.

While our investigation continues, we contacted and spoke with Ms. ***** again to address her concerns. Ms. ***** was informed that the distributorship she reported as being created in a fraudulent manner was deleted. In our conversation, she confirmed that the date of birth we had on record was not hers. Ms. ***** was also assured that there was no financial information in our records attributable to her name or address.

We are continuing to conduct a comprehensive and detailed investigation into this matter, taking into account procedures that are in place to prevent fraud. Upon the completion of our comprehensive investigation and review, the company will take appropriate action.

As we communicated to Ms. *****, we welcome her to contact us at any time should she have any additional questions or concerns.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As laid out in my initial complaint of the desired settlement, the following criteria still remains: Herbalife needs to conduct a thorough investigation on who this "sponsor" is, how he stole my information, and what other information about me he has. Also: they need to provide evidence of revised employment and account creation policies to prevent other similar situations from happening as reviewed and approved by a licensed lawyer. They have not indicated in any way that they have attempted to revise their policies to prevent another incident like this from happening.

The information herbalife has relayed to me regarding the personal data used to create my "account" is incorrect, but extremely close - as if purposely slightly off so that the account can exist without my awareness. It is clear that herbalife's procedures in account creation are extremely flawed and susceptible to further identity theft. When I asked an Herbalife representative whether a social security number was required for account creation, he answered that some people choose to provide it and others don't. Lax procedures like this are allowing these cases of false account creation to exist. As mentioned in the initial complaint, this process needs to be revised in order to guarantee that this will not happen to me or any other person again.

It has now been two months since I opened this case, and all I have received are a couple phone calls from agents in regards to the investigation. None of these agents have provided for me any evidence that this investigation even exists.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Multi-Level Selling Companies, Health & Diet Products - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.