BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/2009

Air 1 Moving and Storage, Inc.

Phone: (800) 526-6838

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB since March 10, 2013
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: Pick up driver altered the price to double, claiming there was twice as many boxes than expected.
The service was never as advertised.

I believe the double of the cost has no basis since
there were not as many boxes that the driver indicated. There was never a response from the co or an explanation of the cost even though I requested an itemized billing.
There was always a different story on billing and delivery. Delivery took 28 days.
Four different moving companies was involved with two actually doing the pick up and delivery.
Two different stories on the billing method and packing.
due to the packing there was damage to the load.
total loss to two items and paint rubbed off a
motorcycle that was to be crated for the move that
did not happen.

Initial Business Response
From: **** ***** (mailto:********@hotmail.com)
Sent: Tuesday, May 6, 2014 1:12 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXX-X-XXX)


The move was done by other company, please request customer to provide you with
bill of lading that belong to Air 1 Moving.

Thanks

**** *****
Air 1 Moving & Storage.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues
01/20/2014Delivery Issues
11/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
04/14/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: a box that their employee carried out of my sons apartment and put on their truck never made it to my sons new residence in New York City.
air 1 moving loaded my sons belongings on Nov. 25.in San Diego, they were transfered to a truck in L.A. a day or two later that then delivered his his belongings in New York on Dec. 5. my son contacted the drivers that evening to let them know a box was missing. I contacted Air 1 first thing on the morning of Dec 6 to let them know.I asked to have Adele call me, but no one called me back. when I did speak to Adele she showed concern but in following up I had a hard time getting her to return calls and she was also quite defensive about their system doesn't allow boxes to be lost. We know the box got on the truck in San Diego. it can't have just vanished into thin air! The last time my son saw the box it was in their possession. He had marked it with a star on the side of it so he could keep track of it.It had valuable, irreplacable items in it such as the wedding band from his deceased wife. if it had been a box of towels I would not even be dealing with this . We would just write it off. I feel like they have made a minimal effort to help us find it.

Initial Business Response
see scan doc

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
Air 1 moving made a minimum effort to find the lost box.They totally ignored our concerns that it was taken by one of their employees when the truck was loaded.Our son naively had marked the box with a star because it had his most important things in it.Since it didn't get scanned into inventory(their responsibility), their insurance wont cover our loss. They offered us $150.00 against a $3000.00 value.I absolutely would not recommend doing business with this company. They are not willing to make things right when there is a screwup on their end.

Final Business Response
***see attached***

Final Consumer Response
first off I did not state Air 1 did not offer any compensation. I said they offered $150 0n a loss that is 0f $2500 - $3000. An offer that was totally unacceptable. They keep saying my son signed the paper after they loaded the truck and when his things arrived in NY. This is true. But my son was up in his 4th floor apartment monitoring the things that Air 1 employees were taking out of his apartment, making sure nothing was left and there was no damage done to the apartment. **** watched Air 1's employee take the box with the star on it out of his apartment.When everything was loaded he went downstairs and made the assumption that everything they took out of the apartment was marked and put on the truck. A very normal assumption to make. He also made the assumption that Air 1's employee's were competent and trustworthy. Obviously both assumptions were wrong. There were dozens of boxes and an apartment full of furniture in that truck. How was he supposed to go through to double check that they had done their job right? Air 1 is responsible for that box being missing!! If they had any kind of integrity at all they would admit their mistake. take responsibility for it, and make a reasonable offer to my son for his loss. Shame on them!!!!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.