BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Manchester Vanlines, Inc.

(888) 716-6392View Additional Phone Numbers16438 Vanowen St, Van NuysCA 91406

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Manchester Vanlines, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues8
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Manchester Vanlines, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
03/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Mover has lost my shipment and so far has refused to reimburse me per their agreement. I filed a clain sept. 8/ 2015 and so far nothing from them
On May 22,2015 I hired Manchester Van lines to move my furniture and belongings. they showed up packed up my belongings and left. I paid for storage for the months of July and August per our contract. Om August 17th i requested my shipment. I was informed on August 28th that it had been lost and is not able to be delivered.
I filed a claim for reimbursement on September 8, 2015 its been 16 days today and still no check and no attempts to find my shipment. I have had to buy new furniture, clothes etc.

Desired Settlement
i am requesting the full 5000 dollars. i have had to pay additional payments to my credit card company until i can be reimbursed from the movers

Business Response
This claim has been resolved with the new ownership.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told this company was no longer in business. they are saying i settled with new owners. I was told i had no other option but to accept less than a third of my request because no one from Manchester Van lines could be found as the company no longer existed.
I think the response is a total sham.If the company exists i want either my money or my furniture. if it doesn't then why the response at all?

Final Business Response
The client was paid what was agreed. The client received the check and cashed it. As far as we are concerned this issue is closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Charged for items not received and items that they damaged during the move. Did not provide claim form after discussing issues with twice.
Initial Email sent to ****:
Hello *****

One of the items that was missing off of the truck was the mirror that goes to the dresser. The driver said that you would put it on another truck and send it.
The leg supports for the bed were missing so I went to Home Depot and had some made. It seems that a lot of my stuff was left in the rain, the first tote that I opened was filled with 3 inches of water and the items inside were mildewed. I have not gone through other bins (I had a commitment to get to when the guys left), but a lot of them were really wet and dirty on top.
Follow Up email:
I have to tell you how angry I am about the complete negligence on your company's part. I understand getting a box of glassware shattered, that is expected. Or a big gash across my dresser even though it is blanket wrapped. But I have several missing bins and 1/4 of the bins that I did get have everything in them ruined. How long does a bin with a closed top have to sit in the rain to accumulate 3 inches of water?! Special things are covered in mildew. Electronics are destroyed. I have unpacked all my cloths and I have 1 pair of pants hanging in my closet and I am missing half of my dresses. I picked your company even though you charged me more per cubic ft than ALL of my other quotes bc you had good reviews. I am now thinking that you paid for them. Although the people that work for you are nice, the end result is horrible! And I waited 3 weeks to get things delivered.
His response:
*********, I understand everything you are saying. I failed you and I wil km make it up to you. I didn't mentioned it in the previous email, I am in NJ. I wil be back in the office tomorrow and I will send you a claim form. It will take just few minutes and this way I can process a compensation for you. You are right in every thing you say. I dont have excuses and I'm not sure how water got inside the bin. Will you allow me a chance to make it up to you?
After this response I did not hear from Mike, nothing was done to correct the issue.

Desired Settlement
Refund for shipping charges for items that were not delivered and recovery cost for damaged items.

Business Response
A claim form was sent. Manchester Van lines will assume responsibility as requested by client.
Sorry for the delay *********, we will be on top of it from now on.

04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Manchester Vanlines didnt honor the services listed on the quote, full value insurance purchased was not provided, contract misleading to include car
1) Almost all of our Fine China was missing.
2) Brooms, Rake, Snow Shovel, Mop were all missing. Baby dresser leg missing. Coat rack leg missing (I have documenting missing parts)

3) Paid $100 for a Wooden Crate to specialty pack paintings. That service was never provided and the painting was damaged. I have a quote for $150 and waiting on another one.
4) Paid $350 for special handling of 6 glass items-5 out of 6 items were packed in plain cardboard boxes with no "special glass protection". Coincidentally most items were not damaged but one was, the coffee table tile broke.
5) Paid $750 material and labor- the labor was provided but Not the material. Our boxes from the previous move were used.

6) We told Colin (your associate) that the Lexus was definitely going weeks before hand. He added this to the contract but did not relay the info to the car moving company (He admitted to this mistake). Also the contract we received is written in a way that deceives the reader (two professionals, a doctor and a pharmacist) to think that the car was included in the total quoted price. Unintentionally.....or Intentionally?? Eitherway we were shocked to learn the day of the move that we have pay an additional $1125 for the car and the crew was unaware that the Lexus was to be transported on July 1st.

