BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

New Home Moving And Storage

Phone: (408) 214-0927

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues6
Problems with Product / Service12
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
09/05/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was not prompt with time upon delivery. Once delivered the driver did not have proof of an inventory list or any important documentation about the move. When charged more for weight of the items, the company did not provide proof of the weight of the truck nor proof of overweight. Upon unpacking our items, we noticed that there was over $4,000 worth of missing items they did not deliver to us, and even more money in damaged items. The price paid for the move included break down of items, and putting them back together, the delivery persons did not do this. The delivery persons also left numerous amounts of trash in our home and yard and left it up to us to unwrap our items so they could take their packing blankets and watched us do so. After calling the claims department about our missing and damaged items, it was promised to us that we would receive an inventory list, within 24-48 hours, so we could file our claim. It has been 6 days and still no sign of the inventory list. When asked about how they suddenly came upon an inventory list when the delivery persons never had a copy, the representative became rude and told us that it would be another 4 days until receiving this list. After researching the company online, it has become apparent that we are not the only people having problems with lost/stolen and/or damaged items. Everyone that filed a complaint never got a reimbursement for their lost items. Action must be taken to stop this company from hurting anyone else.
Product_Or_Service: Delivery
Account_Number: LXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
A list may be provided of missing and damaged items. Some items are irreplaceable and need to be returned immediately. If there is no sign of regaining these items, a cash settlement will be needed to replace that which can be replaced, and a reimbursement of the entire move must be made for the continuous damages and time lost.

Business Response
July 23, 2013
BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
Submitted by: ***** ********
Mover: New Home Moving & Storage

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to our attention. We would like to offer the following response.
Mr. ********' shipment was collected on March 20th and delivered on 7/27, within 7 days of the pickup and within the delivery window indicated. We are currently reviewing why the delivery driver did not have the proper paperwork and will take the steps necessary to make sure this does not happen again.
We certainly regret that items may have been lost or damaged during transit. New Home Moving & Storage has an established claim process in place to assist our customers. We have mailed claim forms to Mr. ******** and have asked our claim administrator, Anthem Claim Management to do the same. Mr. ******** can obtain additional information by visiting their website (www.mymoveclaim.com) or by calling them (877-476-5983 M-F). Claims must be received within 9 months of the date the shipment was delivered.
We regret that Mr. ******** was unhappy with the service. We ask that he submit a claim which will be reviewed by a certified claim analyst. Thank You.

08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired New Home to move me from San Francisco, CA to Seattle, WA. Upon delivery (which was made at 10pm on a weekend night!), I was asked to sign a paper confirming that I had received the delivery. The driver did not check a list as he brought boxes into the house (in fact he had another man with him, helping him, who he admitted to me did not work for the company, he was a man he had met in Reno that he'd brought to help him with the deliveries), and I had noticed that at least one item, a large room dividing screen, was missing; because of this, I specifically asked if signing this form would preclude me from filing a claim form later. I was told it would not, and in so in good faith I signed the form. In fact that night I called the driver to ask him to check his truck for the screen and a few other boxes I could tell were missing, and to tell him I had received a box that was not mine. Two days later I called the company, once I knew what was missing: a total of seven boxes plus the room screen (i.e. eight items total). After weeks of calling the company, they finally told me that they could not locate my boxes and that I must file a claim (though they have still not told me what to do with the box that isn't mine!). Today I received the answer to the claim form...they said that by signing the paper I signed on delivery I not only confirmed that the delivery was made, but that everything had been delivered and in good condition. I was misled by the driver: I was told that I essentially had to sign there, that it was to confirm delivery, and there was NO WHERE to sign if everything *wasn't* delivered (I specifically asked, since the big room screen was not there), and there was no way that I could have gone through ALL of the boxes, that late on a weekend night, to determine if everything was there and in good condition, so of course I signed the paper, in good faith based on his word and in the absence of any other choice, no other option to sign, there was no form I could sign that said that the delivery was made but was incomplete.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Chase Credit Card

Desired Settlement
Total Claim = $3676

Not only did I have to pay a lot of money to replace the missing items, I paid the shipping charges for shipment of items that were not delivered, the cost of the packing materials I used for the items that were lost, and man-hours to have some of these items shipped by the shipping company. Here is the list I sent with the claim form:

Missing Items

Room divider screen 1 x $120 = $120
Custom glass etching stencils $500
Glassware 20 x $10 = $200
Soldering kit 1 x $20 = $20
Jewelry making supplies(including stones) $300
Canvases $150
Other art supplies $250
Clothing/coats $700
Box of books 30 x $10 = $300
Total = $2540

