BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Eden Relocation, Inc.

Find a Location

(818) 988-2255View Additional Phone Numbers11668 Tuxford St, Sun ValleyCA 91352-3134http://www.edenrelocation.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Eden Relocation, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Eden Relocation, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
08/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dear Sir/Madam, I am complaining to you regarding the above moving company also known also Hawaiian moving company that has taken our furniture and other household items on May 10th 2014 from 20 Tiffany Place Saratoga Springs NY at our request to deliver the items by 6/20/14 to Honolulu, HI. They have still NOT delivered our goods. Every phone call ends in let me check the status and they lie a lot. They never return phone calls in a timely manner. Days and weeks go by.This company is so brazen that they demand a full payment before the goods are delivered. They have made us sign a credit card authorization last week promising to deliver our furniture and all of items on Thursday 7/10/14. Again they lie and today is 7/12/14 and no goods are delivered. They are most unreliable business that shouldn't even be a practice.They lack the basic common curtsey of keeping their end of the bargain.Everyday we get told a different lie. This *** ****** has no idea of goods, every phone call ends in I am not sure where your shipment is and let me check on this and get back to you.Let me tell you, no such return phone calls come.They make empty promises.Please I request you to investigate this company.I am extremely unsatisfied and other customers on the island have told me that this company is also unreliable.I would like my shipment delivered without any damage though this company cannot be trusted with this.
Product_Or_Service: Shipment of goods
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Want my goods delivered by Tuesday next week.Want a comparable discount or credit back as I have started work 2 weeks ago without any of my belongings and we are a family of 4 with 2 little kids.I do not have my work clothes. We do not have cooking utensils. We don't have beds to sleep on. We have no belongings.

Business Response
This customer has had their goods delivered. Our dispatch in Hawaii was in touch with them regularly leading up to the delivery date.

06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged me an extra $200 above the quote. No explanation.
Also failed to return my $100 deposit.
Lost 2 boxes, Overcharged $200 and did not return deposit. Two boxes were lost from our shipment. I understand that one has been found and we would like to know when we should expect it to be delivered and what is happening with the second box? We are still owed a refund on our $100 deposit. That was not subtracted from our final fee. After receiving a written quote from you that my price would be $2,100.00 for *** ** *** on the day of the pick up I am informed that it is going to cost me $2,300.00!!! I am told by ****** that the reason for this is all the goods will be put on skids and wrapped and because each skid holds *** cu ft, I would need to pay for two skids. So do I have to pay for space I didn't use? I am informed of this as they are loading the truck. I must vacate the house at that time and I fly out the next morning so what are my options? When I booked your services you told me the reason the fees were less than other companies was because you did all the work in house. Meaning that it was your people who handled our goods from door to door. When I received the boxes, they were delivered by **** who said he knew nothing of your company nor where my boxes came. Indeed he worked for another shipping company completely. Not only were there two boxes missing but the boxes that did arrive were spread all over the truck laying upside down, sideways, anyway you could think of. I have pictures and will forward them to you. So far we have three picture frames with broken glass. And finally, after calling on 10 separate days and being promised a call back, in an hour, and I still have not heard from anyone.

Desired Settlement
refund of deposit and overcharge. Compensation for lost boxes.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@edenrelocation.com
We are sorry that this customer's move resulted in them filing a complaint. As the customer has written above, we have recovered one of the two missing boxes. We are still hoping to find the second one. We are also looking to resolve the billing dispute with this customer and are in contact with them to work it out.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My belongings were suppossed to be delivered to maui hawaii, and they have sent them to Hilo Hi, and are trying to charge me 300.00 inter-island for i
it, I have faxed them in the original work order and it says to Kahului, The man ******* said I said kahului Hilo and there is no such place. I have been verbally abused by him and ****** and amy said to fax in where it is supposed to go and I did and then she writed me back and says it is my word against there's. I have never been treated this way and there is obviously a lack of communication in there business. I have e-mails telling them that is not where my things are suppossed to go and the original order. I moved to Maui and have never lived on the Big Island and I have told them that in e-mails and on the phone and now my things are in Hilo and they are trying to charge me 300.00 to send it from Hilo to Maui. They will not even let me speak when I am on the phone with them. I want my things to be delivered where they are supposed to go and to there original destination. I have paper work that proves all of this.

Desired Settlement
I want them to take the 300.00 out of the 1000.00 I still owe to get it to where it is supposed to go on maui! This is a terrible business and the have been nothing short of verbally abusive to me.

11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
04/26/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not adhere to deadlines.The move was guaranteed to start 8/20/12. The move started on 8/25/12. It was completed by 8/26/12.The moving company states that the move takes about 45 days. Our load did not arrive at until 11/2/12. They did not create an advertised hassle free move. The moving company informs . Our commitment to quality service covers your move from the very first contact until you and your possessions are safely in their new home.There many phone conversations concerning the date for pickup, concerning delivery,concerning payments and contracts.They did not use professionals to handle furniture with the utmost care as advertised. The moving company states The movers arrived in rented trucks from U-Haul. Workers were hired locally not trained per the moving company guidelines.Items were not packed or protected as they were loaded into the rented truck. No moving boxes, moving pads or protective wrapping paper was brought onsite as advertisedItems were not carried to the truck but were dragged across the wood floors. They did not take inventory of items at the loadas advertisedFurniture to be disassembled was not disassembled at pickup as per agreement and advertisedFurniture and other items to be wrapped were not wrapped or protected on pickup as per agreement and advertisedFurniture to be assembled was not assembled at delivery per agreement and advertised Shipping was based on cubic feet. The amount of cubic feet used changed when talking to the driver (XXXX)then with the dispatcher (XXXX).Additional insurance was requested but denied until a bill a lading was presented. Bill of lading arrived 45 days into move, moving company stated that they could not insure once move had begun.Move was begun with Hawaiian Moving Company, all billing was done through Eden Relocation.Many items were damaged due to lack of packing, many items were not delivered. ***** *****, owner said items may have been stolen.