7) As per agreement, a week before the move you confirmed that the movers were suppose to pack on June 30th. However no one showed up on June 30th. Once I called, you promised six guys the following day and only three showed up on July 1st and did not complete the packing until loading until 2:45am

8) My husband sent couple of emails to you which clearly states to send the household goods right away (starting July 4th). However the goods did not initiate travel until after July 15th even though you said you will send the goods "after the 4th of July weekend after your workers have the weekend off". Because of this my husband had to sleep on the floor for six days in an empty house waiting until the furniture arrived. I also had to postpone my flight there since I did not want to be in a empty house with 2 children under the age of 4 year old.

9) The unloading of household goods was on July 22nd and the inventory was never done. Our boxes were stacked along with TWO other household goods in the same truck. Because our old boxes were used from our previous move most of these boxes had multiple stickers, making it very confusing for everyone, especially since it was in the evening. I discovered my china (the only thing I care about) was missing once I flew into Boston and started unpacking.

10) Furniture damaged included queen bed frame scratched and chipped, antique table has cracks and dents in it, baby dresser chipped, scratched and leg missing. Most places I asked for a quote want to charge me $100 just for a inhouse estimate. Overall we would have expected some scratches and dents in a cross country move. So we don't want to pay for estimates especially since you have not made any statement that you will re-imburse us for the furniture estimates.

11) Serving Dishes- 3 were shattered due to poor packing. (I have pictures demonstrating crushed boxes and china)

12) Movers broke the hallway light upon delivering. (I have pictures documenting)

Desired Settlement
$2000 loss of fine china and services included in the contract that were not provided

Business Response
Several times in the past Manchester Vanlines offered this client very reasonable settlement offers. The client chose not to accept any of the offers. More than that, this client chose to bash and trash our name even before the claim process was complete. We offered a settlement of a $1000. the client refused. This where it stands.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We had many problems with our move with Manchester Van Lines. 1) quote given was poorly written which made us think our car was included in the total price 2) delivery took 22days when I was told 10days 3)in house estimate was off increasing our price 4) packers were a no show the day before pick-up even though I called to remind them 5) full value insurance was bought to cover $20,000 but no insurance papers were provided and during the claim they gave us a very hard time to reimburse our missing/ damaged items. 6) I felt like the public should know that our move wasn't smooth but owner falsely calls that bashing.I wrote the review during our negotiation and the owner wanted this review taken down before giving me a settlement 7) after months we settled at $1500 and I got a phone call from the owner and a sincere apology which was much appreciated

Final Business Response
Issue has been resolved. Thank you ****.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm still unclear why I couldn't use my full value insurance that I purchased to replace my missing items when receipts were given but was offered $1500 by the owner which I accepted.

11/26/2013Delivery Issues
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Manchester Vanlines has failed to pay a claim I filed 5 months ago based on a written agreement, and I have been unable to reach them for resolution.
It has been nearly a year since my move, so I am unsure of the exact dates. I hired Manchester Vanlines for a move in early to mid May of last year. The move was made, things were broken. We had a written agreement that detailed how such things would be reimbursed, and so I filed a claim on June 13th. In response to my claim form, I received an email on August 17th with the following statement: "After reviewing your claim form and attached documents we have come to the following conclusion:

Full coverage insurance was not purchased and you are eligible for coverage valuation of $0.60 per pound per article as per your agreement.

1. Item #1 Queen Mattress, average weight is 100 pounds, $60.00
3. Item #2 Bookcase average weight 50 pounds, $30.00
4. Item #3 Kitchen Island average weight 100 pounds, $60.00
5. Item #4 Bed assembly average weight 50 pounds, $30.00
6. Item #5 Box is marked as PBO (packed by owner, not covered) $0.00
78. Item #6 Lamp average weight 10 pounds $6.00
9. Item #8 Glass table top average weight 10 pounds $60.00
Total compensation offered is $300.00 as per your agreement.
In order to receive the funds please sign the attached release agreement."

Said agreement was returned to them on October 18th. I received no response or payment. I followed up with another email in which I re-sent the document, just in case, on December 21st. That email was returned as undeliverable because ****** was "Recipient not found." I know the email address was not typed in error because I sent it by replying to the same thread we had been using throughout the claims process. I have since called and left messages on at least 2 occasions, and even used the business inquiry form on their website to let them know that I wanted to follow up on my claim, but was having trouble reaching them. February 28th, I posted a Yelp review, and I thought that perhaps they would see it and reach out for resolution. They did not. I called them today and left one more message prior to submitting my claim.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the payment of $300 dollars that Manchester Vanlines agreed to, per our contract.