Reimbursement Requests

Large boxes (used to pack the screen, bought from New Home) 2 x $25 = $50
Packing charge (screen) 2 x $20 = $40
Rolls of tape (bought from New Home 4x$5 = $20
Paper (bought from New Home) 10lbx$40/25lb= $16
Personal packing material for missing boxes $250
Shipping for eight
missing boxes 1000lb x $0.76/lb = $760
Total = $1136


Total Claim = $3676

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this complaint to our attention. We would like to offer the following response.
As required by our tariff, any items missing or damaged at delivery must be noted on the delivery copies of the inventory. If the items are not identified at that time, the carrier is not legally liable for the claim. Our claim administrator correctly denied this claim due to a lack of documentation showing the items were indeed missing at the time of delivery.
As Ms. ********** has advised that she was apparently not given an opportunity to document the missing items, we have asked our claim administrator to accept Ms. **********'s claim in goodwill, based on the level of valuation coverage she chose, our tariff and applicable federal law. She should receive a settlement offer within the next week or so.
We regret that Ms. **********'s claim was initially denied but we have approved compensation in an effort to resolve this for Ms. **********. Once the completed settlement form is received by our claim administrator, we will issue compensation payment. Thank you.

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My first correspondence started with Benjamin Fisher at new home moving and storage back around November 2012 when my wife and I were trying to find someone to move our things from a storage unit in Chico, California to Dayton,Ohio. I was given a quote and I told him I would think about it over the Holidays. I returned his call January 1st 2013 and told him we would go ahead and set the move up for 14th of January. I was charged 90$ to my VISA(Transaction Number XXXXXXXXXX) for my deposit during this phone call. I should have been supicious from the start when Benjamin Fisher called me back on January 7th to confirm my move and then charged me an additional 90$ Deposit (Transaction Number XXXXXXXXXX) which I felt like I had to harass them to try to get that first 90 dollars back. It was given back after several phone calls and a couple of e-mails (Transaction XXXXXXXXXX)..

I decided to continue forward with our deal. Now the only problem is I would not be the one who would be signing the release forms for this move. I was going to have to get one of my relatives who lives in San Francisco to drive the three hours up to Chico, Ca to open up the storage unit and sign the paperwork for the new home moving and storage. This would take some planning and orginzation and timing. I had to cancel the trip up on the 14th because my relative was unable to make it for this trip and after some coordination I was able to set up a time that worked for my relative which would be the 27th of January. It was a Sunday and I called B******* F***** back and asked him if this day would be ok and he said he would tlak to his boss to find out, he came back on the phone and assured me this would not be a problem for them.

After mailing my relative a power of attorney and jumping through so many hoops to get this move set up the weekend had finally come. I called New Home Moving and Storage and spoke with Daniel King because I just wanted to know about what time they would be arriving that sunday so my relative would have a good idea of when to get up there. It was around 1630 at that time too so close to closing time and close to the weekend, Now Daniel King told me during this phone call on the 25th that a Schedule for sundays move was not made yet and they had not forgotten about me and that they would call me and tell what time. Saturday comes and goes, I try to call their office. No answer. Sunday I call their office almost all day and I have my relative calling me trying to find out whats going on because they drove to stay with a friend in Sacramento on the word that I said they would tell me when they would be there.

So in the end I felt scammed and I called Tuesday the 5th of February and was told that there was a mistake made and if I would like my Deposit back I said yes I do not want to do business with you thank you anyways but I would just like my 90 dollars back and I will be doing this move on my own. I have still not recieved this money after the person I spoke with on the phone said "You should see it in 2-3 business days." This man I spoke with did not give me his name but he told me Benjamin Fisher the agent I had been dealing with had been out sick for two weeks.

After I googled New Home Moving and Storage and read some of the customer reviews on yelp and other sites I knew this was a terrible mistake.

Desired Settlement
I would like my 90$ deposit back really. I mean if I could get reimbursement for wasting my relatives time, my time, and the postage I had to pay for that POA I would want that too.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this complaint to our attention. We would like to offer the following response.
A refund for Mr. ******** was processed on 3/22/2013 for $90.00. The Transaction ID was XXXXXXXXXX. The refund should show up on Mr. ********'s statement within the next few business days.
We apologize for not processing this sooner however there was a breakdown in communication on our end. Please contact us directly if you have any questions or if the refund does not show up within 7 business days. Thank You.