Desired Settlement
$5000 for loss of items and for repair to damage items. Items damaged beyond repair include cherry seat, delta 6" belt/disc sander, tiffany table lamp, cherry tv stand. Loss items included women's bike, floor lamp, hat tree stand, marble table, bear shape coffee table, 6 adirondack chairs (plastic) 2 glass display cases, oak 3 tier plant stand, paper shredder, boxes containing tools, wrenches, pliers, 2 extension cords, misc door hardware, nails and screws, womens' clothers.

Business Response
We are sorry this customer's move resulted in them filing a complaint. We strive to maintain the high level of customer satisfaction that we are known for. This customer has filed a claim with us for loss and damage. We are processing this claim.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company has not given the public a high level of satisfaction, nor are they known for satisfaction.

The company has a history on the web that includes poor claims time response, poor customer service, damaged goods, lost goods and a poor level of fulfilling promises.

My complaint to this buisness is more than damages and lost items. The buisness does nothing to address the promises that they advertise to consumers but do not fulfill.

I noted to this company several times,
particuliarly the owner; he promised many times to investigate but has yet to do so after more than 6 months, claiming that a temporary worker his company hired was no longer available. I contacted the worker and recorded his account of his invovlement with the move. His quote, "I would never move my stuff like that" is very descriptive of how poorly items were moved and loaded. This lack of professional moving resulted in most of the damage when the items arrived at their destination.

The owner has said that the reason for so many items lost was that they were stolen before the move. Although the company did not make any inventory when picking up goods, my representative, who is employed through a large moving company as director of sales, surpervised the move with our own inventory list. She reports all the items were sent.

Complaints of service, damages and loss began 11/02/2012. The continued postponement, delays and posturing show this company's lack of good customer service and skill at evading responsibility.

My dispute with the services that this company was paid to provide but did not include:

1. They did not adhere to deadlines.

A) The move was "guaranteed" to start 8/20/12. The move started on 8/24/12 at 6pm. It was completed by 8/26/12.

B) The moving company states that the move takes about 45 days. Our load did not arrive at until 11/2/12. The company "stored" our load for 5 days in California, releasing the load for delivery after a deposit was paid.

C) The dispatcher quoted a time of delivery of 1-2 weeks after the release from California. The goods were delivered to Hawaii after 40 days after being shipped from California.

2. They did not create a "hassle free" move. The moving company informs ". Our commitment to quality service covers your move from the very first contact until you and your possessions are safely in their new home."

a) There were 6 conversations over the phone concerning the dates for pickup.

b) There were more than 6 phone calls and over 30 emails concerning delivery.

c) There were more than 6 phone calls and 10 emails concerning payments and contracts

3. They did not use professionals to handle furniture with the utmost care.

The moving company informs "All of our staff and drivers go through an extensive training program to assure accuracy and professionalism for our valuable customers. Our drivers are constantly re-evaluated and introduced to new methods and skills to assure that your move is being handled by experienced professionals."

A) The movers arrived in rented trucks from U-Haul, a company known for providing to the non professional mover who move themselves.

B) The movers brought workers hired locally from a day labor employment service who were not trained per the "moving company" guidelines.

C) Items were not packed or protected as they were loaded into the rented moving vehicle. No moving boxes, moving pads or protective wrapping paper was brought onsite by the movers.

D) Items were not carried to the truck but were dragged across the wood floors.

4) They did not take inventory of items at the load.

a) No inventory list was created at the load for review.

5. Furniture to be disassembled was not disassembled at pickup as per agreement.

The moving company informs "Each and every piece of your furniture would be handled with utmost care as we are professional moving companies. The parts of the bigger furniture would be dissembled and each of them would be securely packed so that you can later find them intact and in place when we start assembling them at the new place."

6. Furniture to be assembled was not assembled on delivery as per agreement.

The moving company informs "When the items reach the venue, our staff will unpack and put everything in their proper places as have been instructed by you. You don't need to supervise or worry about anything - Eden Relocation believes in providing stress and tension free packing services."



7. Furniture and other items to be wrapped were not wrapped or protected on pickup as per agreement.


Currently, the company has not addressed any concerns listed above nor any damages or losses due to negelience on the company. They have yet to alert this consumer of any processing of any of these claims.



Final Business Response
We are sorry that this customer's move resulted in this complaint. As we mentioned before, we have received a claim form from the customer and are trying to process the claim. This claim involves both loss and damage and we have asked the customer to send pictures of the damaged items to us via email on 4/10 and have not gotten a reply. Our secretary got a call from the customer on 4/11, informed the customer that the claim form had indeed arrived and asked about the request for pictures sent the day before. The customer would not answer if he got the email. The customer did send us a letter on April 17th. We will respond to that letter as well as make a second request for pictures in it so we may process the claim.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 06/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Alternate Business Names
Hawaiian Van Lines, Hawaiian Moving
Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eden Relocation, Inc.

11668 Tuxford St

Sun Valley, CA 91352-3134

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 2131 Rivera St 

    San Francisco, CA 94116-1630

  • 11668 Tuxford St 

    Sun Valley, CA 91352-3134

  • 15044 Keswick Street 

    Van Nuys, CA 91405

  • 6506 Capistrano Avenue 

    West Hills, CA 91307

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eden Relocation, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 435-3336
  • (818) 988-2845
  • (818) 988-2224
  • (800) 891-0058
  • (877) 299-6799
  • (888) 704-4342
  • (818) 781-2473
  • (888) 735-7200
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.hawaiianvanlines.com
  • http://www.hawaiimovingquote.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.