Business Response
The company is in re-organization and ownership transfer. The company will be commencing activity in 3-4 weeks and a check will be sent than. We are trully sorry for the delay.

Consumer Response
The company's reply to my complaint stated that they were in a transition and could pay me in 3-4 weeks. That time has passed *** no payment or further communication has been received.

03/14/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company moved me to New Orleans and all my items arrived either scratch, broken or missing.
This is the WORST moving company EVERR!!! They don't deserve "ANY" stars at all!!! I have NEVER in all the years I've been on earth been mistreated, constantly LIED to and just made a Mockery of by anyone like I have by this company! I've been called every name except a child of GOD by this money hungry, unprofessional GHETTO driver TONY! This dude is 51-50 CRAZY!!! I trusted this company because they were listed on the movers beware website as an honest and fair moving company. Well, I found that to be "Totally" WRONG! They had to have paid for that! When they picked up my furniture from Carson, CA those guys wrapped my furniture with blankets & Care. I even recommended them to a couple friends of mines and to the storage company. Well, the move was from Carson, CA to New Orleans, LA and this was the MOST DISASTROUS MOVER EVERR!!! I got to New Orleans about 4 days before the delivery! I paid half before leaving California and the balance had to be paid by postal money order. I get a call from Tony letting me know that he will be delivering my furniture on Father's Day. I get the money order the day before and misplaced it. I tried calling him back to let him know that I misplaced it and need to report it lost and that I would have to transfer funds on Monday so he could get paid. He went on ranting about how he had to replace/repair his transmission twice that week which costed him $2,500.00 per event and that now that he has to wait until Monday to get paid he needed all the money in cash! What idiot do you think is going to give you $1,000.00 plus in cash! He said he would give me until 8:00 am Monday! I don't know WHAT bank opens at 8am in America .... I was like whatever anyways I go to the Post Office & put a stop payment on the money order and I call my business account bank so that I could transfer the funds to my personal acct... They walked me through this (never had to do this ...) as I'm trying to process this transaction on my smartphone this "Tony" is blowing up my phone like a moron. At this point, he has called me 17 times (keep in mind, I'm exhausted from the time change and aggravated by him holla ring at me like I'm a kid. I'm a grown woman with children. Anyways, as I'm trying to transfer the monies this **** is calling me and the phone calls over ride anything that you're doing (I.e. Transactions) on any mobile device. I'm constantly telling this **** that I can't get you paid if you don't stop calling me bc I only have my phone to do the financial transactions on. At this point, he has called me 17 times and the harassment has really aggravated me! Finally, I get to transfer the monies only to find out that the bank was having software issues. To make a long story short, this dude had aggravated me soo bad that I had transposed the last two #'s on my acct. At this point, he has cussed me out like I was some street person and told me I never had the money in the first place and that I was a fraud. Now, what person, in there right mind would move all of there possessions across country and not be able to pay for them? Well, I was told by the Andrea at Manchester that he had put my belongings into storage and that they had another driver coming through New Orleans in about a week and he would call before coming. Sure enough Jose called and brought my possessions. Keep in mind that I have expensive furniture and I cook a lot so my dishes and cookware are essential items. When Jose delivered the furniture I thought I was going to go into cardiac arrest! When I tell you everything possible was damaged if NOT destroyed! My CUSTOM Mattress & box spring were damp & in some areas wet & they were in plastic bags. My 4 post bed headboard is totally destroyed & it's Mahogany wood! My fireplace arrived in 19 pieces! It took my awhile before I could recognize what it was, my love seat arm was crushed, I'm an Art collector and several pieces of expensive framing was damaged and broken & th

