BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2005

Bedtime Mattress & More

(909) 971-9801523 W Arrow Hwy, San DimasCA 91773-2910

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2005

BBB has determined that Bedtime Mattress & More meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bedtime Mattress & More include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bedtime Mattress & More

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was asked to sign in agreement to a price for my mattress and was not told I was signing the exchange/return policy. I was not fairly informed.
I purchased a bed on 1/22/2015 and it was delivered on 1/31. Within a week I knew it was not a good bed for me and I thought it was defective because it gave me severe back pain, which resulted in me getting 2 massages to try to alleviate the pain. I was told by *********** that I had to try the bed for at least 30 days before he would grant me the opportunity to exchange. I went into the store at the end of February and laid on the floor model to compare its consistency to my bed the floor model felt firmer. I let **** know this and I told him I thought icy bed was defective; he responded by telling me that sometimes customers lie about thinking that the mattress is defective because they think that's the only way they will be able to exchange their bed. I was insulted and let him know I truthfully felt there was a big difference in the floor model and my bed, and I asked if the box spring could make the difference because the store models are on adjustable box springs and my bed was on a traditional one. He replied no rudely to me and made me feel like I was an idiot for asking. I replied to him that I'm not a mattress expert and thought it was a legitimate question considering the lack of support and consistency were my concerns. He said he would contact the Simmons rep to set up the inspection, and that I should receive a call in a week. I waited 9 days before contacting **** about not receiving a call; he emailed Simmons and they contacted me later to set up a date. The appointment was 3/12/15 , and ***** from Integrated Bedding Group inspected the mattress and box spring he stated nothing was wrong with the box spring but there was a huge difference on the support between the middle of the bed and the edge of the bed, and that Simmons would contact me in a week or so to let me know how to go about the process. **** called me on 3/25 and told me that my bed was not defective but that he got the ok from the rep to exchange my mattress. I let him know at that time I would be in on 3/31 to pick out a new bed. I went in on 3/31 and picked a bed that is $100 less than the previous bed and was told I could not pick that bed because they only do exchanges of equal or greater value. I let **** know I was fine with losing out on that difference, but he tried to persuade me to choose something more expensive. I tried the other mattresses he recommended and felt the mattress that was $100 less was still the most to my liking comfort-wise, and to oblige to his equal or greater value re selection I would be willing to buy a pillow so that it would be an equivalent exchange. I told him I was fine with it just being an equal exchange even with me choosing a bed that costs $100 less my main concern was getting the bed I felt gave me the support I needed. I asked him if he could talk to the ******* rep again to figure out how to get me the bed I actually wanted. He said he had already talked to the rep but that he would see if there was any other way. He had me wait a couple of minutes and came back with a proposal he would charge me $320 for the new bed. I told **** I needed to think about it and he told me I was being uncooperative by not agreeing right then. He wouldn't give me the same discount as he had on the bed I purchased in January, he would charge me the 15% restocking fee, and he would charge me for the new bed and tax. The bed I purchased in January is listed as $1079 currently; I paid $880 in cash for it in January. The bed I want to exchange for is listed at $979 currently, and I would like to only pay the $132 for the restocking fee of what was purchased on 1/22. I do not believe it is fair or reasonable to charge me an extra $188 on top of the $132 restocking fee for a total of $320 for a mattress that is priced $100 less. I understand the policy of equal or greater value, and that is why I am fine with treating it as an equal exchange and I will pay the $132 restocking amount.

Desired Settlement
At this point, I wish I could just return my purchase for a refund and be done with this ordeal and business for good, but I am trying to be cooperative. I would like to get the ******* full size mattress in exchange for the Independednce Plush bed I purchased in January. I would also like a queen bed frame instead of a twin bed frame because it offers more support. I had asked **** about options for better support the first time I went in to seek out an exchange for my mattress and he stated a queen bed frame has an extra beam of support and is adjustable to fit a full size bed. I am completely willing to pay the $132 restocking fee, but nothing more considering I am choosing a bed that is not more expensive than my initial purchase. I think it is a completely reasonable and sound agreement that meets the needs of the business and myself.

Business Response
On 2/25/15 Ms. **** requested that her mattress be inspected for possible defects upon which she was scheduled for an independent inspection on 3/12/15. The results of her inspection concluded that her mattress was not defective. Ms. **** was then offered an opportunity to exchange her mattress under our comfort guarantee policy which states: We offer a 30 day comfort trial period to our customers on all mattresses. If you are not satisfied after sleeping on your new mattress for 30 days, contact us for a one-time credit, less fees, toward a reselection of an equal or greater value. A $65 redelivery fee will be charged and a 15% exchange fee will apply to all exchanges. At this time, our offer still stands and we look forward to resolving this issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response of the company and store owner, **** ******.
He is not honoring his exchange policy as written on the receipt, and he is not honoring his word, which was to not charge me for redelivery as long as I drop off the mattress I purchased in January and pick up the new mattress.
The exchange policy reads, "If you are not satisfied after sleeping on your new mattress for 30 days, buyer must contact us for a one-time credit, less fees, toward a reselection of an equal or greater value."
Abiding to this exchange policy as it is written, I can reselect items that end up being of equal or greater value; it does not specify that it is limited to just the mattress. I, however, was simply requesting that a mattress that is more expensive be exchanged for a mattress that is less expensive, but that it be honored as an even exchange.
I have gone about this matter in a completely respectful and private way. I have not reached out to social media such as Yelp as a forum for resolving my issue with the store owner, **** ******. I have abided to the exchange policy, and have talked to him every step of the way in hopes of resolving my issue. I do not accept the response of the company because I know what I am asking for is reasonable and does not cost the company anything extra.
I feel like Bedtime Mattress & More, including the store owner (**** ******), is trying to take advantage of me by upselling, supposedly in accordance with their exchange policy.

This is not a company that I would NEVER recommend to anyone. They do not practice good customer service, and they will not treat you right if you have any problems with their products.


At this point, I have taken the advice from the Better Business Bureau to seek help from the Department of Consumer Affairs.
BBB let me know they are a non-profit agency and because of that, they are limited in how they can assist me in resolving this issue. The Department of Consumer Affairs is a government run agency that has more power in resolving issues with businesses.

Final Business Response
Our position regarding this matter is quite clear and we are very interested in resolving this issue. We simply have exchange policies in place and in writing on our contracts that we must abide by. Ms. **** has always been given the opportunity to bring her mattress back to us for an exchange to save the $65.00 transportation fee, as long as the mattress is protected. Ms. **** is more than welcome to pick up a mattress bag from us here at the showroom at no charge. As previously mentioned, under our exchange policy, Ms. **** must pay the standard 15% exchange fee and also pay the difference between what she paid for her original mattress, and the cost of the mattress that she has re-selected. This offer will expire on May 30, 2015 as the mattress that Ms. **** is interested in, is being discontinued by the manufacture and will not be available to order after May 30, 2015.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Bedding

Additional Information

top
Business started: 11/15/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rochelle Carrillo (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Mattresses, Bedding

Service Area

Anywhere and everywhere

Alternate Business Names
Bedtime Mattress & More, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bedtime Mattress & More

523 W Arrow Hwy

San Dimas, CA 91773-2910

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 523 W Arrow Hwy 

    San Dimas, CA 91773-2910

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bedtime Mattress & More is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.