10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is a billing and customer service issue. We were "given" to New Home Moving from A-Z movers, US DOT #XXXXXXX, which is also 24-7 Movers(they are not listed in the BBB). They quoted us a price of $1415 for our move which were 97% boxes that were CLEARLY measured. We CLEARLY communicated exact measurements of our items to the company. Upon the trucks arrival to pick our items, we had a few extra items that the driver said would equal $157, which we were absolutely willing to pay. However, he said the company messed up estimating our ENTIRE shipment and blamed their rep, ******* for screwing up such an "easy" order and basically ended up charging us EXACTLY 2X the amount. Again, you heard right, THE BOXES ARE MEASURED. How can you mess up, by 2X, BOXES? After arguing with ****** and her Manager Keren from A-Z who we ORGINALLY contracted with, they said they would take off $500, which is CLEARLY not enough. I get an email from Vardit one day, basically saying we now have to take all complaints to New Home Moving. In the process, they claim NOT to be brokers, however GAVE our job (which we end up finding out they are all 1 company), to New Home. I called EVERY DAY for 2 weeks and every day they said they would call me back & they never did. Finally, 8/28 I threatened them by telling them I would get in touch with an attorney & they called immediately. They still would not fix the price. Then, the driver contacts my mom with an AWFUL attitude, telling her she better pay or not get her stuff, yelling. Upon delivery, they damaged a good deal of our items & the item THEY DISASSEMBLED at pick up, they REFUSED to assemble although IT IS IN THE CONTRACT. I tried reaching out to them 6 times by phone and 3 times via email and they REFUSE to answer/respond. This company not only stole over $700 from us they damaged over $1000 of our property! The movers that were in the truck with the driver complained that the driver and the company are thieves & steal their tips and customers belongings!!
Product_Or_Service: Moving Services
Order_Number: sXXXXXXX
Account_Number: sXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my $700 back PLUS money for all the damaged items (over $1000- we have taken pictures of all the damaged items) and money for the fact that now i have to HIRE someone to assemble the media stand that they disassembled and REFUSED to assemble which is $150 an hour. I reached out to them multiple times to find out what the claim process is and they have chosen to completely ignore me.

09/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We encountered the following problems:1. The cost was $3,000 more than the quote.2. The driver for pickup came four hours early.3. The truck loaders left a mess of packing material and trash in our garage and yard.4. They charged us extra ($500) for packing items that were supposed to have already been in the quote.5. It took them over a month to deliver our stuff, even though the salesman, ***, assured me that it would be there in "about ten days."6. During the month of waiting for our stuff, no one would return our calls.7. The customer service representatives at times acted heartless and cruel.8. We had an antique table that we mentioned to the sales associate, the truck driver, and the loaders that it was very fragile and valuable. They said they would pack it nicely and take care of it. It arrived in the truck under several heavy boxes of books and a leg was snapped off.9. They ruined one of our bicycles by bending the frame to the point where the wheel cannot fit.10. They claimed they would reassemble anything they took apart. This did not happen.11. When we called to report damages, they just give a toll-free number, which in turn tells you to go to a website to file a claim.

Desired Settlement
I would like the full value of our move back since it has caused us so much distress and money for damages.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New Home Moving called me to give me a quote for moving my 3 bed room house. The "sales rep" Craig ensured me that the quote he gave me on 2 occasions would be the ideal quote for the move. Him and I spent and hour, twice going through ALL of the items I was taking. Come move day the movers show up 3 hours late and see the house and before moving they say they cannot move this house for the price given and it will take 2 trucks and they only have 1 truck. 6 hours later they finally finished the move after renting a storage unit to store some of my items. When I called the company to find out where my belongs were they said they didn't know but suspected they were in Los Angeles. I called the mover ****** and he said 1/2 is in one location and other half in Los Angeles. What moving company splits your belongs up and puts them in local storage. I called the storage facility and after some work found out my stuff was there. What happened to it all over the next 30 days i am not sure but they were supposed to ship my items to Wisc on August 1st and I called New Home on the 28th and they said 'oh we haven't shipped anything yet and we have 21 days to get it there so wait'. I called back asking for more answers, nothing. Called again and finally found out my stuff was going to be shipped but was delayed by a week.My stuff showed up on August 8th with rips, dings and dents. Tape marks, spider webs and dust. Shoe prints and missing boxes (and other peoples boxes). Now I have to file a claim...I had to have the move done that day, they knew that and conned me. The initial quote was 3500 and the final was 6800, is that fair business?
Product_Or_Service: Moving
Account_Number: LXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want this information to be public so they have a mark against them. This company should be shut down completely. Look at the yelp reviews, weekly someone is getting conned out of at least a thousand dollars. Do you want a company like that running in America? They owe me $ due to this game they play and I am not happy.