Desired Settlement
I am seeking replacement/monetary compensation of all the items broken and missing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Andrea
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
Hello, first and foremost, we are sorry the client isn't entirely satisfied with the relocation.
I'm sure we have part of it, however the main part of the complaint is the damages claim. There are 2 issues to be pointed out. the items had to be moved multiple times due to client's actions. The items were moved from the client's storage unit where they have not been wrapped and been there for a while. Than it had to be placed in storage again in New Orleans because the client lost her funds and needed to wait several days to replace the lost funds. Of course the truck couldn't wait for that to happen, it has a schedule to make so her shipment was placed in storage. From storage we moved it to her home. This double handling isn't recommended as it could cause more damages. We would like to point out that usually there's a re-delivery fee for the double labor and we waived it for the client.
The client wants to be compensated at a replacement cost of damaged items and there's 2 problems with that:
1. Full replacement insurance wasn't purchased by the client and her compensation by LAW is limited to $0.60 per pound.
2. Some of the items were damaged prior to the move.
We would very much like to work out a resolution with the client and provide some compensation according to the agreement. We ask the client to email ****** to begin a dialog to resolve the issue.
Thank you and have a blessed day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can not believe the LIES Manchester Vanlines submitted to the BBB. smh... I have tried to resolve this matter with them and they continue to "claim" that it's with the insurance company!!?? Really and you can't give me a person name or number to speak with!? I submitted the claim in July 2015 and it is NOW November 2015 and I have yet to "hear" from Manchester Van lines. I have over 75 pictures of the damages and broken items it's just TRAGIC! I have soo many things that NO longer work that it's just unbelieveable when ppl come to my house and look at the disaster that they created for me and my children. Initially when the driver "Tony" arrived in New Orleans and I informed him that I had misplaced the original Money Order (I have copies and pictures of the original money order as well) and that I would have to transfer monies in order to pay him with a money order. He DID NOT want to accept a money order and Andrea called me and asked if I could pay him with cash! Because his truck broke down and he had to repair or replace his radiator and he needed immediate cash! I found that to be very unprofessional and unethical especially when it "states" in the contract that the final payment is to be paid by a postal money order! I tried to transfer the money into my account so that I could get a money order and receive my furniture but, the driver "Tony" continued to call me and I couldn't transfer because the phone call kept over riding anything that I tried processing on a smartphone (which in turn caused me to transpose my account number) and that's the ONLY mobile device I had available to make a transaction on. This guy hollering, cussing and calling me all kinds of inappropriate names and accused me of NOT having the monies to receive my furniture! I was very upset by this because I am NOT by far an idiot and "why" would I move furniture from California to New Orleans if I didn't have the monies to do this?! REALLY??!!! Also, the OWNER Mike, went onto Yelp and stated that I DID NOT have an address to receive the furniture when the furniture arrived, when the address is clearly written on the contract! When the furniture finally arrived, the Driver, Jose noticed himself how damaged my furniture was(he in fact, sent the pictures to Andrea's e-mail and you could tell they were "fresh" scratches! And, how my appliances were NOT wrapped accordingly. He even stated that the company policy is to wrapped all appliances and glass items. I wish you could see the pictures. I almost stopped breathing! I have Ethan Allen furniture and I had one piece of furniture that was scratched before the move and it is a huge scratch on top of my dresser ONLY!! When it arrived, the handle on the drawer was missing! The rest of my furniture that is scratched, dented and broken occurred while in the possession of Manchester Van lines. I have a 2 year old stainless steel Fridge that comes on but, DOES NOT GET COLD! Explain that one to me! My custom Mattress and Box Spring that arrived wet and were in plastic bags!!!?? My ENTIRE SET of the Pampered Chef cookware(which is very expensive and they no longer make) that's MISSING, My floor lamp that's missing, my tall floor Fan that's missing, 6 dish packs that were professionally wrapped ALL broken! I have ONE ceramic plate, Heirloom items broken soo bad they are unrecognizable, every item that has wheels (bed frame, filing cabinet, shredder, canister vacuum cleaner, each item with wheels have wheels missing, my chaise is dented on the arm. And, Highboy scratched up completely, TV stand with glass doors arrived unwrapped and broken, floor standing mirror, broken, hand held 10x magnifying mirrors 2 of them broken, Art work that was wrapped and placed in the box with the TV that also arrived broken, And, "WHY" was my TV Samsung Smart TV out of the box and wrapped in my bed sheet!!??? my 4-post bed headboard completed broken and it was "still" wrapped in blankets! My child had to go outside after she watched JOSE unwrapped (take the blankets off) my floor standing mirror because it is severely damaged and she knew I was soo fed up that I was in tears! I have NEVER in all the years I've lived on earth, seen anything as disasterous and TRAGIC as this! My sofa stained, As far as me being compensated at a replacement cost? They owe me that! I submitted the claim way back in July, 2015 with all the pertinent documentation they requested and I have YET to hear from them and we are approaching 120 days! I asked for insurance at replacement value and they told me that don't offer that and that they pay at .60 per pound but, they haven't even attempted to pay that after they have disrupted my life like this!!! I have China sets (I have "ALWAYS" had champagne brunches at my house) that are totally destroyed. All kind of barware (destroyed) that's no longer available because they were "gifts"! Whenever I attempt to call they send my call to voicemail but, when I call and block my phone number from appearing they answer. Andrea is a deceitful liar! She is NEVER available to speak to me and she has YET to call me back from the last time I left her a message and that was in August 2015 and now we are in November. They have sat on this claim and I have not been able to afford to "buy" a fridge. They broke the stove, I have since purchased a new stove. I have to go to the store everyday to purchase whatever it is that I'm cooking for my children because I only have a small "wine" fridge and coolers that we have been living out of since we moved to New Orleans! It has been very, very expensive trying to feed my children like this on a daily basis. This company has been known to NOT give a damn about anyone and I have read soo many reviews since the move, on YELP of how they over charge and damage furniture and how YELP had to investigate them because they were KNOWN to pay people off to post positive reviews! This company should have every license they possess revolk and they should be shutdown for destroying working class people lives. I can't believe they the DOT and all others allow them to operate!! This has been the worst experience I've ever encountered in my lifetime. I should be held accountable for hiring them that's ALL!! I don't know how they sleep at night. How am I suppose to recover from this at .60/lb when they won't even PAY up on this claim at ALL! I'm soo aggravated by this company that it makes me sick on the stomach to walk pass all my damaged furniture and to not have a working fridge is unacceptable. I'm soo tired of them I just wish they never exist and that this was all a dream instead of the NIGHTMARE that it is! Who does this to human beings?! And, then LIE to the BBB about it and WHY?!! And, that driver should NEVER be allowed to move anyone the way he spoke to me! They REALLY Need to OWN UP TO TO THIS BECAUSE IT'S JUST NOT RIGHT AND IT'S SOO UNFAIR TO TREAT PPL like this! One thing for sure, I truly know that JUSTICE will prevail.

