BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/1995

NorthStar Moving Corporation

Find a Location

(800) 275-77679120 Mason Ave, ChatsworthCA 91311-6109

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/1995

BBB has determined that NorthStar Moving Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised NorthStar Moving Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on NorthStar Moving Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At the beginning of May we hired NorthStar Moving Company to professionally move our belongings from California to New York. Three days after they picked up our goods, I received a call that there was a fire at the storage facility and all our goods were damaged. Because we did not purchase the full value protection, the company said we were only entitled to the bare minimum of $0.60/lb, with our goods totaled at 800lbs. Upon further investigation with the fire report from the local fire station, the cause of the fire was concluded to be an unextinguished cigarette from one of the employees into a dumpster that caught on fire, spread to the field and eventually to our storage container. We filed a claim with the company with our goods totaling to a lot more than the bare minimum they wanted to reimburse with.It has been over a month and the company has only said they will pay the bare minimum coverage but has not followed through with our claim and what will come of the fire report. We have had to move across the country without our belongings and have had to purchase everything out of pocket. We have to constantly and sometimes contact them multiple times to get a response.The fire report concluded that the fire was started from an unextinguished cigarette by one of the employees put in the dumpster, catching that on fire, spread to a field close by and eventually spread to our storage container. The NorthStar contract states that the company shall be liable only for its failure to use ordinary care and we must provide negligence. From the fire report, NorthStar is liable for their worker'(s) actions. We feel that it was the negligent act from the workers that caused the fire.

Desired Settlement
Based off the fire report and the contract, we think the company was negligent in their care of our goods and are liable to replace us fully for the value of all our damaged goods.

Business Response
Dear BBB Team Member,

On Sunday, May, 5th 2013 there was a fire reported on the property to where Ms. ****'s items were being stored.
The fire reports final ruling and Classification;
"Using the aforementioned elements of fire cause, the cause of this fire is determined accidental."
We are very sorry that Ms. ****'s belongings were affected by the fire.
NorthStar followed threw on all contractual obligations in a timely manner, agreeing to perform in accordance to our Bill of Lading.
The claims form was received on May, 20th 2013, with a weight amount that totaled Eight Hundred and Three pounds.
NorthStar did not dispute the weights written in by the client.
NorthStar responded in accordance to the Bill of Lading, after calculating the weight by the sixty cents per pound per item valuation that the client had signed, and had chosen on their Bill of Lading.
This amount totaled to Four Hundred and Eighty One Dollars and Eighty One Cents.
On May, 24 2013, NorthStar sent the check out to Ms. **** totaling this amount.
All documents supporting the statements made above can be submitted upon request.

Very Truly Yours,

***** *****
NorthStar Moving


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear BBB Team Member,

I opened the claim under my name, however the goods are joint between my boyfriend and I. So he is equally invested in this situation and from here on out will be included in our correspondence. Upon further examination of the contract, adherence to the terms would be voided, as our goods were not stored in the storage facility specified on the contract as "Our Storage Chatsworth, CA". The storage facility that our goods were actually being held at was in Fremont, California. No information regarding the change of storage location was provided. In fact, our first conversation with the above NorthStar representative was to inform us that a brush fire had damaged our goods at the Chatsworth Facility. NorthStar Moving Corporation placed our goods at a different storage facility than specified in the contract. Because there was no communication or agreement to this change, their actions breach the contract thus voiding further adherence to its terms and provisions. We are simply requesting for our claim forms to be honored fully because in the event that our goods went to the location that was stated on the contract they would already be in our new home. We are two college students, trying to make our way through school. As an Iraqi veteran I have fought for what I believe in and will continue to do so. When something or someone has made an error, you figure out the mistake and you do your best not to let it happen again. I trust that NorthStar will take this approach and grant us the ability to restore our memories, our home furnishings, and almost every single article of clothing that we owned.

We can provide documentation of all statements quoted above.


Final Business Response
Dear BBB Team Member:

NorthStar has come to a amicable resolution with Ms.****.
As of today, we received the full and final settlement release form back from Ms.****, and her claims case has been closed.
Document can be provided upon request.

