BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2004

MGM Lenders, Inc.

(626) 254-0004View Additional Phone Numbers411 E Huntington Dr #206, ArcadiaCA 91006-3734

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers loans.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2004

BBB has determined that MGM Lenders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MGM Lenders, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MGM Lenders, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Suspected Individuals:******* ******* (NMLS # ******)**** ******* (NMLS # XXXXXX)MGM Lenders Inc.Issue: Mortgage Fraud and harassment with repeated lies for about two months with loan approval, signing loan doc and tried to sell higher mortgage rate.I applied for a 30 years fixed refi to the MGM Lenders on 12/17/2012. *** ******* was the contact. As per their request I spent $400 for the appraisal and the value came out to be way more (25% equity) than they needed to apply for the rate of 3.384. Weeks passed by and there was no contact from them. I got anxious as the rate was ticking up. On 01/17/2013 I asked on the status of the loan application. They told me the loan got approved and the notary should be calling towards end of the week. I even told them that I am getting a better rate (3.375) elsewhere and sent them the GFE. They repeatedly assured me and as I have already spent the money for the appraisal I stayed with them. But the notary did not call me. I called them the week after and they reassured me and told me the notary should be calling me anytime. That week also passed by and I got really worried by a letter, dated 01/21/2013, saying the bank declined my loan application. I called them again and they told me to disregard that letter as initially they applied to a different program and they assured me again that the loan is approved and bank is asking the appraiser for few more CO*** Another week passed by and there is no call from notary and rate went up way higher than what I could have got. Then I pressed them really hard and started calling every day about the loan. Finally they came back to me and offered me a way higher rate (~4%)! After being dejected I went with another broker, spent again for appraisal, extra $2000 to get the rate of 3.5.I asked *** ******* for my appraisal money back and why she cheated me, she mentioned it is not her fault and it is *** **** who should be called for.

Desired Settlement
After threatening to complain to FBI, finally *** **** replied to my emails and is giving all kind of excuses and trying to show it was my fault and finally offering me to sign the loan doc! What appears to me now that they tried to sell me a higher rate.I suffered financially, mentally and now worried about the security as they have all my information like SSN, bank statement, 401K etc. I like to get back the appraisal fee ($400), money spent to get the rate and removal of my information.

Business Response
Our original telephone conversation with *** ***** happened on 10/27/2012. After 45 days, he called back and requested to get a quote from us. MGM Lenders emailed a proposal to him on 12/13/2012, that was a 30 year fixed loan program at 3.384% based on the information that were verbally received from him. He said that his mid credit Fico score was 745. *** ***** wanted to go on with the offer and we emailed him the initial disclosures accordingly. He signed the disclosures on 12/20/2012 and emailed them back to us. We pulled his credit before submitting to the lender and found out that his credit Fico score is lower than what he told us (717). He did not want to go higher on the rate and did not want to lock the rate either. Appraisal was ordered on 01/07/2013. *** ***** wanted to float the rate that he could get a lower interest rate. Even, he emailed us that he was working with another lender which was giving him $3,000 back (per his email) and wanted us to see if we could do better. The interest rates did not go lower than the day we emailed him the proposal. We got the complete loan approval and called him many times to advise him that the loan Docs were ready to sign. He rejected to sign. Interest rate on the loan Docs could not be the same as proposal as his Fico score was not the same but he could sign with a little higher rate. Even at this moment, he can sign the loan Docs with our Company at 3.59%. He said that he has been working with another lender as well and he does not want to sign the loan Docs with us. He said that either we had to pay him the appraisal fee back or he was going to say bad things about us to the authorities. He paid the Appraisal fee to an independent appraisal company through the lender and not to MGM Lenders and the Appraisal Company is not affiliated with our Company. He threatened to force us to pay him the Appraisal fee. Please see the attachments.
Should there be any question or concern, please do not hesitate to contact me.
All the Documents, emails, credit reports and disclosures are available upon request.
Thank you,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What kind of resopnse is this? They just segregated few emails of the whole conversation and did not address the issue at all. This is nothing but cheating. By the way I did send the initial disclosure by fax. If the disclosure was an issue how come they are offering me a loan now! This is an utter lie and trying to avoid the issue as usual. I am going to the Attorney General offie and FBI Mortgage Fraud department, if BBB does not have any authority to take any action.

Final Business Response
MGM Lenders has never charged any borrower for the Appraisal fee. Appraisal fee is paid to a 3rd party vendor by borrowers and is done through the lender in a form of a check, money order or credit card.
As you know the interest rates fluctuate every day and some times more than twice a day. When you have your loan float; interest rate can go higher or lower on daily basis until you lock the rate.
We offer 3.38% to *** ***** and he wanted to get a lower rate; he never requested to lock his rate as he was still shopping. Unfortunately the rates went up and we could offer 3.59% then. Now interest rates are lower and we can offer 3.49%. As you see, rates go up and down; no interest rate is guaranteed if you do not request to have your rate locked.
Appraisal' invoice is attached for your attention.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is any more question or concern and if any other more Documents needed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Brokers, Mortgage Lender, Loans

Additional Information

top
Business started: 05/25/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2004, CA

Business Management
Principal: Sean Sadeghi (CEO)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Mortgage Brokers, Mortgage Lender, Loans

Alternate Business Names
MGM Realty & Investments

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MGM Lenders, Inc.

411 E Huntington Dr #206

Arcadia, CA 91006-3734

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 411 E Huntington Dr #206 

    Arcadia, CA 91006-3734

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MGM Lenders, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 315-4700
  • (626) 256-8833
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Mortgage Brokers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.