Final Business Response
Another thing, this lady already made the same complaint with the BBB. Complaint ID#: XXXXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On November 5, 2015, no one tried to contact me. I tried calling Andrea on November 9, 2015 and Oscar disconnected the call and when I called back, the call went to voice mail. I tried sending an e-mail and it was returned. Today, I called and spoke with Andrea and she "promised" that she would get back with me with a settlement offer from the insurance company before the close of business. It is now 5:33PM CST. She not going to call me because she's done this to me before and NEVER gotten back with me period

10/15/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

This is for the North Hollywood location. This company made huge promises to take care of our household goods on our move, but failed miserably.
First of all, we were told by both ***** and someone calling the day before stating they were a co-owner saying that the designated truck was picking up at our home and driving directly to our new home in Portland. We found out later that the truck that picked up our house was unable to leave the state and was being routed back to Los Angeles. That truck was then reloaded on to another truck that could go out of state. Then when I am driving to Oregon I get a call from an accounting girl named ****** saying that the cashiers checks we had made had the wrong name on them and she wasn't able to put them in the bank. She insisted that she would not let the driver leave Los Angeles heading to Portland until she had my credit card number to pay for the first half. The wrong name on the cashiers checks was not our fault, they were made out to exactly how the invoice stated. So we now have to figure out how to get this cashiers checks back to our bank in California safely and get them reverted back into our account. This is a huge hassle for us especially considering it was not our fault. We were also told that there would be 3 or 4 people to unload our truck in ********* and only two guys showed up. I was so frustrated it was taking so long, I ended up taking at least 25 or 30 boxes into the house myself otherwise they would have been here all night. We did have multiple items broken including an entertainment center and multiple glass items and there were many smashed boxes. I am positive that most of this was done when the truck was unloaded and loaded in Los Angeles even though it was supposed to be a direct shipment. I was also originally told that everything not in a box would be wrapped up, but our refrigerator, our bikes, are safe, and our patio set had absolutely no wrapping on them at all and every single item was either scratched or dinged. The wood chairs for our dining room set we're not wrapped and every single one of them has chips taken out of them. We did see that every item had a sticker put on it numbering them when they were loaded, but during unloading there was no tracing of any boxes or items unless we wrote the numbers down. It took so long for the unloading to happen and we were so frustrated at the end of all the broken items and overall headache we've had with your company, we sign the paperwork just to get them out of our house.We felt absolutely deceived and lied to so many times it is unbelievable. We paid a large amount of money to have a "dedicated exclusive" truck to eliminate damage, but ended up with more damaged goods than we could have imagined.

Desired Settlement
$500 would be acceptable, although a small portion of what it would cost to replace all of the damaged items.

Business Response
We are reviewing the clients claim and will notify of our findings.

Consumer Response
This company refused to discuss compensation unless I deleted my complaint with the BBB. I am unsatisfied with this company and will not retract my complaint.