Respectfully,
***** *****
Client Care Manager




Final Consumer Response
In regards to our complaint, we have not resolved the issue and were unaware of any time constraints that BBB had pertaining to our response. We would like to reactivate the complaint if it is not too late, or we can simply start a new complaint. We are currently waiting for our lawyers response to our case for the next step in this process. Unfortunately he will be out of the office until July 22, 2013. After our phone conversation with Mr. ******* we took some time to do research on this situation as Mr. ******* informed us to do. While it took longer than anticipated we have made attempts to contact Mr. ******* via phone, to no avail. Thank you for your time and cooperation while we attempt to resolve this matter.

Sincerely,
***** and ***

07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired northstar moving while i was handicapped and trusted they would do a good job while my left leg was in a cast shattered and broken. my items were to be moved to two locations- storage and the apt from la to orange county- a simple move. the moving team failed to listen to instruction and moved almost everything to storage.customer service was the worst. they yelled and screamed and failed to admit they made an error and failed to fix it. when i attempted to talk to cs, she was irrate and claimed she was "abused". this was ridiculous since i just wanted the issue solved. when i noticed the items were missing from the apt, first thing i did was call cs, but it was a holiday weekend, so no one was there- i have written proof. she denies this and went crazy. the estimator also underestimated what needed to be put in storage. never use this company, they do not listen, have horrible customer service and loose your things.

Desired Settlement
refund and replacementsince movers didnt finish their job, i want them to finish it and give me a refund for the inconvenience and dealing with the horrible cs woman.

Business Response
Dear BBB Team Member,

Thank you for helping us with our attempt to resolve Ms. **********'s claim.

Ms. ********** called our office, was abusive and harassed our customer service representative, to the point where she had to tell Ms. ********** that she couldn't be on the phone with her anymore unless Ms. ********** stopped her abusive behavior.

Regarding Ms. ********** accusations;

A. Ms. ********** claims we underestimated her move. Respectfully, this is incorrect; the estimate we gave her was of a not to exceed price of $1480 and the final cost came out to $1429.

B. Ms. ********** claims the movers didn't follow her instructions; Ms. ********** personally guided the movers throughout the move. She was with them the entire time instructing them what to take to storage and what to take to her apartment. The movers patiently and accurately followed her directions.

C. We completed the project we were hired to do. If Ms. ********** would like to move things out of her storage locker she should hire movers for it as a new project.

We sent a claims form and are currently waiting for Ms. ********** to complete it in order to process the claim. We are committed to continue to act according to the agreement we had with Ms. **********.

Respectfully,
*** *******
Co-Founder and CEO


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The cs reps never responded until two weeks later claiming one of their reps abrubtly quit. Their cs reps were the ones that were unhelpful and abusive- i just wanted a solution. I have in writing what was to go in which location as i was handicapped. I hired other movers and saw they incorrectly labeled boxes- for example, boxes labeled "apt" were in storage. at least 4 of them making my life a living **** dealing with incompetant cs reps a moron of an owner apparently who hasnt spoken to me and heard the story from hearsay. I will take this to the next level as they did not complete their job and i had to pay more for extra movers when they didnt complete it and i had to pay extra for storage because it was underestimated. This is being reported to the CA public utilities comission. i never harrassed the cs rep. she jjust never did her job right. she felt "harrassed" because i made a complaint. im sure your company gets a lot of them.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB Representative,

We did reach a resolution with Ms. **********. We thank you for your involvement in resolving this case. We have supporting documents signed by Ms. ********** available upon your request.

Sincerely,
*** *******

11/07/2014Delivery Issues
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 09/23/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1994, CA

Number of Employees

113

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Alternate Business Names
NorthStar Moving Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for NorthStar Moving Corporation

9120 Mason Ave

Chatsworth, CA 91311-6109

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9120 Mason Ave 

    Chatsworth, CA 91311-6109

  • 633 W 5th St #2684 

    Los Angeles, CA 90071-2005

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*NorthStar Moving Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Moving & Storage Company

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.