09/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company engages in unethical practice of low balling on quote by calling it a very good estimate and charging over 100% more than the actual quote.
There is a saying you get what you pay for. I received four moving quotes and New Home was SIGNIFICANTLY lower than the others at $4.9k. I knew New Home was low balling to get me in the door and I knew ultimately the final price would be 30, 40, 50 percent higher. Well, after 14 hour nighmare ordeal on moving day the final bill came out to 11.7k. Are you kidding me? It is the biggest bait n switch game I have ever seen and poorest moving company service imaginable. ****** **** the sales rep and the whole company CAN NOT be trusted. ****** claimed to be the "expert" with many years of experience and said I only needed 1,100 cubic feet when the other quotes came in at 1,800 to 2,200 cubic feet. I called ****** to make sure he was confident on the size of the move as the others quoted much higher cubic feet and ****** said he was very confident. I hired them to pack everything for us. On moving day, they came 30 minutes late and came with one small truck and four guys. One guy just took off after working only 3 hours which meant an extra couple of hours of packing. Company brought the wrong truck size and so we waited for another truck to arrive which wasted another 1.5 hours. They ran out of packing material and so packed half of the goods without packing material. My stuff showed up late and it was utter disaster on what I found when I started to unpack the stuff. I have over 40 pictures of damages from missing bed rail to major dinged up gashed up desks and tables.
At the end of pick up day when the head mover (***) demanded payment for $11.7k I was obviously shocked and rightly upset. I said I would not pay this amount. Most people would have given in to the strong arm tactics but I held my ground. After being thorough exhausted after a very long day, I reluctantly settled with paying them $9.7K but I wasn't done with them. I called customer service several times to get another price adjustment but company has denied my request. By the way I had measured the truck to be about 1,700 cubic feet before they started to load. I then asked *** how big the truck was three hours later and he said 2,000 and that he was absolutely sure. Just one of many lies...
New Home also also got me with the packing material expense which they quoted me at $1,200 but it ended up to be $4,000!
I am requesting New Home provide a partial refund of another $2,000 which I think is equitable and reasonable given the bait and switch tactics and terrible customer service prior to, during, and after the move.

Desired Settlement
I am demanding $2,000 partial refund to make the final bill more reasonable for the quote provided to me of $4,900. I paid a total of $9,700 which is basically double the "estimate" which ****** **** claimed to be a very very solid quote. For a company that moves household goods every single day, an estimate should be 10, 20 percent off and maybe even 30 percent off not 100%.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello ,
Sir/Madam .
We moved with this company in Jan 2013 .
As if the moving is hard this company made it more difficult ,they promised certain time frame but never showed since it was Sunday we didn't knew whom to call up next day I called the company in the morning he said they will be there around noon we were late by almost 24 hour by then but there was no sign of of any body and after noon one driver called said our truck broke down we will be there around evening ,But they showed up in the middle of the night .
We called next day again to the company telling them what all happened he said they will compensate he adjusted some thing in our bill which we were not satisfied .
Then our stuff moved the stuff came ,The driver of the truck was very rude again it was Sunday again the company was closed .The driver charged us $100 more according to our quoted price ,And we tried to explain him he said no they told me to charge this much , and we said see this the bill what they have given us he said no I will not take out the stuff till you guys will pay me this much .
Next day I called company they said don't worry we will refund you your money and they explained me put it through claim and we did it through the claims .
But the claim company said they don't deal with the extra charges they only deal with lost or damaged things .
I called company back again to file for arbitration they said call our customer service I am calling customer service they are not responding my call back from last 10 to 12 days .
I have left so many times message they always say that manger will call you back surely .
But never heard from them .
Sir/madam .
Please look into this matter and hoping that you will help us .
Thank you
***** *****

Desired Settlement
Please look into this matter and tell them to refund our $100 what they have charged extra and we are not satisfied what the Anthem claim is paying us for our damaged goods so we want to file for arbitration .And we don't know with whom to talk and what is the procedure to do this since the customer service never return our call back .
Thank you .
***** *****

Business Response
July 23, 2013
BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX
Submitted by: ***** *****
Mover: New Home Moving & Storage

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to our attention. We would like to offer the following response.
The $100 refund for ***** was issued on June 6th, 2013 (check#500). If Mr. ***** did receive the check or if he has any questions he is welcome to reach out to us directly. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank You.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.