Final Business Response
Good day,
Manchester Van lines apologize for all and any inconvenience. We would like to work with the client and resolve any issues. A claim form was sent to client on August 18th and another one today.
Once we receive the claim form we will be happy to process it and provide compensation. Yesterday we spoke to the client and came to an agreement to compensate the client $500 as he requested here under some conditions waive the claim process entirely however the client retracted from the deal and now asks for more money.
We will process his claim form once it is received.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all they only agreed to pay $500 ONLY if we deleted our review of them on Yelp. That is called blackmail, not compensation. I don't want a ***** from this company even though they have cost us thousands. If you run a business in such an unethical way, you only deserve to rot in ****. If they would did what the contract said and go straight from old house to new, there would have been no damages. I sleep well knowing that my complaint and Yelp review takes money from their pockets. This company can keep their dirty money. Just remember the crooks names ******, ****. And even ***** because he makes all the promises. Good Day.

08/31/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Shipped stuff from LA which hasn't arrived on time and we can't reach anyone either
We moved from Los Angeles to Tucson earlier this week and had our stuff shipped. ******, who I had been speaking with, said that he would pick up the stuff on the 7th of August and deliver it by the 10th. We wanted a delivery date of August 11th, which we both agreed to (even on the contract they gave us, it was 8/11 as the delivery date). They did pick up on the 7th, but we still have not received our stuff. My husband came to Tucson before me just so he would be here for the delivery. Whenever we contact customer service (which we've been doing since Wednesday, 8/11), we never get a response. In fact, when we ask for a date or a delivery frame, we got the response "as soon as possible". I and my husband have repeatedly called them and despite that initial one time, they never speak to us or call us back. We've been dealing with ****** in the office, who told us that "****** lied and he no longer works for the company". This is not our problem. We don't even know if the stuff left LA. We have zero furniture and have been sleeping on the floor, which is causing us back and neck pain. We just want an answer as to when the stuff will arrive, but not only are we not getting the date from them, we are not getting a time frame. We spent a lot of money shipping the stuff and just want it here in good condition. We paid half of the payment amount ($1487.5) on 8/7 when the stuff left ******* CA in the form of a cashier's check and we already made another cashier's check of the same amount for payment upon delivery. We do not now want to pay the whole amount as what we were promised has not been done. The most frustration we're experiencing is the customer service (****** and ****** who won't call us back or answer their phones. How can we know the status of our stuff and delivery? It is very frustrating.

Desired Settlement
We would like to receive our stuff next week at the latest and we would also like to not pay the entire amount as Manchester Vanlines has not kept its promise. We don't have much money as I just moved to Tucson to start a PhD program at the University of Arizona. I am a student with limited financial resources and my husband moved with me to Tucson as well.

Business Response
We apologize for the delay. We will deliver soon.

08/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

they quoted me 3500$ in which i told them im overall budget was 400$ .. upon pick-up they changed the price to 6100$ now they have my things
THEY lied to us about how much it was going to cost. They showed up a day early and 2.5 hours late.. the movers smelled of weed/beer they asked me if i had any weed for sale which was totally rude and random. now they want 4100$ in cash deposited into some bank of america account .. they are holding my things hostage!

Desired Settlement
i want my things delivered for the priced they quoted me .. it is not my fault the person who took my order decided to leave items off the item sheet in order to keep cost low so that i would hire them

Business Response
These allegations are ridiculous and designed to defame Manchester Van Lines. Is it even logical a man will ask another random person if he has weed for sale? How stupid Mr. ****** thinks people are?
of course he doesn't mention that the check he gave bounced, of course he doesn't mention that his inventory list was almost double.
of course he doesn't mention the profanity and racial comments he made to our representatives. He also dont mention that we agree for him to pay only $1000 on pickup to help him out but thag check bounced. We do not hold hostage anything. We did work and we will get paid for it. Mr. ****** expect us to ship his items cross country when he has paid $0 zero dollars and than when we get there to refuse payment thinking "they are already here, what can they do now?!". He mentioned several times he don't mind abandoning his shipment so why would we take such a chance?
We asked him to make a deposit first, than we will ship him out, he refused and promised to defame our company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
yes my check did indeed bounce.. we purchased a new car and a new house all in the same week .. we also found out we have our 2nd child on the way.. add moving across country with 3 dogs and 2 kids.. not to mention the movers showed up a day early and hours late.. they have deceptive business practices which will be brought to the attention of any future patron. Most HONEST businesses would give the client a chance to correct their wrong instead of lying and jacking the price up. My inventory did not double .. their employee failed to accurately inventory our belongings .. going from 25 boxes to 45 boxes should not double the price of my move. Its ok I am going to pay the ridiculous amount because what choice do i have.. yes i threatened to abandon my things in a state of hysteria and panic, these people literally have my life in the palm of their hands and i felt helpless. So say what you want you know exactly what type of business you do , this is why your company is listed under multiple names .. "manchester van lines " and " L&D MOVING AND STORAGE" again deceptive practices. Like i previously stated i will not waste any more time with this I plan to make payment today July 31st 2015 .. even though i asked to throughly inspect my belongings before being shipped to which i was denied due to " insurance issues" once again shady deceptive practices! i will never ever hire a moving company again .. as this is the 2nd time i have had to deal with such issues. Lastly I am a grown man who is not in the business of lying .. your workers smelled of beer and asked numerous times about WEED! I do not need to make these things up in order to make my point.. everything listed is factual . only leg you have to stand on is a check that bounced for 1000$ in which you offered to except a payment of 2750$ via credit card .. when your employee wrote down the wrong credit card info and the card was declined you then requested cash payment of 4100$ to be deposited into your bank of america account.. again another deceptive business practice!

Final Business Response
This client is shooting in the dark, making up names and excuses. It's interesting he never mentioned he bought a new house, a new car and made a new baby all in the same week. We gave the client multiple opportunities to pay and he didn't. Finally he paid, got a discount and his delivery.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A discount? how so? i paid 250$ for a deposit .. then another 2000$ then you squeezed me for an extra 380$ so i ended up paying 3143 .. no discount there.. your just madd because unlike rip-off report you know this will stick with your company . . And yes i got a brandnew 2015 esclade and drove cross country and moved into my 3500 sq. ft. house on 7 acres that i purchased . and My son is Due feb 22nd .. my life is good unlike yours .. you have to wake up everyday and scam people out of their money, which is why you have to run your business under 5 different names because your scum and a scam artist but thats ok because this is only the start of what i have planned for your business or whatever you wanna call it... have a great day! and enjoy explaining to your customers why their is a website dedicated to your business and why people should not hire you .. I will spare not 1 penny to end your business!

08/27/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

They lost my stuff on a move, I filed a claim. They approved it, but now refuse to pay until I've signed a new, additional agreement. I will not.
Last fall, I hired Manchester Van Lines to pack and transport my belongings for a cross-country move from California to Tennessee. Things with Manchester started well, but ended very badly. They'd lost important, seemingly hard-to-lose items (two beds, frames, and accompanying box springs, for example), and damaged other pieces of furniture beyond repair.

Unfortunately, the agreement I signed only allowed me to claim damage based on the weight, not value, of the missing/damaged items. I also learned too late that the contract only entitled me to collect $0.60 per pound for those missing/damaged items. So though I lost in the neighborhood of $2,000 in property, the terms of the contract meant I'd only receive $265.80 in settlement.

I filed my claim, ultimately spending more to accommodate the company's demands for filing the claim - providing copies of multi-page documentation they already had, needlessly incurring notary charges, etc. (This task was made even more difficult and time consuming by the fact that the company did not inventory the move the way they promised they would.) It ended up costing me close to $60 just to file the claim according to their stipulations. Then, the company is so disorganized that when I contacted them to confirm the fax number and mailing address as it appears on their paperwork (in order to submit the claim materials), their office had no idea what to tell me. They could not even confirm the company's fax number nor mailing address printed on their own paperwork.

A few weeks after I filed the claim, I received an email from Manchester stating that my claim had been approved, but it further insisted that I would now need to sign and return ADDITIONAL legally binding documents before they'd release the check to me. Their note also stated that they feel I am actually entitled to far LESS than the $265.80, though what figure they feel I AM entitled to (and how they reached that mystery figure) is not stated nor explained.

Nowhere in any of the prior documentation does it state that I would need to fill out anything additional to the material submitted in order to receive my claim check.

To me, this situation seems clear: They did a bad job, but I signed a bad deal that, in the end, entitles me to far less than the value of the items they lost and damaged. But I filed the claim materials completely, accurately and appropriately. And, considering the amount of the claim, at significant expense. For the company to now demand I sign additional, legally binding documentation is unacceptable. The last thing I am willing to do is sign anything with a company that treated me poorly and unprofessionally.

Manchester has already agreed that I am entitled to $265.80. I would like that money sent at once, without any further conditions, contracts, or stipulations from Manchester. I found them to be untrustworthy and dishonorable businesspeople, so I'm not entering into any further agreements with them, nor will I sign anything additional Manchester wishes me to sign end of story.

Thank you for your help in resolving this issue.

Desired Settlement
I want the claim check they agree I'm entitled to, and I will sign no further documentation nor agreements with this company.

Business Response
What is the point of having a claim resolution if a client can come back again and again with a new claim. We gave the client enough time to fill out her claim form. We approved her claim they way SHE wanted, the way SHE filled it out, so what is the problem?
It is a common procedure that when you receive compensation, you sign a form that indicates you got what you wanted and that's it, no more future claims. We don't really understand what is the problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business's response here is inaccurate. The claim forms I filed were, in fact, THEIR documents, filled out the way THEY insisted, and submitted the way THEY demanded. To be clear, this was pages and pages of detailed paperwork, notorized documents, and photographs, all of which were filled out and provided to the business at THEIR INSISTANCE, per THEIR INSTRUCTIONS. Clearly I filled the paperwork out correctly, as the business has APPROVED the claim.

Never was there a mention in ANY of those many pages nor in ANY of our discussions that there would be further, additional paperwork needed before they'd honor the claim. I did what I was supposed to. This is a case where the business is trying to change their own stated rules and procedures on a whim, and that's not right--or legal. Where does it end?

What I want--what I am ENTITLED to--is very clearly stated in my complaint: I filled out the ample paperwork they demanded in the manner they insisted upon; now they need to send the payment. No more signing contracts, nor signing any kind of additional agreements.

If the business considers the many pages of paperwork THEY insisted upon to now be somehow insufficient, that is their failure and their problem, not mine.

Again, the business has APPROVED MY CLAIM. Now they must send my check without further ado.

Final Business Response
Actually the client was not eligible for the compensation we offered of $265.80. Based on the claim form and the coverage valuation of $0.60 per pound per article chosen by the client only comes out to less than $75. Manchester Vanlines gave the client what she requested as token of good faith and to avoid complaints (?!).
Since the client refuses to sign the release form we will agree to pay what is the claim actually worth.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business's response is not accurate, and now they want to argue a claim they have already approved. But that's not why we're here.

They approved my claim for $265.80. Now they want to use the check as leverage, insisting I sign additional, binding agreements with them. I will not. I do not trust this business. I do not wish to sign any further agreements with them. I'm entitled to a check for my agreed-upon damages with no further conditions, stipulations, or agreements.

Page 1 of 3
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I've completely filled out your online site twice now but it won't accept the Submit because one item about resolutions requested can't be completed - apparently the web site is defective.

My name is Professor ***** **********. I used Manchester Vanlines for a retirement move from Iowa City IA where I had been on the faculty for over 40 years to ********* XXXXX. The move with packing and unpacking by Manchester was $40,000. That included $750 for moving insurance from Moving Insurance LLC which refused all damages amounting to about $10,000 except for $1000, based largely because of packing inadequacies by Manchester. The move started 11/30/2015 with deliver to our new home in Encinitas a week or so later. Damage to the Iowa City house and a neighbor's property occurred totaling about $1000 for each of those. The last time we were able to contact the Manchester Vanlines was March 10, 2016. Since then, they have not returned phone calls, their email bounces back, and their web site has been taken down indicating "under construction" since last contact. Mike Edsy was our primary contact at Manchester Vanlines, but his email ****@manuvanlines now bounces back as does his assistant ******
Following is info I put on Yelp.

Desired Settlement
We had a very large move from Manchester vanlines at a charge of $40,000. Damage was done to the home we were moving from and the neighbors yard. Multiple items were broken including a large flat screen TV and a custom made butcher block table. We estimated total damage at $10,000. The insurance they sold me for $750 estimated damages only at $1000. Many items including the TV set were refused because of inadequate packing. Attempts by me (and our neighbor with the damaged yard) have been unsuccessful by both phone and email whereas communication was excellent prior to the actual move. While the movers assured us that the damages would be covered, only $750 ($1000 - first $250 contractual deductible. Rather than negotiate, they have stonewalled us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Additional Information

Business started: 07/15/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 0190844 for this company.

Type: Public Utilities Comm.

Check License Status: cpuc/f?p=203:37:4830391446065::NO:RP:P37_CARRIER_TYPE,P36_CARRIER_TYPE:MTR,MTR

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 2549024 for this company.

Type: Dept of Transportation

Type of Entity


Incorporated: July 2011, NV

Number of Employees


Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Manchester Vanlines, Inc.

16438 Vanowen St

Van Nuys, CA 91406

To | From


1 Locations

  • 16438 Vanowen St 

    Van Nuys, CA 91406(818) 518-1119

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Manchester Vanlines, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (818) 518-1119

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Moving & Storage Company


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


We were informed by Manchester Van Lines on June 7,2016 this company closed their doors June 7, 2016.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.